DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-13, 15-22, 26-29, 31-36, 40-43, 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al, (Pub. No.: KR 20160150612 A, machine translation attached), hereafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches method, comprising:
at a computer system (FIG. 1, laptop 210, mobile phone 220) (paragraph [[0023], “These lighting information input terminals (210, 220) may be various communication terminals, such as computers and smart devices”) that is in communication with a light source (FIG. 1, lighting facilities (110, 120, 130)), an input device (paragraph [[0023], “These lighting information input terminals (210, 220) may be various communication terminals, such as computers and smart devices”), and a display generation component (FIG. 1, display screen of the laptop or mobile phone):
while causing a first environment to be illuminated by the light source, displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface element including (paragraph [0026], “The lighting information input terminal (210, 220) transmits lighting selection information entered by the user through the user input interface to the lighting server”):
in accordance with a determination that a second environment, different from the first environment, has a first illumination, a first representation of the second environment, wherein the first representation has a first appearance based on the first illumination (paragraph [0026], “the lighting information input terminal (210, 220) can receive evaluation information written about the experience after receiving a lighting environment based on lighting conditions directly selected by the user or existing lighting conditions through a user input interface, and transmit it to the lighting server”); and
in accordance with a determination that the second environment has a second illumination different from the first illumination, a second representation of the second environment, wherein the second representation has a second appearance based on the second illumination, and wherein the second appearance is different from the first appearance (paragraph [0027], “the lighting server (300) stores lighting selection information for each of the multiple users, sets lighting environment conditions based on each stored lighting selection information, and then transmits the lighting environment information accordingly to the lighting facilities” and paragraph [0074], “the first to third lighting conditions can each be set to a different physical condition, the ‘lighting condition default value,’ and the physical condition values of the lighting conditions that were previously set”);
detecting, via the input device, a first set of one or more inputs, wherein the first set of one or more inputs includes an input corresponding to the user interface element (paragraph [0055], “the lighting environment information management unit (340) can detect recommended lighting information based on the ranking of other users' lighting environment information and provide it as a lighting selection item through the user input interface”); and
in response to detecting the first set of one or more inputs, illuminating, via the light source, the first environment based on illumination of the second environment (paragraph [0058], “the user can evaluate the experience of the provided lighting service, store it on the lighting server (300), and share the lighting conditions accordingly”).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further teaches the user interface element is displayed in response to the computer system detecting a telecommunications request from a first external computer system (paragraph [0025], “, the lighting information input terminal (210, 220) can receive the stored lighting condition information from the lighting server (300) and display it on the screen so that the user can select it through the user input interface”).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further teaches the first external computer system is positioned within the second environment (paragraph [0036], “the lighting environment information management unit (340) can set lighting environment conditions by additionally applying external environment conditions”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim further teaches the first external computer system is positioned within a third environment different from the second environment and the first environment (FIG. 6 and paragraph [0074], “physical conditions can be divided into multiple stages for each of the multiple selection items” and “the first to third lighting conditions can each be set to a different physical condition”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim further teaches in response to detecting the first set of one or more inputs, initiating a first telecommunications connection between the computer system (FIG. 1, 210) and a second external computer system (FIG. 1, 220).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further teaches initiating the first telecommunications connection between the computer system and the second external computer system includes displaying (FIG. 1, display of 210), via the display generation component, a representation corresponding to the second external computer system, wherein the representation of the second external computer system is received from the second external computer system (paragraph [0025], “, the lighting information input terminal (210, 220) can receive the stored lighting condition information from the lighting server (300) and display it on the screen so that the user can select it through the user input interface”).
Regarding claim 10, Kim further teaches the first representation of the second environment includes a color that corresponds to the first illumination (paragraph [0072], “multiple selection items displayed on the user interface can each represent pre-set
“degrees” regarding the physical conditions of the lighting facility (i.e., color temperature, illuminance, and color, etc.”).
Regarding claim 11, Kim further teaches the first set of one or more inputs is the input (paragraph [0072], “The lighting server (300) receives user input information in which the user selects a “degree” displayed as a plurality of selection items of the user input interface, and determines the type of lighting environment by combining the received user input information”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim further teaches the second environment is a physical environment (paragraph [0036], “, external environmental conditions include external condition items such as season, time of day (e.g., dawn, morning, noon, evening, night, etc.), and weather (e.g., rain, snow, cloudy, clear, etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Kim further teaches the second environment is a virtual environment (paragraph [0040], “lighting environment information management unit (340) of the lighting server (300) can be stored in memory in the form of a single program or two or more programs linked together”).
