Specification
The Abstract is objected to because it contains legal phraseology and language in the alternative. The Abstract recites, “Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for video processing. A method for video processing is proposed.”
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2023/0328276 A1 with Provisional 63/362,808) (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method for video processing, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, motion information and location information of at least one subblock of a temporal block in a collocated frame of the current video block [Paragraph [0083]-[0096], supported in Paragraphs [0074]-[0080] in Provisional, determining sub-CU-level motion information in a collocated sub-CU and its reference index/candidate block position/control point, as location information];
determining an affine candidate of the current video block by applying a regression process to the current video block based on the motion information and the location information of the at least one subblock [Paragraph [0103]-[0113] & [0178], supported in Paragraphs [0086]-[0104] & [0126]-[0129] in Provisional, deriving the affine merge candidate after the linear model parameters are derived from the linear regression process, using motion information and positions in SbTMVP]; and
performing the conversion based on the affine candidate [Paragraph [0090]-[0095], supported in Paragraphs [0033] & [0074]-[0079] in Provisional, encoder selects affine candidate, and signals index into bitstream].
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, and/or wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream [Paragraph [0082], supported in Paragraphs [0172] in Provisional, encoder signals index into bitstream].
Regarding claim 18, apparatus claim 18 is drawn to an apparatus having limitations similar to the method of processing using the same as claimed in claim 1 treated in the above rejections. Therefore apparatus claim 18 in the instant application corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same rationale as used above.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses an apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon [Paragraph [0357]-[0359], supported in Paragraphs [0220]-[0222] in Provisional, memory processor]
Regarding claims 19-20, claims 19-20 are drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having limitations similar to the method of processing of using the same as claimed in claim 1 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims (19-20) correspond to method claim 1 and are rejected for the same rationale as used above.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions [Paragraph [0357]-[0359], supported in Paragraphs [0220]-[0222] in Provisional, memory processor]
Furthermore in claim 20, “a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing, wherein the method comprises…” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process are the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.” Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps. “To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated.” MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed, “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium,” merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in claim 20 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Zhang which recites in Paragraph [0040], supported in [0034] in provisional, memories 106, 120 may store encoded video data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as outlined above.
Claims 2-16 contain allowable subject matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The various claimed limitations mentioned in the claims are not taught or suggested by the prior art taken either singly or in combination, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487