DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 2 September 2026
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending;
Claims 1, 2, 9 and 16 are currently amended;
Claims 3-8, 10-15 and 17-19 were previously presented;
Claims 1-19 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 2 September 2026 have been fully considered and they are moot since a new reference is being used to reject the claims, and the new reference is also being used as a modifying reference to address the new limitations presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 16, the claim recites “it”. It is unclear to what structural element “it” refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims of claim 16 are also rejected for depending on rejected independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haw (U.S. Patent No. 3,975,915).
As to Claim 1, Haw discloses water containment barrier liner system comprising:
A liner member (20) with a top, bottom, and first, second, third, and fourth sides; and
A channel (28) adjacent to and running along a length of one or more of the liner member sides (30) wherein the channel (28) terminates in one or more apertures and is configured to receive an elongate member (39) that substantially spans the channel longitudinally.
As to Claim 2, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Haw also discloses wherein the channel (28) has a first end terminating in a first aperture and a second end terminating in a second aperture.
As to Claim 3, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Haw also discloses wherein the channel (28) is formed from a folded-over portion of the liner member (20).
As to Claim 4, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Haw also discloses wherein the liner member (20) and channel (28) are configured to roll into a stowed position and unroll into an extended position (The liner is made of a flexible material and therefore is capable of being rolled and unrolled).
As to Claim 5, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Haw also discloses wherein the liner member (20) is made of a generally water impermeable material (Since the liner is for stopping and controlling flow of water, it is inherent that the material is water impermable).
As to Claim 6, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Haw also discloses further comprising the elongate member (39).
As to Claim 7, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Haw also discloses a portion of the top side of the liner member that is located adjacent the channel configured to underlay a portable water containment barrier (21) with a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body (Column 2, Lines 12-14: “The dam 21 is inflated to the degree necessary to control the flow of water in the canal or stream as required”).
As to Claim 8, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 7 (Refer to Claim 7 discussion). Haw also discloses further comprising the portable water containment barrier (21) with a generally hollow body configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body (Column 2, Lines 12-14: “The dam 21 is inflated to the degree necessary to control the flow of water in the canal or stream as required”).
As to Claim 9, Haw discloses a water containment barrier liner system comprising:
A generally water impermeable liner member (20) with a top, bottom, and first, second, third, and fourth sides;
A channel (28) adjacent to and running along a length of one or more of the liner member sides (30) wherein the channel is formed from a folded-over portion of the liner member (20), has a first end terminating in a first aperture and a second end terminating in a second aperture, each end of the first and the second end configured to receive an elongate member (39) that substantially spans the channel longitudinally; and
Wherein a portion of the top side of the liner member (20) that is located adjacent to the channel (28) is configured to underlay a portable water containment barrier (21) with a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body (Column 2, Lines 12-14: “The dam 21 is inflated to the degree necessary to control the flow of water in the canal or stream as required”).
As to Claim 10, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Haw also discloses wherein the liner member (20) and channel (28) are configured to roll into a stowed position and unroll into an extended position (The liner is made of a flexible material and therefore is capable of being rolled and unrolled).
As to Claim 11, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Haw also discloses further comprising the elongate member (39).
As to Claim 12, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Haw also discloses further comprising the portable water containment barrier (21) with a generally hollow body configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body (Column 2, Lines 12-14: “The dam 21 is inflated to the degree necessary to control the flow of water in the canal or stream as required”).
As to Claim 13, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Haw also discloses wherein the elongate member (39) is configured to abut a back side of the portable water containment barrier (21) through the channel (28) to form a backstop for the portable water containment barrier with respect to forces on the front side of the portable water containment barrier.
As to Claim 14, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Haw also discloses wherein the liner member (20) is configured to form an apron in front of the portable water containment barrier (21).
As to Claim 16, Haw discloses a water containment method comprising the steps of:
Providing a liner member (20) with a channel (28) running along an edge (30) of the liner member;
Providing an elongate member (39);
Placing the liner member (20) on the ground and inserting the elongate member (39) into the channel (28) so that it substantially spans the channel longitudinally;
Providing a portable water containment barrier (21) with a generally hollow body configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body (Column 2, Lines 12-14: “The dam 21 is inflated to the degree necessary to control the flow of water in the canal or stream as required”); and
Placing the portable water containment barrier (21) on the liner member (20) so that the liner member (20) forms an apron forward of the portable water containment barrier (21) and the elongate member (39) and channel (28) form a backstop to a back side of the water containment barrier (21) with respect to forces on a front side of the portable water containment barrier (The limitations does not state where each element located but rather state what each element does. The channel and elongate member are located forward of the barrier, but they also provide a backstop to the entire barrier including its back side).
