DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Domestic
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C.120, 121, or 365(c) or 365 (a) of any PCT Application international application is
acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 2/18/2025 and 5/14/2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23, 28, 34 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Sui, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0072551), hereafter Sui.
Regarding claim 23, Sui teaches
an apparatus comprising memory coupled to processing circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to
([0284] Network node 1200 can include processor 1210 (also referred to as “processing circuitry”) that is operably connected to program memory 1220 and data memory 1230):
process, based on signaling from a reduced capability user equipment (redcap UE), a reduced physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring capability
([0021] Some embodiments include methods (e.g., procedures) for a wireless device (e.g., UE, NR_REDCAP UE, MTC device, NB-IoT device, modem, etc. or component thereof). These exemplary methods can include transmitting, to a network node, a first indication of at least one capability of the wireless device
[0185] The UE indicates that it only has the minimum capabilities. In response, the network can enable energy savings features for the UE, such as reduced PDCCH monitoring requirements); and
determine a reduced monitoring capability (MO) configuration for the redcap UE based on at least the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability
([0184] After receiving the indication from the UE, the network uses configurations corresponding to the indicated UE capabilities to subsequently communicate with the UE. The configuration used by the network can be one of the configurations indicated in the SI broadcast in the cell. For example, if the UE indicates that it can support up to 50-MHz bandwidth and two antennas in the DL, then the network can use PDCCH and PDSCH configurations that support UEs with these capabilities),
wherein the reduced MO configuration includes configuring first and second monitoring profiles for the redcap UE, the first monitoring profile relating to a higher power consumption
([0168] Higher data rate requires a larger bandwidth, which is typically associated with increased energy consumption
[0184] After receiving the indication from the UE, the network uses configurations corresponding to the indicated UE capabilities to subsequently communicate with the UE
[0255] The at least one capability (e.g., indicated in block 1020) can include one or more capabilities that correspond to but are greater than one or more predetermined minimum capabilities of wireless devices. In this example, the at least one capability can include a greater-than-minimum bandwidth, etc. In some of these embodiments, the at least one capability can include one or more additional capabilities that do not correspond to the predetermined minimum capabilities (e.g., expected use of energy savings mechanisms
(The capabilities used to configure the UE can be capabilities that are greater than one or more predetermined minimum capabilities (greater bandwidth associated with increased energy consumption) and do not correspond to power saving))
and
the second monitoring profile relating to a lower power consumption, wherein the second monitoring profile includes a reduced number of blind decodes per slot relative to a reference number of blind decodes
([0184] After receiving the indication from the UE, the network uses configurations corresponding to the indicated UE capabilities to subsequently communicate with the UE
[0185] In response, the network can enable energy savings features for the UE, such as reduced PDCCH monitoring requirements, reduced requirements for blind decoding).
Regarding claim 28, Sui teaches the apparatus of claim 23,
wherein the second monitoring profile comprises a PDCCH monitoring opportunity (MO) window comprising the reduced number of blind decodes
([0185] In response, the network can enable energy savings features for the UE, such as reduced PDCCH monitoring requirements, reduced requirements for blind decoding).
