DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 112 (f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a smart scaling app", “an analysis engine” and "a smart scaling engine” in claim claims 1-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Distler (US Pub 2007/0146389 A1) in view of Kunimi et al. (US Pub 2020/0336622 A1).
As to claim 1, Distler discloses smart box scaling apparatus, comprising:
a smart scaling app configured to: select different graphical elements in a design template for a master box design having panel and flap elements (Fig. 16, ¶0046, “the image file is a multi-layered file. A first layer includes surface data that is used to distort a scene of a second layer. Thus, for example, the first layer may contain surface data corresponding to a three-dimensional object, such as an inclined plane, cylinder, sphere, or a more complex shape, and the second layer may contain a two-dimensional scene (either a raster or vector image) at the location corresponding to the surface data. When the first and second layer are provided to the imaging application, the application distorts the second layer according to the embedded information of the first layer, producing an image of the scene as distorted by (or wrapped about) the surface data. Thus inclined plane surface data provides perspective to the scene, while cylindrical or spherical surface data distort the scene as it would appear if wrapped about the corresponding three-dimensional surface.” ¶0057, “The resulting selection of the object region is then used to create a “layer mask” which is applied to the layer group which represents the face. For example, a layer mask of the top surface for a cube shaped box is created. The layer mask is associated with or attached to a layer group called “top face” which contains blank artwork layers called “top face artwork” into which a user may paste artwork.” ¶0102, “The placement of artwork images and the manipulation by embedded data”);
an analysis engine configured to: read locations of the graphical elements of the master box design selected in the smart scaling app (¶0080, “Frame 304 provides a visual cue or guideline as to the shape that the artwork 301, 302 or 303 will be distorted to when imported into one of layers 306, 307 or 308.” ¶0081, “in order to automatically apply artwork placed in a specified region of the sizing guideline to the appropriate face or surface of an object or scene, constantly monitor the appropriate region of the sizing guideline. When a change is made to the area contained within the guideline region the apparatus will automatically load the artwork contained within that region, apply relevant two-dimensional or three-dimensional transformations and calculations in order to apply the artwork to the face or surface, and then re-render the composite resulting three-dimensional image.” ¶0103, “the software that controls the mapping of the artwork to the three-dimensional plane will then proportionally scale the artwork so that it is as large as possible without it being cropped.”);
find the panels based on the design template (¶0052, “the image file is provided to computer system 10 via media 20 or network 30, and may be uses as a “template” onto which other images or artwork may be added and subsequently manipulated by the embedded data of the image file.” Fig.1, ¶0054, “additional paths may be drawn which define the edges of portions of the silhouetted object, at blocks 101 b, 101 c, 101 d, etc. The edges may then be used to partition the region defined at block 101 a into object portions. In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the images shown in blocks 101 a-101 d correspond to a silhouette of a perspective view of a box object (block 101 a) and edges of the box faces that are within the silhouette faces (blocks 101 b-101 d). Layering of additional objects having different silhouettes requires the repetition of block 102 for each object. In some embodiments, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 2, there is only one object silhouette (of a box object), and three regions (each face of the box) within the object.” ¶0057, “the object regions are identified and manipulated. As an example, each object region is masked off (in Photoshop this may be accomplished by command-clicking or alt-clicking the trimmed object image) to define the edge of the silhouetted object and then, using the appropriate object edge path, as defined at block 102, remove, crop, or add other faces to/from the object selection to make a solid, anti-aliased selection at block 107. The resulting selection of the object region is then used to create a “layer mask” which is applied to the layer group which represents the face. For example, a layer mask of the top surface for a cube shaped box is created.”);
identify the selected graphical elements of the master box design (¶0057, “The layer mask is associated with or attached to a layer group called “top face” which contains blank artwork layers called “top face artwork” into which a user may paste artwork.” ¶0082, “the embedded data is applied to images by selecting the appropriate artwork document at 301-303, copying the artwork to the “clipboard”, selecting the appropriate artwork layer at 306-308, activating the perspective filter or tool (which in this embodiment is the Vanishing Point filter within Photoshop), pasting the image onto the perspective filter (represented here at 304), positioning the artwork (as in FIG. 5 at 507) using the mouse and transformation tools as needed (for example scaling, rotation, or other distortion tools), and then accepting the position.”); and
mark the selected graphical elements with scaling attributes (¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface. The correctly proportioned artwork is then exported or “copied” from the source in which it was created and then imported or “pasted” into the artwork layers” ¶0169, “apply the artwork by first proportionally enlarging or reducing the scale of the artwork to match the size of the three-dimensional objects face (with, in this embodiment, the edge of the square representing the edges of the object face),”¶0116, ¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface.”); and
a smart scaling engine configured to:
annotate the selected graphical elements with said scaling attributes by scaling the selected graphical elements of the master box design independently of said panels and of each other and by controlling positioning of the selected graphical elements independently of their scale (¶0081, “When a change is made to the area contained within the guideline region the apparatus will automatically load the artwork contained within that region, apply relevant two-dimensional or three-dimensional transformations and calculations in order to apply the artwork to the face or surface, and then re-render the composite resulting three-dimensional image.” ¶0088, “occurs at 304 for applying artwork to a face should be followed with the face closest in orientation to the estimated or desired orientation of the background surface. “ ¶0089, “To display a final composite image at 313, the layers at 305-312 follow their respective layer masks and transparency settings in order to do the math to create a single image. The final composite image appears, in this example, inside Photoshop while the layers remain separate editable elements.” ¶0116, “each with corresponding shape and form attributes that mimic the respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701, with corresponding transparency data attributes that approximate the true transparency of the objects or scenes contained in the respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701, and with corresponding edge data that closely visually mimics and closely matches the edge data from respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701.”Fig.13, ¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface. The correctly proportioned artwork is then exported or “copied” from the source in which it was created and then imported or “pasted” into the artwork layers” ¶0162-0164.); and
