DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naruse (JP-2018151595-A).
Regarding claim 1: Naruse discloses at least one memory storing instructions (Each of the image forming unit 120 and the control unit 100 includes, as its main components, a CPU (Central Processing Unit) for executing a program in a predetermined order and a RAM (Random Access Memory) for providing a working area necessary for executing the program ), A ROM (Read Only Memory) that provides a program, and the like. Further, all or part of the image forming unit 120 and / or the control unit 100 may be mounted using a hard wired circuit such as an ASIC (Application Specific Integrated Circuit) or FPGA (Field-Programmable Gate Array)., par. 43); and at least one processor that, upon execution of the stored instructions (control unit 100 includes a processor, par. 76), is configured to operate as: an identification unit (When the fed sheet S reaches the detection range of the sheet type detection sensor, the image forming apparatus 1 detects the sheet type of the fed sheet S based on the detection result from the sheet type detection sensor (step S 204) ., par. 132) configured to identify a characteristic of a sheet (In the present specification, characteristics (size, weight (grammage), paper thickness, presence or absence of surface processing, etc.) of the paper S to be actually processed are also referred to as "paper type". That is, "paper type" is a term encompassing the attribute value of the target paper S., par. 46), based on a result of detection performed by a detection unit (When the fed sheet S reaches the detection range of the sheet type detection sensor, the image forming apparatus 1 detects the sheet type of the fed sheet S based on the detection result from the sheet type detection sensor (step S 204) ., par. 132) configured to detect a physical quantity having a value (As a non-contact type sensor, for example, an optical sensor using a laser light source or the like can be used. More specifically, the laser beam is irradiated from the light projecting unit while being disposed on one side of the arriving sheet S, and the intensity of light detected by the light receiving unit disposed on the opposite side (translucency The amount of light or the light transmittance). Alternatively, distance sensors using laser light or the like are disposed on both sides of the paper S, and based on the difference between the sum of the distances measured by the respective distance sensors and the arrangement interval between the distance sensors, The thickness can be measured. As described above, it is possible to measure the sheet thickness of the sheet S in a non-contact manner by using a laser beam or the like., pars. 71-73) corresponding to the characteristic of the sheet while the sheet is being conveyed (When the automatic setting mode is selected, until the paper type of the first sheet S is detected, the conveyance speed with respect to the sheet S is the lowest among the conveyance speeds set as the selectable sheet types Value may be adopted. That is, when the automatic setting mode is selected, the conveying speed from the sheet holding unit 20 to the paper type detection sensor may be conveyed at the lowest conveyance speed set for each paper type. That is, the conveyance speed when conveying the paper S to the detection range of the paper type detection sensor may be switched to the lowest speed among the conveyance speeds set for each paper type., par. 125); and a creation unit configured to create sheet type information including information indicating the characteristic of the sheet (With reference to FIG. 9, it is assumed that after the automatic setting mode is selected, the paper type of the supplied paper S is detected, and the paper setting is updated according to the detected paper type. Subsequently inputted jobs are processed according to the updated paper setting. The updated paper setting may be continued until there is a possibility that the paper type of the supplied paper S is changed., par. 128), and a print adjustment parameter corresponding to the characteristic (The image forming apparatus 1 according to the present embodiment has the technical concept of the following aspects. According to the first aspect, in an image forming apparatus that makes image forming conditions such as process setting, conveying speed, fixing setting and the like different depending on the type of paper, the paper type detection sensor disposed on the downstream side of the paper feed roller detects the paper type If it is not an image forming condition different from the selected sheet type, the sheet is passed. If the sheet can not be guaranteed, the sheet is temporarily stopped, the sheet type is set again, and the image formation is performed again. The paper type is detected by the paper type detection sensor disposed on the downstream side of the paper feed roller, and if it is not the image forming condition different from the selected paper type, the paper is passed, and in the case of the paper incapable of image security, It is possible to prevent jamming, image defects, and fixing defects by temporarily stopping the sheet type, re-setting the sheet type and redoing the image formation again, thereby printing on an improperly set sheet. Since the reconfiguration is performed automatically, there is no inconvenience of redoing the image formation