DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“the extended display protective layer extends beyond the extension portion of the cover layer to cover at least a portion of the gap” in claim 3.
“wherein the perimeter adhesive portion located adjacent a first side wall of the opposing side walls is configured to flex towards the first side wall when at least one of the first non-folding region or the second non-folding region are rotated about the folding region to orient the foldable electronic device in a closed status” in claim 8.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 4 shows two “foldable display structure 306”. It appears the right “306” is wrong.
Fig. 4 also shows “display panel 320”, but it does not look like a display panel.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 2 and 8 recite “the opposing side walls and opposing end walls”, which should have been “the opposing side walls and the opposing end walls”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the perimeter adhesive portion located adjacent a first side wall of the opposing side walls is configured to flex towards the first side wall when at least one of the first non-folding region or the second non-folding region are rotated about the folding region to orient the foldable electronic device in a closed status” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 (invoked 112f) recites “the perimeter adhesive portion located adjacent a first side wall of the opposing side walls is configured to flex towards the first side wall when at least one of the first non-folding region or the second non-folding region are rotated about the folding region to orient the foldable electronic device in a closed status.”. It’s unclear how the perimeter adhesive portion perform the function of flex when in a closed status. Neither the specification nor the drawing provide adequate explanation to perform this function. Furthermore, there are voids in between the perimeter adhesive portion at the folding region. Thus, claim 8 is unclear and indefinite. In order to examine this application, this particular limitation will not be considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art in Fig. 1 (hereinafter “AAPA”) in view of Malon et al. (US 9,674,922; hereinafter “Malon”).
Regarding claim 1, AAPA teaches a foldable electronic device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (104) comprising:
opposing side walls (top and bottom side walls of 104 in Fig. 1);
opposing end walls (left and right side walls of 104 in Fig. 1);
a bottom (bottom of 104 in Fig. 1) that interconnects the opposing side walls and opposing end walls;
a display recess (recess of 104 for 112 and other components shown in Fig. 1) defined between the opposing side walls, opposing end walls, and a bottom of the housing, the display recess includes a ledge (ledge of 104 where 124 is seating on as shown in Fig. 1) that inwardly projects from at least one of the opposing side walls or the opposing end walls;
a folding region ([0018]: “…an example prior art foldable electronic device 102… When a foldable display is folded…”) that intersects a first non-folding region and a second non-folding region, at least one of the first non-folding region or the second non-folding region configured to rotate about the folding region (these are all inherent for foldable display);
a foldable display structure (structure in the display recess as shown in Fig. 1) positioned in the display recess within at least portions of the first non-folding region of the housing and the second non-folding region of the housing, the foldable display structure comprising:
a display panel (106) having a top face (top 106), a bottom face (bottom 106) opposite the top face, and a plurality of light-emitting pixels (inherently inside 102 in order to display pictures) disposed in the display panel; and
a cover layer (110) positioned as a topmost layer of the foldable display structure, the cover layer having a top face and a bottom face (top and bottom face of 110);
a back adhesive portion (108) disposed between the bottom face of the display panel and the bottom of the housing; and
a perimeter adhesive portion (124) disposed between a bezel (122) and the ledge.
AAPA does not teach the cover layer including a variable thickness along at least one dimension; the bottom face of the cover layer having an area larger than an area of the top face of the display panel to define an extension portion that extends beyond one or more edges of the display panel; the perimeter adhesive portion disposed between the extension portion of the cover layer and the ledge. Malon teaches a cover layer (202, Fig. 4) including a variable thickness along at least one dimension (as shown at 226 of 202 in Fig. 4); a bottom face of the cover layer (bottom of 202, Fig. 4) having an area larger than an area of a top face (top of 204) of a display panel (204, Fig. 4) to define an extension portion (extension portion of 202 not overlapping 204 shown in Fig. 4) that extends beyond one or more edges of the display panel; a perimeter adhesive portion (228, Fig. 4) disposed between the extension portion of the cover layer and a ledge (230, Fig. 4) of a housing (104, Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cover layer including a variable thickness along at least one dimension; the bottom face of the cover layer having an area larger than an area of the top face of the display panel to define an extension portion that extends beyond one or more edges of the display panel; the perimeter adhesive portion disposed between the extension portion of the cover layer and the ledge in AAPA, as taught by Malon, in order to provide a bezel-less display that provides immersive viewing experience for the user.
