DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-12) and Species B (Figs 2A-2C) in the reply filed on 04/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention and/or Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciasulli 8,757,567 in view of Matsuda 10,480,829.
Regarding claim 1, Ciasulli discloses a method (Fig 7) or (Fig 8) for coupling a first solar module frame (annotated Fig 7 below) or (Fig 8, #803) and a second solar module frame (annotated Fig 7 below) or (Fig 8, #805) to a torque tube (Fig 7, #701) or (Fig 8, #801), the method comprising the steps of:
placing a rail (Fig 7, #704) or (Fig 8, #807) at the torque tube (Fig 7, #701) or (Fig 8, #801);
and inserting a fastener (annotated Fig 7 below) or (Fig 8, #811) through the at least one of the first solar module frame (annotated Fig 7 below) or (Fig 8, #803) and the second solar module frame (annotated Fig 7 below) or (Fig 8, #805) and the rail (Fig 7, #704) or (Fig 8, #807).
Ciasulli has been discussed above but does not explicitly teach placing a first outward extending flange of the first solar module frame at the rail; placing a second outward extending flange of the second solar module frame over the first outward extending flange at the rail; and inserting a fastener at the second outward extending flange, the first outward extending flange, and the rail.
Matsuda discloses a method of coupling a first solar module frame (Figs 1 & 4, #5A) and a second solar module frame (Figs 1 & 4, #5B) to a rail (Fig 4, #13, middle), the method comprising the steps of:
placing a first outward extending flange (Fig 4, #43A) of the first solar module frame (Fig 4, #5A) at the rail (Fig 4, #13, middle); placing a second outward extending flange (Fig 4, #43B) of the second solar module frame (Fig 4, #5B) over the first outward extending flange (Fig 4, #43A) at the rail (Fig 4, #13, middle); and
inserting a fastener (Fig 4, #65, middle) at the second outward extending flange (Fig 4, #43B), the first outward extending flange (Fig 4, #43A), and the rail (Fig 4, #13, middle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first solar module frame (Ciasulli, annotated Fig 7 below) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #803) and a second solar module frame (Ciasulli, annotated Fig 7 below) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #805) of Ciasulli with
the first solar module frame (Matsuda, Figs 1 & 4, #5A) and the second solar module frame (Matsuda, Figs 1 & 4, #5B) of Matsuda that are connected by a fastener (Matsuda, Fig 4, #13, middle) by inserting the fastener (Matsuda, Fig 4, #13, middle) of Matsuda through the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) of Ciasulli because the substitution of one known solar module frame for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 2, modified Ciasulli discloses the method wherein the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B) is placed over the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) at the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) after the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) is placed at the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ciasulli discloses the method wherein the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B) is placed over the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) at the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) by stacking the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B) on top of the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) at the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ciasulli discloses the method wherein the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) is placed at the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) to directly contact the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807), and
wherein the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B) is stacked on top of the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) at the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) such that the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B) directly contacts the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ciasulli discloses the method wherein the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) of the first solar module frame (Matsuda, Fig 4, #5A) extends horizontally outward from a first sidewall (Matsuda, left wall, Fig 4, #41A) of the first solar module frame (Matsuda, Fig 4, #5A), wherein the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B) of the second solar module frame (Matsuda, Fig 4, #5B) extends horizontally outward from a second sidewall (Matsuda, right wall, Fig 4, #41B) of the second solar module frame (Matsuda, Fig 4, #5B), and
wherein the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B) is stacked on top of the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) at the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) to define a fastening gap (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 below) between the first sidewall (Matsuda, left wall, Fig 4, #41A) of the first solar module frame (Matsuda, Fig 4, #5A), the second sidewall (Matsuda, right wall, Fig 4, #41B) of the second solar module frame (Matsuda, Fig 4, #5B), and the stacked first (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) and second (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B) outward extending flanges.
Regarding claim 6, modified Ciasulli discloses the method wherein the fastening gap (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) is open at a top side (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) that is opposite the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ciasulli discloses the method wherein inserting the fastener (Matsuda, Fig 4, #65, middle) at the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B), the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A), and the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) comprises inserting the fastener (Matsuda, Fig 4, #65, middle) through the fastening gap (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) from the top side (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) that is opposite the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ciasulli discloses the method wherein inserting the fastener (Matsuda, Fig 4, #65, middle) through the fastening gap (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) from the top side (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) that is opposite the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) comprises inserting the fastener (Matsuda, Fig 4, #65, middle) through the fastening gap (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) from the top side (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above), then through the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B), then through the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A), and then into the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ciasulli discloses the method wherein the first solar module frame (Matsuda, Fig 4, #5A) further comprises a first photovoltaic receptacle (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 below), the first photovoltaic receptacle (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 below) extending horizontally outward from the first sidewall (Matsuda, Fig 4, #41A) in a direction opposite the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) and opposite the fastening gap (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 below),
wherein the second solar module frame (Matsuda, Fig 4, #5B) further comprises a second photovoltaic receptacle (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 below), the second photovoltaic receptacle (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 below) extending horizontally outward from the second sidewall (Matsuda, Fig 4, #41B) in a direction opposite the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B) and opposite the fastening gap (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 below).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ciasulli discloses the method further comprising: after placing the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) at the torque tube (Fig 7, #701) or (Fig 8, #801) and before placing the first (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A) and second (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B) outward extending flanges at the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807), inserting a second fastener (Ciasulli, col 8, lines 21-25) or (Ciasulli, col 8, lines 36-39) at the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) to couple the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) to the torque tube (Fig 7, #701) or (Fig 8, #801).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ciasulli discloses the method wherein the fastener (Matsuda, Fig 4, #65, middle) is inserted at the second outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43B), the first outward extending flange (Matsuda, Fig 4, #43A), and the rail (Ciasulli, Fig 7, #704) or (Ciasulli, Fig 8, #807) through an open top side (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) of a fastening gap (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) that is defined between first solar module frame (Matsuda, Fig 4, #5A) and the second solar module frame (Matsuda, Fig 4, #5B).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ciasulli discloses the method wherein the fastening gap (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) defines a fastening gap width, and wherein the fastening gap (Matsuda, annotated Fig 4 above) width is greater than a width of the fastener (Matsuda, Fig 4, #65, middle).
Conclusion
/DEVIN K BARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631