Regarding claim 15, Kim further teaches the light source includes a first external light (FIG. 1, 110) and a second external light (FIG. 2, 120) different from the first external light (paragraph [0035], “physical lighting conditions such as color temperature and illuminance of the lighting facilities (110, 120, 130) experienced by the user are linked with the experience evaluation conditions from the user's subjective perspective, so that the user can select lighting based on their own or others' specific experience evaluations”, user selection make differences between external lights).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors (paragraph [0040], “the lighting server (300) described above with reference to FIG. 1 may be implemented with a communication module, memory, and a processor”) of a computer system (FIG. 1, laptop 210, mobile phone 220) (paragraph [[0023], “These lighting information input terminals (210, 220) may be various communication terminals, such as computers and smart devices”) that is in communication with a light source (FIG. 1, lighting facilities (110, 120, 130)), an input device (paragraph [[0023], “These lighting information input terminals (210, 220) may be various communication terminals, such as computers and smart devices”), and a display generation component (FIG. 1, display screen of the laptop or mobile phone), :
while causing a first environment to be illuminated by the light source, displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface element including (paragraph [0026], “The lighting information input terminal (210, 220) transmits lighting selection information entered by the user through the user input interface to the lighting server”) the one or more programs including instructions for:
in accordance with a determination that a second environment, different from the first environment, has a first illumination, a first representation of the second environment, wherein the first representation has a first appearance based on the first illumination (paragraph [0026], “the lighting information input terminal (210, 220) can receive evaluation information written about the experience after receiving a lighting environment based on lighting conditions directly selected by the user or existing lighting conditions through a user input interface, and transmit it to the lighting server”); and
in accordance with a determination that the second environment has a second illumination different from the first illumination, a second representation of the second environment, wherein the second representation has a second appearance based on the second illumination, and wherein the second appearance is different from the first appearance (paragraph [0027], “the lighting server (300) stores lighting selection information for each of the multiple users, sets lighting environment conditions based on each stored lighting selection information, and then transmits the lighting environment information accordingly to the lighting facilities” and paragraph [0074], “the first to third lighting conditions can each be set to a different physical condition, the ‘lighting condition default value,’ and the physical condition values of the lighting conditions that were previously set”);
detecting, via the input device, a first set of one or more inputs, wherein the first set of one or more inputs includes an input corresponding to the user interface element (paragraph [0055], “the lighting environment information management unit (340) can detect recommended lighting information based on the ranking of other users' lighting environment information and provide it as a lighting selection item through the user input interface”); and
in response to detecting the first set of one or more inputs, illuminating, via the light source, the first environment based on illumination of the second environment (paragraph [0058], “the user can evaluate the experience of the provided lighting service, store it on the lighting server (300), and share the lighting conditions accordingly”).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches at a computer system (FIG. 1, laptop 210, mobile phone 220) (paragraph [[0023], “These lighting information input terminals (210, 220) may be various communication terminals, such as computers and smart devices”) that is in communication with a light source (FIG. 1, lighting facilities (110, 120, 130)), an input device (paragraph [[0023], “These lighting information input terminals (210, 220) may be various communication terminals, such as computers and smart devices”), and a display generation component (FIG. 1, display screen of the laptop or mobile phone), comprising:
one or more processor (paragraph [0040], “lighting server (300) described above with reference to FIG. 1 may be implemented with a communication module, memory, and a processor”); and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (paragraph [0040], “one or more programs stored in memory are executed by a processor”), the one or more programs including instructions for:
while causing a first environment to be illuminated by the light source, displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface element including (paragraph [0026], “The lighting information input terminal (210, 220) transmits lighting selection information entered by the user through the user input interface to the lighting server”):
in accordance with a determination that a second environment, different from the first environment, has a first illumination, a first representation of the second environment, wherein the first representation has a first appearance based on the first illumination (paragraph [0026], “the lighting information input terminal (210, 220) can receive evaluation information written about the experience after receiving a lighting environment based on lighting conditions directly selected by the user or existing lighting conditions through a user input interface, and transmit it to the lighting server”); and
in accordance with a determination that the second environment has a second illumination different from the first illumination, a second representation of the second environment, wherein the second representation has a second appearance based on the second illumination, and wherein the second appearance is different from the first appearance (paragraph [0027], “the lighting server (300) stores lighting selection information for each of the multiple users, sets lighting environment conditions based on each stored lighting selection information, and then transmits the lighting environment information accordingly to the lighting facilities” and paragraph [0074], “the first to third lighting conditions can each be set to a different physical condition, the ‘lighting condition default value,’ and the physical condition values of the lighting conditions that were previously set”);
detecting, via the input device, a first set of one or more inputs, wherein the first set of one or more inputs includes an input corresponding to the user interface element (paragraph [0055], “the lighting environment information management unit (340) can detect recommended lighting information based on the ranking of other users' lighting environment information and provide it as a lighting selection item through the user input interface”); and
in response to detecting the first set of one or more inputs, illuminating, via the light source, the first environment based on illumination of the second environment (paragraph [0058], “the user can evaluate the experience of the provided lighting service, store it on the lighting server (300), and share the lighting conditions accordingly”).
