DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Dolson and Votaw do not teach “contacts” in the sense of the recited term. Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that Dolson does teach contact as reasonably construed.
The claim recites “contacts…in the electronic device,” which simply requires 1) some sort of data that can be reasonably considered a contact, and 2) the data resides at some point in an electronic device that performs the processing.
Taking the second point first, note the language does not require that the device is a client device or mobile device or anything so specific. The recited device also reads on a server device or secondary computer that performs some of the processing, such as social networking system 120 in Dolson [Fig. 1, paras. 13-17]. Thus, contact data in either device would meet the limitation.
Therefore as to the first point, the “contact” data must be something that reasonably meets that term, that resides either on the user device 100 or the system 120. Several different elements of Dolson meet the limitation.
One example is data collected after upload at system 120, which includes tags indicating a user in a photo [para. 20]. While not a contact in the sense of a listed mobile phone number, an identified user who appears in a photo from the user device can reasonably be considered a “contact” in the sense that the identified person has an association with the user.
Dolson also describes that the connection scorer 201 identifies an individual as a user’s close friend when they appear in a photo [para. 25]. The identified close friend is readily understood as a “contact” of the associated user and is used for purposes of determining whether the photo is relevant or important to the user.
Finally, Dolson describes social profile information that is used for connection scoring (i.e. it exists in the networking system 120). This includes both specified connections with other users (e.g. “B’s dad”) and “close friends” group, which organizes the user’s connections [para. 30]. These are both examples that would be considered “contacts” by one skilled in the art of social networking and photo curation.
For the reasons above, Examiner believes Dolson meets the recited “associating…tags with content including…contacts…in the electronic device” and the rejections are maintained. The citations remain the same in view of the amendment since the added language is not considered to change the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolson, US 2013/0148864 in view of Votaw, US 2015/0088704.
1, 8, 15. Dolson teaches a method comprising:
a processing device and memory with instructions [paras. 49, 50];
associating, using at least one processing device of an electronic device, tags with content including two or more of:
messages, links, files, call transcripts, payment transaction information, location history [content location metadata, 202, Fig. 2, paras. 10-12, 33-35], contacts [connection to another user metadata, 201, Fig. 2, paras. 12, 25, 26, 28-32], or activity information in the electronic device;
determining, using the at least one processing device, connections between items of the content and connections of the items of the content with photos or videos in the electronic device [e.g. determining a score for the relationship between photos/content and either or both of location and connections, paras. 10-12, 25, 26, 28-35],
identifying, using the at least one processing device, a memory corresponding to at least one of the photos or videos as meaningful for a user of the electronic device based on at least some of the determined connections, wherein the memory is identified as meaningful based on one or more characteristics of a relationship between the user and a person corresponding to one of the contacts that is associated with the memory [connection score 201, Fig. 2, paras. 12, 25, 26, 28-32] and based on at least one of:
a frequency of communication between the user and the person;
content of the communication between the user and the person;
one or more characteristics of an event or an activity associated with the memory; and
one or more characteristics of a location associated with the memory [location score 202, Fig. 2, paras. 10-12, 33-35];
Dolson is silent on a digital memory including tagged content (e.g. other that photos or videos) and photos or videos.
Votaw teaches a system including aggregating, using the at least one processing device,
digital content for the memory, the aggregated digital content including at least some of the tagged content [e.g. activity/transaction list 1020, location 1016, stats 1114, locations 1112, Figs. 10, 11, paras. 128-130] associated with the memory one or more of the photos or videos [images 1022, images in lower part of screen of Fig. 11; Figs. 10, 11, paras. 128-130] associated with the memory, the one or more of the photos or videos associated with the memory including the at least one of the photos or videos; and
creating, using the at least one processing device, a digital memory based on at least some of the aggregated digital content, the digital memory allowing the user to reexperience the memory, the digital memory including at least a portion of the tagged content within the aggregated digital content and at least a portion of the photos or videos [images 1022, images in lower part of screen of Fig. 11; Figs. 10, 11, paras. 128-130] within the aggregated digital content [a digital memory is created and displayed so the user can view and relive the memory, e.g. Figs. 9-11, 14, 15, paras. 121-125, 128-130; also see Fig. 12].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, combining images with related data in order to give a fuller picture of the memorable event and providing interesting data along with the photo. This will encourage users to use the system and provide inspiration to plan future events.
2 and 9 and 16. Dolson teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the memory is identified as meaningful according to an estimation of emotional weight or significance of the memory to the user [interest (meaningfulness) score indicates significance of the image/memory, using data such as sports teams, musical taste, etc., paras. 36-38].
3 and 10 and 17. Votaw teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the digital memory includes:
a representative photo or video associated with the memory [image 1022, Fig. 10, paras. 128-130];
a title and a description for the digital memory, each of the title and the description based on at least part of the aggregated digital content [e.g. caption 1012, Fig. 10, paras. 128-130]; and
one or more branches for different aspects of the digital memory e.g. one aspect (branch) is location and another aspect (branch) is transaction history, Fig. 10, paras. 128-130].
4 and 11 and 18. Votaw teaches the method of Claim 3, wherein the different aspects of the digital memory include two or more of:
timing [dates in caption 1012, Fig. 10], location [theme park, city, state in captions 1012 and 1018, Fig. 10], user activity, and one or more recommendations based on at least a portion of the aggregated digital content.
5 and 12 and 19. Votaw teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the digital memory includes one or more additional photos or videos associated with the memory in addition to the representative photo or video [e.g. the representative photo is the large upper image 1022, and the additional photos are the smaller photos under the large image, Fig. 10, paras. 128-130].
6 and 13 and 20. Votaw teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the digital memory is created in response to at least one of:
one or more keywords in a user search on the electronic device; content in a message composed by the user on the electronic device; or a current activity of the user [e.g. the user is currently located in a certain town, so the history interface includes past activities in that location, paras. 41, 144, 147].
7 and 14. The method of Claim 1, further comprising: generating a detail view for the digital memory [additional details may be displayed/viewed, Fig. 10, para. 129]; generating one or more branches from the detail view for the digital memory [additional details read on a “branch” of the summary, Fig. 10, 128-130]; and displaying an access link to the digital memory on the electronic device [package summary acts as access link; user can select it to view the additional details, Fig. 10, para. 129].
Relevant Prior Art
Other prior art considered relevant to the claims but not cited in a rejection includes Obrador, US 8,345,934. See col. 4, ll. 45-58; cols. 7-8, ll. 49-2; col. 9, ll. 42-53.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2424