DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 07/01/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that claim 15 includes all the limitations of claim 1. This is not found persuasive because the respective subject matter searches of the different inventions are in two different class/subclasses. Applicant’s attention is drawn to the fact that the search for method claims requires the identification of processing steps, while the search for apparatus claims requires the identification of structural elements.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because, figures 1 and 2 should be designed by a legend such as –Prior Art – since only that which is old is illustrated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR2378577 to Fontana (hereinafter “Fontana”, presented in the IDS filed on 02/18/2025, see English translation filed on 02/18/2025) in view of DE 102013006822 to Linder (hereinafter “Linder”, presented in the IDS filed on 02/18/2025, see English translation filed on 02/18/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Fontana teaches a cleaning arrangement comprising a pneumatic distributor (figure 4, #16’) having a pneumatic fluid input (figure 4, #16, air pump) and a plurality of pneumatic fluid outputs (see figure 4), wherein each of the outputs are configured to provide fluid to an interior of the tank via a respective port in a wall of the tank (see figure 4), and fluid nozzles (air injection nozzles, figure 4, #13) fluidly connected to the end of the fluid outputs (see figure 4) (English translation, page 4, lines 162-172), wherein the fluid nozzles (air injection nozzles, figure 4, #13) can be subjected to individual and differential adjustment to obtain optimum distribution of the injected air (English translation, page 4, lines 169-172).
Fontana does not explicitly teach that the fluid outputs are configured to selectively route pneumatic fluid from the input to the outputs, wherein according to the selectively routed distribution of fluid a variable vortex in the tank interior is created.
Linder teaches a cleaning arrangement for cleaning a container (English translation [0001], and figure 3), the cleaning arrangement comprising an air supply, (figure 3, #52) including a plurality of outputs (figure 3, #54a, 54b, and 54c) wherein each of the outputs comprise a valve (figure 3, #56a, 56b, and 56c) for controlling the air supplied to a plurality of nozzles (see figure 3) (English translation [0041-0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Fontana wherein the fluid outputs are configured to selectively route pneumatic fluid from the input to the outputs, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Fontana teaches that the fluid nozzles (air injection nozzles, figure 4, #13 of Fontana) fluidly connected to the end of the fluid outputs can be subjected to individual and differential adjustment to obtain optimum distribution of the injected air (English translation, page 4, lines 169-172 of Fontana), and Linder teaches that a cleaning arrangement can comprise a plurality of outputs (figure 3, #54a, 54b, and 54c of Linder) for supplying air to the interior of a tank, wherein each of the outputs comprise a valve (figure 3, #56a, 56b, and 56c of Linder) for controlling the air supplied to a plurality of nozzles located in the interior of the tank (see figure 3 of Linder) (English translation [0041-0042] of Linder).
Fontana/Linder does not explicitly teach that according to the selectively routed distribution of fluid a variable vortex in the tank interior is created.
However, since the apparatus of the Fontana/Linder teaching includes the structural features of the claimed apparatus, it is the base presumption that the apparatus of the Fontana/Linder teaching is fully capable of being used for selectively routing the distribution of fluid to create a variable vortex of fluid in the interior of the tank.
Fontana/Linder does not explicitly teach that the cleaning arrangement is for cleaning the interior of a tank containing fluid.
However, since the apparatus of the Fontana/Linder teaching includes the structural features of the claimed apparatus, it is the base presumption that the apparatus of the Fontana/Linder teaching is fully capable of being used for cleaning the interior of a tank containing fluid.
Regarding claim 2, Fontana/Linder teaches that the distributer is configured to selectively vary the distribution of the pneumatic fluid between the outputs (English translation, page 4, lines 169-172 of Fontana, and English translation [0041-0042] of Linder).
Fontana/Linder does not explicitly teach that the distributer is configured to selectively vary the distribution of the pneumatic fluid between the outputs during a cleaning process to cause the generated vortex to move around the interior of the tank.
