DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 2-18-25. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 13-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0182153 to Feldman (“Feldman”).
Regarding claim 1, Feldman discloses a sensor assembly (figures 1, 9, 10) for sensing a physiological characteristic, the sensor assembly comprising: a housing (figure 9); a power source (1021) enclosed within the housing; and a power control switch (1023) electrically coupled to the power source, the power control switch configured to: inhibit delivery of power to one or more components of the sensor assembly when the sensor assembly is in a pre-deployment state (para. [0085]); and maintain the delivery of power to the one or more components of the sensor assembly when the sensor assembly is in a deployed state (see para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Feldman discloses the power control switch is configured to maintain the delivery of power to the one or more components of the sensor assembly in response to receiving a power latch signal (see power latching para. [0085]).
Regarding claim 3, Feldman discloses a power latch (see power latching para. [0085]) configured to latch an output of the power control switch to maintain the delivery of power to the one or more components of the sensor assembly (Para. [0085] teaches enabling the power switch 1023 and latching the power output from the switch to power the analyte sensor).
Regarding claim 4, Feldman discloses a switch (1023) configured to, upon being turned on, cause the power latch to latch the output of the power control switch (Para. [0085] teaches enabling the power switch 1023 and latching the power output from the switch to power the analyte sensor).
Regarding claim 5, Feldman discloses the switch is configured to, upon being turned on, cause the power control switch to deliver power to the one or more components of the sensor assembly (Para. [0085] teaches enabling the power switch 1023 and latching the power output from the switch to power the analyte sensor).
Regarding claim 6, Feldman discloses the housing includes a depressible region configured to be depressed to turn on the switch (paras; 0021, 0102).
Regarding claim 7, Feldman discloses the depressible region is configured to be depressed by an introducer device (150 in figure 1) during deployment of the sensor assembly (Para. [0085] teaches enabling the power switch 1023 and latching the power output from the switch to power the analyte sensor).
Regarding claim 8, Feldman discloses the power control switch includes a built-in switch debounce circuit configured to mitigate bouncing of the switch (para; 0021, latches a switch in the sensor electronics to drive the charge stored in the sensor electronics capacitor device).
Regarding claim 9, Feldman discloses the power control switch is configured to, in response to receive a clear signal, disable the delivery of power to the one or more components of the sensor assembly (fig. 12, Return RF Signal (1280) and RF Signal (1270)).
Regarding claim 10, Feldman discloses the power control switch includes a push-pull latched output (Para. [0085] teaches enabling the power switch 1023 and latching the power output from the switch to power the analyte sensor).
Regarding claim 13, Feldman discloses a sensor extending out of the housing for insertion into subcutaneous tissue of a user when the sensor assembly is deployed to the user (para; 0002, detection and/or monitoring of glucose levels or other analytes, such as lactate, oxygen, Al C, or the like, in certain individuals is vitally important to their health).
Regarding claim 14, Feldman discloses the sensor includes a glucose sensor (para; 0002, detection and/or monitoring of glucose levels or other analytes, such as lactate, oxygen, Al C, or the like, in certain individuals is vitally important to their health).
Regarding claim 16, Feldman discloses a sensor assembly (figures 1, 9, 10); and an introducer (150 in figure 1) configured to deploy the sensor assembly, wherein the sensor assembly comprises: a housing (figure 9); a power source (1021) enclosed within the housing; and a power control switch (1023) electrically coupled to the power source, the power control switch configured to: inhibit delivery of power to one or more components of the sensor assembly when the sensor assembly is in a pre-deployment state (para. [0085]); and maintain the delivery of power to the one or more components of the sensor assembly when the sensor assembly is in a deployed state (see para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Feldman discloses the sensor assembly further comprises a power latch (see power latching para. [0085]) configured to latch an output of the power control switch to maintain the delivery of power to the one or more components of the sensor assembly Para. [0085] teaches enabling the power switch 1023 and latching the power output from the switch to power the analyte sensor).
