Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 8, 14 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2024093857A1 (hereafter WO857; see attached English translation or page/line citations) (which has been provided in the International Search Report).
Regarding claim 1, WO857discloses a method performed by a mobile device (page 20, line 10 discloses “… electronic devices such as mobile phones…”), the method comprising:
performing, by an auxiliary processor, first inertial measurements using one or more inertial sensors of the mobile device during a first time period while an application processor is in a low power state, wherein the auxiliary processor is powered on more often than the application processor (page 63, line 17 discloses “The navigation and positioning module of the electronic device 100 is in a non-working state”; page 64, lines 1 – 4; wherein the application processor corresponds to the navigation and positioning module; page 64, lines 5 – 7 discloses “Step 802: The electronic device 100 obtains IMU data through an IMU sensor”; wherein the auxiliary processor corresponds to the IMU unit; page 47, lines 12 – 18; page 7, lines 1 – 18 discloses IMU used since GNSS cannot receive signals, hence auxiliary processor is powered on more often than the application processor);
storing, by the auxiliary processor, the first inertial measurements in a buffer for subsequent processing by the application processor after exiting the low power state (page 64, line 5: storing in a buffer inherent; page 64, lines 8 – 9 discloses “S803 : The electronic device 100 determines an activity recognition (AR) state of the electronic device 100 based on the IMU data”; page 72, lines 17 – 18; hence subsequent processing by the application processor after exiting low power is inherent);
after exiting the low power state, classifying, by the application processor, the first inertial measurements stored in the buffer to obtain first inertial classifications, the classifying performed in response to a wake event that causes the application processor to leave the low power state, the first inertial classifications comprising one or more inertial classifications corresponding to the first inertial measurements (page 64, lines 8 – 11; wherein the classifying is according to the states “… mounted state, riding state, walking state, stationary state, and the like”; wake event interpreted as in page 64, line 5, step 802 since the electronic device starts processing IMU data in step 803 [page 64, lines 8-9] after obtaining the IMU data. Also see end of claim 1 rejection);
generating , by the application processor, a first wireless fingerprint using an output of a wireless circuitry of the mobile device (page 45, lines 11 – 16; page 46, lines 8 - 14);
detecting, by the application processor and based on the first inertial classifications and the first wireless fingerprint, a preliminary exit trigger indicating that the mobile device has left a first dwell point (Fig. 8, S806; page 68, lines 11 – 17; wherein the 1st dwell point is interpreted as being outside the garage geofence);
and responsive to the preliminary exit trigger indicating that a mobile device has left a first dwell point, performing first GNSS measurements using GNSS circuitry of the mobile device, the first GNSS measurements performed at a first active rate (Fig. 8, S807; page 71, lines 5 – 8; wherein the first active rate is interpreted as “continuously locate”).
As stated above, the wake event is interpreted as in page 64, line 5, step 802 since the electronic device starts processing IMU data in step 803 [page 64, lines 8-9] after obtaining the IMU data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to interpret the reception of the IMU data as being the wake event since the electronic device starts processing the IMU data after this.
Regarding claim 2, WO857discloses the one or more inertial classifications comprise a motion type (page 64, lines 8 – 11; discloses “… mounted state, riding state, walking state, stationary state, and the like”; wherein the motion type is one of the above).
Regarding claim 3, WO857discloses the one or more inertial classifications further comprise a distance and a direction (page 56, lines 14 – 16 discloses speed and direction; page 64, line 12 discloses speed).
Regarding claim 4, WO857discloses at each wake event until the mobile device reaches a second dwell point: logging, by the application processor, a GNSS location and a time for the mobile device at the wake event (page 69, lines 10 - 18).
Claim 5 is similarly analyzed as in claim 1. Fig. 8 is repetitive, so the same steps can be performed for a second inertial measurement. Further, having a second active rate that is higher than the first active rate is a design choice based on battery life, vehicle speed etc. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, if power consumption was not a consideration, to use a higher active rate as this would provide location measurements more rapidly and accurately.
Regarding claim 6, WO857discloses the first wireless fingerprint comprises information identifying wireless access points for which signals have been received at the mobile device during a time period (page 45, lines 11 – 16, in particular lines 14 - 16).
Regarding claim 7, WO857discloses the first wireless fingerprint further comprises a signal strength of each received signal (page 45, line 15 discloses Wi-Fi signal strength).