Regarding claim 18, Kim further teaches the user interface element is displayed in response to the computer system detecting a telecommunications request from a first external computer system (paragraph [0025], “, the lighting information input terminal (210, 220) can receive the stored lighting condition information from the lighting server (300) and display it on the screen so that the user can select it through the user input interface”).
Regarding claim 19, Kim further teaches the first external computer system is positioned within the second environment (paragraph [0036], “the lighting environment information management unit (340) can set lighting environment conditions by additionally applying external environment conditions”).
Regarding claim 20, Kim further teaches the first external computer system is positioned within a third environment different from the second environment and the first environment (FIG. 6 and paragraph [0074], “physical conditions can be divided into multiple stages for each of the multiple selection items” and “the first to third lighting conditions can each be set to a different physical condition”).
Regarding claim 21, Kim further teaches in response to detecting the first set of one or more inputs, initiating a first telecommunications connection between the computer system (FIG. 1, 210) and a second external computer system (FIG. 1, 220).
Regarding claim 22, Kim further teaches initiating the first telecommunications connection between the computer system and the second external computer system includes displaying (FIG. 1, display of 210), via the display generation component, a representation corresponding to the second external computer system, wherein the representation of the second external computer system is received from the second external computer system (paragraph [0025], “, the lighting information input terminal (210, 220) can receive the stored lighting condition information from the lighting server (300) and display it on the screen so that the user can select it through the user input interface”).
Regarding claim 26, Kim further teaches the first representation of the second environment includes a color that corresponds to the first illumination (paragraph [0072], “multiple selection items displayed on the user interface can each represent pre-set
“degrees” regarding the physical conditions of the lighting facility (i.e., color temperature, illuminance, and color, etc.”).
Regarding claim 27, Kim further teaches the first set of one or more inputs is the input (paragraph [0072], “The lighting server (300) receives user input information in which the user selects a “degree” displayed as a plurality of selection items of the user input interface, and determines the type of lighting environment by combining the received user input information”).
Regarding claim 28, Kim further teaches the second environment is a physical environment (paragraph [0036], “, external environmental conditions include external condition items such as season, time of day (e.g., dawn, morning, noon, evening, night, etc.), and weather (e.g., rain, snow, cloudy, clear, etc.).
Regarding claim 29, Kim further teaches the second environment is a virtual environment (paragraph [0040], “lighting environment information management unit (340) of the lighting server (300) can be stored in memory in the form of a single program or two or more programs linked together”).
Regarding claim 31, Kim further teaches the light source includes a first external light (FIG. 1, 110) and a second external light (FIG. 2, 120) different from the first external light (paragraph [0035], “physical lighting conditions such as color temperature and illuminance of the lighting facilities (110, 120, 130) experienced by the user are linked with the experience evaluation conditions from the user's subjective perspective, so that the user can select lighting based on their own or others' specific experience evaluations”, user selection make differences between external lights).
Regarding claim 32, Kim further teaches the user interface element is displayed in response to the computer system detecting a telecommunications request from a first external computer system (paragraph [0025], “, the lighting information input terminal (210, 220) can receive the stored lighting condition information from the lighting server (300) and display it on the screen so that the user can select it through the user input interface”).
Regarding claim 33, Kim further teaches the first external computer system is positioned within the second environment (paragraph [0036], “the lighting environment information management unit (340) can set lighting environment conditions by additionally applying external environment conditions”).
