DETAILED ACTION
*Note in the following document:
1. Texts in italic bold format are limitations quoted either directly or conceptually from claims/descriptions disclosed in the instant application.
2. Texts in regular italic format are quoted directly from cited reference or Applicant’s arguments.
3. Texts with underline are added by the Examiner for emphasis.
4. Texts with
5. Acronym “PHOSITA” stands for “Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-6 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nvidia (NVIDIA Turing GPU Architecture, downloaded @ https://www.nvidia.com/content/dam/en-zz/Solutions/design-visualization/technologies/turing-architecture/NVIDIA-Turing-Architecture-Whitepaper.pdf, 2018 ).
Regarding Claim 2, Nvidia discloses an apparatus comprising:
a set of memory controllers (p.7 line 3 from the bottom:
);
a plurality of multi-core groups coupled to the set of memory controllers (p.7
), wherein a multi-core group within the plurality of multi-core groups (p.7
)
comprises:
a plurality of graphics cores configured to process one or more shader programs (p.1:
);
a plurality of tensor cores configured to perform matrix operations (p.4
);
a ray tracing core configured to perform bounding volume hierarchy (BVH) operations and triangle intersection operations (p.30
);
a first cache shared among the plurality of graphics cores, the plurality of tensor cores, and the ray tracing core; and a set of register files to store operand values (p.7
);
wherein execution circuitry of at least one of the plurality of graphics cores, the plurality of tensor cores, and the ray tracing core is configured to:
render a frame of first pixels for a scene (p.72: the noisy images are frames of first pixels for scenes.
);
perform BVH operations and triangle intersection operations to compute a lighting effect for the scene (see p. Fig.20 Box intersection evaluators and triangle intersection evaluators in RT Core:
Also see p.30
and p.79
); and
perform operations associated with a neural network to generate second pixels having the lighting effect for the scene (p.65
).
Regarding Claim 3, Nvidia discloses wherein the execution circuitry is configured to denoise the first pixels via the neural network to generate the second pixels (p.72
).
Regarding Claim 4, Nvidia further discloses wherein the execution circuitry is configured to perform the BVH operations and triangle intersection operations based on a first sample count (p.30
).
Regarding Claim 5, Nvidia discloses wherein the execution circuitry is configured to generate the second pixels via prediction of pixel data that approximates a second sample count that is higher than the first sample count (p.6
).
Regarding Claim 6, Nvidia discloses wherein the neural network was trained via training data that corresponds with the second sample count (p.35
).
Regarding Claims 11-15, Claims 11-15 are similar to Claims 2-6 except in the format of system and the system comprises a memory device. Nvidia discloses
(p.1). Therefore, the same reasons for rejection applied to Claim 2-6 are also applied to Claim 11-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nvidia (NVIDIA Turing GPU Architecture, 2018) as applied to Claims 2 and 11 above, and further in view of Llamas et al. (Coffee Break Series: Ray Tracing in Games with NVIDIA RTX, NVIDIA Developer, Available Online @https://developer.nvidia.com/blog/raytracing-games-nvidia-rtx/, June 20, 2018, 5 pages).
Regarding Claim 7, Nvidia teaches or suggests wherein the first pixels for the scene include a color channel and a normal channel (p.68
p.50
).
In addition, Llamas in part 2 video (at 7:28-7:38) discloses that for the denoising the sample value, i.e. the color value, and the normal is used. As Llamas explains ray tracing in games with NVIDIA RTX which implements NVIDIA’s Turing GPU architecture that is described in Nvidia, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Llamas and include the limitation of wherein the first pixels for the scene include a color channel and a normal channel in order to create stunning imagery that lives up to the word “photorealistic”. as suggested by Llamas (first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 8, Nvidia teaches or suggests wherein the execution circuitry is configured to generate the second pixels for the scene based at least in part on the color channel and the normal channel (p.68
p.50
).
In addition, Llamas in part 2 video (at 7:28-7:38) discloses that for the denoising the sample value, i.e. the color value, and the normal is used. As Llamas explains ray tracing in games with NVIDIA RTX which implements NVIDIA’s Turing GPU architecture that is described in Nvidia, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Llamas and include the limitation of wherein the execution circuitry is configured to generate the second pixels for the scene based at least in part on the color channel and the normal channel in order to create stunning imagery that lives up to the word “photorealistic”. as suggested by Llamas (first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 9, Nvidia discloses wherein the execution circuitry is configured to generate the second pixels for the scene via matrix multiplication operations performed via one or more of the plurality of tensor cores (p.4
p.15
).
Regarding Claims 16-18, Claims 16-18 are similar to Claims 7-9 except in the format of system. Therefore, the same reasons for rejection applied to Claim 7-9 are also applied to Claim 16-18.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nvidia (NVIDIA Turing GPU Architecture, 2018) as applied to Claims 9 and 18 above, and further in view of Llamas et al. (Coffee Break Series: Ray Tracing in Games with NVIDIA RTX, NVIDIA Developer, Available Online @https://developer.nvidia.com/blog/raytracing-games-nvidia-rtx/, June 20, 2018, 5 pages) as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of Kazakov et al. (US 2018/0025463 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Nvidia modified by Llamas fails to explicitly recite performing the matrix multiplication operations in response to a shader program.
However, Kazakov discloses a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention had already known performing matrix multiplication operations I response to a shader program ([0069]: compiler 22 may compile instructions in vertex shader source code 36 for performing this matrix multiplication).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Kazakov into that of Nvidia and to include the limitation of wherein the execution circuitry is configured to perform the matrix multiplication operations in response to a shader program executed via the plurality of graphics cores in order to utilize a graphics processing unit (GPU) to accelerate the rendering of graphics data for display as suggested by Kazakov ([0002]).
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 19 is similar to Claims 10 except in the format of system. Therefore, the same reason for rejection applied to Claim 10 is also applied to Claim 19.
Conclusion
/YINGCHUN HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613