Regarding claim 18, Feldman discloses the sensor assembly further comprises a switch (1023) configured to, upon being turned on, cause the power control switch to deliver power to the one or more components of the sensor assembly; and cause the power latch to latch the output of the power control switch (para; 0021, remote device such as a display device is configured to generate a magnetic field which, when positioned in close proximity to the sensor electronics, latches a switch in the sensor electronics to drive the charge stored in the sensor electronics capacitor device (generated from the self-powered sensor) to connect the remaining portions of the sensor electronics, effectively powering the sensor electronics solely from the charge stored in the capacitor that was generated by the self-powered sensor).
Regarding claim 19, Feldman discloses the housing includes a depressible region configured to be depressed to turn on the switch (paras; 0021, 0102); and the introducer is configured to depress the depressible region during deployment of the sensor assembly (Para. [0085] teaches enabling the power switch 1023 and latching the power output from the switch to power the analyte sensor).
Regarding claim 20, Feldman discloses the power control switch includes: a built-in switch debounce circuit configured to mitigate bouncing of the switch (para; 0021, latches a switch in the sensor electronics to drive the charge stored in the sensor electronics capacitor device); a push-pull latched output (Para. [0085] teaches enabling the power switch 1023 and latching the power output from the switch to power the analyte sensor); a circuit configured to, in response to receive a clear signal, disable the delivery of power to the one or more components of the sensor assembly; or a combination thereof (fig. 12, Return RF Signal (1280) and RF Signal (1270)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2015/0182153 to Feldman (“Feldman”) in view of 5,949,632 to Barreras, Sr. et al. (“Barreras”).
Regarding claim 11, Feldman discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Feldman does not disclose a power converter coupled to the power control switch and configured to convert an output voltage of the power control switch to a different voltage for delivery to the one or more components of the sensor assembly.
However, Barreras discloses a power converter (fig. 3, DC-DC converter 34) coupled to the power control switch and configured to convert an output voltage of the power control switch to a different voltage for delivery to the one or more components of the sensor assembly (Col. 4, lines 32-40, When the output 24 of the comparator 14 is high, transistor 38 is switched on to connect output 28 of DC to DC converter 34 to the implantable medical device 20 and transistor 36 is switched off to disconnect the implantable medical device from the power source 12. When the output 24 of the comparator 14 is high, the enabling line 25 for the DC-to-DC Converter 34 will be low, activating the DC-to-DC Converter 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feldman by adding DC-DC voltage regulator as part of its configuration as taught by Barrera, in order to charge and discharging the Super-capacitor at a constant rate to supply appropriate voltage to the medical device.
Regarding claim 12, Feldman discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Feldman does not disclose the power converter includes a step-down buck converter
However, Barrera discloses the power converter includes a step-down buck converter (Col. 4, lines 32-40, When the output 24 of the comparator 14 is high, transistor 38 is switched on to connect output 28 of DC-to-DC converter 34 to the implantable medical device 20 and transistor 36 is switched off to disconnect the implantable medical device from the power source 12. When the output 24 of the comparator 14 is high, the enabling line 25 for the DC-to-DC Converter 34 will be low, activating the DC-to-DC Converter 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feldman by adding DC-DC voltage regulator as part of its configuration as taught by Barrera, in order to charge and discharging the Super-capacitor at a constant rate to supply appropriate voltage to the medical device.
Regarding claim 15, Feldman discloses the claimed invention except for “the power control switch consumes a maximum current of 20 nA when the sensor assembly is in the pre-deployment state”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular maximum current used would depend on the desired current of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gelbart US 2009/0093890 A1- bone. The actuator is controlled from outside the body using a changing magnetic field or creating mechanical motion of the tissue. The changing field is used to create power inside the actuator and precisely control its operation without requiring a transdermal connection. The power generated inside actuator can also be used to transmit data to the outside.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836