automatically detect safe zones (Fig. 10, ¶0169, “The apparatus would immediately “see” (by calculating a change using a difference algorithm) that artwork vector object(s) or artwork pixels have changed within the region at layer 1402.” “the apparatus would apply the artwork by first proportionally enlarging or reducing the scale of the artwork to match the size of the three-dimensional objects face (with, in this embodiment, the edge of the square representing the edges of the object face), applying it to an artwork layer such as the one found at layer 204 b in FIG.2, and render a composite image.” ¶0175, “additional guides (e.g. guides 1607, 1608, 1609, 1610) are supplied which allow the sizing guidelines to aid not only in preparation of artwork for application to the image file but also in preparing that same artwork for printing and production in a traditional printing process, such as an offset printing press with post-printing die cutting, gluing, folding, and assembly.” “this is achieved by the shapes and guides, which make up the proportional sizing guideline, being based on or defined by mechanical “die lines” used by printers to define cutting and gluing locations on a printed sheet. In this embodiment the object depicted in the image file has been constructed using very similar guidelines and thus the guidelines depicted in FIG. 16 may be used to size the artwork and to prepare the artwork for print and production.”); and
supply the smart scaling app with information about any graphical elements that exceed a panel/flap or safe zone boundary or that overlap due to application of different scaling to the graphical elements and the panel and flap elements (Fig. 5, ¶0055, “the selection of block 103 is used to cut the image of the object from the scene, and the cut out image is pasted in place on a new image layer at block 104. At block 105, the scene and its shadow are optionally cropped to provide a margin, such as a one inch margin.” ¶0080, “Frame 304 provides a visual cue or guideline as to the shape that the artwork 301, 302 or 303 will be distorted to when imported into one of layers 306, 307 or 308. Frame 304 may be a grid-like image, as shown in the figure, or may includes lines, marks, or other visual cues as to the shape of the corresponding embedded surface data.” ¶0104, “an addition to the three-dimensional grid functionality causes the pasted artwork to be automatically, and proportionally scaled to fit the appropriate object face without the need for manual scaling input from the invention's user.” “the artwork is trimmed by the associated alpha channel or layer mask with the layer group before preview.” ¶0107, “the artwork is cleanly trimmed to the edges of the object face, because it is mapped to a three-dimensional surface which matches the object in orientation and perspective” ¶0116, ¶0122,” dynamically “trim” enclosed layer artwork to a portion or single face of the surface belonging to the object depicted in layer 806” ¶0146, “The resulting image is cleaned and trimmed using a combination of path and selection tools. A blur is applied to soften the edges of the highlight. Finally, the highlight is trimmed to fit inside the appropriate object, face, or surface (in this case the bottle image) by alt or command-clicking on the respective layer (for example, at layer 1203 in FIG. 12), inverting the selection to select everything except for the bottle, and then trimming away the excess by deleting it.” ¶0169, “apply the artwork by first proportionally enlarging or reducing the scale of the artwork to match the size of the three-dimensional objects face (with, in this embodiment, the edge of the square representing the edges of the object face), applying it to an artwork layer such as the one found at layer 204 b in FIG.2, and render a composite image.” ¶0172-0174.).
Distler does not disclose using custom spot colors.
Kunimi teaches using custom spot colors (Kunimi, ¶0139, “S7.2: Since “spot color area read and print” is enabled, the first print data generation unit 29 converts the area information into print data (area information command) described in PDL that can be interpreted by the image forming apparatus 30. The first print data generation unit 29 may include a fact that “spot color area read and print” is enabled in the command. Therefore, the image forming apparatus 30 can detect that the object 71 designated in the spot color area 72 is printed in the spot color. Alternatively, the area information command may also be used to indicate that “spot color area read and print” is enabled.”).
Distler and Kunimi are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to modifications in an image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Distler with the features of “spot color area” as taught by Kunimi. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to print the object in a spot color at an arbitrary location (Kunimi, ¶0042).
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Distler and Kunimi discloses said smart scaling app configured to: draw enclosing rectangles in different custom spot colors around each object when creating the master box design;wherein each rectangle completely encloses only one object; said analysis engine configured to:separate the objects into different pages in a master file; and smart scaling app configured to: automatically use said custom spot colors to disambiguate a plurality of rules applied to said objects (Kunimi, Fig .11, ¶0037, “The user describes an object 71 to be printed in a spot color in a document. In part (a) of FIG. 1, the object 71 is an image code (bar code or two-dimensional code), but those that can be expressed in two dimensions, such as a character, a number, a symbol, an alphabet, a figure, and a photograph, can be the object 71. The document in part (a) of FIG. 1 may be completed in advance. An image of the area selected by the user is the object 71, and the user can select the object 71 from any location in the document.” ¶0040, “The user can print the object 71 of the spot color area 72 in the spot color area 72, but can move the object 71 of the spot color area 72 to any location in the document and print the object 71. That is, the user can designate the destination of the object 71 of the spot color area 72. In part (a) of FIG. 1, a destination area (an example of a second area) 74 is designated in a part of a photograph 73 of the document (in practice, this is an operation on the preview screen).”).
