This communication is in response to application No. 19/056,625; Steering Knuckle for Increased Ground Clearance of Vehicle; filed on 02/18/2025. Claims 1 - 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of an improper claim dependency. Claim 6, which depends from claims 5 and 1; refers to a gear mechanism, which is separately introduced in claim 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 11 describes vertical ribs which “meet at the back of said hub at 45 degrees to create a point that distributes both vertical and lateral forces”. It is unclear from the Specification and the Drawings where this 45 degrees is gauged, whether it is measured from vertical or from a lateral (across the vehicle) axis, or in the relationship between one rib to the other. Additionally, variations of size and shape as well as optimal values (as in 45 degrees), are generally seen as involving only routine skill for a person of ordinary skill in the art. Finally it is unclear what is meant by the term “a point”. Does this refer to a specific (single) feature where the ribs meet the back of the hub and forces are concentrated, or is it describing a general location where each vertical rib meets the back of the hub? For purposes of examination, this will be understood to describe two vertical ribs which meet the back of the hub and which are inclined inwards towards the centerline of the vehicle, when moving upwards from the lower control arm mounting towards the upper control arm mounting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Izik (WO 2018/015942 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Izik discloses;
A steering knuckle for a vehicle, said steering knuckle comprising: a vertical arm (knuckle 101; page 9, line 10, fig. 1); (Izik, in the Background of the Invention, describes the steering knuckle as part of a vehicle.)
an upper mount (pin 163, holes 162/164; figs. 1,2) positioned at said vertical arm, wherein said upper mount comprises an upper control arm (upper control arm 160);
a steering arm (steering member 173, fig. 2) positioned at said vertical arm;
a lower mount (pin 143, holes 142/144) positioned at said vertical arm, wherein said lower mount comprises a lower control arm (lower control arm 140);
a hub (wheel hub 126, fig. 2) positioned at the bottom of said vertical arm,
wherein said hub mounts outside of attachment points of said upper control arm and said lower control arm in order to keep the same distance between said upper mount and said lower mount, and said steering arm to maintain a factory geometry. (Fig.2 illustrates the wheel hub mounted outside and below the lower control arm. The upper and lower control arms positioned approximately parallel to each other with the steering arm located between the control arms, in a common, factory orientation.)
Regarding Claim 2, Izik discloses;
further comprises vertical ribs (see Fig. 1) to meet at the back of said hub (hub 126) at 45 degrees to create a point that distributes both vertical force and lateral force evenly between said upper control arm (upper control arm 160) and said lower control arm (lower control arm 140) as if said hub remained in its factory geometry. (Izik, fig. 1, demonstrates two vertical ribs along either side of the vertical arm which connect the upper and lower control arm mounts and the hub. These ribs transfer vertical and lateral forces generated at the vehicle wheel to the upper and lower control arms. Fig. 2 illustrates the vertical arm and ribs as angling inwards, from the vertical orientation of the wheel mounting hub, towards the upper control arm.
Regarding claim 5, Izik discloses;
further comprises a power train unit, wherein said power train unit transfers power from internal mechanisms of said steering knuckle into said hub. (Izik, in the Background of the Invention, describes an engine providing drive power for the vehicle wheels. Fig. 2 illustrates driveshaft 130, CV joint 116 and socket 122 for transferring engine power to the drive wheel.)
Regarding claim 7, Izik discloses;
wherein said upper control arm (upper control arm 160) comprises dual upper control mounts (168), and wherein said lower control arm (lower control arm 140) comprises dual lower control mounts (148). (Fig. 2 (and page 11, line 7 to page 12 line 16), illustrate the upper and lower control arms as comprising dual control mounts to the vehicle chassis along pivot axis 168 and 148 respectively.)
Regarding claim 9, Izik discloses;
wherein the placement of said hub (wheel hub 126, fig. 2) eliminates interference with calipers and other suspension components. (Fig. 1 and page 13, lines 5-7, describe the mounting of a brake caliper to holder portion 128. Figs. 2 and 3 illustrate the range of suspension movement such that the hub does not interfere with other suspension components.)
