This office action is in response to an application filed 02/18/2025 in which claims 1-5 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 of copending Application No. 19/056,424 (reference application) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block, in the instant claim. See the table below. However Hannuksela discloses wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block (Para[0365] teaches syntax elements (SEs) are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since compression efficiency may be improved
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant application: 19/056,463
Co-pending Application No. 19/056,424
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream,
wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding,
wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI
message
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI message.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding,
wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image
4. A computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
4. A computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding,
wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding,
wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 of copending Application No. 19/056,406 (reference application) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block, in the instant claim. See the table below. However Hannuksela discloses wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block (Para[0365] teaches syntax elements (SEs) are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since compression efficiency may be improved
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Copending application: 19/056,406
Instant Application No. 19/056,463
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream,
wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by
determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the
image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI
message
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI message.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and
encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image
processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block,
and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
4. A computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block,
and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
4. A computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block;
encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream,
wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block,
and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
A method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 of copending Application No. 19/056,432 (reference application) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block in the instant claim. See the table below. However Hannuksela discloses wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block Para[0365] teaches syntax elements (SEs) are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since compression efficiency may be improved
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant application: 19/056,463
Copending Application No. 19/056,432
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block,
wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by
determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the
image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
1. A method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream; generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements; reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block; and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream, wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are decoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI
message
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI message.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and
encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block,
and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
3. A method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
4. A computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block,
and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
4. A computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block;
encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream,
wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block,
and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
5. A method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image; obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block; encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block, and wherein the prediction block is added to the residual block corresponding to each other, wherein the syntax elements are encoded using a context based coding, wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image, wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 5 is vague because it is directed to a method of transmitting a bitstream that only comprises a process for encoding the bitstream and does not contain any specific step(s) of transmitting the bitstream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1).
Claim 4’s recitation of “a bit stream generated by a method, the method comprising…” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image and encoding post image processing information etc. manipulated by the steps.
To be given patentable weight, computer readable medium and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the computer readable medium to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for the information data (i.e. generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image and encoding post image processing information), no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 5 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Hannuksela et al. (para[0249] teaches coded data bitstreams storage).
12. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hannuksela discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus (FIG. 5 illustrates a block diagram of a video decoder), comprising: obtaining syntax elements for the image from a bitstream (para[0365] teaches code syntax elements (SEs). SEs are the information that describe how a video has been encoded and how it should be decoded, para[0388] teaches decoder may decode from the bitstream one or more syntax elements); generating a prediction block and a residual block by decoding the syntax elements (para[0159] & Fig. 5 teaches video decoder with prediction error decoding and pixel prediction; Para[0365] teaches SEs are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.); reconstructing the image based on the prediction block and the residual block (para[0159] & Fig. 5 teaches P′ n: Predicted representation of an image block; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal; I′ n: Preliminary reconstructed image; R′ n: Final reconstructed image, Para[0031] teaches prediction of the samples of the border region, reconstruction of the samples of the border region, obtaining a prediction block for intra prediction based on the one or more sample values); and performing a post image processing on the reconstructed image based on post image processing information included in the bitstream (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0318] teaches when both scale factors are less than 1, a pre-defined downsampling process may be inferred; and when both scale factors are greater than 1, a pre-defined upsampling process may be inferred. Para[0330]–[0331] teaches reconstructed/decoded base-layer picture may be upsampled prior to its insertion into the reference picture lists for an enhancement-layer picture. para[0362] & Fig. 10 teaches scaled/upsampled base layer 1010. Para[0401] & Fig. 13 teaches upsampling at least a part of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, Para[0421] teaches decoder decodes from the bitstream whether sample locations outside a picture boundary and/or parameters associated to locations outside a picture boundary), wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block (Para[0365] teaches syntax elements (SEs) are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.), wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets), wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches in the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets), wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture), determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation (para[0318] teaches Inter-layer sample prediction may be comprise resampling of the sample array(s) of the source picture for inter-layer prediction. The encoder and/or the decoder may derive a horizontal scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorHor) and a vertical scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorVer) for a pair of an enhancement layer and its reference layer for example based on the reference layer location offsets for the pair) and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets).