As to claim 14, the combination of Distler and Kunimi discloses a method for scaling a box, comprising: with a smart scaling app:selecting different graphical elements in a design template for a master box design having panel and flap elements: with an analysis engine:reading locations of the graphical elements of the master box design selected in the smart scaling app;finding the panels based on the design template;identifying the selected graphical elements of the master box design; andmarking the selected graphical elements with scaling attributes; and with a smart scaling engine:annotating the selected graphical elements with said scaling attributes by scaling the selected graphical elements of the master box design independently of said panels and of each other and by controlling positioning of the selected graphical elements independently of their scale;automatically detecting safe zones using custom spot colors; andsupplying the smart scaling app with information about any graphical elements that exceed a panel/flap or safe zone boundary or that overlap due to application of different scaling to the graphical elements and the panel and flap elements (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 15, claim 14 is incorporated and the combination of Distler and Kunimi discloses with the smart scaling app:drawing enclosing rectangles in different custom spot colors around each object when creating the master box design;wherein each rectangle completely encloses only one object;with the smart scaling app:separating the objects into different pages in a master file; andautomatically using said custom spot colors to disambiguate a plurality of rules applied to said objects (See claim 2 for detailed analysis.).
Claims 8-9, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Distler (US Pub 2007/0146389 A1) in view of Wozniak (US Pub 2023/0067802 A1).
As to claim 8, Distler discloses a smart box scaling apparatus, comprising:
a smart scaling app configured to:
select different graphical elements in a design template for a master box design having panel and flap elements (Fig. 16, ¶0046, “the image file is a multi-layered file. A first layer includes surface data that is used to distort a scene of a second layer. Thus, for example, the first layer may contain surface data corresponding to a three-dimensional object, such as an inclined plane, cylinder, sphere, or a more complex shape, and the second layer may contain a two-dimensional scene (either a raster or vector image) at the location corresponding to the surface data. When the first and second layer are provided to the imaging application, the application distorts the second layer according to the embedded information of the first layer, producing an image of the scene as distorted by (or wrapped about) the surface data. Thus inclined plane surface data provides perspective to the scene, while cylindrical or spherical surface data distort the scene as it would appear if wrapped about the corresponding three-dimensional surface.” ¶0057, “The resulting selection of the object region is then used to create a “layer mask” which is applied to the layer group which represents the face. For example, a layer mask of the top surface for a cube shaped box is created. The layer mask is associated with or attached to a layer group called “top face” which contains blank artwork layers called “top face artwork” into which a user may paste artwork.” ¶0102, “The placement of artwork images and the manipulation by embedded data”);
an analysis engine configured to:
read locations of the graphical elements of the master box design selected in the smart scaling app (¶0080, “Frame 304 provides a visual cue or guideline as to the shape that the artwork 301, 302 or 303 will be distorted to when imported into one of layers 306, 307 or 308.” ¶0081, “in order to automatically apply artwork placed in a specified region of the sizing guideline to the appropriate face or surface of an object or scene, constantly monitor the appropriate region of the sizing guideline. When a change is made to the area contained within the guideline region the apparatus will automatically load the artwork contained within that region, apply relevant two-dimensional or three-dimensional transformations and calculations in order to apply the artwork to the face or surface, and then re-render the composite resulting three-dimensional image.” ¶0103, “the software that controls the mapping of the artwork to the three-dimensional plane will then proportionally scale the artwork so that it is as large as possible without it being cropped.”);
find the panels based on the design template (¶0052, “the image file is provided to computer system 10 via media 20 or network 30, and may be uses as a “template” onto which other images or artwork may be added and subsequently manipulated by the embedded data of the image file.” Fig.1, ¶0054, “additional paths may be drawn which define the edges of portions of the silhouetted object, at blocks 101 b, 101 c, 101 d, etc. The edges may then be used to partition the region defined at block 101 a into object portions. In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the images shown in blocks 101 a-101 d correspond to a silhouette of a perspective view of a box object (block 101 a) and edges of the box faces that are within the silhouette faces (blocks 101 b-101 d). Layering of additional objects having different silhouettes requires the repetition of block 102 for each object. In some embodiments, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 2, there is only one object silhouette (of a box object), and three regions (each face of the box) within the object.” ¶0057, “the object regions are identified and manipulated. As an example, each object region is masked off (in Photoshop this may be accomplished by command-clicking or alt-clicking the trimmed object image) to define the edge of the silhouetted object and then, using the appropriate object edge path, as defined at block 102, remove, crop, or add other faces to/from the object selection to make a solid, anti-aliased selection at block 107. The resulting selection of the object region is then used to create a “layer mask” which is applied to the layer group which represents the face. For example, a layer mask of the top surface for a cube shaped box is created.”);
