DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (hereinafter Wei) (CN-113656849-A).
Regarding claim 1: Wei discloses image content information specifying a content of a print image (Step 3: In the label design interface, drag the text label component, barcode component, QR code component, and graphic component from the label list column on the left to the label canvas in the middle according to the design needs; Step 4: Select a label component on the canvas, set the label position, title, font height, underline, QR code data, barcode data, and graphic data. Repeat this step to complete the label component properties;, Steps 3 and 4 under Example One (Detailed Ways) printable by a printing device (Step 5: Save the label, when printing the fixed asset label, select the label template, and the system will automatically render and generate the final fixed asset data label; Step 6: The label printing stage is to print and render the generated asset data label. The fixed asset label is usually printed with a specified size and stickable label paper and printed with a label barcode printer. When the program is printed, the asset data label must be converted into a label. The printer's tspl command set controls the automatic label feeding, aligns the printing position, and prints asset data item by item;, Steps 5 and 6, under Example One (Detailed Ways)); and size-related information directly or indirectly specifying a medium size, the medium size being a size of a printing medium on which the print image is to be printed (The fixed asset label is usually printed with a specified size and stickable label paper and printed with a label barcode printer., Step 6, under Example One (Detailed Ways)); a registration process comprising registering, as a registered size, the medium size specified by the size-related information obtained in the obtaining process (specified size, Step 6, under Example One (Detailed Ways)); a rendering process comprising rendering (render the generated asset data label, Step 6 under Example One (Detailed Ways)), based on the content specified by the image content information obtained in the obtaining process, the print image to fit a medium size among a plurality of medium sizes registered as registered sizes that is the same as the medium size specified by the size-related information obtained in the obtaining process (specified size, Step 6, under Example One (Detailed Ways)), the plurality of medium sizes (label template library, second par. following Step 7 under Example One (Detailed Ways)) including the medium size registered by the registration process and one or more medium sizes registered as registered sizes (specified size, Step 6, under Example One (Detailed Ways)); and a transmission process comprising transmitting a print command to the printing device (The printer's tspl command set controls the automatic label feeding, aligns the printing position, and prints asset data item by item, Step 6, under Example One (Detailed Ways)), the print command including information representing the print image rendered in the rendering process (render the generated asset data label, Step 6 under Example One (Detailed Ways)).
Regarding claim 2: Wei satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Wei further discloses wherein the transmission process further comprises transmitting medium size information to the printing device, the medium size information indicating the medium size specified by the size-related information obtained in the obtaining process (The label printing stage is to print and render the generated asset data label. The fixed asset label is usually printed with a specified size and stickable label paper and printed with a label barcode printer. When the program is printed, the asset data label must be converted into a label. The printer's tspl command set controls the automatic label feeding, aligns the printing position, and prints asset data item by item;, Step 6 under Example One (Detailed Ways)), and wherein the print command is a command instructing the printing device to print the print image on the printing medium of the medium size indicated by the medium size information (The printer's tspl command set controls the automatic label feeding, aligns the printing position, and prints asset data item by item, Step 6, under Example One (Detailed Ways)).
Regarding claim 3: Wei satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Wei further discloses wherein the registering in the registration process is performed when the medium size specified by the size-related information obtained in the obtaining process has not been registered as a registered size (allows users to design the implementation of personalized tags by themselves without modifying the program, low cost, good practicability, and suitable for wide promotion use., next to last par. under Detailed Ways).
Regarding claim 8: Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 1 are applicable. Additionally, a controller is inherently taught by Wei because the tspl command is executed in the printer’s firmware/hardware.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Ogura et al. (hereinafter Ogura) (JP-H0631987-A).
Regarding claim 4: Wei satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Wei further discloses wherein the size-related information obtained in the obtaining process (specified size, Step 6, under Example One (Detailed Ways)) (Detailed Ways))
Wei fails to specifically address includes a first identifier; wherein one or more second identifiers are registered as registered identifiers with each of the one or more second identifiers; when the one or more second identifiers registered as the registered identifiers do not include any second identifier having the same value as a value of the first identifier, the registration process further comprises: newly registering, as a registered identifier, a second identifier having the same value as the value of the first identifier in association with the medium size associated with the first identifier.
Ogura discloses includes a first identifier (identification code, second par. under Means for Solving the Problems); wherein one or more second identifiers are registered as registered identifiers with each of the one or more second identifiers (identification code read from the identification code storage means, third par. under Means for Solving the Problems); when the one or more second identifiers registered as the registered identifiers do not include any second identifier having the same value as a value of the first identifier (Further, when the identification code read from the identification code storage means of the label to be printed are different, it determines the print area of the label from the label information corresponding to the identification code of the label to be printed. Then, the string read from the storage means to select the maximum character size that fits in the printing area from the character size information, to the character size and the size of the string., fourth par. under Means for Solving Problems), the registration process further comprises: newly registering, as a registered identifier (In addition, the type of label sheets, usually of square label, line containing label, tack index label, box label, there are various cassette labels, etc., yet there is a variety also pasting position on the label sheet, it has been respectively normalized it is intended. Incidentally, by connecting an external input / output device such as expansion cartridge shown as an auxiliary storage unit 40 in FIG. 6, or increase the type of label sheet, or a desired label sheet that are not standardized when it is desired subjected to printing it is also possible to newly register., nineteenth par. under Means for Solving the Problems), a second identifier having the same value as the value of the first identifier in association with the medium size associated with the first identifier (Then, the same or different when labels are instructed to read a string for printing a character string registered in the storage means, the read processing means, the character size and the character of this string and the registered string and the identification code of the label string is printed is read out from the storage means. When the identification code read from the identification code storage means of the label to be printed are the same, the size of the string read out the character size read out from the storage means from the storage means., third par. under Means for Solving the Problems).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include includes a first identifier; wherein one or more second identifiers are registered as registered identifiers with each of the one or more second identifiers; when the one or more second identifiers registered as the registered identifiers do not include any second identifier having the same value as a value of the first identifier, the registration process further comprises: newly registering, as a registered identifier, a second identifier having the same value as the value of the first identifier in association with the medium size associated with the first identifier in order to ensure that the character string does not protrude from the label when printed as taught by Ogura (par. 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
18 September 2026