DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the nails" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson et al. (US 2021/0108663).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson et al. discloses a strip of fasteners 200 Fig. 2 for loading into a fastening tool, the strip of fasteners comprising a plurality of elongated fasteners 16 arranged in a parallel side-by-side relationship, each of the elongated fasteners having a head 210, the strip being arranged such that the heads of the fasteners are located along one side of the strip, and wherein one of the fasteners has a head with an indicator 230 that is configured to indicate to an operator upon driving of the fastener that the strip is due for replacement.
Regarding claim 2, Thompson et al. discloses wherein the indicator 230 is a visual indicator. Regarding claim 3, Thompson et al. discloses wherein a plurality of fasteners 16 form a subgroup of fasteners of the strip, and wherein each fastener of the subgroup has a head with an indicator 230 configured to indicate to an operator upon driving of the fastener that the strip is due for replacement.
Regarding claim 4, Thompson et al. discloses wherein a plurality of adjacent fasteners 240 form the subgroup.
Regarding claim 5, Thompson et al. discloses wherein the subgroup includes a plurality of fasteners prior to a final fastener of the strip of fasteners 16. Regarding claim 10, Thompson et al. discloses wherein the indicator 230 includes paint on each fastener head of the subgroup.
Regarding claim 11, Thompson et al. discloses wherein the paint 230 is of a distinctive color. Regarding claim 12, Thompson et al. discloses wherein each of the painted heads 230 is painted with a common color.
Regarding claim 13, Thompson et al. discloses which includes a holding mechanism 22 that holds the nails 16 together in the strip of fasteners.
Regarding claim 14, Thompson et al. discloses wherein the holding mechanism 22 includes one or more frangible strips of material adhered along a side of the strip of fasteners 16. Regarding claim 15, Thompson et al. discloses wherein the subgroup include a plurality of fasteners 16 prior to a final fastener of the strip of fasteners, with subsequent fasteners after the subgroup each being without an indicator 230.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Thompson et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose the arrangement of the fasteners wherein the subgroup includes a plurality of fasteners beginning at an 8th fastener counting inwardly from an end of the strip of fasteners. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the fasteners to a desired location along the strip based on the user’s preference and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Thompson et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose the functional use of the fasteners wherein the subgroup includes a plurality of fasteners terminating at a final fastener to be fired prior to a safety lockout being applied on a firing mechanism of the fastening tool. Nevertheless, [A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)
Regarding claim 16, Thompson et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed which includes
wherein the subsequent fasteners correspond to a tail end quantity of fasteners of the strip of fasteners that are unable to be fired without insertion of another new strip of fasteners. Nevertheless, [A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)
Conclusion
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675