Claims 1 and 7 have been amended.
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/13/2026 have been considered.
With respect to arguments regarding the claim objections, the arguments are persuasive, and the objections have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
With respect to arguments regarding 112(f) and 112(b), the arguments are persuasive, and the interpretation and rejection have been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments.
With respect to arguments regarding 103 that the cited references don’t teach amended claims 1 and 7, these arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara (US 20150249766 A1, hereinafter referred to as Asahara) in view of Iwadate (US 20110119731 A1, hereinafter referred to as Iwadate) in further view of Safavi (US 20140185443 A1, hereinafter referred to as Safavi).
Regarding claim 1, Asahara discloses: An information processing apparatus comprising: a non-volatile memory storing instructions (Asahara: Paragraph [0039] states, "Each software module (herein below, referred to as a software unit) illustrated in FIG. 3 is realized by executing a program stored in the nonvolatile memory 202 or the auxiliary storage device 204 by the CPU 201 in the image forming apparatus 101."); and one or more processors capable of executing the instructions causing the information processing apparatus (Asahara: Paragraph [0039] states, "Each software module (herein below, referred to as a software unit) illustrated in FIG. 3 is realized by executing a program stored in the nonvolatile memory 202 or the auxiliary storage device 204 by the CPU 201 in the image forming apparatus 101.") to function as: a first management unit configured to manage a security policy setting (Asahara: Paragraph [0027] states, "The security rule is also referred to as a security policy. The security rule is stored and managed by the image forming apparatus 101." Paragraph [0041] states, "The settings stored by the setting value management unit 301 include, for example, three settings, namely the security rule, the device setting, and the individual setting. However, other settings may be included." Examiner's note: the image forming apparatus is mapped to the first management unit.); a [second] management unit configured to manage setting values of a setting item group which affects at least one or more operations of the information processing apparatus (Asahara: Paragraph [0132] states, "in the case that the administrative user or the like distributes a file including a group of setting values to a plurality of image forming apparatuses (for example, three or more image forming apparatuses including 101a and 101b) in a batch to perform import processing, setting values included in the file, such as authentication information of a general user other than the administrative user, may be sometimes not compliant with the security rule. In such a case, if reflection of the setting is prohibited in compliance with the security policy, the general user cannot log in the image forming apparatus using his/her own user account. Thus, the exemplary embodiment according to the present invention can provide a mechanism of import processing on the image forming apparatus side which enables the image forming apparatus to flexibly import a setting value while taking the security rule into consideration."), but fails to explicitly disclose: a second management unit configured to manage setting values.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iwadate discloses: a second management unit configured to manage setting values (Iwadate: Paragraph [0034] states, "The information processing apparatus 1 includes a user interface unit 30 (referred to as a "UI unit"), a security setting management unit 31, the operation function unit 32 (network function unit), the security settings storage section 33 and the log storage section 34.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Asahara and include the above limitation with the teaching of Iwadate in order "for the sake of various security measures such as the prevention of leaks of information and unauthorized access from the outside, and operation is changed over in accordance with the particular setting" (Paragraph [0004]).
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Asahara further discloses: one or more memories storing instructions (Asahara: Paragraph [0039] states, "Each software module (herein below, referred to as a software unit) illustrated in FIG. 3 is realized by executing a program stored in the nonvolatile memory 202 or the auxiliary storage device 204 by the CPU 201 in the image forming apparatus 101."); and one or more processors capable of executing the instructions (Asahara: Paragraph [0039] states, "Each software module (herein below, referred to as a software unit) illustrated in FIG. 3 is realized by executing a program stored in the nonvolatile memory 202 or the auxiliary storage device 204 by the CPU 201 in the image forming apparatus 101."), but fails to explicitly disclose: causing the information processing apparatus to: retain, in the non-volatile memory, an operation setting of the information processing apparatus.
However, Iwadate discloses: causing the information processing apparatus to: retain, in the non-volatile memory, an operation setting of the information processing apparatus (Iwadate: Paragraph [0035] states, "The operation function unit 32 is a prescribed function unit that operates based upon security settings held in the security settings storage section 33." Paragraph [0031] states, "The hard-disk drive 106 stores system software and image data, as well as a security settings storage section 33 and log storage section 34." Examiner's note: since operation is occurring as a result of the security settings in a certain storage, those security settings are mapped to the operation setting.).