However, since the apparatus of the Fontana/Linder teaching includes the structural features of the claimed apparatus, and the combination of Fontana and Linder teaches that the distributer is configured to selectively vary the distribution of the pneumatic fluid between the outputs (English translation, page 4, lines 169-172 of Fontana, and English translation [0041-0042] of Linder), it is the base presumption that the apparatus of the Fontana/Linder teaching is fully capable of being used for varying the distribution of the pneumatic fluid between the outputs during a cleaning process to cause the generated vortex to move around the interior of the tank.
Regarding claim 3, Fontana/Linder further teaches a fluid nozzle (figure 3, #13 of Fontana) fluidly connected to each of the fluid outputs (see figure 4 of Fontana), each of the nozzles configured to extend through a respective one of the ports in the wall of the tank (see figure 4 of Fontana).
Regarding claim 7, Fontana/Linder further teaches a fill line (figure 4, #15 of Fontana) connected to the input of the distributer (see figure 4 of Fontana) and configured to be connected to a supply of pneumatic fluid (see figure 4 of Fontana).
Regarding claim 8, Fontana/Linder further teaches that the pneumatic fluid is air (English translation page 4, lines 62-64 of Fontana).
Regarding claim 10, Fontana/Linder further teaches a fluid conduit (figure 4, #14 of Fontana) connected to each of the outputs of the distributer (figure 4, #16’ of Fontana) and configured to be in fluid communication with a respective one of the ports in the wall of the tank (see figure 4 of Fontana).
Regarding claim 11, Fontana/Linder further teaches that the cleaning arrangement comprises four outputs of the distributer and four ports in the wall of the tank (see figure 4 of Fontana).
Regarding claim 12, Fontana teaches a tank defining an interior volume (see figure 4) comprising a cleaning arrangement including a pneumatic distributor (figure 4, #16’) having a pneumatic fluid input (figure 4, #16, air pump) and a plurality of pneumatic fluid outputs (see figure 4), wherein each of the outputs are configured to provide fluid to an interior of the tank via a respective port in a wall of the tank (see figure 4), and fluid nozzles (air injection nozzles, figure 4, #13) fluidly connected to the end of the fluid outputs (see figure 4) (English translation, page 4, lines 162-172), wherein the fluid nozzles (air injection nozzles, figure 4, #13) can be subjected to individual and differential adjustment to obtain optimum distribution of the injected air (English translation, page 4, lines 169-172).
Fontana does not explicitly teach that the fluid outputs are configured to selectively route pneumatic fluid from the input to the outputs, wherein according to the selectively routed distribution of fluid a variable vortex in the tank interior is created.
Linder teaches a cleaning arrangement for cleaning a container (English translation [0001], and figure 3), the cleaning arrangement comprising an air supply, (figure 3, #52) including a plurality of outputs (figure 3, #54a, 54b, and 54c) wherein each of the outputs comprise a valve (figure 3, #56a, 56b, and 56c) for controlling the air supplied to a plurality of nozzles (see figure 3) (English translation [0041-0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Fontana wherein the fluid outputs are configured to selectively route pneumatic fluid from the input to the outputs, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Fontana teaches that the fluid nozzles (air injection nozzles, figure 4, #13 of Fontana) fluidly connected to the end of the fluid outputs can be subjected to individual and differential adjustment to obtain optimum distribution of the injected air (English translation, page 4, lines 169-172 of Fontana), and Linder teaches that a cleaning arrangement can comprise a plurality of outputs (figure 3, #54a, 54b, and 54c of Linder) for supplying air to the interior of a tank, wherein each of the outputs comprise a valve (figure 3, #56a, 56b, and 56c of Linder) for controlling the air supplied to a plurality of nozzles located in the interior of the tank (see figure 3 of Linder) (English translation [0041-0042] of Linder).
Fontana/Linder does not explicitly teach that according to the selectively routed distribution of fluid a variable vortex in the tank interior is created.