Regarding claim 34, Sui teaches
a base station, comprising
([0283] Network node 1200 can comprise a base station, hereafter network node/base station):
a transceiver configured to communicate with a reduced capability user equipment (redcap UE)
([0021] REDCAP UE communicating with the network node/base station
[0287] Network node/base station Radio network interface 1240 can comprise transmitters, receivers); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the transceiver and configured to
(Fig. 11 Network node/base station processor(s) 1210, coupled to the Radio network interface 1240 that comprises the transmitters, receivers):
process, based on signaling from the redcap UE, a reduced physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring capability
([0021] Some embodiments include methods (e.g., procedures) for a wireless device (e.g., UE, NR_REDCAP UE, MTC device, NB-IoT device, modem, etc. or component thereof). These exemplary methods can include transmitting, to a network node/base station, a first indication of at least one capability of the wireless device
[0185] The UE indicates that it only has the minimum capabilities. In response, the network can enable energy savings features for the UE, such as reduced PDCCH monitoring requirements); and
determine a reduced monitoring capability (MO) configuration for the redcap UE based on at least the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability
([0184] After receiving the indication from the UE, the network uses configurations corresponding to the indicated UE capabilities to subsequently communicate with the UE. The configuration used by the network can be one of the configurations indicated in the SI broadcast in the cell. For example, if the UE indicates that it can support up to 50-MHz bandwidth and two antennas in the DL, then the network can use PDCCH and PDSCH configurations that support UEs with these capabilities),
wherein the reduced MO configuration includes configuring first and second monitoring profiles for the redcap UE, the first monitoring profile relating to a higher power consumption
([0168] Higher data rate requires a larger bandwidth, which is typically associated with increased energy consumption
[0184] After receiving the indication from the UE, the network uses configurations corresponding to the indicated UE capabilities to subsequently communicate with the UE
[0255] The at least one capability (e.g., indicated in block 1020) can include one or more capabilities that correspond to but are greater than one or more predetermined minimum capabilities of wireless devices. In this example, the at least one capability can include a greater-than-minimum bandwidth, etc. In some of these embodiments, the at least one capability can include one or more additional capabilities that do not correspond to the predetermined minimum capabilities (e.g., expected use of energy savings mechanisms
(The capabilities used to configure the UE can be capabilities that are greater than one or more predetermined minimum capabilities (greater bandwidth associated with increased energy consumption) and do not correspond to power saving)) and
the second monitoring profile relating to a lower power consumption, wherein the second monitoring profile includes a reduced number of blind decodes per slot relative to a reference number of blind decodes
([0184] After receiving the indication from the UE, the network uses configurations corresponding to the indicated UE capabilities to subsequently communicate with the UE
[0185] In response, the network can enable energy savings features for the UE, such as reduced PDCCH monitoring requirements, reduced requirements for blind decoding).
Regarding claim 39, Sui teaches the base station of claim 34,
wherein the second monitoring profile comprises a PDCCH monitoring opportunity (MO) window comprising the reduced number of blind decodes
([0185] In response, the network can enable energy savings features for the UE, such as reduced PDCCH monitoring requirements, reduced requirements for blind decoding).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 26, 29-32, 35, 37 and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sui, in view of Lei, et al (US PG Publication 2021/0195579), hereafter Lei.
Regarding claim 24, Sui teaches the apparatus of claim 23.
Sui does not teach
wherein a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of the second monitoring profile is a
number of slots, wherein the number of slots is one slot or greater than one slot.
In the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches
wherein a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of the second monitoring profile is a
number of slots, wherein the number of slots is one slot or greater than one slot
([0065] The UE may selectively perform PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period based at least in part on whether the GC-PDCCH communication indicates that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is activated. If the UE determines that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is not activated, the UE may refrain from performing PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period, which may conserve processing, memory, and battery resources of the UE
[0067] In some aspects, the UE may perform the one or more PDCCH blind decodes based at least in part on the PDCCH monitoring configuration associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned. The bandwidth of the CORESETs may be reduced relative to other types of UEs. As another example, the PDCCH monitoring parameters may include a monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter that indicates a periodicity and an offset for one or more slots of the monitoring period in which the UE is to perform PDCCH monitoring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 26, Sui teaches the apparatus of claim 23.
Sui does not teach
wherein a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of the second monitoring profile is a number of slots, wherein the number of slots is greater than one slot.
In the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches
wherein a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of the second monitoring profile is a number of slots, wherein the number of slots is greater than one slot
([0065] The UE may selectively perform PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period based at least in part on whether the GC-PDCCH communication indicates that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is activated. If the UE determines that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is not activated, the UE may refrain from performing PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period, which may conserve processing, memory, and battery resources of the UE
[0067] In some aspects, the UE may perform the one or more PDCCH blind decodes based at least in part on the PDCCH monitoring configuration associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned. The bandwidth of the CORESETs may be reduced relative to other types of UEs. As another example, the PDCCH monitoring parameters may include a monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter that indicates a periodicity and an offset for one or more slots of the monitoring period in which the UE is to perform PDCCH monitoring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 29, Sui teaches the apparatus of claim 28.
Sui does not teach
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
generate, for transmission to the redcap UE, Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling comprising the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability.