Regarding claim 34, Kim further teaches the first external computer system is positioned within a third environment different from the second environment and the first environment (FIG. 6 and paragraph [0074], “physical conditions can be divided into multiple stages for each of the multiple selection items” and “the first to third lighting conditions can each be set to a different physical condition”).
Regarding claim 35, Kim further teaches in response to detecting the first set of one or more inputs, initiating a first telecommunications connection between the computer system (FIG. 1, 210) and a second external computer system (FIG. 1, 220).
Regarding claim 36, Kim further teaches initiating the first telecommunications connection between the computer system and the second external computer system includes displaying (FIG. 1, display of 210), via the display generation component, a representation corresponding to the second external computer system, wherein the representation of the second external computer system is received from the second external computer system (paragraph [0025], “, the lighting information input terminal (210, 220) can receive the stored lighting condition information from the lighting server (300) and display it on the screen so that the user can select it through the user input interface”).
Regarding claim 40, Kim further teaches the first representation of the second environment includes a color that corresponds to the first illumination (paragraph [0072], “multiple selection items displayed on the user interface can each represent pre-set
“degrees” regarding the physical conditions of the lighting facility (i.e., color temperature, illuminance, and color, etc.”).
Regarding claim 41, Kim further teaches the first set of one or more inputs is the input (paragraph [0072], “The lighting server (300) receives user input information in which the user selects a “degree” displayed as a plurality of selection items of the user input interface, and determines the type of lighting environment by combining the received user input information”).
Regarding claim 42, Kim further teaches the second environment is a physical environment (paragraph [0036], “, external environmental conditions include external condition items such as season, time of day (e.g., dawn, morning, noon, evening, night, etc.), and weather (e.g., rain, snow, cloudy, clear, etc.).
Regarding claim 43, Kim further teaches the second environment is a virtual environment (paragraph [0040], “lighting environment information management unit (340) of the lighting server (300) can be stored in memory in the form of a single program or two or more programs linked together”).
Regarding claim 45, Kim further teaches the light source includes a first external light (FIG. 1, 110) and a second external light (FIG. 2, 120) different from the first external light (paragraph [0035], “physical lighting conditions such as color temperature and illuminance of the lighting facilities (110, 120, 130) experienced by the user are linked with the experience evaluation conditions from the user's subjective perspective, so that the user can select lighting based on their own or others' specific experience evaluations”, user selection make differences between external lights).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 24 and 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1, 16 and 17 above, and further in view of Osterhout et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210173480 A1) hereafter Osterhout.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the computer system is a head-mounted computer system.
Osterhout teaches the computer system is a head-mounted computer system (Abstract, “an interactive head-mounted eyepiece with an integrated processor”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Osterhout to incorporate a head-mounted computer system for handling content for display (Osterhout, Abstract).
Regarding claim 24, Kim teaches limitations of claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose the computer system is a head-mounted computer system.
Osterhout teaches the computer system is a head-mounted computer system (Abstract, “an interactive head-mounted eyepiece with an integrated processor”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Osterhout to incorporate a head-mounted computer system for handling content for display (Osterhout, Abstract).
Regarding claim 28, Kim teaches limitations of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose the computer system is a head-mounted computer system.