Regarding claim 8, WO857discloses the first wireless fingerprint comprises information identifying a wireless access point that is communicably connected to the mobile device (page 45, line 15 discloses MAC address, IP address) or information indicating that the mobile device is not communicably connected to any wireless access point.
Claim 14 is similarly analyzed as claim 1, with claim 14 reciting equivalent apparatus limitations.
Claim 15 is similarly analyzed as claim 5.
Claim 16 is similarly analyzed as claim 6.
Claim 17 is similarly analyzed as claim 8.
Claim 18 is similarly analyzed as claim 1.
Claim 19 is similarly analyzed as claim 5.
Claim 20 is similarly analyzed as claim 6.
Claims 9 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
WO2024093857A1 (hereafter WO857; see attached English translation or page/line citations) in view of Oliveira et al. (US 20170238258 A1) (which have been provided in the International Search Report).
Regarding claim 9, WO857 does not disclose wherein entering the low power state comprises: changing a clock speed threshold from a first threshold to a second threshold, wherein the clock speed threshold is a maximum clock speed for the application processor and the first threshold is larger than the second threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Oliveira discloses wherein entering the low power state comprises: changing a clock speed threshold from a first threshold to a second threshold, wherein the clock speed threshold is a maximum clock speed for the application processor and the first threshold is larger than the second threshold ([0176]; wherein reduced clock speed is disclosed, hence the above claim requirements are met as a threshold can be set as a design choice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the method, as disclosed by Oliveira, in the system of WO857 because a lower clock speed would ensure low power consumption.
Regarding claim 10, WO857 does not disclose wherein leaving the low power state comprises: changing the clock speed threshold from the second threshold to the first threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Oliveira discloses lowering clock speed to enter a low power state ([0176]). It follows that when exiting the low power state, the clock frequency would increase. Thresholds can be set as a design choice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a higher clock speed when transitioning from low power mode to active mode, in the system of WO857 because a higher clock speed would allow for faster processing which would be required when a device is in motion.
Regarding claim 11, WO857 discloses comparing temperature to a threshold and when temperature is below a threshold, increasing the performance of the processor to increase power consumption and heat up the battery (page 39, lines 9 - 14). Performance of the processor can be increased by increasing the clock speed. This meets the claim limitations of claim 11:
wherein leaving the low power state further comprises:
measuring input to one or more input devices of the mobile device (page 39, lines 5 – 6);
comparing the input to an input threshold (page 39, lines 9 – 10);
and changing the clock speed threshold from the second threshold to the first threshold in response to the input exceeding the input threshold (page 39, lines 10 – 11; wherein clock speed could be increased).
Regarding claim 12, WO857 does not disclose leaving the low power state further comprises: detecting a conclusion of a low power state timer; changing the clock speed threshold from the second threshold to the first threshold in response to the conclusion of the low power state timer.
However, using a timer to exit a low power state is obvious to try (Rationales for Obviousness (MPEP 2143, Rationale E)). Changing clock speed is analyzed as in claim 11.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a timer to exit low power mode because a timer can be easily implemented.
Regarding claim 13, WO857 discloses comparing temperature to a threshold and when temperature is above a threshold, decreasing the performance of the processor to decrease power consumption (page 39, lines 4 - 9). Performance of the processor can be reduced by reducing the clock speed. This meets the claim limitations of claim 13:
wherein entering the low power state further comprises:
measuring input to one or more input devices of the mobile device (page 39, lines 5 – 6);
comparing the input to an input threshold (page 39, lines 6 -7);
and changing the clock speed threshold from the first threshold to the second threshold in response to the input threshold exceeding the input (page 39, lines 8 - 9; wherein clock speed could be reduced).
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
The following patents/publications are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to using low power mode in mobile devices:
Kerecsen (US 20200294401 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for collecting and using sensor data from a vehicle.
Mahalakshmi et al. (US 20250048081 A1) discloses method for optimizing battery consumption rate of a mobile device.
Ivanov et al. (US 20230093158 A1) discloses methods and systems for using a vehicle location to geo-reference radio data collected during a time of commute.
Vyunova et al. (US 20210176726 A1) discloses methods and systems for making a determination of whether a mobile device is positioned indoors or outdoors.
Hoang et al. (US 20190349853 A1) discloses method for realizing periodic location determination of mobile device in location-enabled applications, involves determining location of mobile device until timer expires, and returning wide area network wireless modem to low power state
Contact Information
/ADOLF DSOUZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632