Regarding claim 2, Hannuksela discloses wherein the method of claim 1, wherein the post image processing information is a SEI message (Para[0225] teaches SEI messages are signaled, Para[0752], [0753] teaches encoded information may be included in any type of parameter set).
Regarding claim 3, Hannuksela discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus (Para[0159] & Fig. 4), comprising: generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image (Para[0159] & Fig. 4 teaches where In: Image to be encoded; P′n: Predicted representation of an image block; Dn: Prediction error signal; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal); obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block (para[0365] teaches SEs are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.); encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream (Para[220]-[0221] teaches coding with syntax structure may be defined as zero or more syntax elements present together in the bitstream, para[0365 teaches context-based Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding (CAB AC), a type of entropy coder, is a lossless compression tool to code syntax elements (SEs). SEs are the information that describe how a video has been encoded and how it should be decoded); and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0318] teaches when both scale factors are less than 1, a pre-defined downsampling process may be inferred; and when both scale factors are greater than 1, a pre-defined upsampling process may be inferred. Para[0330] –[0331] teaches reconstructed/decoded base-layer picture may be upsampled prior to its insertion into the reference picture lists for an enhancement-layer picture. para[0362] & Fig. 10 teaches scaled/upsampled base layer 1010. Para[0401] & Fig. 13 teaches upsampling at least a part of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, Para[0421] teaches decoder decodes from the bitstream whether sample locations outside a picture boundary and/or parameters associated to locations outside a picture boundary), wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block (para[0159] & Fig. 4 teaches R′ n: Final reconstructed image, Para[0422] & Fig. 14 teaches method comprises coding or decoding samples of a border region of a 360-degree panoramic picture; said coding or decoding utilizing one or more sample values of an opposite side border region and/or one or more variable values associated with one or more blocks of the opposite side border region in the prediction and/or reconstruction of the samples of the border region, wherein said prediction and/or reconstruction), wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block (Para[0365] teaches syntax elements (SEs) are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.); and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets), wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0318] teaches when both scale factors are less than 1, a pre-defined downsampling process may be inferred; and when both scale factors are greater than 1, a pre-defined upsampling process may be inferred), determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets).
Regarding claim 4, Hannuksela discloses a computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image (Fig.4), the method of encoding comprises (para[0115 computer program product comprising a computer-readable medium bearing computer program code embodied therein for use with a computer): generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image (Para[0159] & Fig. 4 teaches where In: Image to be encoded; P′n: Predicted representation of an image block; Dn: Prediction error signal; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal); obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block (para[0365] teaches SEs are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.); encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream (Para[220]-[0221] teaches coding with syntax structure may be defined as zero or more syntax elements present together in the bitstream, para[0365 teaches context-based Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding (CAB AC), a type of entropy coder, is a lossless compression tool to code syntax elements (SEs). SEs are the information that describe how a video has been encoded and how it should be decoded); and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0318] teaches when both scale factors are less than 1, a pre-defined downsampling process may be inferred; and when both scale factors are greater than 1, a pre-defined upsampling process may be inferred. Para[0330] –[0331] teaches reconstructed/decoded base-layer picture may be upsampled prior to its insertion into the reference picture lists for an enhancement-layer picture. para[0362] & Fig. 10 teaches scaled/upsampled base layer 1010. Para[0401] & Fig. 13 teaches upsampling at least a part of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, Para[0421] teaches decoder decodes from the bitstream whether sample locations outside a picture boundary and/or parameters associated to locations outside a picture boundary), wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block (para[0159] & Fig. 4 teaches R′ n: Final reconstructed image, Para[0422] & Fig. 14 teaches method comprises coding or decoding samples of a border region of a 360-degree panoramic picture; said coding or decoding utilizing one or more sample values of an opposite side border region and/or one or more variable values associated with one or more blocks of the opposite side border region in the prediction and/or reconstruction of the samples of the border region, wherein said prediction and/or reconstruction), wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block (Para[0365] teaches syntax elements (SEs) are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.); and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets), wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0318] teaches when both scale factors are less than 1, a pre-defined downsampling process may be inferred; and when both scale factors are greater than 1, a pre-defined upsampling process may be inferred), determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation, and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets).
