DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kramer (2011/0005383).
In reference to claim 1, In reference to claim 1, Kramer discloses a firearm extractor (figures 4A-4D) comprising:
a first end (bottom end in figs. 4C and 4D);
a second end opposite the first end, the first end and the second end defining an axis extending therebetween (top end in figs. 4C and 4D);
a support tower defined at an outer side of the firearm extractor, wherein the support tower defines a proximal sloped region that slopes upwardly toward the first end and a distal sloped region that slopes downwardly toward the first end (looking at figure 4C, rotated 90° clockwise: the proximal end is mapped to the right-hand end of the extractor, and the distal end is mapped to the left-hand end of the extractor; the support tower is the delineated portion having length B and height E+D, with a proximal, upwardly sloping region extending upwardly and to the left from the proximal end toward the distal end, and a distal, downwardly sloping region extending downwardly and toward the distal end, there being a planar top surface connecting the proximal and distal sloping regions); and
a notch defined at the inner side of the extractor (figures 4C and 4D, notch with dimension G; paragraphs 28, 38, 40, and 43-50),
wherein the notch has a proximal edge and a distal edge, and wherein the distal edge of the notch is aft of the distal sloped region (looking at figure 4C, rotated 90° clockwise: the proximal edge of the notch is the right-hand edge thereof; the distal edge of the notch is the left-hand edge thereof; the distal edge is aft, i.e., to the right, of the distal sloped region of the support tower; the claim does not preclude the orientation mapping relied upon by the examiner).
In reference to claim 2, Kramer discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1.
In reference to claim 3, Kramer discloses the claimed invention (see figures 4C and 4D, the notch is clearly dimensioned with first and second depths that are equal, as claimed).
In reference to claim 7, Kramer discloses wherein:
a thickness of the extractor in at least one location defined at the axial location of the notch and configured to be disposed radially inward of one or more lugs of a barrel or a barrel extension during cycling of the bolt (“web thickness”) is greater than 0.019 inches (marked-up figure 4C, below, and figure 4E: dimension D is 0.042 in, and a web thickness, represented by dimension X, is clearly larger than dimension D),
the support tower defines a width in a circumferential direction perpendicular to the axis that is less than a width of the firearm extractor (figures 4A and 4C, the support tower is not as wide as the extractor), and
the support tower is positioned at a location other than the at least one location having the thickness that is greater than 0.019 inch, as set forth above (figures 4A and marked-up figure 4C, below, and figure 4E: dimension D is 0.042 in, and a web thickness, represented by dimension X, is clearly larger than dimension D).
In reference to claim 9, Kramer discloses the claimed invention (figures 4A-4D; looking at fig. 4A, the web thickness at the axial location of the notch is thickest at the foot of the support tower, and thinner at the lateral edge of the extractor).
Marked-up Figure 4C of Kramer
In reference to claim 10, Kramer discloses the claimed invention (see marked-up figure 4C, above: the height of the outer surface corresponds to dimension X plus the depth of the notch, which is clearly greater than the height of a 5.56 AR pattern firearm extractor due to the web thickness X, which is greater than that of a 5.56 AR pattern firearm extractor, and the depth of the notch which is deeper than a 5.56 AR pattern firearm extractor, in order to accommodate ERC cartridges per paragraphs 28, 38, 40, and 43-50).
In reference to claim 11, Kramer discloses the claimed invention (figures 4B and 4D, the first end includes a circular recess formed therein, and an underside of the extractor).
In reference to claim 12, Kramer discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above (also see figures 4A and 4C).
In reference to claim 13, Kramer discloses the claimed invention (figures 4C and 4D, notch with dimension G; paragraphs 28, 38, 40, and 43-50).
In reference to claim 15, Kramer discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1 (also see figure 2, bolt 204; figure 9; paragraph 21).
In reference to claims 16 and 17, Kramer discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claims 1 and 15 (also see figure 9: a person of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage the claimed barrel assembly, since an AR-15 platform barrel assembly includes the claimed structures).
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gomez (2014/0090283).
