Objections to the claims
Claims 4; 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-3; 5-13; 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pande(US.Pat.No.9648088) in view of Armaly(US.Pub.No.20090165051).
Regarding claim 1, Pande et al disclose a method comprising: identifying a first content platform associated with a profile(the system is able to identify available contents across a network with respect to the preferences or profiles of the users; col.7, lines 14-27; col.2, lines 60-63; col.12, lines 58-60);
identifying an episode of a series available via the first content platform(the system is capable of identifying series of video contents being available across a network during a trip; col.4, lines 24-31;col.6, lines 63-65;col.11, lines 1-10+; col.15, lines 49-60+);
determining a second content platform that will be associated with the profile during a future time period(the system is able to identify a second platform that will be available to provide contents to the users during a trip and the system can determine network capability or bandwidth limitation in order to prefetch portions of the contents from the server during transit; col.8, lines 40-49; col.13, lines 51-59; col.16, lines 5-7; col.4, lines 21-23; col.12, lines 52-60+; col.3, lines 66-67; col.4, lines 40-45);
determining that the series will be available on the second content platform during the future time period(the system has the capability to identify series or list of contents that will be available in specific network during transit of the trip; col.4, lines 24-30+; col.16; lines 5-10+; col.4, lines 50-54+;col.13, lines 35-40+; col.12, lines 52-62+; col.10, lines 48-61; col.13, lines 60-64; col.15, lines 49-60+);
generating for display an alert that the series will be available on the second content platform during the future time period(the system is able to provide message or prompt regarding recommended video contents will be available on second content platform or network arriving at the destination; col.10,lines 7-17; col.16; lines 18-28; col.6, lines 43-50+;col.12, lines 60-63; col.15, lines 49-60+).
But did not explicitly disclose determining, based at least in part on the profile, a total time duration of remaining episodes of at least one season of the series; and based at least in part on determining that the total time duration of the remaining episodes is less than a length of time of the future time period or is within a threshold length of time of the future time period.
However, Armaly et al disclose determining, based at least in part on the profile, a total time duration of remaining episodes of at least one season of the series; and based at least in part on determining that the total time duration of the remaining episodes is less than a length of time of the future time period or is within a threshold length of time of the future time period(the system is able to determine the length or the duration of a trip in order to select list of series of video contents to be presented during the trip and series of video contents to be available at the destination of the traveler or the user and the system can provide options to users to start recording list of video contents based on the position of the user devices with respect to the arrival time of the trip or average trip time and the system can determine time remaining with respect to arrival time in order to select length or duration of media contents accordingly;0002-0003;0096-0097; 0077-0078;0100;0107;0072).
It would have been obvious before effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Armaly to modify Pande by providing options to determine duration or length of a list of video contents to be selected with respect to the arrive time of a trip resulting in “ determining, based at least in part on the profile, a total time duration of remaining episodes of at least one season of the series; and based at least in part on determining that the total time duration of the remaining episodes is less than a length of time of the future time period or is within a threshold length of time of the future time period” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences of the users accordingly.
Regarding claim 2, Pande et al disclose wherein the first content platform associated with the profile is being provided via a first media device, the episode of the series available via the first content platform is being generated for display on the first media device, and the alert is generated for display on the first media device(the system is able to display prompt on the screen of the user device; col.16, lines 18-25+; col.16, lines 38-45+;col.15, lines 32-40+).
Regarding claim 3, Pande et al did not explicitly disclose wherein the identifying the episode of the series available via the first content platform further comprises determining that the episode is being generated for display, and the determining that the total time duration of the remaining episodes is less than the length of the future time period comprises: determining the total time duration of the remaining episodes by: querying the first content platform for runtime data for all episodes of the series which come after the episode currently being watched; and adding together the runtime of all of the episodes of the series which come after the episode currently being watched by a user associated with the profile.
However, Armaly et al disclose wherein the identifying the episode of the series available via the first content platform further comprises determining that the episode is being generated for display, and the determining that the total time duration of the remaining episodes is less than the length of the future time period comprises: determining the total time duration of the remaining episodes by: querying the first content platform for runtime data for all episodes of the series which come after the episode currently being watched(the system is able to monitor or tract list of series of video contents being watched by the users during the transit;0072;0077-0078) ; and adding together the runtime of all of the episodes of the series which come after the episode currently being watched by a user associated with the profile(the system is able to identify list of series of video contents that the users will be watching at the hotel of the destination based on preferences and list of series of video content can be customized; 0086-0088; 0103; 0039; 0115).
It would have been obvious before effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Armaly to modify Pande by providing options to determine duration or length of a list of video contents to be selected with respect to the arrive time of a trip resulting in “ wherein the identifying the episode of the series available via the first content platform further comprises determining that the episode is being generated for display, and the determining that the total time duration of the remaining episodes is less than the length of the future time period comprises: determining the total time duration of the remaining episodes by: querying the first content platform for runtime data for all episodes of the series which come after the episode currently being watched; and adding together the runtime of all of the episodes of the series which come after the episode currently being watched by a user associated with the profile ” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences of the users accordingly.
Regarding claim 5, it is rejected using the same of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Pande et al disclose further comprising: accessing calendar data associated with the profile; identifying, based on the calendar data, an arrival time at a location and a departure time from the location; and defining the future time period as a period of time between the arrival time and the departure time(the system is able to retrieve calendar associated with trip or travel of the users; col.15, lines 7-15+;col.8, lines 50-60+;col.11, lines 16-25+; col.10, lines 3545+;col.15, lines 40-60+; col.16, lines 1-5+).
Regarding claim 7, Pande et al disclose wherein determining the second content platform that will be associated with the profile during the future time period comprises: accessing calendar data associated with the profile; identifying, based on the calendar data, a departure time from a first location and an arrival time at a second location(the system is able to retrieve calendar associated with trip or travel of the users; col.15, lines 7-15+;col.8, lines 50-60+); and
identifying as the second content platform a content platform available during transit between the first location and the second location(the system has the capability to identify series of contents that will be available in specific network during transit of the trip; col.4, lines 24-30+; col.16; lines 5-10+; col.4, lines 50-54+;col.13, lines 35-40+; col.12, lines 52-62+; col.10, lines 48-61; col.13, lines 60-64; col.15, lines 49-60+).
Regarding claim 8, Pande et al disclose wherein the second content platform is different from the first content platform, the method further comprising determining whether the first content platform is available during the transiting between the first location and the second location(the system is able to prefetch available video content during transition; col.12, lines 52-60+; col.2, lines 15-20+;abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Pande et al disclose wherein the second content platform is different from the first content platform, and wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine whether the first content platform is available during the future time period, wherein the display circuitry is configured to generate for display the alert based at least in part on the control circuitry determining that the first content platform is not available during the future time period(the system can restrict content access based on some predefined conditions; col.6, lines 59-67; col.7, lines 1-5+;col.9, lines 50-60+;col.2, lines 53-60+; col.4, lines 24-35).
Regarding claim 10, Pande et al disclose wherein the generating for display the alert that the series will be available on the second content platform during the future time period is further based at least in part on receiving a selection of a visual element corresponding to a next episode of the series(the system is able to provide video contents based on user input; col.8, lines 1-5; col.10, lines 48-55+;col.12, lines 36-45+).
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected using the same of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected using the same of rejection for claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected using the same of rejection for claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected using the same of rejection for claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected using the same of rejection for claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected using the same of rejection for claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected using the same of rejection for claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected using the same of rejection for claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected using the same of rejection for claim 10.
Conclusion
/JEAN D SAINT CYR/Examiner, Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425