Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 10, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,228,160. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the claims of the present invention are included in the claims of the issued patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 13, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joon (JP 2016-121800 A).
Regarding claim 1, Joon discloses a threaded fastener assembly for use with a nut (90), said threaded fastener assembly comprising, in combination a shaft head (70) including a head (72), and an internally-threaded portion (Figs. 3 and 10; paragraphs [0046] and [0049]); and a shaft (80) separate from the shaft head (70) and including a first externally-threaded portion (81a) for cooperation with the internally-threaded portion of the shaft head (70) to selectively secure the shaft (80) to the shaft head (70), and a second externally-threaded portion (81b) for cooperation with the nut (90) (Figs. 3 and 10; paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Joon further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shaft (80) also includes an integrated nut portion (82) for tightening the first externally-threaded portion (81a) of the shaft (80) with the internally-threaded portion of the shaft head (70) (Fig. 3; paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Joon further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 2, wherein the nut portion (82) is located at an end of the shaft (80) opposite the first externally-threaded portion (81a) of the shaft (80) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Joon further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shaft head (70) further includes a fixing segment (71) extending from the head (72), and a spline (71b) on an external surface of the fixing segment (71), and wherein the internally-threaded portion is at least partially within the fixing segment (71) (Figs. 3 and 10; paragraphs [0049] and [0059]).
Regarding claim 7, Joon further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shaft head (70) and the shaft (80) are configured as a lug bolt (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Joon further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 1, wherein the second externally-threaded portion (81b) of the shaft (80) has a diameter the same size as the first externally-threaded portion (81a) of the shaft (80) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Joon further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 10, wherein the first externally-threaded portion (81a) and the second externally-threaded portion (81b) are continuous (Fig. 3; paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 14, Joon discloses a threaded fastener assembly for use with a nut (90), said threaded fastener assembly (fig. 3) comprising, in combination a shaft head (70) including a head (72), and a fixing segment (71) extending from the head (72), wherein at least a portion of the fixing segment (71) includes an internally-threaded portion (fig. 10) (Figs. 3 and 10; paragraphs [0046] and [0049]);
wherein the shaft head (70) includes a spline on an external surface of the fixing segment (71) (Figs. 3 and 10; paragraphs [0049] and [0059]); and a shaft (80) separate from the shaft head (70) and including a first externally-threaded portion (81a) for cooperation with the internally-threaded portion (fig. 10) of the shaft head (70) to selectively secure the shaft (80) to the shaft head (70), a second externally-threaded portion (81b) for cooperation with the nut (90), and an integrated nut portion (82) for tightening the first externally-threaded portion (81a) of the shaft (80) with the internally-threaded portion of the shaft head (70) (Figs. 3 and 10; paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 16, Joon further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 14, wherein the second externally-threaded portion (81b) of the shaft (80) has a diameter the same size as the first externally-threaded portion (81a) of the shaft (80) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Joon further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 14, wherein the first externally-threaded portion (81a) and the second externally-threaded portion (81b) are continuous (Fig. 3; paragraph [0045]).
Claim 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fasolino (U.S. Patent No. 4,681,496).
Regarding claim 1, Fasolino discloses a threaded fastener assembly for use with a nut (28), said threaded fastener assembly comprising, in combination a shaft head (18) including a head, and an internally-threaded portion (Fig. 1; column 2, lines 42 - 55); and a shaft (10, 14, 24) separate from the shaft head (18) and including a first externally-threaded portion (12) for cooperation with the internally-threaded portion of the shaft head (18) to selectively secure the shaft (10, 14, 24) to the shaft head (18), and a second externally-threaded portion (26) for cooperation with the nut (28) (Figs. 1 and 2; column 2, line 42 – column 3, line 13).
Regarding claim 2, Fasolino further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shaft (10, 14, 24) also includes an integrated nut portion (30) for tightening the first externally-threaded portion (12) of the shaft (10, 14, 24) with the internally-threaded portion of the shaft head (18) (Figs. 1 and 2; column 2, lines 61 - 65).
Regarding claim 3, Fasolino further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 2, wherein the nut portion (30) is located at an end of the shaft (the end of shaft portion 14) opposite the first externally-threaded portion (12) of the shaft (10, 14, 24) (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, Fasolino discloses wherein the nut portion (30) is located between the first externally-threaded portion (12) of the shaft (10, 14, 24) and the second externally-threaded portion (24) of the shaft (10, 14, 24) (Figs. 1 and 2; column 2, lines 61 - 65).
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walker (U.S. Patent No. US 3,611,862).
Regarding claim 1, Walker discloses a threaded fastener assembly for use with a nut, said threaded fastener assembly comprising, in combination a shaft head (20) including a head (22), and an internally-threaded portion (26) (Figs. 1 and 2; column 2, lines 16 - 19); and a shaft (10) separate from the shaft head (22) and including a first externally-threaded portion (12) for cooperation with the internally-threaded portion of the shaft head (22) to selectively secure the shaft (10) to the shaft head (22), and a second externally-threaded portion (14) for cooperation with the nut (Figs. 1 and 2; column 2, lines 7 – 19).
Regarding claim 5, Walker further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shaft head (22) further includes a fixing segment (24) extending from the head (22), and a spline on an external surface of the fixing segment (24), and wherein the internally-threaded portion (26) is at least partially within the fixing segment (24) (Figs. 1 and 2; column 2, lines 16 - 19).
Regarding claim 7, Walker further discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shaft head (22) and the shaft (10) are configured as a lug bolt (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joon (JP 2016-121800 A).
Regarding claim 4, Joon discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 2, except for wherein the nut portion (82) is located between the first externally-threaded portion (81a) of the shaft (80) and the second externally-threaded portion (81b) of the shaft (80).
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the parts of Joon such that the nut portion is located between the first externally-threaded portion of the shaft and the second externally-threaded portion of the shaft, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that such a rearranged configuration would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Joon.
Regarding claim 6, Joon further discloses wherein the shaft (80) further includes a fixing segment (Fig.3 – where 81 is pointing to) located between the first externally-threaded portion (81a) and the second externally-threaded portion (81b). Joon discloses the claimed invention except for a spline on an external surface of the fixing segment (81), and wherein the internally-threaded portion is entirely within the head (72).
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the parts of Joon such that the shaft further includes a spline on an external surface of the fixing segment, and wherein the internally-threaded portion is entirely within the head, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that such a rearranged configuration would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Joon.
Regarding claim 8, Joon discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 1, except for wherein the second externally-threaded portion (81b) of the shaft (80) has a diameter larger than the first externally-threaded portion (81a) of the shaft (80).
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Joon such that the second externally-threaded portion of the shaft has a diameter larger than the first externally-threaded portion of the shaft, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that such a modification would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Joon.
Regarding claim 15, Joon discloses the threaded fastener assembly according to claim 15, except for wherein the second externally-threaded portion (81b) of the shaft (80) has a diameter larger than the first externally- threaded portion of the shaft (80), and an inward facing abutment is formed between the second externally-threaded portion (81b) and the first externally-threaded portion (81a) and configured to engage an outer end of the shaft head (70) opposite the head (72).
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Joon such that the second externally-threaded portion of the shaft has a diameter larger than the first externally- threaded portion of the shaft, and an inward facing abutment is formed between the second externally-threaded portion and the first externally-threaded portion (81a) and configured to engage an outer end of the shaft head opposite the head, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that such a modification would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Joon.
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614