In the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
generate, for transmission to the redcap UE, Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling comprising the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability
([0006] Performed by a user equipment (UE), may include transmitting UE assistance information to a base station; receiving an indication of a zone identifier associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring configuration for radio resource control (RRC) connected reduced-capability UEs; determining whether a group common PDCCH (GC-PDCCH) communication indicates that the zone identifier is activated for an associated monitoring period
[0065] The UE may selectively perform PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period based at least in part on whether the GC-PDCCH communication indicates that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is activated. If the UE determines that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is not activated, the UE may refrain from performing PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period, which may conserve processing, memory, and battery resources of the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 30, Sui, in view of Lei, teaches the apparatus of claim 29.
Lei further teaches
wherein the RRC signaling comprises an indication of one or more slots within the PDCCH MO window to be used for the reduced number of blind decodes, wherein the indication comprises a bitmap
([0073] As further shown in FIG. 3D, the example DCI format may include a bitmap of activated zones field, which may include a bitwidth of Q for Q zones. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a respective zone index, zone identifier, or Z-RNTI of the Q zones. The value of a bit in the bitmap may indicate whether an associated zone index, zone identifier, or Z-RNTI is activated
[0074] Q and WQ may be configured by RRC signaling
[0132] Determining that the GC-PDCCH communication does not indicate that the zone identifier is activated for the monitoring period; and refraining from performing the one or more PDCCH blind decodes during the monitoring period based at least in part on determining that the GC-PDCCH communication does not indicate that the zone identifier is activated for the monitoring period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, in view of Lei, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 31, Sui teaches the apparatus of claim 28.
Sui does not teach
wherein the PDCCH MO window comprises a plurality of PDCCH MO windows, wherein each PDCCH MO window has an independently configured reduced number of blind decodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches
wherein the PDCCH MO window comprises a plurality of PDCCH MO windows, wherein each PDCCH MO window has an independently configured reduced number of blind decodes
([0047] Each PDCCH monitoring configuration may be configured such that reduced PDCCH monitoring parameters are reduced for reduced-capability UEs assigned to the zone. The reduced PDCCH monitoring parameters may include a reduced quantity of PDCCH blind decodes
[0132] Refraining from performing the one or more PDCCH blind decodes during the monitoring period based at least in part on determining that the GC-PDCCH communication does not indicate that the zone identifier is activated for the monitoring period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 32, Sui, in view of Lei, teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
Lei further teaches
wherein the independently configured reduced number of blind decodes is based on an aggregation level or a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format size
([0077] As shown in FIG. 3E, the sPDCCH communication may include short DCI (e.g., DCI that includes fewer bits relative to a full-sized DCI)
[0079] The UE may receive the DCI communication, and the UE may identify one or more other downlink assignments for the UE and/or one or more uplink grants for the UE identified in the DCI communication
[0080] In this way, reduced-capability UEs may be configured to perform fewer PDCCH blind decodes relative to other types of UEs through the use of a zone identifier. Zones and associated zone identifiers may be associated with PDCCH monitoring configurations that include reduced PDCCH monitoring parameters for reduced-capability UEs assigned to the zones. The reduced PDCCH monitoring parameters may include a reduced quantity of PDCCH blind decodes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, in view of Lei, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 35, Sui teaches the base station of claim 34.
Sui does not teach
wherein a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of the second monitoring profile is a number of slots, wherein the number of slots is one slot or greater than one slot.
In the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches
wherein a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of the second monitoring profile is a number of slots, wherein the number of slots is one slot or greater than one slot
([0065] The UE may selectively perform PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period based at least in part on whether the GC-PDCCH communication indicates that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is activated. If the UE determines that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is not activated, the UE may refrain from performing PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period, which may conserve processing, memory, and battery resources of the UE
[0067] In some aspects, the UE may perform the one or more PDCCH blind decodes based at least in part on the PDCCH monitoring configuration associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned. The bandwidth of the CORESETs may be reduced relative to other types of UEs. As another example, the PDCCH monitoring parameters may include a monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter that indicates a periodicity and an offset for one or more slots of the monitoring period in which the UE is to perform PDCCH monitoring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 37, Sui teaches the base station of claim 34.
Sui does not teach
wherein a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of the second monitoring profile is a number of slots, wherein the number of slots is greater than one slot.
In the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches
wherein a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of the second monitoring profile is a number of slots, wherein the number of slots is greater than one slot.
