DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 18 February 2025. In view of this communication, claims 1-14 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 18 February 2025 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Broekelschen et al. (DE 19507760 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Broekelschen”.
Regarding claim 1, Broekelschen discloses an electric machine (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0033), comprising:
a static section [1] having a control device [21] configured to generate control signals for controlling operation of the electric machine (fig. 3; ¶ 0033); and
a rotor [3] rotatably mounted relative to the static section [1], the rotor [3] having at least one acquisition device [9] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033-0034) for acquiring and/or generating at least one item of rotor information relating to operation of the rotor [3] (¶ 0034; “measuring network 9 serves in particular to measure… direct current… earth fault resistance”),
wherein the control signals for controlling the operation of the electric machine are generated depending on the at least one item of rotor information (¶ 0035),
wherein the at least one item of rotor information is transmittable from the at least one acquisition device [9] to the control device [21] via a transmitter [7] of the rotor [3] and a receiver [8] of the static section [1] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033, 0035),
wherein the at least one item of rotor information is transmittable in a contact-free manner and by way of optical signals [6] from the transmitter [7] to the receiver [8] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033), and
wherein the electric machine is configured as an externally excited synchronous machine (fig. 2; ¶ 0034; windings [16,17] are provided on both the stator [4] and the rotor [3], respectively).
Regarding claim 2, Broekelschen discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the acquisition device [9] comprises at least one current sensor configured to acquire at least one item of current information relating to a current electrical current flowing in at least one rotor winding [17] of the rotor [3] as at least one of the items of rotor information (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0034; “measuring network 9 serves in particular to measure… direct current… earth fault resistance”).
Regarding claim 7, Broekelschen discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the transmitter [7] is configured to move along an annular trajectory during the rotation of the rotor [3] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033-0035; the transmitter on the rotor is offset from the axis [2], thus it would rotate around the axis), and
wherein the receiver [8] is annular and is arranged next to the annular trajectory (fig. 1; ¶ 0033-0035; the transmitters and receivers are axially adjacent to one another).
Regarding claim 8, Broekelschen discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the transmitter [7] is arranged annularly and concentrically with respect to an axis of rotation [2] of the rotor [3] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033-0035; the transmitter on the rotor is offset from the axis [2], thus it would rotate around the axis), and
wherein the receiver [8] is arranged next to the transmitter [7] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033-0035; the transmitters and receivers are axially adjacent to one another).
Regarding claim 9, Broekelschen discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above, further comprising at least one transmission device [12,13] configured to inductively transmit a power from the static section [1] to the rotor [3], wherein the power is for energizing at least one rotor winding [12] of the rotor [3] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 12, Broekelschen discloses a motor vehicle, comprising:
an electric machine (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0033) including:
a static section [1] having a control device [21] configured to generate control signals for controlling operation of the electric machine (fig. 3; ¶ 0033); and
a rotor [3] rotatably mounted relative to the static section [1], the rotor [3] having at least one acquisition device [9] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033-0034) for acquiring and/or generating at least one item of rotor information relating to operation of the rotor [3] (¶ 0034; “measuring network 9 serves in particular to measure… direct current… earth fault resistance”),
wherein the control signals for controlling the operation of the electric machine are generated depending on the at least one item of rotor information (¶ 0035),
wherein the at least one item of rotor information is transmittable from the at least one acquisition device [9] to the control device [21] via a transmitter [7] of the rotor [3] and a receiver [8] of the static section [1] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033, 0035),
wherein the at least one item of rotor information is transmittable in a contact-free manner and by way of optical signals [6] from the transmitter [7] to the receiver [8] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033), and
wherein the electric machine is configured as an externally excited synchronous machine (fig. 2; ¶ 0034; windings [16,17] are provided on both the stator [4] and the rotor [3], respectively), and wherein the electric machine is connected to a drive train (¶ 0034; the machine is used to drive a turbogenerator).
Regarding claim 13, Broekelschen discloses a method for operating an electric machine (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0033), the electric machine comprising:
a static section [1] having a control device [21] configured to generate control signals for controlling operation of the electric machine (fig. 3; ¶ 0033); and
a rotor [3] rotatably mounted relative to the static section [1], the rotor [3] having at least one acquisition device [9] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033-0034) for acquiring and/or generating at least one item of rotor information relating to operation of the rotor [3] (¶ 0034; “measuring network 9 serves in particular to measure… direct current… earth fault resistance”),
wherein the control signals for controlling the operation of the electric machine are generated depending on the at least one item of rotor information (¶ 0035),
wherein the electric machine is configured as an externally excited synchronous machine (fig. 2; ¶ 0034; windings [16,17] are provided on both the stator [4] and the rotor [3], respectively),
the method comprising:
transmitting the at least one item of rotor information from the at least one acquisition device [9] to the control device [21] via a transmitter [7] of the rotor [3] and a receiver [8] of the static section [1] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033, 0035),
wherein the at least one item of rotor information is transmitted in a contact-free manner and by way of optical signals [6] from the transmitter [7] to the receiver [8] (fig. 1; ¶ 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broekelschen in view of Straßer (US 2024/0022195 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Straßer”.