Asahara further discloses: receive a setting value group serving as a target for import (Asahara: Paragraph [0132] states, "in the case that the administrative user or the like distributes a file including a group of setting values to a plurality of image forming apparatuses (for example, three or more image forming apparatuses including 101a and 101b) in a batch to perform import processing, setting values included in the file, such as authentication information of a general user other than the administrative user, may be sometimes not compliant with the security rule. In such a case, if reflection of the setting is prohibited in compliance with the security policy, the general user cannot log in the image forming apparatus using his/her own user account. Thus, the exemplary embodiment according to the present invention can provide a mechanism of import processing on the image forming apparatus side which enables the image forming apparatus to flexibly import a setting value while taking the security rule into consideration."), but fails to explicitly disclose: and perform control in such a manner that first processing for storing at least a part of the received setting value group as the operation setting which is retained in the non-volatile memory and second processing for, after the first processing, storing, by overwrite, setting values which the second management unit manages in such a way as to satisfy the security policy setting which the first management unit manages, as a part of the operation setting which is retained in the non-volatile memory are performed as a series of processing operations in import processing.
However, Iwadate discloses: and perform control in such a manner that first processing for storing at least a part of the [received] setting value [group] as the operation setting which is retained in the non-volatile memory (Iwadate: Paragraph [0045] states, "The security setting management unit 31 changes the setting value held by the security settings storage section 33 (S512) and notifies the operation function unit 32 of the fact that the setting has been changed (S513)." Paragraph [0031] states, "The hard-disk drive 106 stores system software and image data, as well as a security settings storage section 33 and log storage section 34." Paragraph [0046] states, "Finally, the security setting management unit 31 deletes the log held by the log storage section (S514) and terminates the security setting operation. The operation function unit 32 refers to the changed setting value held by the security settings storage section 33 (S515) and starts operation using the changed setting."), but fails to explicitly disclose: storing at least a part of the received setting value group.
However, Asahara further discloses: storing at least a part of the received setting value group… (Asahara: Paragraph [0132] states, "in the case that the administrative user or the like distributes a file including a group of setting values to a plurality of image forming apparatuses (for example, three or more image forming apparatuses including 101a and 101b) in a batch to perform import processing, setting values included in the file, such as authentication information of a general user other than the administrative user, may be sometimes not compliant with the security rule. In such a case, if reflection of the setting is prohibited in compliance with the security policy, the general user cannot log in the image forming apparatus using his/her own user account. Thus, the exemplary embodiment according to the present invention can provide a mechanism of import processing on the image forming apparatus side which enables the image forming apparatus to flexibly import a setting value while taking the security rule into consideration." Paragraph [0027] states, "The security rule is also referred to as a security policy. The security rule is stored and managed by the image forming apparatus 101." Paragraph [0041] states, "The settings stored by the setting value management unit 301 include, for example, three settings, namely the security rule, the device setting, and the individual setting. However, other settings may be included.") and second processing for, after the first processing, storing, by overwrite, setting values which the second management unit manages in such a way as to satisfy the security policy setting which the first management unit manages (Asahara: Paragraph [0063] states, "A setting value change unit 307 changes the setting value stored by the setting value management unit 301 to a value complying with the security rule and stores the setting value by the setting value management unit 301 again."), as a part of the operation [setting which is retained in the non-volatile memory] are performed as a series of processing operations in import processing (Asahara: Paragraph [0132] states, "Thus, the exemplary embodiment according to the present invention can provide a mechanism of import processing on the image forming apparatus side which enables the image forming apparatus to flexibly import a setting value while taking the security rule into consideration."), but fails to explicitly disclose: the operation setting which is retained in the non-volatile memory.
However, Iwadate further discloses: the operation setting which is retained in the non-volatile memory (Paragraph [0035] states, "The operation function unit 32 is a prescribed function unit that operates based upon security settings held in the security settings storage section 33." Paragraph [0031] states, "The hard-disk drive 106 stores system software and image data, as well as a security settings storage section 33 and log storage section 34." Examiner's note: since operation is occurring as a result of the security settings in a certain storage, those security settings are mapped to the operation setting.), but fails to explicitly disclose: and wherein the second processing includes forcibly overwriting the setting values managed by the second management unit with values corresponding to the security policy setting, without performing comparative determination between each setting value stored in the first processing and a value compatible with the security policy setting.
