DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/12/2026 has been entered:
Claim 1 – 15 remain pending in the application;
Claim 10 – 13 are withdrawn from consideration;
Claim 1 and 3 – 6 are amended;
Claim 14 and 15 are added as new.
Applicant’s amendments to claim overcome each and every claim objection as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 03/17/2026. The corresponding claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claim 1 – 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Regarding the rejection of independent claim 1, applicant amended claim to include limitation “aspirating the liquified material via a catheter positioned adjacent to the body and coupled to an assembly for delivering the ultrasound energy”. Applicant submitted on p.4 – 6 that “The method recited in amended claim 1 is advantageous in that coupling the aspiration catheter to the ultrasonic energy delivering assembly in a compact manner facilitates sonication/catheter positioning under image guidance in that both liquefication and aspiration can be performed nearly simultaneously”; “Consequently, the ultrasound 200 and robotic arm 202, 302, 402 are clearly decoupled from one another” ; “It is therefore clearly the intent of Stopek to keep the ultrasound 200 and robotic arm 202, 302, 402 as separate, independent components of the histotripsy therapy system. Moreover, given the size and complexity of each component 200, 202, 302, 402 it would not be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Stopek to integrate the components together in the manner recited in amended claim 1.”
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons.
First, the limitation “coupled” does not represent the “compact manner” as applicant argued. Coupling is a broad term which can be interpreted into many different scenarios, such as physically indirect coupling with other links, physically direct coupling with direct contacting to each other, electrically or wirelessly coupling without any physical contacting, etc.
Second, applicant’s argument (ultrasound 200, arm 202 etc.) is only one alternative embodiment. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP 2123. Stopek teaches several alternative embodiments from Fig.2A to Fig.4.
In the embodiment of Fig.4, Stopek does teach the histotripsy sub-system, which is interpreted as the ultrasound energy delivery assembly, is coupled with catheter via sets of robotic arms (see Fig.4). More specifically, “In contrast to the systems described above in which the endoscopic/laparascopic/histotripsy robots are separate, this embodiment comprises a single robotic system with a plurality of arms for each sub-system” (see [0179]). From Fig.4, it is clear that four arms are connected via the same post to couple each sub-system together.
Thus, applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of independent claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Regarding the rejection of all other corresponding dependent claims, applicant’s remarks submitted on p.6 rely on supposed deficiencies with the rejection of parent claim 1. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and are moot in view of new grounds of rejection for the same reasons detailed above.
Overall, applicant’s remarks submitted on p.4 – 6 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The amendments result in new grounds of rejection. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 – 5, 8, 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stopek (US 2023/0061534 A1; filed on 03/08/2021).
Regarding claim 1, Stopek discloses a method of treatment ("A method of treating tissue of a patient with a robotic surgical system is provided …" [0007]) comprising
sonicating a body within an organ of a patient with ultrasound energy ("... and delivering histotripsy therapy to the prepared target tissue location with a histotripsy sub-system of the robotic surgical system." [0007]; "Histotripsy may be performed in multiple ways and under different parameters. It may be performed totally non-invasively by acoustically coupling a focused ultrasound transducer over the skin of a patient and transmitting acoustic pulses transcutaneously through overlying (and intervening) tissue to the focal zone (treatment zone and site)." [0075]) thereby liquefying the body to produce liquified material ("... delivering histotripsy therapy further comprises lysing or liquefying the target tissue location." [0012]), and
aspirating the liquified material via a catheter positioned adjacent to the body ("… wherein a catheter based, bed/table based (integral to table side and/or next to table) robotic drive system, in combination with a non-invasive transcranial histotripsy system approach (bed/table side), are used to liquefy and aspirate hemorrhage, clot or thrombus." [0189]) and coupled to an assembly for delivering the ultrasound energy (“… 1) one or more robotic arms for 402 configured for a laparascopic approach, 2) one or more robotic arms 403 configured for an endoscopic approach, 3) one or more robotic arms 400 configured for a non-invasive (histotripsy) approach … this embodiment comprises a single robotic system with a plurality of arms for each sub-system.” [0179]; see Fig.4, the histotripsy sub-system is coupled to laparascopic/endoscopic sub-system via arms and post), wherein both the sonication of the body and positioning of the catheter adjacent thereto are assisted via image guidance ("… this multi-approach configuration may be conducted within a cone beam CT, and as one integrated system approach." [0189]; "… the method further comprises performing the accessing, fluidizing, and delivering steps under real-time imaging guidance." [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Stopek discloses all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further discloses said body being a deep-brain hematoma ("… of treating hemorrhage or clot in the brain …" [0189]; "Examples similar to Examples 16-19, but wherein the treatment locations are sub-dural ... subdural hematoma ..." [0192]).
Regarding claim 3, Stopek discloses all claim limitations, as applied in claim 2, and further discloses wherein the catheter is positioned adjacent to the hematoma prior to the sonication of the hematoma ("… accessing a target hollow organ location with an endoscopic robotic system of the robotic surgical system, fluidizing the target hollow organ location to create an acoustic window within the target hollow organ location, and delivering histotripsy therapy ..." [0040]; here the accessing step is prior to the fluidizing and histotripsy delivering steps) and wherein the catheter is adjacent to the hematoma during the sonication thereof ("… of treating hemorrhage or clot in the brain, and wherein a catheter based, bed/table based (integral to table side and/or next to table) robotic drive system, in combination with a non-invasive transcranial histotripsy system approach (bed/table side), are used to liquefy and aspirate hemorrhage, clot or thrombus." [0189]).
