DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statements (PTO-1449) filed 02/18/2025 and 09/24/2025. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 4-5 recites “another portion of the ineffective area of the lens portion” instead of “another portion of the ineffective area of the first lens”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (CN 110196477 A1), hereinafter “Wei”.
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses an electronic device (300) (see Fig. 8) comprising: a housing (310) including a transparent cover (3204) (see Figs. 5, 8, Pg. 7, Paragraph 1 of translation – “the cover plate 3204 laminated on the backlight layer 3206”; it is inherent for a laminated cover material to be transparent); a display (3202) having a through-hole (330) formed therein and visible from outside the electronic device (300) through at least a part of the transparent cover (3204) (see Figs. 5, 8); and a camera module (200) disposed in the housing (310) and including: a barrel (10) having an opening (146) disposed as substantially aligned with the through-hole (330) (see Figs. 2, 4, 5); and a plurality of lenses (20) disposed in the barrel (10) (see Fig. 4), wherein the plurality of lenses (20) comprises a first lens (22) disposed closest to the opening (146) and having a first outer diameter at a flange portion (224) thereof (see Figs. 2, 4; see annotated Fig. 5 below), wherein the barrel (10) includes: a head portion (14) disposed as at least partially protruding in the through-hole (330) of the display (3202) toward the transparent cover (3204) (see Figs. 2, 5), the head portion (14) forming the opening (146) and having a second outer diameter (see Fig. 2; see annotated Fig. 5); and a body portion (12) extended from the head portion (14) such that a third outer diameter of the body portion is greater than the second outer diameter (see Fig. 2; see annotated Fig. 5), and that a first engaging portion (area of the lens barrel surrounding 224) for the first lens (22) is formed on the body portion (12) (see Fig. 2), wherein the first outer diameter of the first lens (22) is greater than the second outer diameter of the head portion (14) (see Fig. 2; see annotated Fig. 5), and wherein the diameter of the through-hole (330) is less than the first outer diameter of the first lens (22) (see annotated Fig. 5), wherein the first lens (22) includes: a lens portion (222) is configured to be exposed to the opening (146) (see Fig. 2); and a connecting portion (2224) is configured to connect the lens portion (222) and the flange portion (224) (see Fig. 2), the connecting portion (2224) being inclined at an angle in a first direction away from the lens portion (222) (see Fig. 2), wherein the connecting portion (2224) is configured to engage to the body portion (12) in the barrel (10) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Wei discloses wherein the body portion is formed such that a fourth outer diameter at the first engaging portion (area of the lens barrel surrounding 224) is greater than the diameter of the through-hole (330) and smaller the third outer diameter (see annotated Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 3, Wei discloses an electronic device (300) (see Fig. 8) comprising: a housing (310) including at least one cover (3204) (see Figs. 5-8); a camera module (200) disposed in the housing (310) (see Fig. 5) and including: a barrel (10) having an opening (146) (see Fig. 2); and a plurality of lenses (20) aligned with an image sensor (220) in the barrel (see Figs. 4, 5); and a display (3202) disposed in the housing (310) (see Figs. 5, 8), wherein the display (3202) is visible from outside the electronic device (300) through at least a part of the at least one cover (3204) (see Figs. 5, 8), wherein the display (3202) includes a through-hole (330) formed therein (see Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of lenses (20) comprises a first lens (22), disposed closest to the opening (146) and having a first outer diameter (see Figs. 2, 4; see annotated Fig. 5), wherein the first lens (22) is disposed to face the through-hole (330) of the display (3202) through the opening (146) formed in the barrel (10) (see Fig. 5), wherein the barrel (10) includes: a head portion (14) forming the opening (146) and having a second outer diameter (see Fig. 2, see annotated Fig. 5), wherein the camera module (200) is disposed such that the head portion (14) penetrates at least part of the through-hole (330) (see Figs. 2, 5); a body portion (12) extended from the head portion (14) (see Fig. 2), and having a third outer diameter greater than the second outer diameter (see annotated Fig. 5); and an engaging portion (area of the lens barrel surrounding 224) formed in the barrel and engaged with a flange portion (224) of the first lens (22) (see Fig. 2), wherein the first outer diameter of the first lens (22) is greater than the second outer diameter of the head portion (14) (see annotated Fig. 5), and wherein the first lens (22) includes: a lens portion (222) is configured to be exposed to the opening (146) (see Fig. 2); and a connecting portion (2224) is configured to connect the lens portion (222) and the flange portion (224) (see Fig. 2), the connecting portion (2224) being inclined at an angle in a first direction away from the lens portion (222) (see Fig. 2), wherein the connecting portion (2224) is configured to engage to the body portion (12) in the barrel (10) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Wei discloses wherein the third outer diameter of the body portion (12) is greater than the first outer