Claim Objections
The objections to the claims 10-11 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20220093305A1(hereinafter Diao) in view of Lassalle-Balier et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20190259520A1(herein after Lassalle-Balier).
Regarding Claim 1, Diao discloses a sensor (Fig. 5 i.e., magnetic elements 500; para. [0058] i.e., sensor...including magnetic elements ... 500 ), comprising: a seed layer (Fig. 5 i.e., seed layer 502; para. [0055] i.e., seed layer 502 ); a first buffer layer (Fig. 5 i.e., buffer layer 304, 404; para. [0055] i.e., buffer layer 304, 404 ) disposed on and in contact with the seed layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "502" and "304, 404"; para. [0055] i.e., The buffer layer 304, 404 is over the seed layer 502. ); a first ferromagnetic (FM) layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic layer 312A ; para. [0051] i.e., ferromagnetic layer 312A ) disposed on and in contact with the first buffer layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "312A" and "304, 404" ; para. [0055] i.e., buffer layer 304, 404 ) , the first FM layer comprising a single layer of Fe or FeSiAI (para. [0045] i.e., ... ferromagnetic layers 312...comprises a material ...Fe...), or a multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe, FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI; a first Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313; para. [0057] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313) disposed on the first FM layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "312A" and "313"; para. [0057] i.e., ferromagnetic layers 312.. and the ferromagnetic interface layers 313... ), the first Co comprising layer comprising Co or CoFe (para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313...comprises CoFe, Co, or Fe) ; and a barrier layer (Fig. 5 i.e., barrier layer 320; para. [0046] i.e., barrier layer 320 ) disposed on and in contact with the first Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "320" and "313"; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer 313 … and the barrier layer 320 ) but remains silent as to the first Co comprising layer disposed on and in contact with the first FM layer.
In an analogous art, Lassalle-Balier teaches the first Co comprising layer disposed on and in contact with the first FM layer (para. [0042] i.e., The CoFe and NiFe layers of the free layer … being in contact with either other... ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the positional feature into a sensor, as taught by Lassalle-Balier, to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed in Reference Lassalle-Balier, the motivation for the combination would be to enable strong coupling between two layers(Lassalle-Balier, para. 42).
Regarding Claim 3, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 1 as discussed above. Diao further teaches the sensor of claim 1, further comprising: a second Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer 331; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer ... 331 ) disposed on the barrier layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "331" and "320"; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer ...331 ...and the barrier layer 320 ), the second Co comprising layer comprising Co or CoFe (para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers ...331 independently comprises CoFe, Co, or Fe); and a second FM layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic layers 332A; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic layers ...332A ) disposed on the second Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "332A" and "331"; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic layers ... 332A...ferromagnetic interface layers … 331 ).
Regarding Claim 4, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 1 as discussed above. Diao further teaches the sensor, further comprising: a second buffer layer (Fig. 5 i.e., CoHf insertion layer 334; para. [0047] i.e., CoHf insertion layer 334 ) disposed on the second FM layer (Fig. 5 i.e.,"332A" and "334"; para. [0045] i.e., second bilayer 332A...CoHf insertion layer 334 ... ); and
a cap layer (Fig. 5 i.e., capping layer 308; para. [0048] i.e., capping layer 308) disposed on the second buffer layer (para. [0047] i.e., CoHf insertion layers ...334; para. [0048] i.e., capping layer 308 ), wherein the second FM layer comprises a single layer of Fe or FeSiAI (para. [0045] i.e., ferromagnetic layers ... 332 ...comprises a material selected from ...Fe...), or a multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe, IrAI/Fe, FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
Regarding Claim 9, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 1 as discussed above. Diao further teaches a magnetic recording device comprising the sensor of claim 1 (para. [0029] i.e., magnetic recording devices).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier as applied to claims 1, 3-4, and 9 above, and further in view of Gill U.S. Patent Publication Number US20070195467A1(hereinafter Gill).
Regarding Claim 7, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to the first FM layer comprises the single layer of FeSiAI.
In an analogous art, Gill teaches the sensor wherein the first FM layer comprises the single layer of FeSiAI (para. [0028] i.e., ...ferromagnetic layer 306 can include sendust (FeSiAl)... ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the FeSiAI layer into a sensor as taught by Gill in order to achieve desirable magnetic properties and improve magnetic coupling between adjacent layers(Gill, para. 28).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier as applied to claims 1, 3, and 9 above, and further in view of NPL documents Yin-Chih Lin et al. Soft perpendicular magnetization and spin reorientation transition of Fe films on NiAl(001), 2014 Appl. Phys. Express 7 023005(hereinafter Lin).