Regarding claim 17, Izik discloses;
A method of providing a steering knuckle for a vehicle, said method comprising the steps of:
providing a vertical arm (knuckle 101; page 9, line 10, fig. 1); (Izik, in the Background of the Invention, describes the steering knuckle as part of a vehicle.)
providing an upper mount (pin 163, holes 162/164; figs. 1,2) positioned at said vertical arm, said upper mount comprising an upper control arm (upper control arm 160);
providing a steering arm (steering member 173, fig. 2) positioned at said vertical arm;
providing a lower mount (pin 143, holes 142/144) positioned at said vertical arm, said lower mount comprising a lower control arm (lower control arm 140);
a hub (wheel hub 126, fig. 2) positioned at the bottom of said vertical arm,
mounting said hub outside of attachment points of said upper control arm and said lower control arm in order to keep the same distance between said upper mount and said lower mount, and said steering arm to maintain a factory geometry. (Fig.2 illustrates the wheel hub mounted outside and below the lower control arm. The upper and lower control arms positioned approximately parallel to each other with the steering arm located between the control arms, in a common, factory orientation.)
Regarding claim 19, Izik discloses;
further comprising providing a power train unit for transferring power from internal mechanisms of said steering knuckle into said hub. (Izik, in the Background of the Invention, describes an engine providing drive power for the vehicle wheels. Fig. 2 illustrates driveshaft 130, CV joint 116 and socket 122 for transferring engine power to the drive wheel.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 6, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izik (WO 2018/015942 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Teraoka (US 4,418,783).
Regarding Claim 3, Izik does not disclose an access panel to provide access to an interior of the steering knuckle. However, Teraoka teaches;
further comprises an access panel (housing 13) to provide access to an interior of said steering knuckle (steering case 10). (Housing 13 is secured to steering case 10 in a manner rotatable around the axis of the transmission shafts 11 (Col. 3, Line 12). There are additional access points at the top of transmission shaft 11 and wheel hub 14. (Fig. 2, Col. 3, Line 24); Teraoka)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Izik to include an access panel to provide access to an interior of the steering knuckle as taught by Teraoka, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering and drive systems. As disclosed by Teraoka, it is well known for an access panel to provide access to an interior of the steering knuckle to be used in vehicle steering and drive systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Izik to include an access panel to provide access to an interior of the steering knuckle as taught by Teraoka, as such a modification would facilitate the assembly of the internal transmission drive assembly. (Col. 3, Line 11; Teraoka).
Regarding Claim 4, Izik does not disclose a gear mechanism which transfers motion from a vehicle’s constant velocity shaft to a vehicle’s wheel. However, Teraoka teaches;
wherein said access panel comprises a gear mechanism (transmission shaft 11 and bevel gears 11a, 11b and shaft 15 and gears 15a, 15b), and wherein said gear mechanism transfers motion from a vehicle’s constant velocity shaft (axle driving shaft 8) to a vehicle’s wheel (wheel 4). (power is transmitted from shaft 8 to shaft 11 to gear 15 to gear 22 to hub 14 and wheel 4, Fig. 2).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Izik to include a gear mechanism which transfers motion from a vehicle’s constant velocity shaft to a vehicle’s wheel as taught by Teraoka, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering and drive systems. As disclosed by Teraoka, it is well known for a gear mechanism which transfers motion from a vehicle’s constant velocity shaft to a vehicle’s wheel to be used in a vehicle steering and drive system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Izik to include a gear mechanism which transfers motion from a vehicle’s constant velocity shaft to a vehicle’s wheel as taught by Teraoka, as such a modification would allow a vehicle drive system to be used on a raised height vehicle. (Col. 1, Line 36; Teraoka).