However, Asahara further discloses: and wherein the second processing includes forcibly overwriting the setting values managed by the second management unit with values corresponding to the security policy setting (Asahara: Paragraph [0061] states, "A setting value changeability determination unit 306 determines, when the setting value becomes a state not complying with the security rule, whether the state can be brought into a state complying with the security rule by automatically changing the setting value." Examiner's note: automatically changing a setting is a form of forcibly changing it since the setting is changed without input from the user.), but fails to explicitly disclose: overwriting the setting values…without performing comparative determination between each setting value stored in the first processing and a value compatible with the security policy setting.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Safavi discloses: overwriting the setting values…without performing comparative determination between each setting value stored in the first processing and a value compatible with the security policy setting (Safavi: Paragraph [0044] states, "Since the MCM 104 may be receiving only changes to the parameters instead of complete packets, it may need to complete some comparisons to update the information it may already have saved. Alternatively, the MCM 104 may simply update the parameters with the changes without needing to make any comparisons." Examiner's note: a parameter is a setting and the change to a parameter is a form of overwriting it which means the setting is being overwritten without any comparisons being involved.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Asahara as modified by Iwadate and include the above limitation with the teaching of Safavi in order for "better resource management and enhance the spectral efficiency" (Safavi: Paragraph [0022]).
Claim 7 recites features similar to those recited in claim 1, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara (US 20150249766 A1, hereinafter referred to as Asahara) in view of Iwadate (US 20110119731 A1, hereinafter referred to as Iwadate) in further view of Safavi (US 20140185443 A1, hereinafter referred to as Safavi) in further view of Tsuchitoi (US 20160044062 A1, hereinafter referred to as Tsuchitoi).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Asahara as modified by Iwadate and Safavi discloses: The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein, in a case where the security policy setting is included in the received setting value group, in the first processing, the received security policy setting is stored as the operation in the non-volatile memory.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tsuchitoi discloses: wherein, in a case where the security policy setting is included in the received setting value group, in the first processing, the received security policy setting is stored as the operation in the non-volatile memory (Tsuchitoi: Paragraph [0150] states, "when a plurality of different security policies exists, security policies are set group by group in advance according to the concept of each group. At the time of login, the multifunction peripheral 101 identifies the group of the login user and applies the user mode setting values and the access control values corresponding to that group. In such a manner, even if there is a plurality of different security policies, the security policies according to the respective groups can be applied to the multifunction peripheral 101." Paragraph [0151] states, "the group policy management unit 220 is configured to obtain the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values corresponding to the group attribute of a login user from the user mode forced data stored in the storage device 107 in response to the login of the user, and store the setting values and the access control values into the apparatus setting storage unit 211 and the access control information storage unit 214." Paragraph [0153] states, "the group policy management unit 220 previously obtains the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values for a group attribute of each user from the user mode forced data, and stores the setting values and the access control values into the attribute setting storage units 211 and the access control information storage units 214 both of which are provided for each group attribute. The security function operation unit 215 and the screen control unit 212 may be configured to obtain the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values from the apparatus setting storage unit 211 and the access control information storage unit 214 corresponding to the login user, and control operations.").
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Asahara as modified by Iwadate and Safavi and include the above limitation with the teaching of Tsuchitoi in order to "allow a change of a setting while maintaining a state of adhering to the security policy" (Tsuchitoi: Paragraph [0153]).
Regarding claim 5, Asahara as modified by Iwadate and Safavi and Tsuchitoi discloses: The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, Tsuchitoi further discloses: further comprising a fourth management unit configured to manage user account data, [which is not included in setting items which the second management unit manages], wherein, in a case where the user account data is included in the received setting value group (Tsuchitoi: Paragraph [0138] states, "the group policy management unit 220 inquires of a not-illustrated login module to determine whether a user has logged in. If it is determined that no user has logged in (NO in step S1401), then in step S1401, the group policy management unit 220 makes the determination again." Paragraph [0140] states, "the group attribute has been defined and stored in the storage device 107 when the user has created his/her account." Paragraph [0153] states, "the group policy management unit 220 previously obtains the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values for a group attribute of each user from the user mode forced data, and stores the setting values and the access control values into the attribute setting storage units 211 and the access control information storage units 214 both of which are provided for each group attribute. The security function operation unit 215 and the screen control unit 212 may be configured to obtain the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values from the apparatus setting storage unit 211 and the access control information storage unit 214 corresponding to the login user, and control operations.").