Regarding Claim 8, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to the sensor wherein the first FM layer comprises the multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe, FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
In an analogous art, Lin teaches the first FM layer comprises the multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe (abstract, Ultrathin Fe films were deposited on NiAl(001)), FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the multilayer structure of NiAI/Fe to a sensor as taught by Lin in order to achieve extremely soft perpendicular magnetization, with a small coercive field(Lin, Abstract).
Claim(s) 10, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier, and further in view of Hayashi U.S. Patent Number US5849422A (hereinafter Hayashi).
Regarding Claim 10, Diao discloses a sensor, comprising: a seed layer (Fig. 5 i.e., seed layer 502; para. [0055] i.e., seed layer 502 ); a first buffer layer (Fig. 5 i.e., buffer layer 304, 404; para. [0055] i.e., buffer layer 304, 404 ) disposed on the seed layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "502" and "304, 404"; para. [0055] i.e., The buffer layer 304, 404 is over the seed layer 502. ), the first buffer layer comprising NiAI, IrAI, or Cr (para. [0051] i.e., The buffer layer 404 comprises ... such as ...Cr... ); a first ferromagnetic (FM) layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic layer 312A ; para. [0051] i.e., ferromagnetic layer 312A ) disposed on the first buffer layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "312A" and "304, 404" ; para. [0055] i.e., buffer layer 304, 404 ), the first FM layer comprising a single layer of Fe FeSiAI (para. [0045] i.e., ... ferromagnetic layers 312...comprises a material ...Fe...), or a multilayer structure of FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI; a first Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313; para. [0057] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313) disposed on the first FM layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "312A" and "313"; para. [0057] i.e., ferromagnetic layers 312.. and the ferromagnetic interface layers 313... ), the first Co comprising layer comprising Co or CoFe (para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313...comprises CoFe, Co, or Fe); a barrier layer (Fig. 5 i.e., barrier layer 320; para. [0046] i.e., barrier layer 320 ) disposed on and in contact with the first Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "320" and "313"; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer 313 … and the barrier layer 320 ); a second Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer 331; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer ... 331 ) disposed on and in contact with the barrier layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "331" and "320"; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer ...331 ...and the barrier layer 320 ), the second Co comprising layer comprising Co or CoFe (para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers ...331 independently comprises CoFe, Co, or Fe), wherein the first and second Co comprising layers each has a thickness of about 3 Å to about 8 Å (para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313, 331 independently has a thickness from 0.1 nm to about 1.0 nm) ; and a second FM layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic layers 332A; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic layers ...332A ) disposed on and in contact with the second Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "332A" and "331"; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic layers ... 332A...ferromagnetic interface layers … 331 ) but remains silent as to the first ferromagnetic (FM) layer disposed on and in contact with the first buffer layer, the first FM layer comprising a single layer of FeSiAI, or a multilayer structure of FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI; and the first Co comprising layer disposed on and in contact with the first FM layer.
In an analogous art, Hayashi teaches the first ferromagnetic (FM) layer disposed on and in contact with the first buffer layer (Fig. 1 i.e., "buffer layer 2" and " first magnetic layer 3"; Col. 6 lines 63-67 i.e., ...buffer layer ... FeSiAl as the first magnetic layer ...), the first FM layer comprising a single layer of FeSiAI (Fig. 1 i.e., 3; Col. 6 lines 65-67 i.e., FeSiAl), or a multilayer structure of FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the positional feature and FeSiAI layer into a sensor, as taught by Hayashi to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed by Hayashi, the motivation for the combination would be to obtain a good crystal and body-centered cubic structure (Hayashi, Col. 3 lines 50-55).
In an analogous art, Lassalle-Balie teaches the first Co comprising layer disposed on and in contact with the first FM layer (para. [0042] i.e., The CoFe and NiFe layers of the free layer … being in contact with either other... ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the positional feature into a sensor, as taught by Lassalle-Balier, to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed in Reference Lassalle-Balier, the motivation for the combination would be to enable strong coupling between two layers(Lassalle-Balier, para. 42).
Regarding Claim 14, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier and Hayashi teaches a sensor of claim 10 as discussed above. Diao further teaches the sensor wherein the first FM layer has a thickness of about 40 Å to about 50 Å (para. [0045] i.e., ferromagnetic layers 312, 332 independently has a thickness from about 1.0 nm to about 5.0 nm.).
Regarding Claim 19, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier and Hayashi teaches a sensor of claim 10 as discussed above. Diao further teaches a magnetic recording device comprising the sensor of claim 10 (para. [0029] i.e., magnetic recording devices).
Claim(s) 11, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier and Hayashi as applied to claims 10, 14 and 19 above, and further in view of Lin.
