This office action is in response to amendment filed 08/04/2026 in which the claims 1-3, 5 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-9, filed 08/04/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims have been fully considered and amended claims are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Hanhart et al. (US 2019/0200023 A1).
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-3, 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 5 of copending Application No. 19/056,424 (reference application) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other in the instant claim. See the table below. However Hannuksela discloses wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other (Fig. 5 teaches FIG. 5 illustrates a block diagram of a video decoder where P′.sub.n: Predicted representation of an image block; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal; I′.sub.n: Preliminary reconstructed image; R′.sub.n: Final reconstructed image; Para[0188] teaches after applying pixel or sample prediction and error decoding processes the decoder combines the prediction and the prediction error signals (the pixel or sample values) to form the output video frame). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since compression efficiency may be improved
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant application: 19/056,432
Co-pending Application No. 19/056,424
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream, wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream,
wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI
message
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI message.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block,
and wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream, the method comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for an image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; encoding post image processing information into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream, the method comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for an image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; encoding post image processing information into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block,
and wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
6. Claims 1-3, 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 5 of copending Application No. 19/056,406 (reference application) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding, in the instant claim. See the table below. However Hannuksela discloses wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding, (Fig. 5 teaches FIG. 5 illustrates a block diagram of a video decoder where P′.sub.n: Predicted representation of an image block; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal; I′.sub.n: Preliminary reconstructed image; R′.sub.n: Final reconstructed image; Para[0188] teaches after applying pixel or sample prediction and error decoding processes the decoder combines the prediction and the prediction error signals (the pixel or sample values) to form the output video frame). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since compression efficiency may be improved
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Copending application: 19/056,406
Instant Application No. 19/056,432
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream,
wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by
determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the
image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream, wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI
message
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI message.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and
encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image
processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block,
and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream, the method comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for an image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block;
encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; encoding post image processing information into the bitstream; and transmitting a bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block,
and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream, the method comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for an image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; encoding post image processing information into the bitstream; and transmitting a bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
7. Claims 1-3, 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 5 of copending Application No. 19/056,444 (reference application) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding, in the instant claim. See the table below. However Hannuksela discloses wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding (Para[0188] teaches after applying pixel or sample prediction and error decoding processes the decoder combines the prediction and the prediction error signals (the pixel or sample values) to form the output video frame). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since compression efficiency may be improved
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Copending application: 19/056,444
Instant Application No. 19/056,432
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream, , wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other,
wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by
determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the
image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream, wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face..
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI
message
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI message.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and
encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other,
and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream, the method comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for an image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block;
encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; encoding post image processing information into the bitstream ; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other,
and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream, the method comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for an image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, ; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image, and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been overcome based on the amendment filed 08/04/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1) in view of Hanhart et al. (US 2019/0200023
A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hannuksela discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus (FIG. 5 illustrates a block diagram of a video decoder), comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream (para[0365] teaches code syntax elements (SEs). SEs are the information that describe how a video has been encoded and how it should be decoded, para[0388] teaches decoder may decode from the bitstream one or more syntax elements); generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements (para[0159] & Fig. 5 teaches video decoder with prediction error decoding and pixel prediction; Para[0365] teaches SEs are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.); reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block (para[0159] & Fig. 5 teaches P′ n: Predicted representation of an image block; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal; I′ n: Preliminary reconstructed image; R′ n: Final reconstructed image, Para[0031] teaches prediction of the samples of the border region, reconstruction of the samples of the border region, obtaining a prediction block for intra prediction based on the one or more sample values); and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0318] teaches when both scale factors are less than 1, a pre-defined downsampling process may be inferred; and when both scale factors are greater than 1, a pre-defined upsampling process may be inferred. Para[0330]–[0331] teaches reconstructed/decoded base-layer picture may be upsampled prior to its insertion into the reference picture lists for an enhancement-layer picture. para[0362] & Fig. 10 teaches scaled/upsampled base layer 1010. Para[0401] & Fig. 13 teaches upsampling at least a part of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, Para[0421] teaches decoder decodes from the bitstream whether sample locations outside a picture boundary and/or parameters associated to locations outside a picture boundary), wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other (Fig. 5 teaches FIG. 5 illustrates a block diagram of a video decoder where P′.sub.n: Predicted representation of an image block; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal; I′.sub.n: Preliminary reconstructed image; R′.sub.n: Final reconstructed image; Para[0188] teaches after applying pixel or sample prediction and error decoding processes the decoder combines the prediction and the prediction error signals (the pixel or sample values) to form the output video frame), wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding (Para[0365] Context-based Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding (CAB AC), a type of entropy coder, is a lossless compression tool to code syntax elements (SEs). SEs are the information that describe how a video has been encoded and how it should be decoded),wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets), wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches in the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets), wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture), determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation (para[0318] teaches Inter-layer sample prediction may be comprise resampling of the sample array(s) of the source picture for inter-layer prediction. The encoder and/or the decoder may derive a horizontal scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorHor) and a vertical scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorVer) for a pair of an enhancement layer and its reference layer for example based on the reference layer location offsets for the pair) and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets).
Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face. However Hanhart discloses and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face (Para[0009], [0011] teaches for geometries types that are associated with a plurality of faces, frame-packing parameters may be signaled to identify the positions and/or orientations of those faces in the 2D planar video. Different faces may be encoded with different sizes and/or different levels of quality. Faces can have different size and/or orientation. In some embodiments, face arrangement on a 2-D plane may have various characteristics, such as constant face width/height along each column/row, Para[0061] teaches represent the 360-degree video in one 2D picture using cubemap, the 6 faces of the cubemap can be packed into one rectangular area, which is known as frame packing. The frame packed pictures are then treated (e.g., coded) as one normal 2D picture. There are different frame packing configurations, such as 3×2 and 4×3. In the 3×2 configuration, the 6 faces are packed into 2 rows, with 3 faces in one row. In the 4×3 configuration, the 4 faces PX, NZ, NX, PZ are packed into one row (e.g., the center row), and the faces PY and NY are separately packed into two different rows (e.g., the top and bottom rows). The example of FIG. 2C makes use of 4×3 frame packing that corresponds to the equirectangular picture in FIG. 1C. para[0091] teaches For example, with the cubemap projection, the width in luma samples of all faces in the frame packed picture can be inferred to be equal to pic_width_in_luma_samples/num_face_columns, while the height in luma samples of all faces in the frame packed picture can be inferred to be equal to pic_height_in_luma_samples/num_face_rows. Note that the width and height in luma samples of all faces in the frame packed picture shall not be equal to 0 and shall be an integer multiple of MinCbSizeY). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of padding by extending the sample array(s) of the source picture for inter-layer prediction so that the sample array(s) also contain those sample locations outside the picture boundary that may be used in inter-layer resampling of Hannuksela with the method in which information regarding the geometry and frame packing parameters is made available to both the encoder and the decoder to be able to properly and more efficiently encode and decode the 360-video of Hanhart in order to provide a system for reducing the correlation and coding efficiency and thus increase temporal prediction efficiency, though at the cost of higher computing complexity.
Regarding claim 2, Hannuksela discloses wherein the method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI message (Para[0225] teaches SEI messages are signaled, Para[0752], [0753] teaches encoded information may be included in any type of parameter set).