The same motivation to modify with Tsuchitoi, as in claim 2, applies.
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Tsuchitoi fails to explicitly disclose: data, which is not included in setting items which the second management unit manages.
However, Iwadate further discloses: data, which is not included in setting items which the second management unit manages (Iwadate: Paragraph [0034] states, "The information processing apparatus 1 includes a user interface unit 30 (referred to as a "UI unit"), a security setting management unit 31, the operation function unit 32 (network function unit), the security settings storage section 33 and the log storage section 34." Examiner's note: different types of data are being managed by different aspects of the invention.).
The same motivation to modify with Iwadate, as in claim 1, applies.
Asahara further discloses: after the first processing in the series of processing operations in import processing, according to a specific security policy being set to the security policy setting which the first management unit manages, the second processing is performed without the received [user account] data being stored as the operation setting in the non-volatile memory (Asahara: Paragraph [0027] states, "The security rule is also referred to as a security policy. The security rule is stored and managed by the image forming apparatus 101." Paragraph [0054] states, "If the changed SMB password has the setting of "one character or less", the security rule check unit 302 determines that the value does not comply with the security rule and performs control not to permit storage of the changed setting." Paragraph [0035] states, "The operation function unit 32 is a prescribed function unit that operates based upon security settings held in the security settings storage section 33." Paragraph [0031] states, "The hard-disk drive 106 stores system software and image data, as well as a security settings storage section 33 and log storage section 34." Examiner's note: since operation is occurring as a result of the security settings in a certain storage, those security settings are mapped to the operation setting.), but fails to explicitly disclose: user account.
However, Tsuchitoi discloses: user account (Tsuchitoi: Paragraph [0153] states, "the group policy management unit 220 previously obtains the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values for a group attribute of each user from the user mode forced data, and stores the setting values and the access control values into the attribute setting storage units 211 and the access control information storage units 214 both of which are provided for each group attribute. The security function operation unit 215 and the screen control unit 212 may be configured to obtain the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values from the apparatus setting storage unit 211 and the access control information storage unit 214 corresponding to the login user, and control operations.").
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara (US 20150249766 A1, hereinafter referred to as Asahara) in view of Iwadate (US 20110119731 A1, hereinafter referred to as Iwadate) in further view of Safavi (US 20140185443 A1, hereinafter referred to as Safavi) in further view of Tsuchitoi (US 20160044062 A1, hereinafter referred to as Tsuchitoi) in further view of Kasahara (US 20250217510 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kasahara).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Asahara as modified by Iwadate, Safavi, and Tsuchitoi discloses: The information apparatus according to claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose: further comprising a third management unit configured to manage address setting data constituting an address book, which is not included in setting items which the second management unit manages, wherein, in a case where the address setting data is included in the received setting value group, after the first processing in the series of processing operations in import processing, according to a specific security policy being set to the security policy setting which the first management unit manages, the second processing is performed without the received address setting data being stored as the operation setting in the non-volatile memory.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kasahara discloses: further comprising a third management unit configured to manage address setting data constituting an address book, [which is not included in setting items which the second management unit manages] (Kasahara: Paragraph [0029] states, "The storage 114 stores image data, print data, an address book, various programs, and various types of setting information. The storage 114 is assumed to be a non-volatile flash memory in which the contents are not lost when the power to the memory is turned off and on." Paragraph [0034] states, "a web server application that uses HTTP also transmits and receives various types of setting information to and from a PC via the communication unit I/F 123. The web server application is stored in the ROM 112 and loaded on a memory in the RAM 113 after being started." Paragraph [0056] states, "The CPU 111 of the data transmission device 101 runs a program stored in the ROM 112 or the storage 114 to perform the processing illustrated in the flowcharts.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Asahara as modified by Iwadate, Safavi, and Tsuchitoi and include the above limitation with the teaching of Kasahara in order to allow for a more simple operation for a given user (Kasahara: Paragraph [0007]).
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Kasahara fails to explicitly disclose: data…which is not included in setting items which the second management unit manages.
However, Iwadate further discloses: data…which is not included in setting items which the second management unit manages (Iwadate: Paragraph [0034] states, "The information processing apparatus 1 includes a user interface unit 30 (referred to as a "UI unit"), a security setting management unit 31, the operation function unit 32 (network function unit), the security settings storage section 33 and the log storage section 34." Examiner's note: different types of data are being managed by different aspects of the invention.).