after viewing the printed paper by the user, and inconvenience of having the user reconfigure can be prevented., par. 144), wherein the creation unit creates new sheet type information, based on the characteristic of the sheet identified by the identification unit (With reference to FIG. 9, it is assumed that after the automatic setting mode is selected, the paper type of the supplied paper S is detected, and the paper setting is updated according to the detected paper type. Subsequently inputted jobs are processed according to the updated paper setting. The updated paper setting may be continued until there is a possibility that the paper type of the supplied paper S is changed. As an example of such possibility that the type of paper of the supplied paper S is changed, for example, detection of attachment / detachment of the paper feed cassette 22 may be considered. That is, when a new sheet S withdrawn from the sheet feed cassette 22 is replenished, a sheet S of a different sheet type from the sheet type of the sheet S supplied in the previous process is supplied Since there is a possibility, in such a case, the paper type may be newly detected after resetting the paper setting., par. 128), and the print adjustment parameter (The image forming apparatus 1 according to the present embodiment has the technical concept of the following aspects. According to the first aspect, in an image forming apparatus that makes image forming conditions such as process setting, conveying speed, fixing setting and the like different depending on the type of paper, the paper type detection sensor disposed on the downstream side of the paper feed roller detects the paper type If it is not an image forming condition different from the selected sheet type, the sheet is passed. If the sheet can not be guaranteed, the sheet is temporarily stopped, the sheet type is set again, and the image formation is performed again. The paper type is detected by the paper type detection sensor disposed on the downstream side of the paper feed roller, and if it is not the image forming condition different from the selected paper type, the paper is passed, and in the case of the paper incapable of image security, It is possible to prevent jamming, image defects, and fixing defects by temporarily stopping the sheet type, re-setting the sheet type and redoing the image formation again, thereby printing on an improperly set sheet. Since the reconfiguration is performed automatically, there is no inconvenience of redoing the image formation after viewing the printed paper by the user, and inconvenience of having the user reconfigure can be prevented., par. 144) included in sheet type information including a characteristic similar to the characteristic identified by the identification unit, from already-existing sheet type information (In this manner, in the state in which the automatic setting mode is selected, the paper setting according to the detected paper type is maintained from the time when the paper type is detected until the paper feeding cassette is detached. That is, when the automatic setting mode is selected, the control unit 100 of the image forming apparatus 1 maintains the image forming conditions according to the detected paper type until the attachment and detachment of the paper feed cassette is performed , The subsequent job may be processed. While maintaining the paper setting according to the detected paper type while assuming that the paper type has not been changed until the paper feeding cassette is detached from the paper that detected the paper type , It is possible to form an image in accordance with the previously determined paper setting, and the first copy time can be shortened., par. 129).
Regarding claim 3: Naruse satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Naruse further discloses wherein the creation unit duplicates a value of the print adjustment parameter included in the sheet type information including the characteristic similar to the characteristic of the sheet identified by the identification unit as a value of a print adjustment parameter to be included in the new sheet type information (When the current paper setting and the detected paper type of the paper S do not coincide (NO in step S 108), the image forming apparatus 1 determines whether or not the paper type of the detected paper S Whether or not printing is possible under the image forming conditions corresponding to the paper setting of step S110. If printing is possible under the image forming conditions corresponding to the current paper setting (YES in step S110), the processing in step S112 and the following steps are executed. In steps S108 and S110, the current paper setting is compared with the detected paper type, and if it is not wrong, the image forming processing is continued as it is, and even if the image forming condition is incorrect, if the image forming condition is If there is no problem even if the image forming process is continued as it is, the image forming process is continued. That is, even in the case where the paper type of the supplied paper S does not coincide with the paper type included in the current paper setting, when it is possible to form an image in accordance with the image forming condition according to the current paper setting, the toner The transfer of the toner image is continued without re-forming the image., pars. 110-111).