([0065] The UE may selectively perform PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period based at least in part on whether the GC-PDCCH communication indicates that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is activated. If the UE determines that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is not activated, the UE may refrain from performing PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period, which may conserve processing, memory, and battery resources of the UE
[0067] In some aspects, the UE may perform the one or more PDCCH blind decodes based at least in part on the PDCCH monitoring configuration associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned. The bandwidth of the CORESETs may be reduced relative to other types of UEs. As another example, the PDCCH monitoring parameters may include a monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter that indicates a periodicity and an offset for one or more slots of the monitoring period in which the UE is to perform PDCCH monitoring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 40, Sui teaches the base station of claim 39.
Sui does not teach
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
generate, for transmission to the redcap UE, Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling comprising the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability.
In the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
generate, for transmission to the redcap UE, Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling comprising the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability
([0006] Performed by a user equipment (UE), may include transmitting UE assistance information to a base station; receiving an indication of a zone identifier associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring configuration for radio resource control (RRC) connected reduced-capability UEs; determining whether a group common PDCCH (GC-PDCCH) communication indicates that the zone identifier is activated for an associated monitoring period
[0065] The UE may selectively perform PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period based at least in part on whether the GC-PDCCH communication indicates that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is activated. If the UE determines that the zone identifier associated with the zone to which the UE is assigned is not activated, the UE may refrain from performing PDCCH monitoring during the monitoring period, which may conserve processing, memory, and battery resources of the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 41, Sui, in view of Lei, teaches the base station of claim 40.
Lei further teaches
wherein the RRC signaling comprises an indication of one or more slots within the PDCCH MO window to be used for the reduced number of blind decodes, wherein the indication comprises a bitmap
([0073] As further shown in FIG. 3D, the example DCI format may include a bitmap of activated zones field, which may include a bitwidth of Q for Q zones. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a respective zone index, zone identifier, or Z-RNTI of the Q zones. The value of a bit in the bitmap may indicate whether an associated zone index, zone identifier, or Z-RNTI is activated
[0074] Q and WQ may be configured by RRC signaling
[0132] Determining that the GC-PDCCH communication does not indicate that the zone identifier is activated for the monitoring period; and refraining from performing the one or more PDCCH blind decodes during the monitoring period based at least in part on determining that the GC-PDCCH communication does not indicate that the zone identifier is activated for the monitoring period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, in view of Lei, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 42, Sui teaches the base station of claim 40.
Sui does not teach
wherein the PDCCH MO window comprises a plurality of PDCCH MO windows, wherein each PDCCH MO window has an independently configured reduced number of blind decodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches
wherein the PDCCH MO window comprises a plurality of PDCCH MO windows, wherein each PDCCH MO window has an independently configured reduced number of blind decodes
([0047] Each PDCCH monitoring configuration may be configured such that reduced PDCCH monitoring parameters are reduced for reduced-capability UEs assigned to the zone. The reduced PDCCH monitoring parameters may include a reduced quantity of PDCCH blind decodes
[0132] Refraining from performing the one or more PDCCH blind decodes during the monitoring period based at least in part on determining that the GC-PDCCH communication does not indicate that the zone identifier is activated for the monitoring period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lei’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of physical downlink control channel monitoring reduction for reduced-capability user equipments (see [0002]).
Claims 25, 27, 36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sui, in view of Lei, and further in view of Lin, et al (US PG Publication 2021/0195579), hereafter Lei.
Regarding claim 25, Sui, in view of Lei, teaches the apparatus of claim 24.
Sui, in view of Lei, does not teach
wherein an indication of the number of slots is included in the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability or predefined in specification.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches
wherein an indication of the number of slots is included in the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability or predefined in specification
([0004] The present disclosure relates to wireless communication systems and, more specifically, the present disclosure relates to reduced PDCCH monitoring in a wireless communication system
[0095] A determination operation is provided for a maximum number of monitored PDCCH candidates per span by a UE in an active DL BWP with SCS configuration μ for PDCCH receptions
[0096] A span can be defined as: (3) a number of consecutive slots where UE is configured to monitor PDCCH, wherein the span starts at a first slot where a PDCCH monitoring occasion starts and ends at a last slot where a PDCCH monitoring occasion ends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, in view of Lei, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lin’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of supporting determination of a maximum PDCCH monitoring span with feasibility to reduce PDCCH monitoring overhead (see [0093]).