identify the selected graphical elements of the master box design (¶0057, “The layer mask is associated with or attached to a layer group called “top face” which contains blank artwork layers called “top face artwork” into which a user may paste artwork.” ¶0082, “the embedded data is applied to images by selecting the appropriate artwork document at 301-303, copying the artwork to the “clipboard”, selecting the appropriate artwork layer at 306-308, activating the perspective filter or tool (which in this embodiment is the Vanishing Point filter within Photoshop), pasting the image onto the perspective filter (represented here at 304), positioning the artwork (as in FIG. 5 at 507) using the mouse and transformation tools as needed (for example scaling, rotation, or other distortion tools), and then accepting the position.”); and
mark the selected graphical elements with scaling attributes (¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface. The correctly proportioned artwork is then exported or “copied” from the source in which it was created and then imported or “pasted” into the artwork layers” ¶0169, “apply the artwork by first proportionally enlarging or reducing the scale of the artwork to match the size of the three-dimensional objects face (with, in this embodiment, the edge of the square representing the edges of the object face),”¶0116, ¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface.”); and
a smart scaling engine configured to:
annotate the selected graphical elements with said scaling attributes by scaling the selected graphical elements of the master box design independently of said panels and of each other and by controlling positioning of the selected graphical elements independently of their scale (¶0081, “When a change is made to the area contained within the guideline region the apparatus will automatically load the artwork contained within that region, apply relevant two-dimensional or three-dimensional transformations and calculations in order to apply the artwork to the face or surface, and then re-render the composite resulting three-dimensional image.” ¶0088, “occurs at 304 for applying artwork to a face should be followed with the face closest in orientation to the estimated or desired orientation of the background surface. “ ¶0089, “To display a final composite image at 313, the layers at 305-312 follow their respective layer masks and transparency settings in order to do the math to create a single image. The final composite image appears, in this example, inside Photoshop while the layers remain separate editable elements.” ¶0116, “each with corresponding shape and form attributes that mimic the respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701, with corresponding transparency data attributes that approximate the true transparency of the objects or scenes contained in the respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701, and with corresponding edge data that closely visually mimics and closely matches the edge data from respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701.”Fig.13, ¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface. The correctly proportioned artwork is then exported or “copied” from the source in which it was created and then imported or “pasted” into the artwork layers” ¶0162-0164.); and
create the box with specific dimensions after folding (¶0175, “preparing that same artwork for printing and production in a traditional printing process, such as an offset printing press with post-printing die cutting, gluing, folding, and assembly.”);
wherein the panels and flaps are printed with horizontal or vertical flute spacing between each panel and/or flap (Fig. 5, ¶0055, “the selection of block 103 is used to cut the image of the object from the scene, and the cut out image is pasted in place on a new image layer at block 104. At block 105, the scene and its shadow are optionally cropped to provide a margin, such as a one inch margin.” ¶0104, “an addition to the three-dimensional grid functionality causes the pasted artwork to be automatically, and proportionally scaled to fit the appropriate object face without the need for manual scaling input from the invention's user.” “the artwork is trimmed by the associated alpha channel or layer mask with the layer group before preview.” ¶0107, “the artwork is cleanly trimmed to the edges of the object face, because it is mapped to a three-dimensional surface which matches the object in orientation and perspective”); and
Distler does not explicitly disclose wherein the master box design does not have gaps or discontinuities between the panels/flaps.
Woznik teaches the master box design does not have gaps or discontinuities between the panels/flaps (Woznik, Fig. 4, ¶0032, “original box artwork with image content portions 5A and 5B is created (for, example, by a graphic artist) for a reference box substrate 1 having known dimensions. Once created, one or more image contents regions 7A and 7B corresponding to the image content portions 5A and 5B are identified. The image content regions 7A and 7B (indicated by dashed outlines) are not necessarily coincident with box panels. For example, the first image content region 7A shown in FIG. 4 extends over three contiguous box panels 2A-C, while the second image content region 7B essentially coincides with only one of the box panels 2D.”).
Distler and Woznik are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to modifications in an image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Distler with the features of “the master box design does not have gaps or discontinuities between the panels/flaps” as taught by Woznik. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to preparing image data and printing onto variable-sized box substrates using a digital inkjet press (Woznik, ¶0031).
As to claim 9, claim 8 is incorporated and the combination of Distler and Woznik discloses the smart scaling engine is configured to create said horizontal or vertical flute spacing by any of:
scaling a thin strip at an edge where two panels/flaps meet to a width of the flute spacing; increasing the X/Y scaling of each panel/flap to compensate for the flute spacing; adjusting the rectangles encompassing each panel/flap all the way around; expanding the rectangles by a selected percentage of the flute spacing; and joining said slightly larger panels/flaps together (Distler, ¶0055, “the scene and its shadow are optionally cropped to provide a margin, such as a one inch margin.” ¶0064, “A sizing guideline is created by drawing and applying a vector or image based measurement grid each object region (or surface) of the associated scene in order to accurately judge the proportional size or relative X and Y dimensions, that artwork must have in order to scale edge-to-edge at block 117. The measurements are then used to create a single page group of outlined shapes which match the proportions of each face measured.”).
