Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min (US 2013.0058059) in view of Park (US 2023.0299514).
Regarding claim 1, Min disclose:
a case having a connector; a control board accommodated in the case coupled and electrically connected to electronic connections (see Fig. 1; case 20, connector 47, control board 40 within case; [0032] connector to connect circuit board to electronics or power source (e.g., see Park’s terminals)).
While Min discloses shielding plate 10, it is not explicit as to, but Park disclose:
a plurality of terminals coupled to the case and having one end protruding into the case and the other end protruding into the connector; plurality of terminals for electrical connection; a shielding plate shielding electromagnetic waves by surrounding the plurality of terminals and coupled to the case (see Fig. 1, 2; [0003]; plurality of terminals 15 coupled to case 11 having one end protruding in 11 and the other end protruding out of connector (open end); electromagnetic shield 12 surrounding plurality of electrical connection terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious on one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Park to that of Kim to predictably provide terminals to electrically connect to the control board of Min, while also providing electromagnetic shielding of said terminals.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Park further disclose:
the plurality of terminals includes a motor output unit terminal (while Park discloses at [0003] the connector terminals can enable electrical/physical connection between electrical components, the specific “a motor output unit terminal” amounts to intended use of the connector and does not further limit the structure of the claimed apparatus. As such, Min as modified by Park readily provides the plurality of terminals for electrical connections).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Park further disclose:
an end of the shielding plate protrudes into the case (see Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Park further disclose:
a connection tab extending upward is formed on a side of the shielding plate and protrudes into the case, and the connection tab is coupled and electrically connected to the control board (see Fig. 2; connection tab at 121, where it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (e.g., placement of connection tabs to securely connect two parts) to be pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. Park further disclose:
a ground layer is formed on the control board and the connection tab is electrically connected with the ground layer (see [0041]; ground layer 12)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Park further disclose:
another end of the shielding plate protrudes into the connector (see Fig. 2, 4, 5; 121 protrudes into connector)
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein. Park further disclose:
fixing tabs extending toward an open side of the connector are formed on another side of the shielding plate and protrude into the connector (see Fig. 2, 4, 5; fixing tabs 1211/1222)
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Park further disclose:
the shielding plate includes: a bottom plate covering the lower side of the plurality of terminals; and a pair of first side plates covering both width-directional sides of the plurality of terminals and extending upward from the bottom plate (see Fig. 2; 12 has sides protruding and covering terminals 15 from bottom plate)
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Park further disclose:
the shielding plate further includes a second side plate covering a longitudinal-side of the plurality of terminals and extending upward from the bottom plate (see Fig. 2; 12 has sides protruding and covering terminals 15 from bottom plate)
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Min further disclose:
the plurality of terminals and the shielding plate are integrally formed with the case by insert injection molding (see [0041]; injection molding of shield plate 10)
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated herein. Min further disclose:
the plurality of terminals and the shielding plate are integrally formed with fixing portions by insert injection molding, thereby forming a terminal-shielding plate assembly; and the terminal-shielding plate assembly is integrally formed with the case by over molding (in light of [0041]; it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (e.g., injection molding to integrally form and fix components of the device) to be pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/kenneth bukowski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621