Regarding claim 27, Sui, in view of Lei, teaches the apparatus of claim 26.
Sui, in view of Lei, does not teach
wherein an indication of the number of slots is included in the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability or predefined in specification.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches
wherein an indication of the number of slots is included in the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability or predefined in specification
([0004] The present disclosure relates to wireless communication systems and, more specifically, the present disclosure relates to reduced PDCCH monitoring in a wireless communication system
[0095] A determination operation is provided for a maximum number of monitored PDCCH candidates per span by a UE in an active DL BWP with SCS configuration μ for PDCCH receptions
[0096] A span can be defined as: (3) a number of consecutive slots where UE is configured to monitor PDCCH, wherein the span starts at a first slot where a PDCCH monitoring occasion starts and ends at a last slot where a PDCCH monitoring occasion ends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, in view of Lei, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lin’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of supporting determination of a maximum PDCCH monitoring span with feasibility to reduce PDCCH monitoring overhead (see [0093]).
Regarding claim 36, Sui, in view of Lei, teaches the base station of claim 35.
Sui, in view of Lei, does not teach
wherein an indication of the number of slots is included in the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability or predefined in specification.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches
wherein an indication of the number of slots is included in the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability or predefined in specification
([0004] The present disclosure relates to wireless communication systems and, more specifically, the present disclosure relates to reduced PDCCH monitoring in a wireless communication system
[0095] A determination operation is provided for a maximum number of monitored PDCCH candidates per span by a UE in an active DL BWP with SCS configuration μ for PDCCH receptions
[0096] A span can be defined as: (3) a number of consecutive slots where UE is configured to monitor PDCCH, wherein the span starts at a first slot where a PDCCH monitoring occasion starts and ends at a last slot where a PDCCH monitoring occasion ends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, in view of Lei, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lin’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of supporting determination of a maximum PDCCH monitoring span with feasibility to reduce PDCCH monitoring overhead (see [0093]).
Regarding claim 38, Sui, in view of Lei, teaches the base station of claim 37.
Sui, in view of Lei, does not teach
wherein an indication of the number of slots is included in the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability or predefined in specification.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches
wherein an indication of the number of slots is included in the reduced PDCCH monitoring capability or predefined in specification
([0004] The present disclosure relates to wireless communication systems and, more specifically, the present disclosure relates to reduced PDCCH monitoring in a wireless communication system
[0095] A determination operation is provided for a maximum number of monitored PDCCH candidates per span by a UE in an active DL BWP with SCS configuration μ for PDCCH receptions
[0096] A span can be defined as: (3) a number of consecutive slots where UE is configured to monitor PDCCH, wherein the span starts at a first slot where a PDCCH monitoring occasion starts and ends at a last slot where a PDCCH monitoring occasion ends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, in view of Lei, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Lin’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of supporting determination of a maximum PDCCH monitoring span with feasibility to reduce PDCCH monitoring overhead (see [0093]).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sui, in view of Lei, and further in view of Kim, et al (US PG Publication 2021/0195579), hereafter Lei.
Regarding claim 33, Sui, in view of Lei, teaches the apparatus of claim 32.
Sui, in view of Lei, does not teach
wherein a maximum total number of different DCI format sizes with Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) configured to monitor is two or less.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches
wherein a maximum total number of different DCI format sizes with Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) configured to monitor is two or less
([0184] Embodiment 1-2-2 provides a method of aligning sizes of DCI formats, when DCI formats corresponding to a POSS power saving signal of a terminal are monitored and the number of DCI formats having different sizes is equal to a specific number
[0187] Condition 2 The terminal may monitor up to Y pieces of DCI having different sizes per slot for a specific RNTI (e.g., Y=3)
(The terminal monitors up to a maximum number of DCI formats Y, 3 being given only as an example, indicating Y can be any value, including 2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Sui, in view of Lei, which includes PDCCH monitoring, to include Kim’s teaching of PDCCH monitoring, for the benefit of providing a method and apparatus for reduced power consumption of a terminal in a mobile communication system (see [0018]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art Not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0291496), hereafter Lee, teaches PDCCH coverage enhancement for reduced capability WTRUs.
Papasakellariou (US PG Publication 2020/0021474) teaches constructing a search space to reduce a number of channel estimations that the UE performs for decoding PDCCHs, relative to conventional search spaces.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641