As to claim 10, Distler discloses a smart box scaling apparatus, comprising:
a smart scaling app configured to:
select different graphical elements in a design template for a master box design having panel and flap elements (Fig. 16, ¶0046, “the image file is a multi-layered file. A first layer includes surface data that is used to distort a scene of a second layer. Thus, for example, the first layer may contain surface data corresponding to a three-dimensional object, such as an inclined plane, cylinder, sphere, or a more complex shape, and the second layer may contain a two-dimensional scene (either a raster or vector image) at the location corresponding to the surface data. When the first and second layer are provided to the imaging application, the application distorts the second layer according to the embedded information of the first layer, producing an image of the scene as distorted by (or wrapped about) the surface data. Thus inclined plane surface data provides perspective to the scene, while cylindrical or spherical surface data distort the scene as it would appear if wrapped about the corresponding three-dimensional surface.” ¶0057, “The resulting selection of the object region is then used to create a “layer mask” which is applied to the layer group which represents the face. For example, a layer mask of the top surface for a cube shaped box is created. The layer mask is associated with or attached to a layer group called “top face” which contains blank artwork layers called “top face artwork” into which a user may paste artwork.” ¶0102, “The placement of artwork images and the manipulation by embedded data”);
an analysis engine configured to:
read locations of the graphical elements of the master box design selected in the smart scaling app (¶0080, “Frame 304 provides a visual cue or guideline as to the shape that the artwork 301, 302 or 303 will be distorted to when imported into one of layers 306, 307 or 308.” ¶0081, “in order to automatically apply artwork placed in a specified region of the sizing guideline to the appropriate face or surface of an object or scene, constantly monitor the appropriate region of the sizing guideline. When a change is made to the area contained within the guideline region the apparatus will automatically load the artwork contained within that region, apply relevant two-dimensional or three-dimensional transformations and calculations in order to apply the artwork to the face or surface, and then re-render the composite resulting three-dimensional image.” ¶0103, “the software that controls the mapping of the artwork to the three-dimensional plane will then proportionally scale the artwork so that it is as large as possible without it being cropped.”);
find the panels based on the design template (¶0052, “the image file is provided to computer system 10 via media 20 or network 30, and may be uses as a “template” onto which other images or artwork may be added and subsequently manipulated by the embedded data of the image file.” Fig.1, ¶0054, “additional paths may be drawn which define the edges of portions of the silhouetted object, at blocks 101 b, 101 c, 101 d, etc. The edges may then be used to partition the region defined at block 101 a into object portions. In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the images shown in blocks 101 a-101 d correspond to a silhouette of a perspective view of a box object (block 101 a) and edges of the box faces that are within the silhouette faces (blocks 101 b-101 d). Layering of additional objects having different silhouettes requires the repetition of block 102 for each object. In some embodiments, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 2, there is only one object silhouette (of a box object), and three regions (each face of the box) within the object.” ¶0057, “the object regions are identified and manipulated. As an example, each object region is masked off (in Photoshop this may be accomplished by command-clicking or alt-clicking the trimmed object image) to define the edge of the silhouetted object and then, using the appropriate object edge path, as defined at block 102, remove, crop, or add other faces to/from the object selection to make a solid, anti-aliased selection at block 107. The resulting selection of the object region is then used to create a “layer mask” which is applied to the layer group which represents the face. For example, a layer mask of the top surface for a cube shaped box is created.”);
identify the selected graphical elements of the master box design (¶0057, “The layer mask is associated with or attached to a layer group called “top face” which contains blank artwork layers called “top face artwork” into which a user may paste artwork.” ¶0082, “the embedded data is applied to images by selecting the appropriate artwork document at 301-303, copying the artwork to the “clipboard”, selecting the appropriate artwork layer at 306-308, activating the perspective filter or tool (which in this embodiment is the Vanishing Point filter within Photoshop), pasting the image onto the perspective filter (represented here at 304), positioning the artwork (as in FIG. 5 at 507) using the mouse and transformation tools as needed (for example scaling, rotation, or other distortion tools), and then accepting the position.”); and
mark the selected graphical elements with scaling attributes (¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface. The correctly proportioned artwork is then exported or “copied” from the source in which it was created and then imported or “pasted” into the artwork layers” ¶0169, “apply the artwork by first proportionally enlarging or reducing the scale of the artwork to match the size of the three-dimensional objects face (with, in this embodiment, the edge of the square representing the edges of the object face),”¶0116, ¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface.”); and
a smart scaling engine configured to:
annotate the selected graphical elements with said scaling attributes by scaling the selected graphical elements of the master box design independently of said panels and of each other and by controlling positioning of the selected graphical elements independently of their scale (¶0081, “When a change is made to the area contained within the guideline region the apparatus will automatically load the artwork contained within that region, apply relevant two-dimensional or three-dimensional transformations and calculations in order to apply the artwork to the face or surface, and then re-render the composite resulting three-dimensional image.” ¶0088, “occurs at 304 for applying artwork to a face should be followed with the face closest in orientation to the estimated or desired orientation of the background surface. “ ¶0089, “To display a final composite image at 313, the layers at 305-312 follow their respective layer masks and transparency settings in order to do the math to create a single image. The final composite image appears, in this example, inside Photoshop while the layers remain separate editable elements.” ¶0116, “each with corresponding shape and form attributes that mimic the respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701, with corresponding transparency data attributes that approximate the true transparency of the objects or scenes contained in the respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701, and with corresponding edge data that closely visually mimics and closely matches the edge data from respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701.”Fig.13, ¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface. The correctly proportioned artwork is then exported or “copied” from the source in which it was created and then imported or “pasted” into the artwork layers” ¶0162-0164.); and
specify (Fig. 16, ¶0175, “In this embodiment additional guides (e.g. guides 1607, 1608, 1609, 1610) are supplied which allow the sizing guidelines to aid not only in preparation of artwork for application to the image file but also in preparing that same artwork for printing and production in a traditional printing process, such as an offset printing press with post-printing die cutting, gluing, folding, and assembly. In this embodiment the user can both visualize and prepare final artwork using the same guidelines, where the guidelines depicted in FIG. 15 aid the user in preparing their artwork for the image file but do not specifically aid the user in preparing their artwork for printing and production. In this embodiment, this is achieved by the shapes and guides, which make up the proportional sizing guideline, being based on or defined by mechanical “die lines” used by printers to define cutting and gluing locations on a printed sheet. In this embodiment the object depicted in the image file has been constructed using very similar guidelines and thus the guidelines depicted in FIG. 16 may be used to size the artwork and to prepare the artwork for print and production.”);
wherein the (Fig. 16, ¶0175, “In this embodiment additional guides (e.g. guides 1607, 1608, 1609, 1610) are supplied which allow the sizing guidelines to aid not only in preparation of artwork for application to the image file but also in preparing that same artwork for printing and production in a traditional printing process, such as an offset printing press with post-printing die cutting, gluing, folding, and assembly. In this embodiment the user can both visualize and prepare final artwork using the same guidelines, where the guidelines depicted in FIG. 15 aid the user in preparing their artwork for the image file but do not specifically aid the user in preparing their artwork for printing and production. In this embodiment, this is achieved by the shapes and guides, which make up the proportional sizing guideline, being based on or defined by mechanical “die lines” used by printers to define cutting and gluing locations on a printed sheet. In this embodiment the object depicted in the image file has been constructed using very similar guidelines and thus the guidelines depicted in FIG. 16 may be used to size the artwork and to prepare the artwork for print and production.”).