In reference to claim 1, Gomez discloses a firearm extractor having a maximum width, the firearm extractor (240) comprising:
a first end (figures 22B-22D, left-hand end);
a second end opposite the first end, the first end and the second end defining an axis extending therebetween (figures 22B-22D, right-hand end; longitudinal axis of extractor 240);
a support tower defined at an outer side of the firearm extractor, wherein the support tower defines a proximal sloped region that slopes upwardly toward the first end and a distal sloped region that slopes downwardly toward the first end (figure 22C, support tower is the upwardly jutting portion of claw 248, where the lead line for numeral 248 lands; the tower of Gomez is nearly identical to Applicant’s tower; and includes proximal and distal sloping regions as claimed, the distal sloping region is the left-hand sloping region, to the left of the lead line for 248, and the proximal sloping region is the right-hand sloping region, to the right of the lead line for 248)
a notch defined at an inner side of the firearm extractor (figure 22C, notch 251),
wherein the notch has a proximal edge and a distal edge, and wherein the distal edge of the notch is aft of the distal sloped region (figure 22C: distal edge 252; proximal edge at the right-hand side of notch 251; distal edge 252 is clearly aft, i.e., to the right, of the distal sloped region).
In reference to claim 14, Gomez discloses the claimed invention (figure 22C: notch 251, pivot portion 242, support tower positioned forward, i.e., to the left of, the pivot portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer.
In reference to claim 4, Kramer discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein a thickness of the firearm extractor in at least one location defined at an axial location of the notch is greater than or equal to approximately 0.043 inch and less than or equal to approximately 0.055 inch. However, Kramer does disclose a thickness of the extractor in at least one location defined at the axial location of the notch and configured to be disposed radially inward of one or more lugs of a barrel or a barrel extension during cycling of the bolt (“web thickness”) that is greater than 0.042 inches (marked-up figure 4C, above, and figure 4E: dimension D is 0.042 in, and a web thickness, represented by dimension X, is clearly larger than dimension D).
Further, the knowledge-base of a person having ordinary skill in the art includes basic mechanical engineering principles (e.g., a thicker metal bar is stronger/stiffer than a thinner metal bar, material properties the same; the thicker metal bar has greater impact strength than the thinner metal bar). An extractor is essentially a metal bar, and the extractor groove impacts the rim of a cartridge during chambering, as would be at once envisaged by a person of ordinary skill in the art; it is within the knowledge-base of a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand how an AR-15 extractor works. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage that the web thickness of the extractor is a result effective variable (e.g., a thicker web thickness results in a stronger/stiffer extractor; a thicker extractor has greater impact strength than a thinner extractor).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the extractor of Kramer with a web thickness greater than or equal to approximately 0.043 inches and less than or equal to approximately 0.055 inches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
In reference to claim 5, Kramer discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the web thickness is approximately 0.043 inches. However, based on the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the extractor of Kramer with a web thickness of approximately 0.043 inches, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
In reference to claim 6, Kramer discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the web thickness is approximately 0.055 inches. However, based on the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the extractor of Kramer with a web thickness of approximately 0.055 inches, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
In reference to claim 8, Kramer discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the web thickness of the extractor in all locations, as claimed, is greater than 0.019 inches. However, based on the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the extractor of Kramer with a web thickness in all locations, as claimed, that is greater than 0.019 inches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer in view of NLX (see IDS filed 3/21/25, Cite No. 41).
In reference to claims 18 and 20, Kramer discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the references to claims 1 and 11, except for where the firearm extractor is manufactured to have its final geometry via a material removal process, e.g., machining a billet. However, NLX teaches that it is known to form an extractor from a billet via machining, i.e., removing material from a billet to form an extractor having a desired geometry, in order to provide a high strength, monolithic extractor with an extremely hard surface and a tough, ductile core resistant to structural failure (long service life; page 1, description at bottom of page). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the extractor of Kramer from a billet via machining, i.e., removing material from a billet to form an extractor having a desired geometry, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a high strength, monolithic extractor with an extremely hard surface and a tough, ductile core resistant to structural failure (long service life).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomez in view of NLX (see IDS filed 3/21/25, Cite No. 41).
In reference to claims Gomez discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the references to claims 1 and 14 (also see figures 22A and 22B, the support tower is as wide as the body of the extractor), except for where the firearm extractor is manufactured to have its final geometry via a material removal process, e.g., machining a billet. However, NLX teaches that it is known to form an extractor from a billet via machining, i.e., removing material from a billet to form an extractor having a desired geometry, in order to provide a high strength, monolithic extractor with an extremely hard surface and a tough, ductile core resistant to structural failure (long service life; page 1, description at bottom of page). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the extractor of Gomez from a billet via machining, i.e., removing material from a billet to form an extractor having a desired geometry, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a high strength, monolithic extractor with an extremely hard surface and a tough, ductile core resistant to structural failure (long service life).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,253,319. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each and every feature recited in the claims of the instant application is to be found in the patent claims, except for features that are known in the prior art, as set forth above. It would have been obvious to modify the invention of the patent claims to include such features, in order to realize the benefits and advantages associated therewith. Thus, the application claims are patentably indistinct from the patent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached Notice of References Cited.
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641