Regarding claim 4: Naruse satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Naruse further discloses wherein the creation unit includes the characteristic of the sheet identified by the identification unit in the new sheet type information (FIG. 9 is a diagram for explaining a state of paper setting in the automatic setting mode of the image forming apparatus 1 according to the present embodiment. With reference to FIG. 9, it is assumed that after the automatic setting mode is selected, the paper type of the supplied paper S is detected, and the paper setting is updated according to the detected paper type. Subsequently inputted jobs are processed according to the updated paper setting. The updated paper setting may be continued until there is a possibility that the paper type of the supplied paper S is changed. , par. 128).
Regarding claim 5: Naruse satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Naruse further discloses wherein the creation unit selects, from the already-existing sheet type information, a piece of the sheet type information including the characteristic similar to the characteristic of the sheet identified by the identification unit, and automatically creates the new sheet type information (By adopting such an automatic setting mode, it is possible to start image formation after performing paper setting according to the paper type of paper S actually supplied. That is, when the automatic setting mode for determining the image forming condition is selected according to the detection result of the supplied paper type of the paper S, the control unit 100 of the image forming apparatus 1 performs detection by the paper type detection sensor After the result is obtained, the formation of the toner image in the image processing section 2 is started. As described above, if it is found out that image formation is started in accordance with preset paper setting, that the paper type of paper S actually supplied is not compatible with the paper setting, the formed toner It is necessary to clean the image from the image carrier. However, in the automatic setting mode, such processing is unnecessary so that it is possible to start the image forming process according to the appropriate paper setting by detecting the paper kind at an early stage., par. 124), based on the characteristic of the sheet identified by the identification unit (With reference to FIG. 9, it is assumed that after the automatic setting mode is selected, the paper type of the supplied paper S is detected, and the paper setting is updated according to the detected paper type. Subsequently inputted jobs are processed according to the updated paper setting. The updated paper setting may be continued until there is a possibility that the paper type of the supplied paper S is changed. As an example of such possibility that the type of paper of the supplied paper S is changed, for example, detection of attachment / detachment of the paper feed cassette 22 may be considered. That is, when a new sheet S withdrawn from the sheet feed cassette 22 is replenished, a sheet S of a different sheet type from the sheet type of the sheet S supplied in the previous process is supplied Since there is a possibility, in such a case, the paper type may be newly detected after resetting the paper setting., par. 128) and the value of the print adjustment parameter included in the sheet type information (The image forming apparatus 1 according to the present embodiment has the technical concept of the following aspects. According to the first aspect, in an image forming apparatus that makes image forming conditions such as process setting, conveying speed, fixing setting and the like different depending on the type of paper, the paper type detection sensor disposed on the downstream side of the paper feed roller detects the paper type If it is not an image forming condition different from the selected sheet type, the sheet is passed. If the sheet can not be guaranteed, the sheet is temporarily stopped, the sheet type is set again, and the image formation is performed again. The paper type is detected by the paper type detection sensor disposed on the downstream side of the paper feed roller, and if it is not the image forming condition different from the selected paper type, the paper is passed, and in the case of the paper incapable of image security, It is possible to prevent jamming, image defects, and fixing defects by temporarily stopping the sheet type, re-setting the sheet type and redoing the image formation again, thereby printing on an improperly set sheet. Since the reconfiguration is performed automatically, there is no inconvenience of redoing the image formation after viewing the printed paper by the user, and inconvenience of having the user reconfigure can be prevented., par. 144).