Distler does not explicitly indicate the offset printing area is bleed zone but it is quite obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Woznik teaches a bleed zone (Woznik, ¶0012, “image content to be printed on the box substrate, said generic instructions defining: (a) one or more image content regions; (b) one or more design components for each image content region, each design component being independent of said box dimensions; and (c) a set of transformation rules associated with each design component, said transformation rules being dependent on at least one of: the image content regions and the box dimensions;” ¶0034, “an associated set of transformation rules for manipulating a respective design component.”).
Distler and Woznik are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to modifications in an image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Distler with the features of “bleed zone” as taught by Woznik. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to preparing image data and printing onto variable-sized box substrates using a digital inkjet press (Woznik, ¶0031).
As to claim 21, the combination of Distler and Kunimi discloses a method for scaling a box, comprising:with a smart scaling app:selecting different graphical elements in a design template for a master box design having panel and flap elements:with an analysis engine:reading locations of the graphical elements of the master box design selected in the smart scaling app;finding the panels based on the design template;identifying the selected graphical elements of the master box design; andmarking the selected graphical elements with scaling attributes; andwith a smart scaling engine:annotating the selected graphical elements with said scaling attributes by scaling the selected graphical elements of the master box design independently of said panels and of each other and by controlling positioning of the selected graphical elements independently of their scale; andcreating the box with specific dimensions after folding;wherein the panels and flaps are printed with horizontal or vertical flute spacing between each panel and/or flap; andwherein the master box design does not have gaps or discontinuities between the panels/flaps (See claim 8 for detailed analysis.)..
As to claim 22, claim 21 is incorporated and the combination of Distler and Kunimi discloses said smart scaling engine:creating said horizontal or vertical flute spacing by any of:scaling a thin strip at an edge where two panels/flaps meet to a width of the flute spacing;increasing the X/Y scaling of each panel/flap to compensate for the flute spacing; adjusting the rectangles encompassing each panel/flap all the way around; expanding the rectangles by a selected percentage of the flute spacing; and joining said slightly larger panels/flaps together (See claim 9 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 23, the combination of Distler and Kunimi discloses a method for scaling a box, comprising:with a smart scaling app:selecting different graphical elements in a design template for a master box design having panel and flap elements:with an analysis engine:reading locations of the graphical elements of the master box design selected in the smart scaling app;finding the panels based on the design template;identifying the selected graphical elements of the master box design; andmarking the selected graphical elements with scaling attributes; andwith a smart scaling engine:annotating the selected graphical elements with said scaling attributes by scaling the selected graphical elements of the master box design independently of said panels and of each other and by controlling positioning of the selected graphical elements independently of their scale; andspecifying bleed zones for any edge of any panel/flap;wherein the bleed zones are configured for different box shapes, layouts, and cutting/folding machines (See claim 10 for detailed analysis.).
Claims 12-13, 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Distler (US Pub 2007/0146389 A1) in view of Hoffer et al. (US Pub 2025/0265758 A1).
