CTNF 19/056,198 CTNF 90886 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5, 8-9, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Casey et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180167547 A1), here after Casey . Regarding claim 1 , Casey teaches a method, comprising: at a computer system (FIG. 1, System controller 110) that is in communication with an external light source (FIG. 1, lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 and paragraph [0048], “The lighting control devices (e.g., the LED drivers for the lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178) may be configured to wirelessly receive digital messages via the RF signals 108 (e.g., from the system controller 110)”) and an input device (FIG. 1, mobile device 190 and paragraph [0057], “The system controller 110 may be configured to communicate via the network with one or more network devices, e.g., a mobile device 190”): detecting, via the input device, that a physical environment (paragraph [0111], “In the daylighting sensor mode, the user 192 may input a preferred lighting intensity that lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 may present on the user task area (e.g., desk 106, monitor 166, a predefined area around user 192, etc.)”) includes a respective color of light (paragraph [0111] “In the color sensor mode, the user 192 may input a preferred amount of color temperature that may present at the user task area”); and in response to detecting that the physical environment includes the respective color of light (paragraph [0178], “The visible light sensor 180 may identify the portion of the room 102 occupied by the sunlight 196 as being of a color temperature that is relatively more red than the other portion of the room 102”): in accordance with a determination that the respective color is a first color (paragraph [0136], “redder”), providing, via the external light source, illumination in a first manner (paragraph [0179], “The visible light sensor 180 may identify baseline color temperatures present within one or more regions of interest within a space (e.g., room 102) within generated images. The baseline color temperatures may be identified in images representing relatively different color temperatures within the room 102” and “redder color”); and in accordance with a determination that the respective color is a second color (paragraph [0179], “bluer color”) different from the first color, providing, via the external light source, illumination in a second manner different from the first manner (paragraph [0179], “The visible light sensor 180 may identify baseline color temperatures present within one or more regions of interest within a space (e.g., room 102) within generated images. The baseline color temperatures may be identified in images representing relatively different color temperatures within the room 102. The images that include the baseline color temperatures may range across the color spectrum (e.g., white color spectrum) from a relatively bluer color temperature to a relatively redder color temperature”). Regarding claim 2 , Casey further teaches providing illumination in the first manner includes increasing, via the external light source, a first amount of illumination within the physical environment (paragraph [0116], “he visible light sensor 180 may identify the sunlight and/or the artificial light that comprises the lighting intensity provided to the one or more regions of interest within the room 102. The visible light sensor 180 may increase or decrease the lighting intensity, or change the color temperature, of the lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178”). Regarding claim 3 , Casey further teaches providing illumination in the first manner includes decreasing, via the external light source, a second amount of illumination within the physical environment (paragraph [0116], “he visible light sensor 180 may identify the sunlight and/or the artificial light that comprises the lighting intensity provided to the one or more regions of interest within the room 102. The visible light sensor 180 may increase or decrease the lighting intensity, or change the color temperature, of the lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178”). Regarding claim 4 , Casey further teaches providing illumination in the first manner includes outputting, via the external light source, a third color, and wherein providing illumination in the second manner includes outputting, via the external light source, a fourth color different from the third color (paragraph [0100], a color wheel having colors for which RGB values includes third and fourth color”). Regarding claim 5 , Casey further teaches providing illumination in the first manner includes outputting, via the external light source, a color that neutralizes the respective color (paragraph [0165]). Regarding claim 8 , Casey further teaches providing, via the external light source, illumination in the first manner includes outputting a color of light that is different than the respective color of light (paragraph [0099]). Regarding claim 9 , Casey further teaches the external light source includes a first external light and a second external light different from the first external light, and wherein providing, via the light source, illumination in the first manner includes: causing the first external light to provide first illumination; and causing the second external light to provide second illumination (paragraph [0093]). Regarding claim 13 , Casey further teaches wherein the respective color of light included in the physical environment is detected without detecting input, and wherein the respective color of light is detected while the physical environment is not illuminated via the external light source (paragraph [0093]). Regarding claim 14 , Casey further teaches providing illumination in the first manner includes outputting, via the external light source, a sixth color, and wherein detecting that the physical environment includes the respective color of light includes detecting, via the input device, an input that corresponds to a request to illuminate the physical environment with a seventh color different from the sixth color (paragraph [0100], a color wheel having colors for which RGB values includes sixth and seventh color”). Regarding claim 15 , Casey further teaches providing illumination in the first manner includes outputting, via the external light source, an eighth color, and wherein detecting that the physical environment includes the respective color of light includes detecting, via the input device, an input that corresponds to a request to illuminate the physical environment with the eighth color (paragraph [0100], a color wheel having colors for which RGB values includes ninth color”). Regarding claim 16 , Casey further teaches the computer system is in communication with a set of one or more cameras, and wherein detecting that the physical environment includes the respective color of light includes capturing, via the set of one or more cameras, an image of the physical environment (paragraph [0061], “The visible light sensor 180 may comprise a camera directed into the room 102 and may be configured to record images (e.g., still images and/or videos) of the room 102. For example, the visible light sensor 180 may be mounted to a ceiling of the room 102, and/or may be mounted to a wall of the room (as shown in FIG. 1)”). Regarding claim 17 , Casey teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (FIG. 3, Memory 312) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system (paragraph [0347], “The methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor”) that is in communication with an external light source (FIG. 1, lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 and paragraph [0048], “The lighting control devices (e.g., the LED drivers for the lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178) may be configured to wirelessly receive digital messages via the RF signals 108 (e.g., from the system controller 110)”)and an input device (FIG. 1, mobile device 190 and paragraph [0057], “The system controller 110 may be configured to communicate via the network with one or more network devices, e.g., a mobile device 190”), the one or more programs including instructions for: detecting, via the input device, that a physical environment (paragraph [0111], “In the daylighting sensor mode, the user 192 may input a preferred lighting intensity that lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 may present on the user task area (e.g., desk 106, monitor 166, a predefined area around user 192, etc.)”) includes a respective color of light(paragraph [0111] “In the color sensor mode, the user 192 may input a preferred amount of color temperature that may present at the user task area”); and in response to detecting that the physical environment includes the respective color of light (paragraph [0178], “The visible light sensor 180 may identify the portion of the room 102 occupied by the sunlight 196 as being of a color temperature that is relatively more red than the other portion of the room 102”): in accordance with a determination that the respective color is a first color, providing, via the external light source, illumination in a first manner (paragraph [0179], “The visible light sensor 180 may identify baseline color temperatures present within one or more regions of interest within a space (e.g., room 102); and in accordance with a determination that the respective color is a second color (paragraph [0179], “bluer color”) different from the first color, providing, via the external light source, illumination in a second manner different from the first manner (paragraph [0179], “The visible light sensor 180 may identify baseline color temperatures present within one or more regions of interest within a space (e.g., room 102) within generated images. The baseline color temperatures may be identified in images representing relatively different color temperatures within the room 102. The images that include the baseline color temperatures may range across the color spectrum (e.g., white color spectrum) from a relatively bluer color temperature to a relatively redder color temperature”). Regarding claim 18 , Casey teaches a computer system (FIG. 1 control system 100 ) configured to communicate with an external light source (FIG. 1, lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 and paragraph [0048], “The lighting control devices (e.g., the LED drivers for the lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178) may be configured to wirelessly receive digital messages via the RF signals 108 (e.g., from the system controller 110)”) and an input device (FIG. 1, mobile device 190 and paragraph [0057], “The system controller 110 may be configured to communicate via the network with one or more network devices, e.g., a mobile device 190”), comprising: one or more processors (FIG. 1, a system controller, FIG. 3, 310 and paragraph [0046], “a system controller 110 (e.g., a central processor)”); and memory (FIG. 3, Memory 312) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions (paragraph [0347], “The methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor”) for: detecting, via the input device, that a physical environment (paragraph [0111], “In the daylighting sensor mode, the user 192 may input a preferred lighting intensity that lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 may present on the user task area (e.g., desk 106, monitor 166, a predefined area around user 192, etc.)”) includes a respective color of light (paragraph [0111] “In the color sensor mode, the user 192 may input a preferred amount of color temperature that may present at the user task area”); and in response to detecting that the physical environment includes the respective color of light (paragraph [0178], “The visible light sensor 180 may identify the portion of the room 102 occupied by the sunlight 196 as being of a color temperature that is relatively more red than the other portion of the room 102”): in accordance with a determination that the respective color is a first color (paragraph [0136], “redder”), providing, via the external light source, illumination in a first manner (paragraph [0179], “The visible light sensor 180 may identify baseline color temperatures present within one or more regions of interest within a space (e.g., room 102) within generated images. The baseline color temperatures may be identified in images representing relatively different color temperatures within the room 102” and “redder color”); and in accordance with a determination that the respective color is a second color (paragraph [0179], “bluer color”) different from the first color, providing, via the external light source, illumination in a second manner different from the first manner (paragraph [0179], “The visible light sensor 180 may identify baseline color temperatures present within one or more regions of interest within a space (e.g., room 102) within generated images. The baseline color temperatures may be identified in images representing relatively different color temperatures within the room 102. The images that include the baseline color temperatures may range across the color spectrum (e.g., white color spectrum) from a relatively bluer color temperature to a relatively redder color temperature”) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6-7, 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 6, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method of Claim 1, comprising “, illumination in a third manner; and in response to detecting that the physical environment includes the respective color of light and in accordance with a determination that the respective color is a fifth color different from the first color and the second color, continuing to provide, via the external light source, illumination in the third manner”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim. Regarding claim 7, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method of Claim 1, comprising “a second respective color of light; and in response to detecting that the respective color of light changes from the first respective color of light to the second respective color of light, providing, via the external light source, illumination in a fourth manner different from the first manner”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim. Regarding claim 10, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method of Claim 1, comprising “during a second period of time, different from the first period of time, while providing the illumination in the first manner, changing, via the light source, the illumination by a second illumination amount different from the first illumination amount”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim. Regarding claim 11, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method of Claim 1, comprising “illuminate light with a first characteristic and not a second characteristic; and in accordance with a determination that the detected user preference is a second user preference different from the first user preference, causing the external lights source to illuminate light with the second characteristic and not the first characteristic”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim. Regarding claim 12, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method of Claim 1, comprising “while detecting, via the input device, that the physical environment includes the respective color of light, providing, via the external light source, illumination in a sixth manner”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED M KAISER whose telephone number is (571)272-9612. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9 a.m.-6 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abdullah Riyami can be reached at 571-270-3119 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SYED M KAISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831 Application/Control Number: 19/056,198 Page 2 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 19/056,198 Page 3 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 19/056,198 Page 4 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 19/056,198 Page 5 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 19/056,198 Page 6 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 19/056,198 Page 7 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 19/056,198 Page 8 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 19/056,198 Page 9 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 19/056,198 Page 10 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 19/056,198 Page 11 Art Unit: 2831