DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auchmann, US PGPUB No. 20160189687 A1, hereinafter Auchmann, and further in view of Lee et al., US PGPUB No. 20200219431 A1, hereinafter 20200219431 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Auchmann discloses a display control system (Auchmann; a display control system [¶ 0054-0055 and ¶ 0060]) comprising:
a renderer structured to generate a first image that designates color information to be displayed while being superimposed on a predetermined image and a second image that designates transparency of the first image (Auchmann; a display control system [as addressed above] comprises a renderer (i.e. 1st means and/or 3rd means) structured to generate a 1st image that designates color information to be displayed while being superimposed on a predetermined image and a 2nd image that designates transparency of the 1st image [¶ 0056, ¶ 0058, ¶ 0060, and ¶ 0062]; moreover, determining means and display means [id.]; moreover, alpha masking [¶ 0077]); and
a compositor (Auchmann; a display control system [as addressed above] comprises a compositor (i.e. 1st means and/or 3rd means) [¶ 0056, ¶ 0058, ¶ 0060, and ¶ 0062]; moreover, decomposition means, determining means, and/or overlaying means [id.]), wherein the renderer generates the first image based on data of a first graphical user interface (GUI) object using a GUI component prepared in advance (Auchmann; the renderer (i.e. 1st means and/or 3rd means) [as addressed above] generates the 1st image based on data of a 1st GUI object using a GUI component prepared in advance [¶ 0058-0062]; wherein, parameters and/or state are prepared in advance [id.]; moreover, all possible states of at least one variable input parameter decomposition [¶ 0056, ¶ 0064, and ¶ 0073-0074]), and generates the second image based on data of a second GUI object that outputs an image that designates transparency of the first GUI object (Auchmann; generates the 2nd image based on data of a 2nd GUI object that outputs an image that designates transparency of the 1st GUI object [¶ 0077, ¶ 0080, and ¶ 0084]), and the compositor generates a composite image in which the first image whose transparency is set based on the second image is superimposed on the predetermined image (Auchmann; the compositor (i.e. 1st means and/or 3rd means) [as addressed above] generates a composite image in which the 1st image whose transparency is set based on the 2nd image is superimposed on the predetermined image [¶ 0080 and ¶ 0084-0085]).
Auchmann fails to explicitly disclose (being) set based on another image.
However, Lee teaches the first image whose transparency is set based on the second image is superimposed on the predetermined image (Lee; a composite image in which the 1st image whose transparency is set based on the 2nd image is superimposed on the predetermined image [¶ 0099-0100]; moreover, indicating transparency across frames [¶ 0132-0133 and ¶ 0149-0152]).
Auchmann and Lee are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Auchmann, to incorporate the first image whose transparency is set based on the second image is superimposed on the predetermined image (as taught by Lee), in order to provide augmented graphical information to a user within a real environment (Lee; [¶ 0004-0005 and ¶ 0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Auchmann in view of Lee further discloses the display control system according to claim 1, wherein the renderer generates one image in which the first image and the second image are disposed in different regions as one image to be transmitted to the compositor (Auchmann; the renderer (i.e. 1st means and/or 3rd means) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] generates one image in which the 1st image and the 2nd image are disposed in different regions as one image to be transmitted to the compositor (i.e. 1st means and/or 3rd means) [¶ 0036 and ¶ 0084], as illustrated within Fig. 4B; moreover, alphanumeric opaque info [¶ 0040 and ¶ 0080], as illustrated within Fig. 4A, and z-order [¶ 0020 and ¶ 0030-0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Auchmann in view of Lee further discloses the display control system according to claim 3, further comprising a generator structured to generate layout information including a position of the 2nd image in the one image (Auchmann; a generator (i.e. 3rd means) structured to generate layout information (i.e. z-order) including a position of the 2nd image in the one image [¶ 0058 and ¶ 0060]; moreover, determining means and/or overlaying means [id.]; wherein, the z-order and alpha information modifies visualization [¶ 0028-0030 and ¶ 0036]), wherein the compositor extracts the first image and the second image from the one image based on the layout information (Auchmann; the compositor (i.e. 1st and/or 3rd means) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] extracts the 1st image and the 2nd image from the one image based on the layout information (i.e. z-order) [¶ 0058]; wherein, alpha blending and/or alpha masking [¶ 0028-0029] that is a layered image comprises several images [¶ 0080 and ¶ 0084]; moreover, comparison at the pixel level [¶ 0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Auchmann in view of Lee further discloses the display control system according to claim 1, wherein the renderer and the compositor are implemented in a single processor, the single processor includes a first operating system (OS) on which the renderer operates and a second OS on which the compositor operates, and the second OS has a safety requirement different from a safety requirement of the first OS (Auchmann; the renderer and the compositor [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] are implemented in a single processor, the single processor includes a 1st OS (correspond to operation means/step) on which the renderer operates and a 2nd OS (corresponding to another operation means/step) on which the compositor operates, and the 2nd OS has a safety requirement different from a safety requirement of the 1st OS [¶ 0037-0038 and ¶ 0039-0042]; ; wherein, multiple processing steps are involved for the safe visualization of a safety-relevant information [¶ 0034-0036], such that safety and non-safety related information is distinct [¶ 0031-0032 and ¶ 0046-0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Auchmann in view of Lee further discloses the display control system according to claim 1, wherein the renderer is implemented in a processor of an information device mounted on a vehicle (Auchmann; the renderer (i.e. 1st and/or 3rd means) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is implemented in a processor [¶ 0024 and ¶ 0037-0038] of an information device implicitly mounted (given a display device) [¶ 0019, ¶ 0040, and 0058-0059] on a vehicle [¶ 0003 and ¶ 0037]), and the compositor is implemented in a processor of a meter device mounted on the vehicle (Auchmann; the compositor (i.e. 1st and/or 3rd means) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is implemented in a processor [¶ 0024 and ¶ 0037-0038] of a meter device (i.e. speedometer) implicitly mounted (given a display device) [¶ 0019, ¶ 0040, and 0058-0059] on the vehicle [¶ 0003 and ¶ 0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Auchmann discloses a display control method executed by a computer (Auchmann; a display control method executed by a computer [¶ 0054-0055 and ¶ 0060]), the display control method comprising:
first processing of generating a first image that designates color information to be displayed while being superimposed on a predetermined image and a second image that designates transparency of the first image (Auchmann; 1st processing [¶ 0037-0038 and ¶ 0040-0042] of generating a 1st image that designates color information to be displayed while being superimposed on a predetermined image and a 2nd image that designates transparency of the 1st image [¶ 0019-0020 and ¶ 0028]); and
second processing of generating a composite image in which the first image whose transparency is set based on the second image is superimposed on the predetermined image (Auchmann; 2nd processing [¶ 0037-0038 and ¶ 0040-0042] of generating a composite image in which the 1st image whose transparency is set based on the 2nd image is superimposed on the predetermined image [¶ 0080 and ¶ 0084-0085]), wherein in the first processing, the first image is generated based on data of a first GUI object using a GUI component prepared in advance (Auchmann; the 1st image is generated based on data of a 1st GUI object using a GUI component prepared in advance [¶ 0058-0062]; wherein, parameters and/or state are prepared in advance [id.]; moreover, all possible states of at least one variable input parameter decomposition [¶ 0056, ¶ 0064, and ¶ 0073-0074]), and the second image is generated based on data of a second GUI object that outputs an image that designates transparency of the first GUI object (Auchmann; the 2nd image is generated based on data of a 2nd GUI object that outputs an image that designates transparency of the 1st GUI object [¶ 0077, ¶ 0080, and ¶ 0084]).
Auchmann fails to explicitly disclose (being) set based on another image.
However, Lee teaches the first image whose transparency is set based on the second image is superimposed on the predetermined image (Lee; a composite image in which the 1st image whose transparency is set based on the 2nd image is superimposed on the predetermined image [¶ 0099-0100]; moreover, indicating transparency across frames [¶ 0132-0133 and ¶ 0149-0152]).
