DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cup integrally formed with and sealed to the pin, as claimed in claim 4, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 1, 2, 4, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,850 and 12,264,781. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,850 and 12,264,781 anticipates claim 1 of the instant application. Accordingly, instant application claim 1 is not patentably distinct from U.S. Patent No. 11,713,850 and 12,264,781.
Here, U.S. Patent No. 11,713,850 claim 1 requires:
A nozzle assembly comprising: a valve assembly configured to be coupled to a tank, the valve assembly including a valve body having a first end, a second end, and a first passage extending therebetween, and a valve disposed in the first passage; and a regulator assembly configured to be coupled to the valve assembly, the regulator assembly including a regulator body having a first end, a second end, and a second passage extending therebetween, a nozzle coupled to the regulator body and having an outlet in communication with the second passage, a spindle having a first end disposed in the second passage and a second end surrounded by the nozzle, and a piston assembly disposed in the second passage, the piston assembly including a piston biased in a first position where the piston contacts and opens the valve, and being independently movable relative to the valve to a second position away from the valve thereby closing the valve.
Also, U.S. Patent No. 11,713,850 claim 1 requires:
A nozzle assembly comprising: a valve assembly configured to be coupled to a tank, the valve assembly including a valve body having a first end, a second end, and a first passage extending therebetween, and a valve disposed in the first passage, the valve including a pin and a first biasing member that biases the pin in a closed position; and a regulator assembly configured to be coupled to the valve assembly, the regulator assembly including a regulator body having a first end, a second end, and a second passage extending therebetween, a nozzle coupled to the regulator body and having an outlet in communication with the second passage, a spindle having a first end disposed in the second passage and a second end surrounded by the nozzle, and a piston assembly disposed in the second passage, the piston assembly including a piston biased in a first position to contact the pin thereby moving the pin to an open position to open the valve, and movable to a second position away from the valve such that the pin moves to a closed position closing the valve.
While instant application claim 1 only requires:
A nozzle assembly comprising: a valve assembly configured to be coupled to a tank, the valve assembly including a valve body having a first end, a second end, and a first passage extending therebetween, and a valve disposed in the first passage; and a regulator assembly configured to be coupled to the valve assembly, the regulator assembly including a regulator body having a first end, a second end, and a second passage extending therebetween, and a piston assembly disposed in the second passage, the piston assembly including a piston movable between a first position to contact and open the valve, and a second position away from the valve such that the valve closes, the piston being independently movable relative to the valve.
Thus it is apparent that the more specific U.S. Patent No. 11,713,850 and 12,264,781 claim 1 encompasses instant application claim 1. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the above paragraph, where Applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, Applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Note that since instant application claim 1 is anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,713,850 and 12,264,781 claim 1 and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then instant application claim 1 is obvious over U.S. Patent No. 11,713,850 and 12,264,781 claim 1.
Similarly, claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20 of the instant application are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 1, 2, 4, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,850 and 12,264,781, respectively, for the same reason set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Snyder et al. (US 10,597,221, hereafter “Snyder”).
Regarding claim 1, Snyder discloses a nozzle assembly (10) comprising: a valve assembly (20, 92) configured to be coupled to a tank (via 38), the valve assembly including a valve body (20) having a first end (the left end of 20 with reference to Fig. 4), a second end (the right end of 20 with reference to Fig. 4), and a first passage (the internal bore formed through 20) extending therebetween, and a valve (92) disposed in the first passage; and a regulator assembly (comprising at least 22, 24, 53, 54) configured to be coupled to the valve assembly, the regulator assembly including a regulator body (22) having a first end (the left end of 22 with reference to Fig. 4), a second end (the right end of 22 with reference to Fig. 4), and a second passage (the internal bore formed through 22) extending therebetween, and a piston assembly (53) disposed in the second passage, the piston assembly including a piston (53) movable between a first position (the position as shown in Fig. 4) to contact and open the valve, and a second position (the position as shown in Fig. 6) away from the valve such that the valve closes, the piston being independently movable relative to the valve.
Regarding claim 2, Snyder further discloses the nozzle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the valve includes a pin (56) and a first biasing member (the spring directly biasing 56 within 52 as shown in Fig. 4) that biases the pin in a closed position (as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Snyder further discloses the nozzle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the piston includes a passage (the center passage through the piston as shown in Fig. 4) through which fluid flows from the tank.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder in view of Tarczewski et al. (US 2013/0284957, hereafter “Tarczewski”).
Regarding claim 5, Snyder further discloses the nozzle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the valve body includes threads (38) on an inner surface thereof (Fig. 3) for mating with threads on an outer surface of the valve body in the first passage, but fails to disclose the valve includes threads on an outer surface thereof for mating with threads on an inner surface of the valve body in the first passage.
Tarczewski discloses a nozzle assembly which comprises multiple stages of threads to connect the nozzle assembly throughout and to the tank. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the threads and mating means of Snyder such that the valve body includes threads on an outer surface for mating with threads on an inner surface of the valve body in the first passage as taught by Tarczewski since the equivalence of threads and any other means for fastening is recognized for their use in the pressurized tank and nozzle art and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation for making such an equivalent substitution would be to provide a simple and efficient means for fastening necessary parts to each other. (Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 8, Snyder further discloses the nozzle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the valve body includes threads (38) on an inner surface thereof for mating with threads on an outer surface of a neck of the tank, but fails to disclose wherein the valve body includes threads on an outer surface thereof for mating with threads on an inner surface of a neck of the tank.
Tarczewski discloses a nozzle assembly which comprises multiple stages of threads to connect the nozzle assembly throughout and to the tank. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the threads and mating means of Snyder such that the valve body includes threads on an outer surface thereof for mating with threads on an inner surface of a neck of the tank as taught by Tarczewski since the equivalence of threads and any other means for fastening is recognized for their use in the pressurized tank and nozzle art and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation for making such an equivalent substitution would be to provide a simple and efficient means for fastening necessary parts to each other.
Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder in view of Stone (US 8,132,564).
Regarding claim 6, Snyder further discloses the nozzle assembly according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the valve body includes at least one seal groove along an outer surface thereof that receives a seal for sealing to the tank.
Regarding claim 6, Snyder further discloses the nozzle assembly according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the valve body includes at least one seal groove along an outer surface thereof that receives a seal for sealing to the tank.
Stone teaches a nozzle assembly wherein the valve body includes at least one seal groove (the groove that accommodates 41) along an outer surface thereof that receives a seal (41) for sealing to the tank.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the mating means at the first end of Snyder to include external threads and a seal groove with a seal ring as taught by Stone since the equivalence of threads and any other means for fastening is recognized for their use in the pressurized tank and nozzle art and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation for making such an equivalent substitution would be to provide a simple and efficient means for fastening necessary parts to each other.
Regarding claim 9, Snyder further discloses the nozzle assembly according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the piston includes a seal groove that receives a seal to seal the piston to the regulator body.
Stone teaches a nozzle assembly wherein the valve body includes at least one seal groove (the groove that accommodates 41) along an outer surface thereof that receives a seal (41) for sealing to the tank.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the mating means at the first end of Snyder to include external threads and a seal groove with a seal ring as taught by Stone since the equivalence of threads and any other means for fastening is recognized for their use in the pressurized tank and nozzle art and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation for making such an equivalent substitution would be to provide a simple and efficient means for fastening necessary parts to each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-20 are allowed.
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753