Regarding claim 2, AAPA in view of Malon teaches the foldable electronic device of claim 1, and AAPA further teaches wherein the opposing side walls and opposing end walls of the housing define a housing rim (rim of 104 in Fig. 1).
AAPA does not teach a gap defined between the housing rim and the edges of the display panel, wherein the foldable electronic device lacks a bezel that covers the gap. However, Malon further teaches a gap (see gap between 108 and 204 in Fig. 4) defined between a housing rim (108, Fig. 4) and edges of the display panel (204), wherein the foldable electronic device lacks a bezel that covers the gap (as shown in Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a gap defined between the housing rim and the edges of the display panel, wherein the foldable electronic device lacks a bezel that covers the gap in AAPA in view of Malon, as taught by Malon, in order to provide a bezel-less display that provide immersive viewing experience for the user
Regarding claim 3, AAPA in view of Malon teaches the foldable electronic device of claim 2. AAPA does not teach an extended display protective layer positioned on the display panel, the extended display protective layer extends beyond the extension portion of the cover layer to cover at least a portion of the gap. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an extended display protective layer positioned on the display panel, the extended display protective layer extends beyond the extension portion of the cover layer to cover at least a portion of the gap in AAPA in view of Malon, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, an extended display protective layer can prevent dust or other foreign material from gathering into the gap, and this yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, AAPA in view of Malon teaches the foldable electronic device of claim 1. AAPA does not teach a first void defined in the perimeter adhesive portion at a first side of the folding region, the first void defined between a first end of the perimeter adhesive portion and a second end of the perimeter adhesive portion; and a second void defined in the perimeter adhesive portion at a second side of the folding region, the second void defined between a third end of the perimeter adhesive portion and a fourth end of the perimeter adhesive portion. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first void defined in the perimeter adhesive portion at a first side of the folding region, the first void defined between a first end of the perimeter adhesive portion and a second end of the perimeter adhesive portion; and a second void defined in the perimeter adhesive portion at a second side of the folding region, the second void defined between a third end of the perimeter adhesive portion and a fourth end of the perimeter adhesive portion in AAPA in view of Malon, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the two voids are just at the folding regions, and not having the perimeter adhesive portion at the voids yields predictable results of stress-relief for the cover layer when folded, and this does not provide any unexpected results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, AAPA in view of Malon teaches the foldable electronic device of claim 1, and AAPA further teaches wherein the back adhesive portion comprises at least one of: a first back adhesive portion (left 108, Fig. 1) disposed between the bottom face of the display panel and the bottom of the housing on a first side of the folding region in the first non-folding region (as shown in Fig. 1); or a second back adhesive portion (not explicitly shown, but same as what is shown in Fig. 1, but on the right side of 102 instead) disposed between the bottom face of the display panel and the bottom of the housing on a second side of the folding region in the second non-folding region.
Regarding claim 8 as best understood, AAPA in view of Malon teaches the foldable electronic device of claim 1, and AAPA further teaches the opposing side walls and opposing end walls of the housing define a housing rim (rim of 104 in Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claims 6-7, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the foldable electronic device of claim 6, in particular, a sealing material is positioned to limit an ingress of contaminants into at least one of the first or second non-folding regions of the housing, the sealing material extends between at least one of: a first end of the perimeter adhesive portion and the first back adhesive portion; a second end of the perimeter adhesive portion and the second back adhesive portion; a third end of the perimeter adhesive portion and the first back adhesive portion; or a fourth end of the perimeter adhesive portion and the second back adhesive portion.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841