DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-36 are pending.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-36 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 20 of Patent No.: US 11832285.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct
from each other because they are obvious subsets and /or variant of one another.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 19, and 28 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 11832285 discloses A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, a time offset parameter associated with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state application; receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels; transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI; applying, starting from a time, after the uplink transmission, that is based on the time offset parameter, the indicated TCI state; and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels (claim 1).
Regarding claims 2, 11, 20, and 29 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 11832285 discloses wherein the plurality of channels comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and wherein the communicating comprises receiving, using the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via at least the PDSCH and the PDCCH (claim 4).
Regarding claims 3, 12, 21, and 30 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 11832285 discloses after receiving the DCI and prior to applying the indicated TCI state, communicating using a second TCI state, wherein the second TCI state is at least one of: a default TCI state; or a TCI state associated with a transmission received prior to the receiving the DCI (claim 5).
Regarding claims 4, 13, 22, and 31 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 11832285 discloses wherein the acknowledgement comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) message or a HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) message (claim 6).
Regarding claims 5, 14, 23, and 32 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 11832285 discloses receiving, using a quasi co-location (QCL) associated with the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels (claim 8).
Regarding claims 6, 15, 24, and 33 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 11832285 discloses transmitting, using a spatial filter associated with the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels (claim 9).
Regarding claims 7, 16, 25, and 34 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 11832285 discloses an uplink transmission via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (claim 20).
Regarding claims 8, 17, 26, and 35 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 11832285 discloses a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and wherein the communicating comprises transmitting, using the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via at least the PUSCH and the PUCCH (claim 20).
Regarding claims 9, 18, 27, and 36 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 11832285 discloses wherein the plurality of channels comprises at least one of a sounding reference signal (SRS) or channel state information (CSI) (claim 20).
Claims 1-36 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-12 of Patent No.: US 12267857.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct
from each other because they are obvious subsets and /or variant of one another.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 19, and 28 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 12267857 discloses A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, a time offset parameter associated with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state application; receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels; transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI; applying, starting from a time, after the uplink transmission, that is based on the time offset parameter, the indicated TCI state; and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels (claim 1).
Regarding claims 2, 11, 20, and 29 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 12267857 discloses wherein the plurality of channels comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and wherein the communicating comprises receiving, using the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via at least the PDSCH and the PDCCH (claim 3).
Regarding claims 3, 12, 21, and 30 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 12267857 discloses after receiving the DCI and prior to applying the indicated TCI state, communicating using a second TCI state, wherein the second TCI state is at least one of: a default TCI state; or a TCI state associated with a transmission received prior to the receiving the DCI (claim 4).
Regarding claims 4, 13, 22, and 31 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 12267857 discloses wherein the acknowledgement comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) message or a HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) message (claim 5).
Regarding claims 5, 14, 23, and 32 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 12267857 discloses receiving, using a quasi co-location (QCL) associated with the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels (claim 7).
Regarding claims 6, 15, 24, and 33 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 12267857 discloses transmitting, using a spatial filter associated with the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels (claim 8).
Regarding claims 7, 16, 25, and 34 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 12267857 discloses an uplink transmission via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (claim 9).
Regarding claims 8, 17, 26, and 35 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 12267857 discloses a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and wherein the communicating comprises transmitting, using the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via at least the PUSCH and the PUCCH (claim 11).
Regarding claims 9, 18, 27, and 36 of the instant application, Patent No.: US 12267857 discloses wherein the plurality of channels comprises at least one of a sounding reference signal (SRS) or channel state information (CSI) (claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210068123 A1), hereinafter Zhu, in view of Guo et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190297603 A1), hereinafter Guo, and further in view of John Wilson et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190222289 A1), hereinafter John Wilson.
With respect to claim 1, Zhu teaches A method comprising ([0006], a method):
receiving, by a wireless device, a time offset parameter associated with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state application ([0246], UE receives a time offset parameter associated with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state application);
applying, starting from a time, that is based on the time offset parameter, the indicated TCI state ([0246], applying, starting from a time, that is based on the time offset parameter, the indicated TCI state).
Zhu does not explicitly teach receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels; and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels.
