Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Morsatt, US Pub. App. 2018-0283044).
For claim 21, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-7, a handleset, comprising:
a spindle (22) extending along a longitudinal axis;
a handle removably mounted to the spindle, the handle comprising a shank in which the spindle is received (Handle 24 with shank is releasably coupled to the spindle 22, Para. [0021].); and
a catch assembly (includes the portion of 22 that carries 40, 34, 34, and 40) mounted in the spindle and selectively coupling the handle to the spindle (catch assembly 40 receive 34 and selectively couple handle to sleeve. Para. [0022 and 0024].), the catch assembly comprising:
a pair of catches (34) mounted in the spindle for radial movement between a projected configuration in which the pair of catches prevents removal of the handle from the spindle and a depressed configuration in which the pair of catches does not prevent removal of the handle from the spindle (Para. [0022]); and
a bias mechanism (38) biasing the pair of catches away from the longitudinal axis and toward the projected configuration (Para. [0023].)
For claim 22, D1 discloses the handleset of claim 21, wherein the catches are positioned on diametrically opposite sides of the longitudinal axis (Para. [0023].)
For claim 23, D1 discloses the handleset of claim 21, wherein the catch assembly further comprises a holder (portion of 22 that accommodates 40 and 34) to which the pair of catches and the bias mechanism are mounted (Figures 4-5.)
For claim 24, D1 discloses the handleset of claim 23, wherein the catch assembly is operable to be removed from the spindle as a modular unit (34 is removable. Figure 4.)
For claim 25, D1 discloses the handleset of claim 23, wherein the bias mechanism is integrally formed with the holder (In the assembled state, 38 is integral with the holder. Figures 4-5.)
For claim 26, D1 discloses the handleset of claim 21, wherein the catch assembly further comprises a retention mechanism (44) preventing radially outward movement of the pair of catches beyond the projected configuration (Figure 6.)
For claim 27, D1 discloses the handleset of claim 21, further comprising a driver having a locked position in which the driver retains the pair of catches in the projected configuration and an unlocked position in which the driver permits movement of the pair of catches from the projected configuration to the depressed configuration (The ramp 64 retains 34. Para. [0030].)
For claim 28, D1 discloses the handleset of claim 21, wherein the spindle comprises a pair of spindle apertures through which the pair of catches extends (Spindle 22 has pair of apertures, Figure 4); and wherein the shank comprises a pair of shank apertures into which the pair of catches extends when the pair of catches is in the projected configuration (Shank has aperture 36, Figure 3.)
For claim 29, D1 discloses the handleset of claim 21, wherein the bias mechanism comprises a pair of leaf springs (Spring 38 has two leaf springs on both side of 48, Figure 6.)
For claim 30, D1 discloses the handleset of claim 21, wherein the bias mechanism comprises a single-piece spring component (38) biasing the pair of catches away from one another Figure 6.)
For claim 31, D1 discloses an apparatus, in Figures 1-7, comprising:
a spindle (22) extending along a longitudinal axis, the spindle comprising a first spindle aperture and a second spindle aperture (Spindle 22 has several apertures, Figure 4);
a catch assembly (includes the portion of 22 that carries 40, 34, 34, and 40) mounted in the spindle and operable to selectively couple a handle to the spindle (catch assembly 40 receive 34 and selectively couple handle to sleeve. Para. [0022 and 0024].), the catch assembly comprising:
a first catch (34) movably seated in the first spindle aperture (40) for radial movement between a first radially outward position and a first radially inward position (Para. [0022, 0023], Figures 4 and 6);
a second catch (34) movably seated in the second spindle aperture (40) for radial movement between a second radially outward position and a second radially inward position (Para. [0022, 0023], Figures 4 and 6); and
a bias mechanism (38) engaged with each of the first catch and the second catch such that the bias mechanism urges each of the first catch and the second catch radially outward (Para. 0023], Figures 4 and 6.)
For claim 32, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the bias mechanism (38) comprises a single-piece spring component engaged with each of the first catch and the second catch (Figure 6.)
For claim 33, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the catch assembly further comprises a holder (portion of 22 that accommodates 40 and 34) to which the bias mechanism (38) is mounted (Figures 4-5.)
For claim 34, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the bias mechanism is integrally formed with the holder as a single-piece construction (In the assembled state, 38 is integral with the holder. Figures 4-5.)
For claim 35, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the catch assembly is operable to be removed from the spindle as a modular unit (34 is removable. Figure 4.)
For claim 36, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the first spindle aperture and the second spindle aperture (40) are positioned on diametrically opposite sides of the longitudinal axis (Para. [0023 and 0024].)
For claim 37, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the bias mechanism comprises an arcuate leaf spring (Figure 6); and wherein each of the first catch and the second catch is secured to the arcuate leaf spring (Figures 4 and 6.)
For claim 38, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-7, a method of selectively retaining a handle (28) on a spindle (22), the method comprising:
simultaneously biasing a pair of catches in opposite directions away from a longitudinal axis of the spindle and into engagement with the handle to thereby prevent removal of the handle from the spindle (Spring 38 biases pair of catches 34 in opposite directions away from longitudinal axis of spindle 22, and retain handle 24 with spindle 22. Para. [0023, 0025, 0027, and 0030.] Figures 3-4.); and
in response to radially inward pushing forces on the catches, permitting the catches to move radially inward and out of engagement with the handle to thereby permit removal of the handle from the spindle (The catch 34 is pushed in to facilitate the removal of the handle. Para. [0033].)
For claim 39, D1 discloses the method of claim 38, wherein the biasing is performed by a single-piece spring component (38) engaged with each of the catches (34; Figures 4 and 6.)
For claim 40, D1 discloses the method of claim 38, wherein the biasing is performed by a bias mechanism engaged between the pair of catches and a holder (portion of 22 that accommodates 40 and 34 defines a holder. Figure 4.); and wherein the method further comprises removing the holder, the bias mechanism, and the pair of catches from the spindle as a modular unit (The catch 34 is pushed in to facilitate the removal of the handle. Para. [0033].)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Bates (US 6,553,799); Huang (US Pub. App. 2014-0290427); and Chern (US Pub. App. 2010-0253100).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675