However, since the apparatus of the Fontana/Linder teaching includes the structural features of the claimed apparatus, it is the base presumption that the apparatus of the Fontana/Linder teaching is fully capable of being used for selectively routing the distribution of fluid to create a variable vortex of fluid in the interior of the tank.
Regarding claim 13, Fontana/Linder further teaches that the distributer (figure 4, #16’) is mounted to an exterior of the tank (see figure 4 of Fontana).
Regarding claim 14, Fontana/Linder further teaches that the tank can contain water (English translation, page 4, lines 62-63). In addition, Fontana/Linder teaches that the tank is open at the top (see figure 4 of Fortana) (reads on “inlet”).
Fontana/Linder does not explicitly teach that the opening top of the tank (inlet) is a waste inlet.
However, since the apparatus of the Fontana/Linder teaching includes the structural features of the claimed apparatus, and Fontana teaches that the tank is open at the top (see figure 4 of Fortana), it is the base presumption that the tank of the Fontana/Linder teaching is fully capable of being used wherein the open top of the tank is used as a waste inlet.
Fontana does not teach that the tank comprises a drain.
However, Linder teaches a tank comprising a drain (see figure 3 of Linder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Fontana/Linder wherein the tank comprises a drain, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of facilitating the removal of fluid from the container.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR2378577 to Fontana (hereinafter “Fontana”, presented in the IDS filed on 02/18/2025, see English translation filed on 02/18/2025) in view of DE 102013006822 to Linder (hereinafter “Linder”, presented in the IDS filed on 02/18/2025, see English translation filed on 02/18/2025), and in further view of EP 4286283 to Swirniak et al. (hereinafter “Swirniak”, presented in the IDS filed on 02/18/2025).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Fontana/Linder does not teach that the nozzles are retractably mounted relative to the respective ports, wherein each nozzle is mounted within a housing and is biased by means of a spring to a retracted position within the housing, wherein the nozzle is forced to extend from the housing into the tank interior when the pressure of pneumatic fluid routed to that nozzle from the fluid distributor exceeds the force of the spring.
Swirniak teaches a device for cleaning a tank comprising a nozzle mounted within a housing (figure 4, #120, 130, and 180), wherein the nozzle is biased by means of a spring (figure 4, #190) to a retracted position within the housing (see figure 3), and the nozzle is forced to extend from the housing when the pressure of the fluid routed to the nozzle exceeds the force of the spring [0013-0015].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Fontana/Linder wherein the nozzles are retractably mounted relative to the respective ports, each nozzle mounted within a housing and biased by means of a spring to a retracted position within the housing, wherein the nozzle is forced to extend from the housing into the tank interior when the pressure of pneumatic fluid routed to that nozzle from the fluid distributor exceeds the force of the spring, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Swirniak teaches that it is effective to use a cleaning device comprising retractable nozzles for cleaning the interior surfaces of a tank ([0001 and 0013-0015] of Swirniak).
Regarding claim 6, Fontana/Linder/Swirniak further teaches a seal between the nozzle and the housing ([0015] of Swirniak).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR2378577 to Fontana (hereinafter “Fontana”, presented in the IDS filed on 02/18/2025, see English translation filed on 02/18/2025) in view of DE 102013006822 to Linder (hereinafter “Linder”, presented in the IDS filed on 02/18/2025, see English translation filed on 02/18/2025), and in further view of US 5,384,990 to Spears, Jr. (hereinafter “Spears”, presented in the IDS filed on 02/18/2025).
Regarding claim 9, Fontana/Linder does not teach that the pneumatic fluid comprises abrasive particles.
Spears teaches that abrasive blasting techniques have been used for cleaning a surface including dry blasting which involves directing the abrasive particles to the surface by means of pressurized air (column 1, lines 21-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Fontana/Linder wherein the pneumatic fluid comprises abrasive particles, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Spears teaches that abrasive blasting techniques have been widely used for cleaning a surface including dry blasting which involves directing the abrasive particles to the surface by means of pressurized air (column 1, lines 21-36 of Spears).
Conclusion
/A.I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714