Auchmann and Lee are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Auchmann, to incorporate the first image whose transparency is set based on the second image is superimposed on the predetermined image (as taught by Lee), in order to provide augmented graphical information to a user within a real environment (Lee; [¶ 0004-0005 and ¶ 0007]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auchmann in view of Lee as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Johansson et al., US PGPUB No. 20140071116 A1, hereinafter Johansson.
Regarding claim 2, Auchmann in view of Lee further discloses the display control system according to claim 1, wherein the renderer generates the first image indicating a color obtained by modifying a color designated for the first GUI object by predetermined transparency (Auchmann; the renderer [as addressed above] generates the 1st image indicating a color (i.e. RGBA) obtained by modifying a color (i.e. RGB) designated for the 1st GUI object [¶ 0019-0020] by predetermined transparency (i.e. alpha) [¶ 0028-0029 and ¶ 0036]; wherein, an overlay means of rendering uses alpha information [¶ 0058]).
Auchmann as modified by Lee fails to disclose a color obtained by multiplying.
However, Johansson teaches a color obtained by multiplying a color designated for the first GUI object by predetermined transparency (Johansson; a color obtained by multiplying a color designated for the (first) GUI object by predetermined transparency [¶ 0095]; wherein, the (first) GUI object corresponds to the rendering image [¶ 0022 and ¶ 0025-0026]; wherein, graphics generated to output on a display have transparent, opaque, or translucent portions [¶ 0083]).
Auchmann in view of Lee and Johansson are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Auchmann as modified by Lee, to incorporate a color obtained by multiplying a color designated for the first GUI object by predetermined transparency (as taught by Johansson), in order to provide augmented graphical information to a user within a real environment (Johansson; [¶ 0002-0003 and ¶ 0016]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auchmann in view of Lee as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Lopez et al., US PGPUB No. 20170162168 A1, hereinafter Lopez.
Regarding claim 5, Auchmann in view of Lee further discloses the display control system according to claim 1, wherein the renderer is implemented in a first processor (Auchmann; the renderer [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is implemented in an implicit 1st processor (given multiple processing steps and one or more logic units) [¶ 0037 and ¶ 0039-0040]; wherein, multiple processing steps are involved for the safe visualization of a safety-relevant information [¶ 0034-0036]; additionally, a powerful computing unit [¶ 0038], as well as the distinction between safety and non-safety related information [¶ 0031-0032 and ¶ 0046-0047]), and the compositor is implemented in a second processor having a safety requirement different from a safety requirement of the first processor (Auchmann; the compositor is implemented in an implicit 2nd processor having a safety requirement different from a safety requirement of the 1st processor [¶ 0037 and ¶ 0039-0042]; wherein, information has distinctions associated with safety [¶ 0031-0032 and ¶ 0046-0047]).
Auchmann as modified by Lee fails to explicitly disclose a second processor having a safety requirement different from a safety requirement of the first processor.
However, Lopez teaches the renderer is implemented in a first processor (Lopez; the renderer is implemented in a 1st processor [¶ 0024-0026]; wherein, a processing module includes one or more processing units [¶ 0019] in relation with an instrument cluster [¶ 0021-0022]), and the compositor is implemented in a second processor having a safety requirement different from a safety requirement of the first processor (Lopez; the compositor is implemented in a 2nd processor having a safety requirement different from a safety requirement of the 1st processor [¶ 0020-0022 and ¶ 0024]; wherein, the instrument gauges reflect the current operation conditions corresponding to aspects of safety requirements [id.]).
Auchmann in view of Lee and Lopez are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Auchmann as modified by Lee, to incorporate the renderer is implemented in a first processor, and the compositor is implemented in a second processor having a safety requirement different from a safety requirement of the first processor (as taught by Lopez), in order to provide adaptive information that is conveniently and effectively communicated in a manner that improves user experience (Lopez; [¶ 0004 and ¶ 0012-0013]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
(regarding image encoding)
Palmer (US Patent No. 8881038 B1); and
Naka (US PGPUB No. 20080155406 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611