diameter of the first lens (22) (see annotated Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 5, Wei discloses wherein the lens portion (222) forms an effective area of the first lens (20), wherein the connecting portion (2224) forms a portion of an ineffective area of the first lens (20), and wherein the flange portion (224) forms another portion of the ineffective area of the lens portion2 and extends from the connecting portion (2224) in a second direction substantially perpendicular to a stack direction of the plurality of lenses (20) (see Fig. 2, Pg. 4, Paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 6, Wei discloses wherein the lens portion (222) is disposed in the head portion (14) in the barrel (10) and the flange portion (224) is engaged to the body portion (12) in the barrel (10) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Wei discloses wherein the barrel (10) further includes a connection portion connecting the head portion (14) and the body portion (12), the connection portion (region at 122) having a connection surface (see Fig. 11); and wherein the connection surface is formed in a second direction from the head portion (14) to the body portion (12) (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 8, Wei discloses wherein a first vertical distance from a top of the head portion (14) to the engaging portion (area of the lens barrel surrounding 224) is greater than a height of the head portion (14) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Wei discloses wherein the diameter of the through-hole is less than the first outer diameter of the first lens (see annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Wei discloses wherein the first lens includes an effective area (222) and wherein the head portion (14) surrounds the effective area of the first lens (see Fig. 2, Pg. 4, Paragraph 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (CN 110196477 A) in view of in view of Hu et al. (USPG Pub No. 2022/0163750), hereinafter "Hu".
Regarding claim 9, Wei discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the angle in the first direction is in a range between 15 degrees to 75 degrees with respect to the second direction. In the same field of endeavor, Hu discloses wherein the angle in the first direction is in a range between 15 degrees to 75 degrees with respect to the second direction (see Fig. 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Wei with wherein the angle in the first direction is in a range between 15 degrees to 75 degrees with respect to the second direction of Hu for the purpose of optimizing the dimensions of the camera module for the desired application (Paragraph 3). Furthermore, a change in shape or size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) and In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (CN 110196477 A) in view of Jing et al. (USPG Pub No. 2022/0217226), hereinafter “Jing”.
Regarding claim 10, Wei discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the housing includes: a lateral member surrounding a periphery of the at least one cover, wherein the at least one cover includes: a front cover; and a rear cover facing a direction opposite to the front cover, and wherein the lateral member is disposed to surround a space between the front cover and the rear cover. In the same field of endeavor, Jing discloses wherein the housing includes: a lateral member surrounding a periphery of the at least one cover, wherein the at least one cover includes: a front cover; and a rear cover facing a direction opposite to the front cover, and wherein the lateral member is disposed to surround a space between the front cover and the rear cover (see Fig. 1A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Wei with wherein the housing includes: a lateral member surrounding a periphery of the at least one cover, wherein the at least one cover includes: a front cover; and a rear cover facing a direction opposite to the front cover, and wherein the lateral member is disposed to surround a space between the front cover and the rear cover of Jing for the purpose of providing an under-screen camera module that receives sufficient light in order to achieve quality imaging (Paragraph 6). The front, back and side of the mobile device illustrated in Fig. 1A is interpreted as the front cover, rear cover and lateral member, respectively.
Regarding claim 11, Wei and Jing teach the electronic device set forth above for claim 10, Jing further discloses wherein the lateral member includes a support member extended at least in part to the space and having a first through-hole formed at a position corresponding to the head portion, and wherein the camera module is disposed between the support member and the rear cover (see Figs. 1A, 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the electronic device of Wei with the teachings of Jing for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Wei and Jing teach the electronic device set forth above for claim 11, Jing further discloses wherein the camera module is disposed such that the head portion is exposed or protruded toward the front cover through the first through-hole formed in the support member (see Figs. 1A, 2, 17, 60A-E). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the electronic device of Wei with the teachings of Jing for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 10.
Prior Art Citations
Ma (USP No. 11,106,020 – Fig. 1) are each being cited herein to show an electronic device relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/17/2026
1 English translation provided
2 See objection above