As to claim 12, Distler discloses smart box scaling apparatus, comprising:
a smart scaling app configured to: select different graphical elements in a design template for a master box design having panel and flap elements (Fig. 16, ¶0046, “the image file is a multi-layered file. A first layer includes surface data that is used to distort a scene of a second layer. Thus, for example, the first layer may contain surface data corresponding to a three-dimensional object, such as an inclined plane, cylinder, sphere, or a more complex shape, and the second layer may contain a two-dimensional scene (either a raster or vector image) at the location corresponding to the surface data. When the first and second layer are provided to the imaging application, the application distorts the second layer according to the embedded information of the first layer, producing an image of the scene as distorted by (or wrapped about) the surface data. Thus inclined plane surface data provides perspective to the scene, while cylindrical or spherical surface data distort the scene as it would appear if wrapped about the corresponding three-dimensional surface.” ¶0057, “The resulting selection of the object region is then used to create a “layer mask” which is applied to the layer group which represents the face. For example, a layer mask of the top surface for a cube shaped box is created. The layer mask is associated with or attached to a layer group called “top face” which contains blank artwork layers called “top face artwork” into which a user may paste artwork.” ¶0102, “The placement of artwork images and the manipulation by embedded data”);
an analysis engine configured to: read locations of the graphical elements of the master box design selected in the smart scaling app (¶0080, “Frame 304 provides a visual cue or guideline as to the shape that the artwork 301, 302 or 303 will be distorted to when imported into one of layers 306, 307 or 308.” ¶0081, “in order to automatically apply artwork placed in a specified region of the sizing guideline to the appropriate face or surface of an object or scene, constantly monitor the appropriate region of the sizing guideline. When a change is made to the area contained within the guideline region the apparatus will automatically load the artwork contained within that region, apply relevant two-dimensional or three-dimensional transformations and calculations in order to apply the artwork to the face or surface, and then re-render the composite resulting three-dimensional image.” ¶0103, “the software that controls the mapping of the artwork to the three-dimensional plane will then proportionally scale the artwork so that it is as large as possible without it being cropped.”);
find the panels based on the design template (¶0052, “the image file is provided to computer system 10 via media 20 or network 30, and may be uses as a “template” onto which other images or artwork may be added and subsequently manipulated by the embedded data of the image file.” Fig.1, ¶0054, “additional paths may be drawn which define the edges of portions of the silhouetted object, at blocks 101 b, 101 c, 101 d, etc. The edges may then be used to partition the region defined at block 101 a into object portions. In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the images shown in blocks 101 a-101 d correspond to a silhouette of a perspective view of a box object (block 101 a) and edges of the box faces that are within the silhouette faces (blocks 101 b-101 d). Layering of additional objects having different silhouettes requires the repetition of block 102 for each object. In some embodiments, such as the one illustrated in FIG. 2, there is only one object silhouette (of a box object), and three regions (each face of the box) within the object.” ¶0057, “the object regions are identified and manipulated. As an example, each object region is masked off (in Photoshop this may be accomplished by command-clicking or alt-clicking the trimmed object image) to define the edge of the silhouetted object and then, using the appropriate object edge path, as defined at block 102, remove, crop, or add other faces to/from the object selection to make a solid, anti-aliased selection at block 107. The resulting selection of the object region is then used to create a “layer mask” which is applied to the layer group which represents the face. For example, a layer mask of the top surface for a cube shaped box is created.”);
identify the selected graphical elements of the master box design (¶0057, “The layer mask is associated with or attached to a layer group called “top face” which contains blank artwork layers called “top face artwork” into which a user may paste artwork.” ¶0082, “the embedded data is applied to images by selecting the appropriate artwork document at 301-303, copying the artwork to the “clipboard”, selecting the appropriate artwork layer at 306-308, activating the perspective filter or tool (which in this embodiment is the Vanishing Point filter within Photoshop), pasting the image onto the perspective filter (represented here at 304), positioning the artwork (as in FIG. 5 at 507) using the mouse and transformation tools as needed (for example scaling, rotation, or other distortion tools), and then accepting the position.”); and
mark the selected graphical elements with scaling attributes (¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface. The correctly proportioned artwork is then exported or “copied” from the source in which it was created and then imported or “pasted” into the artwork layers” ¶0169, “apply the artwork by first proportionally enlarging or reducing the scale of the artwork to match the size of the three-dimensional objects face (with, in this embodiment, the edge of the square representing the edges of the object face),”¶0116, ¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface.”); and
a smart scaling engine configured to:
annotate the selected graphical elements with said scaling attributes by scaling the selected graphical elements of the master box design independently of said panels and of each other and by controlling positioning of the selected graphical elements independently of their scale (¶0081, “When a change is made to the area contained within the guideline region the apparatus will automatically load the artwork contained within that region, apply relevant two-dimensional or three-dimensional transformations and calculations in order to apply the artwork to the face or surface, and then re-render the composite resulting three-dimensional image.” ¶0088, “occurs at 304 for applying artwork to a face should be followed with the face closest in orientation to the estimated or desired orientation of the background surface. “ ¶0089, “To display a final composite image at 313, the layers at 305-312 follow their respective layer masks and transparency settings in order to do the math to create a single image. The final composite image appears, in this example, inside Photoshop while the layers remain separate editable elements.” ¶0116, “each with corresponding shape and form attributes that mimic the respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701, with corresponding transparency data attributes that approximate the true transparency of the objects or scenes contained in the respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701, and with corresponding edge data that closely visually mimics and closely matches the edge data from respective layers contained in the layer group at layer 701.”Fig.13, ¶0159, “User artwork 1301, 1302, and 1303 may be created in a vector or raster image format, and is first sized using proportioning guidelines that are supplied as numeric dimensions or as visual shapes which mimic the proportion of each object surface. The correctly proportioned artwork is then exported or “copied” from the source in which it was created and then imported or “pasted” into the artwork layers” ¶0162-0164.); and
Distler does not explicitly disclose use Al techniques comprising any of object detection and image segmentation to identify different design elements that may require certain rules; and based on such identification, automatically apply preset rules to said elements.