Osterhout teaches the computer system is a head-mounted computer system (Abstract, “an interactive head-mounted eyepiece with an integrated processor”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Osterhout to incorporate a head-mounted computer system for handling content for display (Osterhout, Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 14, 23, 25, 30, 37, 39, 44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method to Claim 5, comprising “detecting an input corresponding to selection of the second user interface element; and in response to detecting the input corresponding to selection of the second user interface element, initiating a second telecommunications connection between the computer system and the second external computer system without changing the illumination of the first environment”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 9, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method to Claim 1, comprising “in accordance with a determination that the second environment has the second illumination, displaying, via the display generation component, a second animation that expands the second representation of the second environment to illuminate, via the light source, the first environment to have the second illumination”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 14, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method to Claim 1, comprising “before detecting the first set of one or more inputs, illuminating, via the light source, a first subset of the first environment without illuminating a second subset of the first environment different from the first subset of the first environment”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 23, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method to Claim 5, comprising “detecting an input corresponding to selection of the second user interface element; and in response to detecting the input corresponding to selection of the second user interface element, initiating a second telecommunications connection between the computer system and the second external computer system without changing the illumination of the first environment”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 25, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method to Claim 1, comprising “in accordance with a determination that the second environment has the second illumination, displaying, via the display generation component, a second animation that expands the second representation of the second environment to illuminate, via the light source, the first environment to have the second illumination”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 30, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method to Claim 1, comprising “before detecting the first set of one or more inputs, illuminating, via the light source, a first subset of the first environment without illuminating a second subset of the first environment different from the first subset of the first environment”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 37, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method to Claim 5, comprising “detecting an input corresponding to selection of the second user interface element; and in response to detecting the input corresponding to selection of the second user interface element, initiating a second telecommunications connection between the computer system and the second external computer system without changing the illumination of the first environment”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 39, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method to Claim 1, comprising “in accordance with a determination that the second environment has the second illumination, displaying, via the display generation component, a second animation that expands the second representation of the second environment to illuminate, via the light source, the first environment to have the second illumination”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 44, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method to Claim 1, comprising “before detecting the first set of one or more inputs, illuminating, via the light source, a first subset of the first environment without illuminating a second subset of the first environment different from the first subset of the first environment”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
CLAIM REJECTION - 35 U.S.C. 102
Applicant argues that, “Kim describes terminals through which a user may select lighting conditions for a lighting facility. The citation does not identify what the Examiner contends constitutes the claimed "first environment." The Office Action identifies Kim's lighting facilities as the claimed light source, but the existence of a lighting facility does not itself identify an environment illuminated by that facility. The rejection does not identify any environment in Kim that is being illuminated by a light source as the claimed first environment or explain how the cited computer system causes that environment to be illuminated. Kim separately uses the term "lighting environment" to refer to lighting produced according to selected lighting conditions. In the passages cited in the rejection, however, that term refers to a lighting setup or configuration, not to an environment that is being illuminated by a light source as required by the claimed first environment. As the claims require "a first environment to be illuminated by the light source" (emphasis added), a lighting setup or configuration cannot be the same thing because a lighting setup or configuration is not "illuminated by the light source." The rejection therefore does not establish that Kim discloses the claimed first environment”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As claimed phrase “first environment” cannot be interpreted as a specific environment instead it broadly express any environment named as first one. Kim in paragraph [0026] discloses, “receiving a lighting environment based on lighting conditions directly selected by the user” and paragraph [0074] discloses, “the first to third lighting conditions”).
Applicant further argues that,” Kim refers generally to a "user input interface" through which a user enters lighting-selection information. The citation does not identify a particular user interface element. More importantly, the passage does not identify a user interface element that includes a representation of the second environment having an appearance based on illumination of the second environment”.
Applicant further argues that, “Kim does not disclose the claimed second environment different from the first environment”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Kim does disclose second environment different from the first environment in paragraphs 26, 27 as a lighting environment based on selected from some specific lighting condition must be deferent from another lighting environment based on selected specific lighting condition.
Applicant further argues that, “Kim does not identify any visual appearance of a displayed representation. The rejection likewise does not identify what feature in Kim allegedly constitutes the first appearance. A user's evaluation of a lighting experience is not an appearance of a displayed representation, and a selected lighting condition is not itself a disclosed appearance of a representation. Furthermore, the cited portion of Kim does not disclose that the appearance of any displayed representation is based on the illumination of an environment. The cited portion of Kim does not disclose the claimed representation, appearance, determination, or relationship between the appearance and the illumination of the second environment. Accordingly, the cited passage does not disclose this limitation”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Kim in paragraph [0074] teaches the first to third lighting conditions can each be set to a different physical condition, the 'lighting
condition default value,' and the physical condition values of the lighting conditions that
were previously set.
“The cited portions of Kim disclose different lighting settings or parameters. They do not disclose determining that an identified second environment has a second illumination. The existence of different selectable lighting conditions does not establish that the system determines that a particular environment has one illumination rather than another. Moreover, the cited passages do not identify the claimed second environment. The rejection therefore appears to equate a second set of lighting parameters with the claimed second illumination of the claimed second environment. The cited portions of Kim do not establish that equivalency or otherwise disclose the claimed determination”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Kim teaches in paragraph [0058], "the user can evaluate the experience of the provided lighting service, store it on the lighting server (300), and share the lighting conditions accordingly", here it is clear that Kim’s discloser can determining that an identified second environment has a second illumination.
CLAIM REJECTION - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 8 rejection under 35 USC 103 is also sustained as above mentioned reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED M KAISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831