Regarding claim 3, Hannuksela discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus (Para[0159] & Fig. 4), comprising: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image (Para[0159] & Fig. 4 teaches where In: Image to be encoded; P′n: Predicted representation of an image block; Dn: Prediction error signal; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal); obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block (para[0365] teaches SEs are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.); encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream (Para[220]-[0221] teaches coding with syntax structure may be defined as zero or more syntax elements present together in the bitstream, para[0365 teaches context-based Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding (CAB AC), a type of entropy coder, is a lossless compression tool to code syntax elements (SEs). SEs are the information that describe how a video has been encoded and how it should be decoded); and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0318] teaches when both scale factors are less than 1, a pre-defined downsampling process may be inferred; and when both scale factors are greater than 1, a pre-defined upsampling process may be inferred. Para[0330] –[0331] teaches reconstructed/decoded base-layer picture may be upsampled prior to its insertion into the reference picture lists for an enhancement-layer picture. para[0362] & Fig. 10 teaches scaled/upsampled base layer 1010. Para[0401] & Fig. 13 teaches upsampling at least a part of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, Para[0421] teaches decoder decodes from the bitstream whether sample locations outside a picture boundary and/or parameters associated to locations outside a picture boundary), wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block (para[0159] & Fig. 4 teaches R′ n: Final reconstructed image, Para[0422] & Fig. 14 teaches method comprises coding or decoding samples of a border region of a 360-degree panoramic picture; said coding or decoding utilizing one or more sample values of an opposite side border region and/or one or more variable values associated with one or more blocks of the opposite side border region in the prediction and/or reconstruction of the samples of the border region, wherein said prediction and/or reconstruction), wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other (Fig. 5 teaches FIG. 5 illustrates a block diagram of a video decoder where P′.sub.n: Predicted representation of an image block; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal; I′.sub.n: Preliminary reconstructed image; R′.sub.n: Final reconstructed image; Para[0188] teaches after applying pixel or sample prediction and error decoding processes the decoder combines the prediction and the prediction error signals (the pixel or sample values) to form the output video frame), wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding (Para[0365] Context-based Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding (CAB AC), a type of entropy coder, is a lossless compression tool to code syntax elements (SEs). SEs are the information that describe how a video has been encoded and how it should be decoded); and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets), wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0318] teaches when both scale factors are less than 1, a pre-defined downsampling process may be inferred; and when both scale factors are greater than 1, a pre-defined upsampling process may be inferred), determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets).
Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face. However Hanhart discloses and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face (Para[0009], [0011] teaches for geometries types that are associated with a plurality of faces, frame-packing parameters may be signaled to identify the positions and/or orientations of those faces in the 2D planar video. Different faces may be encoded with different sizes and/or different levels of quality. Faces can have different size and/or orientation. In some embodiments, face arrangement on a 2-D plane may have various characteristics, such as constant face width/height along each column/row, Para[0061] teaches represent the 360-degree video in one 2D picture using cubemap, the 6 faces of the cubemap can be packed into one rectangular area, which is known as frame packing. The frame packed pictures are then treated (e.g., coded) as one normal 2D picture. There are different frame packing configurations, such as 3×2 and 4×3. In the 3×2 configuration, the 6 faces are packed into 2 rows, with 3 faces in one row. In the 4×3 configuration, the 4 faces PX, NZ, NX, PZ are packed into one row (e.g., the center row), and the faces PY and NY are separately packed into two different rows (e.g., the top and bottom rows). The example of FIG. 2C makes use of 4×3 frame packing that corresponds to the equirectangular picture in FIG. 1C. para[0091] teaches For example, with the cubemap projection, the width in luma samples of all faces in the frame packed picture can be inferred to be equal to pic_width_in_luma_samples/num_face_columns, while the height in luma samples of all faces in the frame packed picture can be inferred to be equal to pic_height_in_luma_samples/num_face_rows. Note that the width and height in luma samples of all faces in the frame packed picture shall not be equal to 0 and shall be an integer multiple of MinCbSizeY). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of padding by extending the sample array(s) of the source picture for inter-layer prediction so that the sample array(s) also contain those sample locations outside the picture boundary that may be used in inter-layer resampling of Hannuksela with the method in which information regarding the geometry and frame packing parameters is made available to both the encoder and the decoder to be able to properly and more efficiently encode and decode the 360-video of Hanhart in order to provide a system for reducing the correlation and coding efficiency and thus increase temporal prediction efficiency, though at the cost of higher computing complexity..