As to Claim 17, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Haw also discloses further comprising the step of placing material (40) over one or more leading edges of the liner member (20).
As to Claim 18, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Haw also discloses further comprising the step of rolling the liner member and channel into a stowed position (The liner is made of a flexible material and therefore is capable of being rolled and unrolled).
As to Claim 19, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Haw also discloses further comprising the step of unrolling the liner member and channel into an extended position (The liner is made of a flexible material and therefore is capable of being rolled and unrolled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritch (U.S. Patent No. 5,157,867) in view of Haw (U.S. Patent No. 3,975,915).
As to Claim 1, Fritch discloses a water containment barrier liner system comprising:
A liner member (100) with a top (112), bottom (Bottom of 112), and first (116a), second (116b), third (116c), and fourth sides (Bottom of 125); and
A channel (125) adjacent to and running along a length of one or more of the liner member sides wherein the channel terminates in one or more apertures and is configured to receive an elongate member (122).
However, Fritch is silent about the elongate member substantially spanning the channel longitudinally. Haw discloses an elongate member (39) substantially spanning a channel (28) longitudinally wherein the channel (28) is adjacent to and running along a length of one or more of a liner member (21). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the elongate member substantially span the channel longitudinally. The motivation would have been to increase the structural quality and stability of the entire channel by providing resistance against pressing down and/or crushing down the hollow channel.
As to Claim 2, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches wherein the channel (125) has a first end terminating in a first aperture and a second end terminating in a second aperture.
As to Claim 3, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches wherein the channel (125) is formed from a folded-over portion of the liner member (100).
As to Claim 4, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches wherein the liner member (100) and channel (125) are configured to roll into a stowed position and unroll into an extended position (The liner is made of a flexible material and therefore is capable of being rolled and unrolled).
As to Claim 5, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches wherein the liner member is made of a generally water impermeable material (Column 10, Lines 9-16: “As mentioned above, the landscape edging strip 9 is preferably made of thin, flexible low density polyethylene, but any other extrudable non-water degradable plastic or elastomeric material may be utilized so long as the extrusion product is sufficiently flexible to permit the landscape edging strip 9 to readily conform to changes in ground slope”. Polyethylene is a water impermeable material).
As to Claim 6, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches further comprising the elongate member (122).
Claims 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritch (U.S. Patent No. 5,157,867) in view of Haw (U.S. Patent No. 3,975,915); and further in view of Hallsten (U.S. Patent No. 5,454,195).
As to Claim 7, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches a portion of the top side (112) of the liner member (100) that is located adjacent the channel (125) configured to underlay a portable water containment barrier (37). However, Fritch as modiied is silent about the water containment barrier having a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body. Hallsted discloses a water containment barrier (14) having a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body (Column 4, Lines 50-54: “Toward the top of the module 14 is a preferably closable opening 22, through which the hollow module can be filled with a ballast such as, for example, water or sand, to increase the stability and strength of the module”). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the water containment barrier have a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body since the application of the known technique to the wall device would have yielded the predictable result of blocking the passage of fluid.
As to Claim 8, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 7 (Refer to Claim 7 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches further comprising the portable water containment barrier with a generally hollow body configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body (Hallsted - Column 4, Lines 50-54: “Toward the top of the module 14 is a preferably closable opening 22, through which the hollow module can be filled with a ballast such as, for example, water or sand, to increase the stability and strength of the module”).
Claims 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritch (U.S. Patent No. 5,157,867) in view of Haw (U.S. Patent No. 3,975,915) and Hallsten (U.S. Patent No. 5,454,195).
As to Claim 9, Fritch discloses a water containment barrier liner system comprising;
A generally water impermeable (Column 10, Lines 9-16: “As mentioned above, the landscape edging strip 9 is preferably made of thin, flexible low density polyethylene, but any other extrudable non-water degradable plastic or elastomeric material may be utilized so long as the extrusion product is sufficiently flexible to permit the landscape edging strip 9 to readily conform to changes in ground slope”. Polyethylene is a water impermeable material) liner member (100) with a top (112), bottom (Bottom of 112), and first (116a), second (116b), third (116c), and fourth sides (Bottom of 125); and
A channel (125) adjacent to and running along a length of one or more of the liner member sides wherein the channel (125) is formed from a folded-over portion of the liner member (100), has a first end terminating in a first aperture and a second end terminating in a second aperture, each end of the first and second end configured to receive an elongate member (122); and wherein a portion of the top side (112) of the liner member that is located adjacent to the channel (125) is configured to underlay a portable water containment barrier (37).