Regarding Claim 11, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier and Hayashi teaches a sensor of claim 10 as discussed above but remains silent as to the second FM layer comprises a single layer of Fe or FeSiAI, or a multilayer structure of Fe/Cr, Fe/NiAI, Fe/IrAI, FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
In an analogous art, Lin teaches the second FM layer comprises a single layer of Fe or FeSiAI, or a multilayer structure of Fe/Cr, Fe/NiAI (abstract, Ultrathin Fe films were deposited on NiAl(001)), Fe/IrAI, FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the multilayer structure of NiAI/Fe to a sensor as taught by Lin in order to achieve extremely soft perpendicular magnetization, with a small coercive field(Lin, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 16, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier and Hayashi teaches a sensor of claim 10 as discussed above but remains silent as to the second FM layer comprises the multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe, FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
In an analogous art, Lin teaches the second FM layer comprises the multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe (abstract, Ultrathin Fe films were deposited on NiAl(001)), FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the multilayer structure of NiAI/Fe to a sensor as taught by Lin in order to achieve extremely soft perpendicular magnetization, with a small coercive field(Lin, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 18, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier and Hayashi teaches a sensor of claim 10 as discussed above but remains silent as to the first FM layer comprises the multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe, FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
In an analogous art, Lin teaches the first FM layer comprises the multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe (abstract, Ultrathin Fe films were deposited on NiAl(001)), FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the multilayer structure of NiAI/Fe to a sensor as taught by Lin in order to achieve extremely soft perpendicular magnetization, with a small coercive field(Lin, Abstract).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier and Hayashi as applied to claims 10, 14 and 19 above, and further in view of ISHITANI U.S. Patent Number US20240306515A1(hereinafter ISHITANI).
Regarding Claim 15, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier and Hayashi teaches a sensor of claim 10 as discussed above but remains silent as to the sensor further comprising a second buffer layer disposed on the second FM layer, the second buffer layer comprising NiAI, IrAI, or Cr.
In an analogous art, ISHITANI teaches the sensor, further comprising a second buffer layer disposed on the second FM layer, the second buffer layer comprising NiAI, IrAI, or Cr (para. [0056] i.e., ... buffer layer is ... NiAl (nickel aluminum). ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the NiAl buffer layer to a sensor as taught by ISHITANI in order to alleviate lattice mismatch between different crystals. (ISHITANI, para. 55).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier and Hayashi as applied to claims 10, 14 and 19 above, and further in view of Gill.
Regarding Claim 17, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier and Hayashi teaches a sensor of claim 10 as discussed above but remains silent as to the first FM layer comprises the single layer of FeSiAI.
In an analogous art, Gill teaches the sensor wherein the first FM layer comprises the single layer of FeSiAI (para. [0028] i.e., ...ferromagnetic layer 306 can include sendust (FeSiAl)... ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the FeSiAI layer into a sensor as taught by Gill in order to achieve desirable magnetic properties and improve magnetic coupling between adjacent layers(Gill, para. 28).
Claim(s) 20, 24 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier.
Regarding Claim 20, Diao discloses a sensor, comprising: a seed layer (Fig. 5 i.e., seed layer 502; para. [0055] i.e., seed layer 502 ); a first buffer layer (Fig. 5 i.e., buffer layer 304, 404; para. [0055] i.e., buffer layer 304, 404 ) disposed on the seed layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "502" and "304, 404"; para. [0055] i.e., The buffer layer 304, 404 is over the seed layer 502. ), the first buffer layer comprising NiAI, IrAI, or Cr (para. [0051] i.e., The buffer layer 404 comprises ... such as ...Cr... ); a first ferromagnetic (FM) layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic layer 312A ; para. [0051] i.e., ferromagnetic layer 312A ) disposed on and in contact with the first buffer layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "312A" and "304, 404" ; para. [0055] i.e., buffer layer 304, 404 ), the first FM layer comprising a single layer of Fe or FeSiAI (para. [0045] i.e., ... ferromagnetic layers 312...comprises a material ...Fe...), or a multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe, FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI; a first Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313; para. [0057] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313) disposed on the first FM layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "312A" and "313"; para. [0057] i.e., ferromagnetic layers 312.. and the ferromagnetic interface layers 313... ), the first Co comprising layer comprising Co or CoFe (para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313...comprises CoFe, Co, or Fe); a MgO layer (Fig. 5 i.e., barrier layer 320; para. [0046] i.e., barrier layer 320, such as a barrier layer comprising MgO) disposed on and in contact with the first Co comprising layer(Fig. 5 i.e., "320" and "313"; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer 313 … and the barrier layer 320 ); a second Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer 331; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer ... 331 ) disposed on and in contact with the MgO layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "331" and "320"; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layer ...331 ...and the barrier layer 320 ), the second Co comprising layer comprising Co or CoFe (para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers ...331 independently comprises CoFe, Co, or Fe), wherein the first and second Co comprising layers each has a thickness of about 3 Å to about 8 Å (para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic interface layers 313, 331 independently has a thickness from 0.1 nm to about 1.0 nm); a second FM layer (Fig. 5 i.e., ferromagnetic layers 332A; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic layers ...332A ) disposed on and in contact with the second Co comprising layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "332A" and "331"; para. [0046] i.e., ferromagnetic layers ... 332A...ferromagnetic interface layers … 331 ), the second FM layer comprising a single layer of Fe or FeSiAI (para. [0045] i.e., ferromagnetic layers ... 332 ...comprises a material selected from ...Fe...), or a multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe, IrAI/Fe, FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI; and a cap layer (Fig. 5 i.e., capping layer 308; para. [0048] i.e., capping layer 308) disposed on the second FM layer (Fig. 5 i.e., "308" and "332A"; para. [0038-0039] i.e., "capping layer 308" and "ferromagnetic layers 332" ) but remains silent as to the first Co comprising layer disposed on and in contact with the first FM layer.