Regarding claim 5, Hannuksela discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image (Fig.4), the method of encoding comprises (Para[0173] teaches bitstream structures, para[0280] para [0379] teaches encoder indicates the method in the bitstream): generating a prediction block and a residual block for the image (Para[0159] & Fig. 4 teaches where In: Image to be encoded; P′n: Predicted representation of an image block; Dn: Prediction error signal; D′n: Reconstructed prediction error signal); obtaining syntax elements for the prediction block and the residual block (para[0221] a syntax element may be defined as an element of data represented in the bitstream. para[0365] teaches SEs are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.); encoding the syntax elements into a bitstream (Para[220]-[0221] teaches coding with syntax structure may be defined as zero or more syntax elements present together in the bitstream, para[0365 teaches context-based Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding (CAB AC), a type of entropy coder, is a lossless compression tool to code syntax elements (SEs). SEs are the information that describe how a video has been encoded and how it should be decoded),; and encoding post image processing information into the bitstream, wherein the post image processing information is used for performing a post image processing on a reconstructed image (para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0266], [0376] & Figs.8 teaches extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture. para[0318] teaches when both scale factors are less than 1, a pre-defined downsampling process may be inferred; and when both scale factors are greater than 1, a pre-defined upsampling process may be inferred. Para[0330]–[0331] teaches reconstructed/decoded base-layer picture may be upsampled prior to its insertion into the reference picture lists for an enhancement-layer picture. para[0362] & Fig. 10 teaches scaled/upsampled base layer 1010. Para[0401] & Fig. 13 teaches upsampling at least a part of the 360-degree panoramic source picture), the reconstructed image is obtained based on the prediction block and the residual block (para[0159] & Fig. 4 teaches R′ n: Final reconstructed image, Para[0422] –[0429] & Fig. 14 teaches FIG. 14, a method comprises coding or decoding samples of a border region of a 360-degree panoramic picture; said coding or decoding utilizing one or more sample values of an opposite side border region and/or one or more variable values associated with one or more blocks of the opposite side border region in the prediction and/or reconstruction of the samples of the border region, wherein said prediction and/or reconstruction), wherein the syntax elements comprise at least one syntax element for a prediction mode for generating the prediction block (Para[0365] teaches syntax elements (SEs) are typically defined for all the prediction methods (e.g. CU/PU/TU partition, prediction type, intra prediction mode, motion vectors, and etc.) and prediction error (residual) coding information (e.g. residual skip/split, transform skip/split, coefficient_last_x, coefficient_last_y, significant_coefficient, and etc.), and wherein the post image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets), wherein the padding is performed by determining at least one equation based on a width of the image or a height of the image, determining a sample inside the reconstructed image based on the equation (Para[0266] teaches handling of pixels outside picture boundaries can be handled by extending the reference picture to be larger (in width and/or height) compared to the coded picture, para[0318] teaches Inter-layer sample prediction may be comprise resampling of the sample array(s) of the source picture for inter-layer prediction. The encoder and/or the decoder may derive a horizontal scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorHor) and a vertical scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorVer) for a pair of an enhancement layer and its reference layer for example based on the reference layer location offsets for the pair), and padding the region to be padded based on the sample inside the reconstructed image (para[0329] teaches In the resampling process of SHVC, the source picture for inter-layer prediction may be cropped, upsampled and/or padded to obtain an ILR picture. The relative position of the upsampled source picture for inter-layer prediction to the enhancement layer picture is indicated through so-called reference layer location offsets).
Conclusion
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425