DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 22-28) in the reply filed on 07/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 14-21 and 29-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/27/2026.
Remarks
This action is in response to the remarks filed 07/27/2026.
Claims 14-34 are pending, with claims 14-21 and 29-34 withdrawn. Claims 22-28 are examined in the office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a system for determining fetal heart rate and distress. To determine whether a claim satisfies the criteria for subject matter eligibility, the claim is evaluated according to a stepwise process as described in MPEP 2106(III) and 2106.03-2106.04. The instant claims are evaluated according to such analysis.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Claim 22 is directed towards a system and thus meets the requirements for step 1.
Step 2A (Prong 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Claim 22 recites a system for determining fetal heart rate and distress comprising receiving ECG data, extracting a fetal ECG signal, inputting the fetal ECG signal into a neural network, comparing the estimated fetal heart rate and probability of fetal distress to one or more thresholds, and generating an alert when a threshold is crossed.
The limitation of determining fetal heart rate and distress, as drafted in claims 22-28, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or using pen and paper or generic computer components. For example, determining fetal heart rate and distress in the context of this claim encompasses a user receiving ECG data, extracting a fetal ECG signal, inputting the fetal ECG signal into a neural network, comparing the output to thresholds, and generating an alert when a threshold is crossed.
Step 2A (Prong 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
The step of receiving ECG data is considered to be the pre-solution activity of data gathering by no more than routine means. The steps of extracting a fetal ECG signal, inputting the fetal ECG signal into a neural network, comparing the estimated fetal heart rate and probability of fetal distress to one or more thresholds, and generating an alert when a threshold is crossed are considered to be data analysis steps.
The additional elements of the processing system and neural network are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components for processing data). The ECG sensors are generic structure for the insignificant, extra-solution activity of data gathering. Specifically, these additional elements are generically recited computing elements that perform the steps of gathering, analyzing, and outputting data.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
The additional elements when considered individually and in combination is not enough to qualify as significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the processing system and neural network and ECG sensors amounts to no more than generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. Furthermore, the additional elements do not amount to more than generically linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 23-28 depend on claim 22 and recite the same abstract idea as claim 1 from which they depend. Further, these claims only contain recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the mental process). For example, the additional limitations recited in claim 23 (i.e. further describing the data that is used) is a further data gathering steps. The additional limitations recited in claims 24, 27, and 28 (i.e. further describing the analysis performed) are further data analysis steps. The additional elements of claims 25 and 26 (i.e. explaining the alert and where it is output) are data output steps. The additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception explained above (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves any technology or includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provides a conventional computer implementation, i.e. the computer (processor) is simply a tool to perform the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 24-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marossero et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2005/0267376 – APPLICANT CITED ON IDS), hereinafter Marossero, further in view of Wolfberg et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0259133 – APPLICANT CITED ON IDS), hereinafter Wolfberg.
Regarding claim 22, Marossero discloses a system for determining fetal heart rate and fetal distress in a patient (e.g. Abstract), comprising:
a plurality of skin-surface ECG sensors configured to be placed on a chest or abdominal region of the patient, and to detect electrical activity comprising a mixed maternal-fetal ECG signal (e.g. Fig. 1: electrodes placed on abdominal area; Par. [0061]: Par. [0048]);
one or more data acquisition channels each configured to receive and digitize ECG signals from a respective set of the skin-surface ECG sensors (e.g. Par. [0048]);
a processing system comprising one or more computers (e.g. Par. [0048]: computing means; Par. [0051]) configured to:
receive the mixed maternal-fetal ECG signal from the skin-surface ECG sensors (e.g. Par. [0048]; Par. [0051]);
extract a fetal ECG signal from the mixed maternal-fetal ECG signal (e.g. Par. [0051]: extracting maternal and fetal signal);
input the fetal ECG signal into a trained neural network model configured to estimate a fetal heart rate and a probability of fetal distress (e.g. Pars. [0022]-[0023]: neural network that analyzes the clinical data to interpret fetal well being; Par. [0050]), the neural network model comprising either:
a convolutional neural network configured to process overlapping time segments of the fetal ECG signal, or a recurrent neural network configured to process the fetal ECG signal over time (e.g. Pars. [0196]-[0197]: describing the neural network system).