However, Fritch is silent about the elongate member substantially spanning the channel longitudinally. Haw discloses an elongate member (39) substantially spanning a channel (28) longitudinally wherein the channel (28) is adjacent to and running along a length of one or more of a liner member (21). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the elongate member substantially span the channel longitudinally. The motivation would have been to increase the structural quality and stability of the entire channel by providing resistance against pressing down and/or crushing down the hollow channel.
Furthermore, Fritch as modified (See above paragraph) is silent about the water containment barrier having a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body. Hallsten discloses a water containment barrier (14) having a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body (Column 4, Lines 50-54: “Toward the top of the module 14 is a preferably closable opening 22, through which the hollow module can be filled with a ballast such as, for example, water or sand, to increase the stability and strength of the module”). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the water containment barrier of a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body. The motivation would have been to increase the stability and strength of the barrier.
As to Claim 10, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches wherein the liner member (Fritch: 100) and channel are configured to roll into a stowed position and unroll into an extended position (The liner is made of a flexible material and therefore is capable of being rolled and unrolled).
As to Claim 11, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches further comprising the elongate member (Fritch: 122).
As to Claim 12, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches further comprising the portable water containment barrier with a generally hollow body configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body (Hallsted - Column 4, Lines 50-54: “Toward the top of the module 14 is a preferably closable opening 22, through which the hollow module can be filled with a ballast such as, for example, water or sand, to increase the stability and strength of the module”).
As to Claim 13, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches wherein the elongate member (Fritch: 122) is configured to abut a back side of the portable water containment barrier (Fritch: 37) through the channel (Fritch: 125) to form a backstop for the portable water containment barrier with respect to forces on the front side of the portable water containment barrier.
As to Claim 14, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches wherein the liner member (Fritch: 100) is configured to form an apron (Fritch: Figure 4) in front of the portable water containment barrier (Fritch: 37).
As to Claim 15, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Although Fritch as modified does not explicitly teach that wherein the apron has a length that is at least two times one or more of the width and depth of a base of the portable water containment barrier, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the apron with a length that is at least two times one or more of the width and depth of a base of the portable water containment barrier since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art.
As to Claim 16, Fritch discloses a water containment method comprising the steps of:
Providing a liner member (100) with a channel (125) running along an edge of the liner member;
Providing an elongate member (122);
Placing the liner member (100) on the ground and inserting the elongate member (122) into the channel (125);
Providing a portable water containment barrier (37);
Placing the portable water containment barrier (37) on the liner member (100) so that the liner member forms an apron (Figure 4) forward of the portable water containment barrier (100) and the elongate member (122) and channel (125) form a backstop to a back side (Figure 4) of the water containment barrier (37) with respect to forces on a front side of the portable water containment barrier (37).
However, Fritch is silent about the elongate member substantially spanning the channel longitudinally. Haw discloses an elongate member (39) substantially spanning a channel (28) longitudinally wherein the channel (28) is adjacent to and running along a length of one or more of a liner member (21). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the elongate member substantially span the channel longitudinally. The motivation would have been to increase the structural quality and stability of the entire channel by providing resistance against pressing down and/or crushing down the hollow channel.
Furthermore, Fritch as modified (See above paragraph) is silent about the water containment barrier having a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body. Hallsten discloses a water containment barrier (14) having a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body (Column 4, Lines 50-54: “Toward the top of the module 14 is a preferably closable opening 22, through which the hollow module can be filled with a ballast such as, for example, water or sand, to increase the stability and strength of the module”). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the water containment barrier of a generally hollow body that is configured to receive one or more materials to at least partially fill the body. The motivation would have been to increase the stability and strength of the barrier.
As to Claim 17, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches further comprising the step of placing material (Fritch: 33) over one or more leading edges of the liner member (Fritch: 100).
As to Claim 18, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches further comprising the step of rolling the liner member and channel into a stowed position (The liner is made of a flexible material and therefore is capable of being rolled and unrolled).
As to Claim 19, Fritch as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Fritch as modified also teaches further comprising the step of unrolling the liner member and channel into an extended position (The liner is made of a flexible material and therefore is capable of being rolled and unrolled).
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haw (U.S. Patent No. 3,975,915) alone.
As to Claim 15, Haw discloses the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Although Haw does not explicitly discloses wherein the apron has a length that is at least two times one or more of the width and depth of a base of the portable water containment barrier, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the apron with a length that is at least two times one or more of the width and depth of a base of the portable water containment barrier since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678