DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai US 2016/0112602 A1 (Kawai) and Ogino et al. US 2020/0324990 A1 (Ogino).
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 9, Kawai teaches an image forming system comprising:
an image forming apparatus (1);
a display unit (500) capable of displaying information (¶0061);
the image forming apparatus including: an image forming unit configured to perform an image forming operation for forming an image on a recording material during an image forming period (¶0027);
a sound collector (Ma-Me) configured to receive a sound (¶0059);
a plurality of motors including a first motor and a second motor (two of groups A-E) and configured to drive the image forming unit (1);
a control unit (10) configured to implement, in a case where a predetermined condition is satisfied (i.e., the trouble occurrence operation mode), an individual drive mode in which only the first motor (E) among the plurality of motors operations during a first period different from the image forming period (¶0111),
Kawai differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: one or more servers wherein the one or more servers (¶0160-¶0162) are configured to notify the display unit to cause the display unit to display information relating to a component causing an abnormal sounds on a basis of the sound received by the sound collector during the first period in which the individual drive mode has been implemented (¶0107-¶0111). However, this is a known alternative. Ogino teaches the image forming system the plurality of drive units (206, 519, 520), the sound detection unit (microphone 70), and the control unit (203), and wherein the server apparatuses is configured to perform the identification operation (¶0052-¶0053). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the alternative configuration taught by Ogino where the server is used to perform the identification information instead of doing that on the device taught by Kawai, since the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Kawai teaches the image forming system according to claims 2 and 9, wherein, in a case where the predetermined condition is not satisfied (not every 100 pages), the first motor and the second motor are configured to not operate in the first period (i.e., the noise level is so high that it requires the part to stop (FIG. 8).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Kawai teaches the image forming system according to claims 3 and 10, wherein the first period is a period following the image forming period (¶0139).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Kawai teaches the image forming system according to claims 4 and 11, wherein the predetermined condition is a condition based on the number of sheets printed by the image forming apparatus (every 100, ¶0112).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Kawai teaches the image forming system according to claims 2 and 9, wherein the individual drive mode is configured to be implemented each time the image forming apparatus prints a predetermined number of sheets (every 100, ¶0112).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Kawai teaches the image forming system according to claims 2 and 9, the image forming system according to wherein the individual drive mode is a first individual drive mode (s109), and an individual drive mode in which only the second motor is driven among the plurality of motors during the first period is a second individual drive mode (s111-s112), and
wherein, in a case where the predetermined condition is satisfied after the first individual drive mode has been implemented, the second individual drive mode (YES to s115) is configured to be implemented (FIG. 11B).
Conclusion
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852