DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolson, US 2013/0148864 in view of Votaw, US 2015/0088704.
1, 8, 15. Dolson teaches a method comprising:
a processing device and memory with instructions [paras. 49, 50];
associating, using at least one processing device of an electronic device, tags with content including two or more of:
messages, links, files, call transcripts, payment transaction information, location history [content location metadata, 202, Fig. 2, paras. 10-12, 33-35], contacts [connection to another user metadata, 201, Fig. 2, paras. 12, 25, 26, 28-32], or activity information in the electronic device;
determining, using the at least one processing device, connections between items of the content and connections of the items of the content with photos or videos in the electronic device [e.g. determining a score for the relationship between photos/content and either or both of location and connections,, paras. 10-12, 25, 26, 28-35],
identifying, using the at least one processing device, a memory as meaningful for a user of the electronic device based on at least some of the determined connections, wherein the memory is identified as meaningful based on at least one of
one or more characteristics of a relationship between the user and a person corresponding to one of the contacts that is associated with the memory [connection score 201, Fig. 2, paras. 12, 25, 26, 28-32];
a frequency of communication between the user and the person;
content of the communication between the user and the person;
one or more characteristics of an event or an activity associated with the memory; and
one or more characteristics of a location associated with the memory [location score 202, Fig. 2, paras. 10-12, 33-35];
Dolson is silent on a digital memory including tagged content (e.g. other that photos or videos) and photos or videos.
Votaw teaches a system including aggregating, using the at least one processing device,
digital content for the memory, the aggregated digital content including at least some of the tagged content [e.g. activity/transaction list 1020, location 1016, stats 1114, locations 1112, Figs. 10, 11, paras. 128-130] associated with the memory and at least some of the photos or videos [images 1022, images in lower part of screen of Fig. 11; Figs. 10, 11, paras. 128-130] associated with the memory; and
creating, using the at least one processing device, a digital memory based on at least some of the aggregated digital content, the digital memory allowing the user to reexperience the memory, the digital memory including at least a portion of the tagged content within the aggregated digital content and at least a portion of the photos or videos [images 1022, images in lower part of screen of Fig. 11; Figs. 10, 11, paras. 128-130] within the aggregated digital content [a digital memory is created and displayed so the user can view and relive the memory, e.g. Figs. 9-11, 14, 15, paras. 121-125, 128-130; also see Fig. 12].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, combining images with related data in order to give a fuller picture of the memorable event and providing interesting data along with the photo. This will encourage users to use the system and provide inspiration to plan future events.
2 and 9 and 16. Dolson teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the memory is identified as meaningful according to an estimation of emotional weight or significance of the memory to the user [interest (meaningfulness) score indicates significance of the image/memory, using data such as sports teams, musical taste, etc., paras. 36-38].
3 and 10 and 17. Votaw teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the digital memory includes:
a representative photo or video associated with the memory [image 1022, Fig. 10, paras. 128-130];
a title and a description for the digital memory, each of the title and the description based on at least part of the aggregated digital content [e.g. caption 1012, Fig. 10, paras. 128-130]; and
one or more branches for different aspects of the digital memory e.g. one aspect (branch) is location and another aspect (branch) is transaction history, Fig. 10, paras. 128-130].
4 and 11 and 18. Votaw teaches the method of Claim 3, wherein the different aspects of the digital memory include two or more of:
timing [dates in caption 1012, Fig. 10], location [theme park, city, state in captions 1012 and 1018, Fig. 10], user activity, and one or more recommendations based on at least a portion of the aggregated digital content.
5 and 12 and 19. Votaw teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the digital memory includes one or more additional photos or videos associated with the memory in addition to the representative photo or video [e.g. the representative photo is the large upper image 1022, and the additional photos are the smaller photos under the large image, Fig. 10, paras. 128-130].
6 and 13 and 20. Votaw teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the digital memory is created in response to at least one of:
one or more keywords in a user search on the electronic device; content in a message composed by the user on the electronic device; or a current activity of the user [e.g. the user is currently located in a certain town, so the history interface includes past activities in that location, paras. 41, 144, 147].
7 and 14. The method of Claim 1, further comprising: generating a detail view for the digital memory [additional details may be displayed/viewed, Fig. 10, para. 129]; generating one or more branches from the detail view for the digital memory [additional details read on a “branch” of the summary, Fig. 10, 128-130]; and displaying an access link to the digital memory on the electronic device [package summary acts as access link; user can select it to view the additional details, Fig. 10, para. 129].
Relevant Prior Art
Other prior art considered relevant to the claims but not cited in a rejection includes Obrador, US 8,345,934. See col. 4, ll. 45-58; cols. 7-8, ll. 49-2; col. 9, ll. 42-53.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2424