Regarding claim 6: Naruse satisfies all the elements of claim 5. Naruse further discloses wherein the at least one processor is, upon execution of the stored instructions (control unit 100 includes a processor, par. 76), further configured to operate as a display control unit configured to display, on a display device (The input unit 110 is realized as a user interface provided on the front side of the image forming apparatus 1 and typically includes an operation panel including a display, a touch panel, various input buttons, a display indicator, and the like. The user can also input settings related to the paper via the input unit 110., par. 41), information indicating the sheet type information including the characteristic similar to the characteristic of the sheet identified by the identification unit from the already-existing sheet type information, as information indicating a candidate for the sheet type information to be used for creating the new sheet type information (On the user interface screen 210 shown in FIG. 5 (B), in order to notify that the current paper setting and the paper type of the actually supplied paper S are not compatible and prompt the user to change the paper setting Message 212 is presented. Furthermore, on the user interface screen 210, in addition to the icon 214 indicating the current paper setting, an icon group 216 indicating each paper setting as a candidate after the change is displayed. In accordance with the detection result of the actually supplied paper S among the icons included in the icon group 216, the paper setting icon 218 which is preferably selected is presented in a different display manner. As different display modes, the coloring or the presence or absence of blinking may be different, or some additional message may be displayed., pars. 87-88), and wherein the creation unit creates the new sheet type information, based on the characteristic of the sheet identified by the identification unit, and the value of the print adjustment parameter included in the sheet type information selected from among a plurality of the candidates (As described above, in this embodiment, when the paper setting in advance and the paper type of the actually supplied paper S are different, when prompting the user to reset paper setting, detection of the paper S The paper setting corresponding to the type of paper to be made may be recommended to the user. That is, the control unit 100 of the image forming apparatus 1 recommends changing to the paper setting corresponding to the paper type of the supplied paper S. In this way, in the case where it is necessary to re-set the paper setting due to an incorrect paper setting in advance, by recommending the detected type of paper to the user, in the next paper setting or the like , It is possible to prevent the user from erroneously setting paper., par. 89).
Regarding claim 7: Naruse satisfies all the elements of claim 6. Naruse further discloses wherein the at least one processor is, upon execution of the stored instructions (control unit 100 includes a processor, par. 76), further configured to operate as a selection unit configured to select sheet type information to serve as the candidate from among sheet type information in which the characteristic similar to the characteristic of the sheet identified by the identification unit is set, and wherein the display control unit displays on the display device the information indicating the candidate selected by the selection unit (On the user interface screen 210 shown in FIG. 5 (B), in order to notify that the current paper setting and the paper type of the actually supplied paper S are not compatible and prompt the user to change the paper setting Message 212 is presented. Furthermore, on the user interface screen 210, in addition to the icon 214 indicating the current paper setting, an icon group 216 indicating each paper setting as a candidate after the change is displayed., par. 87).
Regarding claim 8: Naruse satisfies all the elements of claim 7. Naruse further discloses wherein a condition for the sheet type information (As described above, the control unit 100 of the image forming apparatus 1 causes the image processing unit 2 to form a toner image in accordance with the image forming condition according to the current sheet setting, and also controls the conveyance mechanism (a pair of sheet feed rollers 24 and a pair The timing roller 26 or the like) to start supplying the sheet S. The control unit 100 of the image forming apparatus 1 determines whether or not the paper type of the supplied paper S matches the current paper setting based on the detection result from the paper type detection sensor, If the paper type of the paper S matches the current paper setting, the transfer of the formed toner image to the supplied paper S is continued. On the other hand, when the paper type of the supplied paper S does not match the current paper setting, the control unit 100 of the image forming apparatus 1 performs image formation corresponding to the paper type of the paper S supplied to the image processing unit 2 Reforms the toner image according to the condition, and transfers the re-formed toner image to the supplied sheet S. , par. 61) to serve as the candidate includes a condition using the information stored in association with the sheet type information at least at one of a time when the sheet type information is created, and a time when the sheet type information is updated ( On the user interface screen 210 shown in FIG. 5 (B), in order to notify that the current paper setting and the paper type of the actually supplied paper S are not compatible and prompt the user to change the paper setting Message 212 is presented. Furthermore, on the user interface screen 210, in addition to the icon 214 indicating the current paper setting, an icon group 216 indicating each paper setting as a candidate after the change is displayed., par. 87).
Regarding claim 9: The structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 9. Thus, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10: Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 1 are applicable. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium is inherently taught as evidenced by control unit 100 and various memories stored therein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
06 October 2026