Hoffer teaches use Al techniques comprising any of object detection and image segmentation to identify different design elements that may require certain rules; and based on such identification, automatically apply preset rules to said elements (Hoffer, ¶0059, “The panel labels can be generated by an AI model based on segmented elements in the panels, and a reviewer can review the labels and make changes to them. For example, a semantic segmentation model and/or an object detection and segmentation can be used to segment panels and identify objects identified therein. Further, optical character recognition can be applied to text identified in the panels, and one or more language models can be used to determine referents and meanings of the text (e.g., what emotions are conveyed by a given character saying a given line of text). After the labels are generated by an AI model, the labels can be sent to a reviewer/editor who reviews the labels for their accuracy.”).
Distler and Hoffer are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to modifications in an image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Distler with the features of “use Al techniques comprising any of object detection and image segmentation to identify different design elements that may require certain rules; and based on such identification, automatically apply preset rules to said elements” as taught by Hoffer. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to using a trained AI processor to segment/identify/modify elements (Hoffer, ¶0022).
As to claim 13, claim 12 is incorporated and the combination of Distler and Hoffer discloses said different design elements that may require certain rules comprise any of natural images, logos, bar codes, and shipping labels (Distler, ¶0172, “if the shape represents a circular surface, such as the surface of a CD or DVD, then the shape would be a circle and if the surface is irregular then the shape would be drawn to best reflect that irregular shape as viewed from a pure front view. A label is placed inside each shape (e.g. label “top” 1505) so that that a user may clearly associate each shape with the face or surface it represents on the target image.” ¶00176, “automatically apply artwork placed in a specified region of the sizing guideline to the appropriate face or surface of an object or scene, the apparatus will constantly monitor the appropriate region of the sizing guideline. When a change is made to the area contained within the guideline region the apparatus will automatically load the artwork contained within that region, apply relevant two-dimensional or three-dimensional transformations and calculations in order to apply the artwork to the face or surface, and then re-render the composite resulting three-dimensional image. The appearance to the invention's user will be that the flat sizing guideline region is both a two-dimensional representation of the three-dimensional surface to which they wish to apply the artwork and that there is a precise, predictable link between artwork placed on the two-dimensional region and the artwork that automatically appears on the face or surface of the final three-dimensional object or scene image composite.”).
As to claim 25, the combination of Distler and Kunimi discloses a method for scaling a box, comprising:with a smart scaling app:selecting different graphical elements in a design template for a master box design having panel and flap elements:with an analysis engine:reading locations of the graphical elements of the master box design selected in the smart scaling app;finding the panels based on the design template;identifying the selected graphical elements of the master box design; andmarking the selected graphical elements with scaling attributes; andwith a smart scaling engine:annotating the selected graphical elements with said scaling attributes by scaling the selected graphical elements of the master box design independently of said panels and of each other and by controlling positioning of the selected graphical elements independently of their scale;using Al techniques comprising any of object detection and image segmentation to identify different design elements that may require certain rules; andbased on such identification, automatically applying preset rules to these elements (See claim 12 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 26, claim 25 is incorporated and the combination of Distler and Kunimi discloses said different design elements that may require certain rules comprise any of natural images, logos, bar codes, and shipping labels (See claim 13 for detailed analysis.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 11, 16-20, 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
3. The smart box scaling apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: said smart scaling app configured to: define a drawing order of overlapping rules by adding a numeric suffix to the spot color name; and draw each rectangle in numeric order.
4. The smart box scaling apparatus of claim 3, further comprising: said smart scaling app configured to: create a background of repeating tiles; and draw an enclosing rectangle around one of the tiles in a custom spot color specifically chosen to mark said background tiles.
5. The smart box scaling apparatus of claim 4, further comprising: said analysis engine configured to: detect the enclosing rectangle and tile; and apply a custom rule to an entire background composed of the tile.
6. The smart box scaling apparatus of claim 4, further comprising: said analysis engine configured to: scale the tiled background symmetrically or asymmetrically to completely cover an entire sheet for any box size without regard to individual panel/flap scaling.
7. The smart box scaling apparatus of claim 4, further comprising: said analysis engine configured to: expand tile repeating in an X and/or a Y direction to fill the background of an entire sheet for a larger box size.
11. The smart box scaling apparatus of claim 10, said smart scaling engine further configured to: analyze the master box design and specified bleed zones; find pairs of zones that overlap; and adjust one of the overlapping zones so that the zones do not overlap.
16. The method of claim 15, further comprising: with the smart scaling app: defining the drawing order of overlapping rules by adding a numeric suffix to the spot color name and then drawing each rectangle in numeric order.
17. The method of claim 16, further comprising: with the smart scaling app: creating a background of repeating tiles; and drawing an enclosing rectangle around one of the tiles in a custom spot color specifically chosen to mark said background tiles.
18. The method of claim 17, further comprising: with the analysis engine: detecting the enclosing rectangle and tile; and applying a custom rule to an entire background composed of the tile.
19. The method of claim 17, further comprising: with the analysis engine: scaling the tiled background symmetrically or asymmetrically to completely cover an entire sheet for any box size without regard to individual panel/flap scaling.
20. The method of claim 17, further comprising: with the analysis engine: expanding tile repeating in an X and/or a Y direction to fill the background of an entire sheet for a larger box size.
24. The method of claim 23, further comprising: said smart scaling engine: analyzing the master box design and specified bleed zones; finding pairs of zones that overlap; and adjusting one of the overlapping zones so that the zones do not overlap.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reed et al. (US Pub 2022/0335740 A1) teaches Data hiding within a spot color.
Walker et al. (US Pub 2011/0116133 A1) teaches apply semantic structural design data to the style sheet until a graphic design template is prepared.
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613