Regarding claim 5, Hannuksela discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream, the method comprises (Para[0173] teaches bitstream structures, para[0280] para [0379] teaches encoder indicates the method in the bitstream): generating a prediction block and a residual block for an image (Para[0159] & Fig. 4 teaches where In: Image to be encoded; P′n: Predicted representation of an image block; Dn: Prediction error signal; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal); obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block (para[0221] a syntax element may be defined as an element of data represented in the bitstream. para[0365] teaches SEs are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.); encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream (Para[220]-[0221] teaches coding with syntax structure may be defined as zero or more syntax elements present together in the bitstream, para[0365 teaches context-based Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding (CAB AC), a type of entropy coder, is a lossless compression tool to code syntax elements (SEs). SEs are the information that describe how a video has been encoded and how it should be decoded); encoding post image processing information into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream (Para[0173] teaches bitstream structures, para[0280] para [0379] teaches encoder indicates the method in the bitstream), wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0318] teaches when both scale factors are less than 1, a pre-defined downsampling process may be inferred; and when both scale factors are greater than 1, a pre-defined upsampling process may be inferred. Para[0330]–[0331] teaches reconstructed/decoded base-layer picture may be upsampled prior to its insertion into the reference picture lists for an enhancement-layer picture. para[0362] & Fig. 10 teaches scaled/upsampled base layer 1010. Para[0401] & Fig. 13 teaches upsampling at least a part of the 360-degree panoramic source picture), the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block (para[0159] & Fig. 4 teaches R′ n: Final reconstructed image, Para[0422] –[0429] & Fig. 14 teaches FIG. 14, a method comprises coding or decoding samples of a border region of a 360-degree panoramic picture; said coding or decoding utilizing one or more sample values of an opposite side border region and/or one or more variable values associated with one or more blocks of the opposite side border region in the prediction and/or reconstruction of the samples of the border region, wherein said prediction and/or reconstruction), wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other (Fig. 5 teaches FIG. 5 illustrates a block diagram of a video decoder where P′.sub.n: Predicted representation of an image block; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal; I′.sub.n: Preliminary reconstructed image; R′.sub.n: Final reconstructed image; Para[0188] teaches after applying pixel or sample prediction and error decoding processes the decoder combines the prediction and the prediction error signals (the pixel or sample values) to form the output video frame), wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding (Para[0365] Context-based Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding (CAB AC), a type of entropy coder, is a lossless compression tool to code syntax elements (SEs). SEs are the information that describe how a video has been encoded and how it should be decoded); and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets), wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation (Para[0266] teaches handling of pixels outside picture boundaries can be handled by extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture, para[0318] teaches Inter-layer sample prediction may be comprise resampling of the sample array(s) of the source picture for inter-layer prediction. The encoder and/or the decoder may derive a horizontal scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorHor) and a vertical scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorVer) for a pair of an enhancement layer and its reference layer for example based on the reference layer location offsets for the pair), and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets).
Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face. However Hanhart discloses and wherein the padding is performed in a face unit for faces constituting the reconstructed image, the face being a rectangular region having a size different depending on the face (Para[0009], [0011] teaches for geometries types that are associated with a plurality of faces, frame-packing parameters may be signaled to identify the positions and/or orientations of those faces in the 2D planar video. Different faces may be encoded with different sizes and/or different levels of quality. Faces can have different size and/or orientation. In some embodiments, face arrangement on a 2-D plane may have various characteristics, such as constant face width/height along each column/row, Para[0061] teaches represent the 360-degree video in one 2D picture using cubemap, the 6 faces of the cubemap can be packed into one rectangular area, which is known as frame packing. The frame packed pictures are then treated (e.g., coded) as one normal 2D picture. There are different frame packing configurations, such as 3×2 and 4×3. In the 3×2 configuration, the 6 faces are packed into 2 rows, with 3 faces in one row. In the 4×3 configuration, the 4 faces PX, NZ, NX, PZ are packed into one row (e.g., the center row), and the faces PY and NY are separately packed into two different rows (e.g., the top and bottom rows). The example of FIG. 2C makes use of 4×3 frame packing that corresponds to the equirectangular picture in FIG. 1C. para[0091] teaches For example, with the cubemap projection, the width in luma samples of all faces in the frame packed picture can be inferred to be equal to pic_width_in_luma_samples/num_face_columns, while the height in luma samples of all faces in the frame packed picture can be inferred to be equal to pic_height_in_luma_samples/num_face_rows. Note that the width and height in luma samples of all faces in the frame packed picture shall not be equal to 0 and shall be an integer multiple of MinCbSizeY). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of padding by extending the sample array(s) of the source picture for inter-layer prediction so that the sample array(s) also contain those sample locations outside the picture boundary that may be used in inter-layer resampling of Hannuksela with the method in which information regarding the geometry and frame packing parameters is made available to both the encoder and the decoder to be able to properly and more efficiently encode and decode the 360-video of Hanhart in order to provide a system for reducing the correlation and coding efficiency and thus increase temporal prediction efficiency, though at the cost of higher computing complexity..
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425