In an analogous art, Lassalle-Balier teaches the first Co comprising layer disposed on and in contact with the first FM layer (para. [0042] i.e., The CoFe and NiFe layers of the free layer … being in contact with either other... ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the positional feature into a sensor, as taught by Lassalle-Balier, to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed in Reference Lassalle-Balier, the motivation for the combination would be to enable strong coupling between two layers(Lassalle-Balier, para. 42).
Regarding Claim 24, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 20 as discussed above. Diao further teaches the first and second FM layers each individually has a thickness of about 40 Å to about 50 Å (para. [0045] i.e., ferromagnetic layers 312, 332 independently has a thickness from about 1.0 nm to about 5.0 nm.).
Regarding Claim 27, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 20 as discussed above. Diao further discloses a magnetic recording device comprising the sensor of claim 20 (para. [0029] i.e., magnetic recording devices).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier as applied to claims 20, 24 and 27, and further in view of ISHITANI.
Regarding Claim 21, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 20 as discussed above. Diao further teaches the sensor, further comprising a second buffer layer(Fig. 5 i.e., CoHf insertion layer 334; para. [0047] i.e., CoHf insertion layer 334 ) disposed between the second FM layer and the cap layer ( Fig. 5 i.e., "334", "308" and "332A"; para.[0038-0039] i.e., "capping layer 308", "CoHf insertion layer 334" and "ferromagnetic layers 332") but remains silent as to the second buffer layer comprising NiAI, IrAI, or Cr.
In an analogous art, ISHITANI teaches the second buffer layer comprising NiAI, IrAI, or Cr (para. [0056] i.e., ...buffer layer is ... NiAl (nickel aluminum). ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the NiAl buffer layer to a sensor as taught by ISHITANI in order to alleviate lattice mismatch between different crystals. (ISHITANI, para. 55).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier as applied to claims 20, 24 and 27, and further in view of Bian et al. U.S. Patent Number US20060093866A1(hereinafter Bian).
Regarding Claim 23, Diao as modified and Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 20 as discussed above but remains silent as to the sensor, wherein the seed layer comprises RuAI.
In an analogous art, Bian teaches the seed layer comprises RuAI (para. [0018] i.e., ...seed layer is RuAl...).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the RuAl seed layer material to a sensor as taught by Bian in order to promote desired growth and crystallographic structure of the overlaying layer (Bian, para. 18-19).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier as applied to claims 20, 24 and 27, and further in view of Gill.
Regarding Claim 25, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 20 as discussed above but remains silent as to the sensor wherein the first and second FM layers 406 each individually comprises the single layer of FeSiAI.
In an analogous art, Gill teaches the sensor wherein the first and second FM layers each individually comprises the single layer of FeSiAI (para. [0028] i.e., ...ferromagnetic layer 306 can include sendust (FeSiAl)... ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the FeSiAI layer into a sensor as taught by Gill in order to achieve desirable magnetic properties and improve magnetic coupling between adjacent layers(Gill, para. 28).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao in view of Lassalle-Balier as applied to claims 20, 24 and 27, and further in view of Lin.
Regarding Claim 26, Diao as modified by Lassalle-Balier teaches a sensor of claim 20 as discussed above but remains silent as to the first and second FM layers each individually comprises the multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe, FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
In an analogous art, Lin teaches the first and second FM layers each individually comprises the multilayer structure of Cr/Fe, NiAI/Fe (abstract, Ultrathin Fe films were deposited on NiAl(001)), FeSiAI/Fe, or Fe/FeSiAI.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the multilayer structure of NiAI/Fe to a sensor as taught by Lin in order to achieve extremely soft perpendicular magnetization, with a small coercive field(Lin, Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-4,7-11,14-21 and 23-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688