DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 18 February 2025 and 12 September 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the second member of one of the coupling members [being] connected to the second member of another of the coupling members in the axis direction” (claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The drawings and language do not seem to teach the coupling member being modular, but claim 7 recites two coupling members being connected through their respective second member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oda et al. (US 2004/0001126 – hereinafter Oda.)
Regarding claim 1,
Oda discloses a coupling member [92 in figs. 9 and 11, which includes pipe 94] that is a tubular body whose center axis is an axis extending in a prescribed direction [as seen in figs. 9 and 11] and includes inside a circulation path for a liquid so as to allow the liquid to circulate therethrough in an axis direction [as seen in fig. 11; paragraph 0080], the coupling member comprising:
a first member [100 in figs. 9 and 11] connected to a tube through which the liquid circulates [as seen in fig. 11; paragraph 081]; and
a second member [102 in figs. 9 and 11] secured to the first member, wherein
one of the first and second members includes an outer fitting portion having a cylindrical shape centered about the center axis [as seen in figs. 9 and 11],
another of the first and second members includes an inner fitting portion having a cylindrical shape centered about the center axis [as seen in figs. 9 and 11],
the inner fitting portion is internally fitted to the outer fitting portion [connection of portions 100 and 102 in figs. 9 and 11], and
an inner circumferential surface of the outer fitting portion and an outer circumferential surface of the inner fitting portion are each so tapered as to increase in distance from the center axis from one side toward another side in the axis direction [narrowing portion in fig. 11.]
Regarding claim 2,
Oda further discloses wherein a clearance between the inner circumferential surface of the outer fitting portion and the outer circumferential surface of the inner fitting portion is not more than 0.1 mm [as seen in fig. 11.]
Regarding claim 4,
Oda further discloses wherein
the second member includes a biasing member that is provided on a radial inner side thereof and generates a biasing force in the axis direction [as seen in figs. 9-11],
the biasing member biases the first member in a direction away from the second member [as seen in figs. 9-11],
the outer fitting portion has an outer engagement part [as seen in figs. 9-11],
the inner fitting portion includes an inner engagement part engageable with the outer engagement part [as seen in figs. 9-11], and
the outer engagement part engages with the inner engagement part, and thus movements of the first member and the second member in directions away from each other are restricted [as seen in figs. 9-11.]
Regarding claim 5,
Oda further discloses wherein
the outer engagement part is an engagement hole penetrating through the outer fitting portion in a radial direction [[as seen in figs. 9-11],
the inner engagement part is an engagement projection protruding from the inner fitting portion to a radial outer side thereof [[as seen in figs. 9-11],
the outer fitting portion has a plurality of engagement holes arranged at positions point-symmetrical about the center axis [[as seen in figs. 9-11], and
the inner fitting portion includes a plurality of engagement projections to be inserted into and thus engaged with the plurality of engagement holes [[as seen in figs. 9-11.]
Regarding claim 6,
Oda further discloses wherein in a state where the first member is secured to the second member, a gap is provided between the engagement hole and the engagement projection in the axis direction [[as seen in figs. 9-11; paragraph 0108.]
Regarding claim 7,
Oda further discloses a flow path connection mechanism, comprising:
two coupling members [as seen in figs. 2 and 5-6] each claimed in claim 1 [see Rejection above],
wherein the second member of one of the coupling members is connected to the second member of another of the coupling members in the axis direction [as seen in figs. 2 and 5-6.]
Regarding claim 8,
Oda further discloses an inkjet recording apparatus [12 in fig. 1], comprising:
the coupling member claimed claim 1 [see Rejection above], wherein
the liquid is ink [paragraphs 0053-0058], and
the inkjet recording apparatus uses the ink to perform printing [paragraphs 0053-0058.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oda.
Regarding claim 3,
Oda discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above but fails to expressly disclose wherein the outer fitting portion has a light absorption rate lower than that of the inner fitting portion.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use an outer fitting portion made out of a material that has a light absorption rate lower than that of the inner fitting portion, since it has been held to be within the ordinary skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). One would have been motivated to use an outer fitting portion made out of a material that has a light absorption rate lower than that of the inner fitting portion for the purpose of achieving an efficient/ desired thermal management and structural integrity.
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853