However, Guo teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels ([0013], receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels); and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels ([0013], communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo, receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels; and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels, into the teachings of Zhu, in order to provide methods and apparatuses for beam management for multi-stream transmission in an advanced wireless communication system (Guo, [0012]).
The combination of Zhu and Guo does not explicitly teach transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission.
However, John Wilson teaches transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission ([0091], the UE 115-b may transmit an ACK in response at 415 after some interval 430 (some delay, K1, in slots between PDSCH reception and corresponding uplink ACK transmission) after the data beam switch at 410-b. The UE 115-b may then switch control beams at 420-b after offset 435 (e.g., some Threshold-control-offset slots after the ACK transmission at 415).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of John Wilson, transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission, into the teachings of Zhu and Guo, in order to limit the blind detection complexity by determining which PDCCH candidates need to be monitored at any given moment (John Wilson, [0002]).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Zhu, Guo, and John Wilson teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu teaches wherein the plurality of channels comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and wherein the communicating comprises receiving, using the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via at least the PDSCH and the PDCCH ([0108]).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Zhu, Guo, and John Wilson teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu does not explicitly teach receiving the DCI and prior to applying the indicated TCI state, communicating using a second TCI state, wherein the second TCI state is at least one of: a default TCI state; or a TCI state associated with a transmission received prior to the receiving the DCI.
However, Guo teaches receiving the DCI and prior to applying the indicated TCI state, communicating using a second TCI state, wherein the second TCI state is at least one of: a default TCI state ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo, receiving the DCI and prior to applying the indicated TCI state, communicating using a second TCI state, wherein the second TCI state is at least one of: a default TCI state, into the teachings of Zhu, in order to provide methods and apparatuses for beam management for multi-stream transmission in an advanced wireless communication system (Guo, [0012]).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Zhu, Guo, and John Wilson teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu does not explicitly teach wherein the acknowledgement comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) message or a HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) message.
However, Guo teaches wherein the acknowledgement comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) message or a HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) message ([0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo, wherein the acknowledgement comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) message or a HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) message, into the teachings of Zhu, in order to provide methods and apparatuses for beam management for multi-stream transmission in an advanced wireless communication system (Guo, [0012]).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Zhu, Guo, and John Wilson teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu does not explicitly teach receiving, using a quasi co-location (QCL) associated with the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels.
However, Guo teaches receiving, using a quasi co-location (QCL) associated with the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo, receiving, using a quasi co-location (QCL) associated with the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels, into the teachings of Zhu, in order to provide methods and apparatuses for beam management for multi-stream transmission in an advanced wireless communication system (Guo, [0012]).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Zhu, Guo, and John Wilson teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu does not explicitly teach comprises transmitting, using a spatial filter associated with the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels.
However, Guo teaches comprises transmitting, using a spatial filter associated with the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo, comprises transmitting, using a spatial filter associated with the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels, into the teachings of Zhu, in order to provide methods and apparatuses for beam management for multi-stream transmission in an advanced wireless communication system (Guo, [0012]).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Zhu, Guo, and John Wilson teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu teaches an uplink transmission via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0297]).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Zhu, Guo, and John Wilson teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu teaches a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and wherein the communicating comprises transmitting, using the indicated TCI state, the plurality of transmissions via at least the PUSCH and the PUCCH ([0005, 0297]).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Zhu, Guo, and John Wilson teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu teaches comprises at least one of channel state information (CSI) ([0108]).
With respect to claim 10, Zhu teaches A method comprising ([0006], a method):
receiving, by a wireless device, a time offset parameter associated with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state application ([0246], UE receives a time offset parameter associated with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state application); and
applied starting from a time, that is based on the time offset parameter ([0246], applying, starting from a time, that is based on the time offset parameter, the indicated TCI state).
Zhu does not explicitly teach receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels; and communicating a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels using the indicated TCI state.
However, Guo teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels ([0013], receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels); and communicating a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels using the indicated TCI state ([0013], communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo, receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels; and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels, into the teachings of Zhu, in order to provide methods and apparatuses for beam management for multi-stream transmission in an advanced wireless communication system (Guo, [0012]).