The same motivation to modify with Iwadate, as in claim 1, applies.
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Kasahara further discloses: wherein, in a case where the address setting data is included in the received setting value group (Kasahara: Paragraph [0029] states, "The storage 114 stores image data, print data, an address book, various programs, and various types of setting information. The storage 114 is assumed to be a non-volatile flash memory in which the contents are not lost when the power to the memory is turned off and on." Paragraph [0034] states, "a web server application that uses HTTP also transmits and receives various types of setting information to and from a PC via the communication unit I/F 123. The web server application is stored in the ROM 112 and loaded on a memory in the RAM 113 after being started." Paragraph [0056] states, "The CPU 111 of the data transmission device 101 runs a program stored in the ROM 112 or the storage 114 to perform the processing illustrated in the flowcharts."), after the first processing in the series of processing operations in import processing, according to a specific security policy being set to the security policy setting [which the first management unit manages], the second processing is performed without the received address setting data [being stored] as the operation setting [in the non-volatile memory] (Kasahara: Paragraph [0110] states, "If the device determines that import is not to be executed, the device will not import the destination information from the external device to the storage unit." Paragraph [0127] states, "In step S1111, the CPU 111 turns on the setting of restriction on import/export of the address book data."), but fails to explicitly disclose: security policy setting which the first management unit manages…setting data being stored as the operation setting in the non-volatile memory.
However, Asahara further discloses: security policy setting which the first management unit manages (Asahara: Paragraph [0027] states, "The security rule is also referred to as a security policy. The security rule is stored and managed by the image forming apparatus 101." Paragraph [0041] states, "The settings stored by the setting value management unit 301 include, for example, three settings, namely the security rule, the device setting, and the individual setting. However, other settings may be included." Examiner's note: the image forming apparatus is mapped to the first management unit.), but fails to explicitly disclose: setting data being stored as the operation setting in the non-volatile memory.
However, Iwadate further discloses: setting data being stored as the operation setting in the non-volatile memory (Iwadate: Paragraph [0035] states, "The operation function unit 32 is a prescribed function unit that operates based upon security settings held in the security settings storage section 33." Paragraph [0031] states, "The hard-disk drive 106 stores system software and image data, as well as a security settings storage section 33 and log storage section 34." Examiner's note: since operation is occurring as a result of the security settings in a certain storage, those security settings are mapped to the operation setting.).
Regarding claim 4, Asahara as modified by Iwadate, Safavi, Tsuchitoi and Kasahara: The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, Kasahara further discloses: wherein, in a case where the address setting data is included in the received setting value group (Kasahara: Paragraph [0029] states, "The storage 114 stores image data, print data, an address book, various programs, and various types of setting information. The storage 114 is assumed to be a non-volatile flash memory in which the contents are not lost when the power to the memory is turned off and on." Paragraph [0034] states, "a web server application that uses HTTP also transmits and receives various types of setting information to and from a PC via the communication unit I/F 123. The web server application is stored in the ROM 112 and loaded on a memory in the RAM 113 after being started." Paragraph [0056] states, "The CPU 111 of the data transmission device 101 runs a program stored in the ROM 112 or the storage 114 to perform the processing illustrated in the flowcharts."), after the first processing in the series of processing operations in import processing, according to the specific security policy being not set to the security policy setting [which the first management unit manages] (Kasahara: Paragraph [0110] states, "The restriction of export of address book data refers to the restriction of export of destination information such as a phone number or a folder path to an external device such as an external memory based on the country information set to the data transmission device representing an area within the intra-EEA." Paragraph [0122] states, "In step S1106, the CPU 111 turns off the setting of restriction on import/export of the address book data."), the second processing is performed with the received address setting data having been stored as the operation setting in the non-volatile memory (Kasahara: Paragraph [0029] states, "The storage 114 stores image data, print data, an address book, various programs, and various types of setting information. The storage 114 is assumed to be a non-volatile flash memory in which the contents are not lost when the power to the memory is turned off and on." Paragraph [0034] states, "a web server application that uses HTTP also transmits and receives various types of setting information to and from a PC via the communication unit I/F 123. The web server application is stored in the ROM 112 and loaded on a memory in the RAM 113 after being started." Paragraph [0056] states, "The CPU 111 of the data transmission device 101 runs a program stored in the ROM 112 or the storage 114 to perform the processing illustrated in the flowcharts.").
