Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/18/25 and 3/11/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the fiber barrier" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This should be “the barrier layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2017-0103568 (PARK ET AL) in view of JP 2013-129308 (SUDO).
Regarding claim 1: The PARK reference discloses a vehicle headliner comprising a foam base, an adhesive, a glass sheet (barrier layer), a nonwoven reinforcing fiber layer, and a heat-shielding layer. See claims 1-2. It is recognized that the heat-shielding layer is formed of carbon nanotubes and not a metal layer. However, the SUDO reference discloses a headliner comprising a heat-shielding layer formed of vacuum deposited aluminum. See claim 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an aluminum heat-shielding layer in the PARK headliner. Substituting one known heat-shielding material for another would yield expected results.
Regarding claims 2, 5 and 13: See Figure 2 for the layer arrangement including a protective layer on the heat-shielding layer.
Regarding claims 3 and 7-9: Forming nonwoven materials by spinning resin fibers is well known.
Regarding claim 4 and 11-12: The SUDO reference discloses a vacuum deposited aluminum film for the heat-shielding layer. See claim 4.
Regarding claim 6: The PARK reference discloses a molded vehicle headliner comprising a foam base, an adhesive, a glass sheet (barrier layer), a nonwoven reinforcing fiber layer, and a heat-shielding layer. See claims 1-2. It is recognized that the heat-shielding layer is formed of carbon nanotubes and not a metal layer. However, the SUDO reference discloses a headliner comprising a heat-shielding layer formed of vacuum deposited aluminum. See claim 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an aluminum heat-shielding layer in the PARK headliner. Substituting one known heat-shielding material for another would yield expected results.
Regarding claims 10 and 17: The glass barrier sheet prevents tearing and is air impermeable.
Regarding claim 14-16: Printing metal inks and extruding adhesives are well known methods of application. Further, PARK discloses any hot melt adhesive may be used. See hot melt 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The claims are allowable because the prior art does not t each or suggest a molded ceiling for a vehicle comprising a base formed of a core material and a plurality of fiber-reinforced layers, a thermosetting adhesive bonding the core to the fiber-reinforced layers, and a lining material formed of a fiber layer, a heat-shielding layer and a barrier layer. The closest art, KR 2017-0103568, discloses a core material and a lining material formed of a fiber layer, a heat-shielding layer and a barrier layer but does not include a fiber-reinforced layer between the core and lining material.
/ELIZABETH E MULVANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785