Regarding claim 3, Broekelschen discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above. Broekelschen does not disclose that the acquisition device [9] comprises at least one voltage sensor configured to acquire at least one item of voltage information relating to a current electrical voltage applied to at least one rotor winding [17] of the rotor [3] as at least one of the items of rotor information.
Straßer discloses an electric machine [2] having an acquisition device [22-24] that comprises at least one voltage sensor [22] configured to acquire at least one item of voltage information relating to a current electrical voltage applied to at least one rotor winding [5] of a rotor [6] as at least one item of rotor information (fig. 1; ¶ 0032, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the acquisition device of Broekelschen as a voltage sensor as taught by Straßer, in order to carry out a reliable de-excitation of the winding thereby saving on material costs (¶ 0012 of Straßer).
Regarding claim 4, Broekelschen discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above. Broekelschen does not disclose that the acquisition device [9] comprises at least one rotational position sensor configured to acquire at least one item of rotational position information relating to a current rotational position of the rotor [3] as at least one of the items of rotor information.
Straßer discloses an electric machine [2] having an acquisition device [22-24] that comprises at least one rotational position sensor [23] configured to acquire at least one item of rotational position information relating to a current rotational position of the rotor [3] as at least one of the items of rotor information (fig. 1; ¶ 0032, 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the acquisition device of Broekelschen as a rotational position sensor as taught by Straßer, in order to carry out a reliable de-excitation of the winding thereby saving on material costs (¶ 0012 of Straßer).
Regarding claim 5, Broekelschen discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above. Broekelschen does not disclose that the acquisition device [9] comprises at least one temperature sensor configured to acquire at least one item of temperature information relating to a current temperature of the rotor [3] as at least one of the items of rotor information.
Straßer discloses an electric machine [2] having an acquisition device [22-24] that comprises at least one temperature sensor [24] configured to acquire at least one item of temperature information relating to a current temperature of the rotor [3] as at least one of the items of rotor information (fig. 1; ¶ 0032, 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the acquisition device of Broekelschen as a voltage sensor as taught by Straßer, in order to carry out a reliable de-excitation of the winding thereby saving on material costs (¶ 0012 of Straßer).
Regarding claim 6, Broekelschen, in view of Straßer, discloses the electric machine according to claim 5, as stated above, wherein Straßer further discloses that the at least one item of temperature information relating to the current temperature of the rotor [3] is related to a current temperature of at least one rotor winding [5] of the winding [5] (fig. 1; ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 11, Broekelschen discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above. Broekelschen does not disclose that the electric machine is configured to generate a drive torque for a motor vehicle, and wherein the electric machine is connectable to a drive train of the motor vehicle.
Straßer discloses an electric machine [2] configured to generate a drive torque for a motor vehicle [1] (fig. 1; ¶ 0031), and wherein the electric machine [2] is connectable to a drive train [3] of the motor vehicle [1] (fig. 1; ¶ 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the electric machine of Broekelschen in the drive train of a motor vehicle as taught by Straßer, in order to provide a simplified method or arrangement for transmitting data between stationary and rotating components thereby lowering material and space expenditures (¶ 0006 of Broekelschen).
Regarding claim 14, Broekelschen discloses the method of claim 13, as stated above. Broekelschen does not disclose that the electric machine is configured to generate a drive torque for a motor vehicle, and wherein the electric machine is connectable to a drive train of the motor vehicle.
Straßer discloses an electric machine [2] configured to generate a drive torque for a motor vehicle [1] (fig. 1; ¶ 0031), and wherein the electric machine [2] is connectable to a drive train [3] of the motor vehicle [1] (fig. 1; ¶ 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the electric machine of Broekelschen in the drive train of a motor vehicle as taught by Straßer, in order to provide a simplified method or arrangement for transmitting data between stationary and rotating components thereby lowering material and space expenditures (¶ 0006 of Broekelschen).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, and all claims dependent thereon, the prior art does not disclose, inter alia, the electric machine according to claim 9, wherein the at least one transmission device has at least one stator-side induction coil and at least one rotor-side induction coil,
wherein the stator-side induction coil is connectable to an energy storage device of the motor vehicle via an inverter, the energy storage device of the motor vehicle configured to store electrical energy,
wherein the rotor-side induction coil is connected to the at least one rotor winding via a rectifier,
wherein the control device is configured to generate control signals for controlling operation of the inverter depending on the at least one item of rotor information.
While the prior art discloses various arrangements of control devices and circuitry connected to the rotor- and stator-side induction coils, it does not disclose the exact arrangement recited above, having coils connected to an energy storage device via an inverter and to the rotor winding via a rectifier. Further, no motivation has been found as to why one of ordinary skill in the art would have incorporated such features into the known arrangements. Thus, the prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed invention.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Gopalakrishnan et al. (US 2025/0119029 A1) discloses an electrical machine comprising induction sensors used to transmit rotor information.
Straßer (US 2024/0014712 A1) discloses an externally excited synchronous electrical machine comprising a static section and a rotor having control signals transmitted therebetween via slip rings.
Nonaka (US 2012/0229066 A1) discloses an electrical machine comprising sensors used to transmit rotor information between a rotor and a static section, the sensors comprising either magnets or optical sensors.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834