The same motivation to modify with Kasahara, as in claim 3, applies.
Kasahara fails to explicitly disclose: the security policy setting which the first management unit manages.
However, Asahara further discloses: the security policy setting which the first management unit manages (Asahara: Paragraph [0027] states, "The security rule is also referred to as a security policy. The security rule is stored and managed by the image forming apparatus 101." Paragraph [0041] states, "The settings stored by the setting value management unit 301 include, for example, three settings, namely the security rule, the device setting, and the individual setting. However, other settings may be included." Examiner's note: the image forming apparatus is mapped to the first management unit.).
Regarding claim 6 Asahara as modified by Iwadate and Safavi and Tsuchitoi discloses: The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, Tsuchitoi further discloses: wherein, in a case where the user account data is included in the received setting value group (Tsuchitoi: Paragraph [0138] states, "the group policy management unit 220 inquires of a not-illustrated login module to determine whether a user has logged in. If it is determined that no user has logged in (NO in step S1401), then in step S1401, the group policy management unit 220 makes the determination again." Paragraph [0140] states, "the group attribute has been defined and stored in the storage device 107 when the user has created his/her account." Paragraph [0153] states, "the group policy management unit 220 previously obtains the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values for a group attribute of each user from the user mode forced data, and stores the setting values and the access control values into the attribute setting storage units 211 and the access control information storage units 214 both of which are provided for each group attribute. The security function operation unit 215 and the screen control unit 212 may be configured to obtain the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values from the apparatus setting storage unit 211 and the access control information storage unit 214 corresponding to the login user, and control operations.").
The same motivation to modify with Tsuchitoi, as in claim 2, applies.
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claims.
Tsuchitoi fails to explicitly disclose: after the first processing in the series of processing operations in import processing, according to the specific security policy being not set to the security policy setting which the first management unit manages, the second processing is performed with the received user account data having been stored as the operation setting in the non-volatile memory.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kasahara discloses: after the first processing in the series of processing operations in import processing, according to the specific security policy being not set to the security policy setting [which the first management unit manages] (Kasahara: Paragraph [0110] states, "The restriction of export of address book data refers to the restriction of export of destination information such as a phone number or a folder path to an external device such as an external memory based on the country information set to the data transmission device representing an area within the intra-EEA." Paragraph [0122] states, "In step S1106, the CPU 111 turns off the setting of restriction on import/export of the address book data.").
The same motivation to modify with Kasahara, as in claim 3, applies.
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Kasahara fails to explicitly disclose: security policy setting which the first management unit manages.
However, Asahara further discloses: the security policy setting which the first management unit manages (Asahara: Paragraph [0027] states, "The security rule is also referred to as a security policy. The security rule is stored and managed by the image forming apparatus 101." Paragraph [0041] states, "The settings stored by the setting value management unit 301 include, for example, three settings, namely the security rule, the device setting, and the individual setting. However, other settings may be included." Examiner's note: the image forming apparatus is mapped to the first management unit.).
Kasahara further discloses: the second processing is performed with the received [user account] data having been stored as the operation setting in the non-volatile memory (Kasahara: Paragraph [0029] states, "The storage 114 stores image data, print data, an address book, various programs, and various types of setting information. The storage 114 is assumed to be a non-volatile flash memory in which the contents are not lost when the power to the memory is turned off and on." Paragraph [0034] states, "a web server application that uses HTTP also transmits and receives various types of setting information to and from a PC via the communication unit I/F 123. The web server application is stored in the ROM 112 and loaded on a memory in the RAM 113 after being started." Paragraph [0056] states, "The CPU 111 of the data transmission device 101 runs a program stored in the ROM 112 or the storage 114 to perform the processing illustrated in the flowcharts."), but fails to explicitly disclose: user account.
However, Tsuchitoi discloses: user account (Tsuchitoi: Paragraph [0153] states, "the group policy management unit 220 previously obtains the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values for a group attribute of each user from the user mode forced data, and stores the setting values and the access control values into the attribute setting storage units 211 and the access control information storage units 214 both of which are provided for each group attribute. The security function operation unit 215 and the screen control unit 212 may be configured to obtain the setting values of the user mode setting items and the access control values from the apparatus setting storage unit 211 and the access control information storage unit 214 corresponding to the login user, and control operations.").
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHREYAJ RAM BHANDARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434