Regarding claim 4, Stopek discloses all claim limitations, as applied in claim 2, and further discloses wherein both the sonication of the hematoma and the positioning the catheter adjacent thereto are assisted via MRI-image guidance ("Systems may also be configured to comprise, communicate or integrate with … magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) … to afford the ability to visualize the patient, procedure approach, device/treatment trajectory … the dynamic real-time treatment effect(s), and pre/peri/post-procedure treatment verification ..." [0165]).
Regarding claim 5, Stopek discloses all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the catheter is positioned adjacent to the body using CT imaging prior to the sonication of the body, and wherein during the sonication, MRI imaging is used to monitor the aspiration of the liquified material ("Systems may also be configured to comprise, communicate or integrate with … computed tomography (CT) … magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) … to afford the ability to visualize the patient, procedure approach, device/treatment trajectory … the dynamic real-time treatment effect(s), and pre/peri/post-procedure treatment verification ..." [0165]: "Imaging modalities may comprise various ... CT, MRI ... and/or various combinations of." [0095]; both CT and MRI are used).
Regarding claim 8, Stopek discloses all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further discloses wherein high intensity focused ultrasound energy is used to produce the liquified material ("Histotripsy comprises short, high amplitude, focused ultrasound pulses to generate a dense, energetic, “bubble cloud”, capable of the targeted fractionation and destruction of tissue." [0072]).
Regarding claim 9, Stopek discloses all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further discloses wherein low intensity focused ultrasound energy is used to produce the liquified material ("The method also can provide feedback permitting the histotripsy process to be initiated at a higher intensity and maintained at a much lower intensity." [0099]).
Regarding claim 14, Stopek discloses all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further discloses
coupling an access ring to the patient (“Such systems also comprise the unique feature of having a concurrent combination of instrument/device access …” [0157]);
coupling the assembly for delivering the ultrasound energy to the access ring (“Such systems also comprise the unique feature of having a concurrent combination of instrument/device access (e.g., ports or trocars, endoscopes of various types, catheter access, etc.), including acoustic access (e.g., devices/methods/materials allowing acoustic coupling for ultrasound visualization and histotripsy delivery along a planned/desired acoustic pathway).” [0157]; here the concurrent combination of access means both the histotripsy and catheter are using the same access port); and
inserting the catheter through the access ring (“… a concurrent combination of instrument/device access (e.g., ports or trocars, endoscopes of various types, catheter access, etc.) …” [0157]; inserting the inherent process for the catheter access) for aspirating the liquified material ("… wherein a catheter based … are used to liquefy and aspirate hemorrhage, clot or thrombus." [0189]).
Regarding claim 15, Stopek discloses all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the assembly is coupled to an end of the access ring (“… including acoustic access (e.g., devices/methods/materials allowing acoustic coupling for ultrasound visualization and histotripsy delivery along a planned/desired acoustic pathway).” [0157]) and the catheter is inserted radially through an access port in the access ring (“… a concurrent combination of instrument/device access (e.g., ports or trocars, endoscopes of various types, catheter access, etc.) …” [0157]; this is inherent process of using catheter ports, trocars or access).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stopek, as applied in claim 1, and further in view of Nita (US 2012/0330196 A1; published on 12/27/2012).
Regarding claim 6, Stopek teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, except wherein real-time image guidance is used during the sonication to reposition the catheter adjacent the liquified material as the liquified material is aspirated.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nita teaches wherein real-time image guidance is used during the sonication ("... intraoperative computed tomography (CT) imaging may be used to help guide placement of the catheter … Such image guided systems are provided, for example, by Medtronic, Inc. (StealthStation S7), or BrainLAB, Inc. (VectorVision System)." [0080]; both StealthStation S7 and VectorVision System are commercially avaible real-time image guidance system) to reposition the catheter adjacent the liquified material as the liquified material is aspirated ("The drainage catheter 90 may be repositioned within the blood clots BC, or it may be repositioned into blood clots located in different areas of the brain ..." [0091]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify the catheter positioning as taught by Stopek with the additional catheter repositioning as taught by Nita. Doing so would make it possible to "provide appropriate visualization of the blood clots and ability to remove them without a need for craniotomy" (see Nita; [0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Stopek teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, except delivering a cavitation nucleation agent to the body to enhance liquification of the body.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nita teaches delivering a cavitation nucleation agent to the body ("Alternative methods optionally involve delivering microbubbles or nanobubbles into the patient's bloodstream, in conjunction with the delivered ultrasound energy." [0030]; microbubble is a known cavitation nucleation agent) to enhance liquification of the body ("U.S. Pat. No. RE36,939, issued to Tachiba a et al., describes the use of microbubbles to enhance the effects of ultrasound delivery, with or without a pharmacological composition." [0024]; the effect of microbubble is known in the art as recited by Tachiba).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify the ultrasound energy delivery as taught by Stopek with the additional microbubbles in combination with ultrasound energy as taught by Nita. Doing so would make it possible to "enhance the effects of ultrasound delivery," (see Nita; [0024]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAO SHENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797