However, Marossero fails to specifically disclose comparing the estimated fetal heart rate and the probability of fetal distress to one or more thresholds, and generating an alert when the estimated fetal heart rate or the probability of fetal distress exceeds a respective threshold.
Wolfberg, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards fetal ECG monitoring. Wolfberg discloses comparing the ECG to one or more thresholds and generating an alert when the result exceeds a respective threshold (e.g. Par. [0059]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Marossero to include comparing the ECG to one or more thresholds and generating an alert when the result exceeds a respective threshold as taught by Wolfberg because doing so would alert the user when a condition is met to determine appropriate next steps.
Regarding claim 24, Marossero further discloses wherein the processing system further comprises logic configured to separate maternal ECG signals from the mixed maternal-fetal ECG signal prior to inputting the fetal ECG signal into the neural network model (e.g. Par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 25, Marossero fails to specifically disclose wherein the alert is provided via a mobile device application or transmitted to a remote clinical monitoring system. Wolfberg, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards fetal ECG monitoring. Wolfberg discloses wherein the alert is provided via a mobile device application or transmitted to a remote clinical monitoring system (e.g. Par. [0044]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Marossero in view of Wolfberg to include providing the alert as taught by Wolfberg because doing so would let the user know when the threshold has been crossed.
Regarding claim 26, Marossero further discloses wherein the system comprises a smartphone or a tablet computing device (e.g. Par. [0075]).
Regarding claim 28, Marossero further discloses wherein extracting the fetal ECG signal from the mixed maternal-fetal ECG signal model includes processing the maternal ECG signal and the mixed maternal-fetal ECG signal to generate the fetal ECG signal and comprises using of a principal component analysis (PCA) technique (e.g. Par. [0098]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marossero et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2005/0267376 – APPLICANT CITED ON IDS), hereinafter Marossero, further in view of Wolfberg et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0259133 – APPLICANT CITED ON IDS), hereinafter Wolfberg, as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Batchinsky et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0150517), hereinafter Batchinsky.
Regarding claim 23, Marossero further discloses wherein the neural network model is trained using a database of maternal and fetal ECG signals (e.g. Par. [0197]). However, Marossero fails to disclose wherein the database includes auxiliary patient data comprising at least one of: fetal pH level, electrolyte concentrations, oxygen saturation, or fetal cardiac anomalies. Batchinsky is directed towards patient monitoring. Batchinsky discloses training a neural network model on oxygen saturation (e.g. Par. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Marosseo in view of Wolfberg to include the training including oxygen saturation data as taught by Batchinsky because doing so would enhance patient care (e.g. Batchinsky, par. [0039]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marossero et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2005/0267376 – APPLICANT CITED ON IDS), hereinafter Marossero, further in view of Wolfberg et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0259133 – APPLICANT CITED ON IDS), hereinafter Wolfberg, as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Oz et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0270670 – APPLICANT CITED ON IDS), hereinafter Oz.
Regarding claim 27, Marossero further discloses wherein extracting the fetal ECG signal from the mixed maternal-fetal ECG signal model includes processing the maternal ECG signal and the mixed maternal-fetal ECG signal to generate the fetal ECG signal (e.g. Par. [0098]). However, Marossero fails to specifically disclose the extraction comprises using a blind source separation technique to separate the fetal ECG signal from the maternal ECG signal. Oz, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed toward monitoring of a pregnant person. Oz discloses using a blind source separation technique to separate the fetal ECG signal from the maternal ECG signal (e.g. Par. [0497]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Marossero in view of Wolfberg to include the blind source separation technique as taught by Oz because it is a known technique for separating ECG data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wolfberg (US 2013/0102856) is directed towards detection of fetal or maternal illness.
Graupe et al. (US 2008/0125668) is directed towards extraction of fetal ECG signals.
/SHREYA ANJARIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796