The combination of Zhu and Guo does not explicitly teach transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission.
However, John Wilson teaches transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission ([0091], the UE 115-b may transmit an ACK in response at 415 after some interval 430 (some delay, K1, in slots between PDSCH reception and corresponding uplink ACK transmission) after the data beam switch at 410-b. The UE 115-b may then switch control beams at 420-b after offset 435 (e.g., some Threshold-control-offset slots after the ACK transmission at 415).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of John Wilson, transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission, into the teachings of Zhu and Guo, in order to limit the blind detection complexity by determining which PDCCH candidates need to be monitored at any given moment (John Wilson, [0002]).
With respect to claims 11, 20, and 29, this claim recites the method of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claims 12, 21, and 30, this claim recites the method of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claims 13, 22, and 31, this claim recites the method of claim 4, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claims 14, 23, and 32, this claim recites the method of claim 5, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claims 15, 24, and 33, this claim recites the method of claim 6, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claims 16, 25, and 34, this claim recites the method of claim 7, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claims 17, 26, and 35, this claim recites the method of claim 8, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claims 18, 27, and 36, this claim recites the method of claim 9, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 19, Zhu teaches A wireless device comprising ([0006], a UE): one or more processors ([0096], processor); and memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the wireless device to ([0096], memory includes a basic operating system (OS) program):
receive a time offset parameter associated with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state application ([0246], UE receives a time offset parameter associated with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state application);
apply starting from a time, that is based on the time offset parameter, the indicated TCI state ([0246], applying, starting from a time, that is based on the time offset parameter, the indicated TCI state).
Zhu does not explicitly teach receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels; and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels.
However, Guo teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels ([0013], receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels); and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels ([0013], communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo, receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels; and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels, into the teachings of Zhu, in order to provide methods and apparatuses for beam management for multi-stream transmission in an advanced wireless communication system (Guo, [0012]).
The combination of Zhu and Guo does not explicitly teach transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission.
However, John Wilson teaches transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission ([0091], the UE 115-b may transmit an ACK in response at 415 after some interval 430 (some delay, K1, in slots between PDSCH reception and corresponding uplink ACK transmission) after the data beam switch at 410-b. The UE 115-b may then switch control beams at 420-b after offset 435 (e.g., some Threshold-control-offset slots after the ACK transmission at 415).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of John Wilson, transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission, into the teachings of Zhu and Guo, in order to limit the blind detection complexity by determining which PDCCH candidates need to be monitored at any given moment (John Wilson, [0002]).
With respect to claim 28, Zhu teaches A wireless device comprising ([0006], a UE): one or more processors ([0096], processor); and memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the wireless device to ([0096], memory includes a basic operating system (OS) program):
receive a time offset parameter associated with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state application ([0246], UE receives a time offset parameter associated with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state application);
applied starting from a time, that is based on the time offset parameter ([0246], applying, starting from a time, that is based on the time offset parameter, the indicated TCI state).
Zhu does not explicitly teach receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels; and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels.
However, Guo teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels ([0013], receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels); and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels ([0013], communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo, receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a TCI state for a plurality of channels; and communicating, using the indicated TCI state, a plurality of transmissions via the plurality of channels, into the teachings of Zhu, in order to provide methods and apparatuses for beam management for multi-stream transmission in an advanced wireless communication system (Guo, [0012]).
The combination of Zhu and Guo does not explicitly teach transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission.
However, John Wilson teaches transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission ([0091], the UE 115-b may transmit an ACK in response at 415 after some interval 430 (some delay, K1, in slots between PDSCH reception and corresponding uplink ACK transmission) after the data beam switch at 410-b. The UE 115-b may then switch control beams at 420-b after offset 435 (e.g., some Threshold-control-offset slots after the ACK transmission at 415).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of John Wilson, transmitting an uplink transmission comprising an acknowledgement corresponding to the DCI, and after the uplink transmission, into the teachings of Zhu and Guo, in order to limit the blind detection complexity by determining which PDCCH candidates need to be monitored at any given moment (John Wilson, [0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20210258964 A1; “KHOSHNEVISAN”, ([0094-0100])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469