Regarding claim 6, Izik does not disclose a first splined input shaft and a second splined input shaft, wherein said first splined input shaft connects to said gear mechanism, and wherein said second splined input shaft has a shape matching with a factory hub setting and connects to said hub. However, Teraoka teaches;
wherein said power train unit houses a first splined input shaft (shaft 8; fig. 2) and a second splined input shaft (shaft 11),
wherein said first splined input shaft connects to said gear mechanism, and wherein said second splined input shaft has a shape matching with a factory hub setting and connects to said hub. (Fig. 2 illustrates the first splined shaft connected to the vehicle drivetrain at the differential and the second splined shaft connects to a spur gear assembly (15a/15b) through a bevel gear arrangement, which drives the factory hub assembly (16).)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Izik to include a first splined input shaft which connects to a gear mechanism, and a second splined input shaft which has a shape matching with a factory hub setting and which connects to said hub as taught by Teraoka, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering and drive systems. As disclosed by Teraoka, it is well known for a first splined input shaft which connects to a gear mechanism, and a second splined input shaft which has a shape matching with a factory hub setting and which connects to said hub. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Izik to include a first splined input shaft which connects to a gear mechanism, and a second splined input shaft which has a shape matching with a factory hub setting and which connects to said hub as taught by Teraoka, as such a modification would allow a vehicle drive system to be used on a raised height vehicle. (Col. 1, Line 36; Teraoka).
Regarding Claim 18, Izik in view of Teraoka discloses;
further comprising: providing an access panel (housing 13) for providing access to an interior of said steering knuckle (steering case 10). (Housing 13 is secured to steering case 10 in a manner rotatable around the axis of the transmission shafts 11 (Col. 3, Line 12). There are additional access points at the top of transmission shaft 11 and wheel hub 14. (Fig. 2, Col. 3, Line 24); Teraoka)
transferring motion from a vehicle's constant velocity (axle driving shaft 8) shaft to a vehicle's wheel (wheel 4) via a gear mechanism (transmission shaft 11 and bevel gears 11a, 11b and shaft 15 and gears 15a, 15b). (Power is transmitted from shaft 8 to shaft 11 to gear 15 to gear 22 to hub 14 and wheel 4, Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 8, 10-11, 14, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izik (WO 2018/015942 A1) in view of Allman (US 2003/0052467 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Izik does not disclose upper and lower mounts comprising caster alignment adjustment members having connectors and mounted at the upper and lower mounts. However, Allman teaches;
wherein each of said upper mount and said lower mount comprises a caster alignment adjustment member (caster adjustment apparatus 20; fig. 8, paragraph 4) having a connector (stud 28), (Allman, paragraphs 4-5 describe a caster/camber adjustment feature which connects the ball joint to the control arm through a connector stud 28.)
wherein said caster alignment adjustment members adjust the alignment of said dual upper control mounts at said upper mount, and said dual lower control mounts at said lower mount, respectively. (Allman, paragraph 5 describes the insert (23) as being pressed into the opening of the upper control arm (and/or the lower control arm).)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Izik to include upper and lower mounts comprising caster alignment adjustment members having connectors and mounted at the upper and lower mounts as taught by Allman, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle suspension for steerable wheels. As disclosed by Allman, it is well known for steerable wheel suspension to include upper and lower mounts comprising caster alignment adjustment members having connectors and mounted at the upper and lower mounts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Izik to include upper and lower mounts comprising caster alignment adjustment members having connectors and mounted at the upper and lower mounts as taught by Allman, as such a modification would provide the ability to increase the range and fineness of caster adjustment.
Regarding claim 10, Izik discloses;
A steering knuckle for a vehicle, said steering knuckle comprising: a vertical arm (knuckle 101; page 9, line 10, fig. 1); (Izik, in the Background of the Invention, describes the steering knuckle as part of a vehicle.)
a steering arm (steering member 173, fig. 2) positioned at said vertical arm;
an upper mount (pin 163, holes 162/164; figs. 1,2) positioned at said vertical arm, wherein said upper mount comprises an upper control arm (upper control arm 160);
wherein said upper control arm (upper control arm 160) comprises dual upper control mounts (168),
a lower mount (pin 143, holes 142/144) positioned at said vertical arm, wherein said lower mount comprises a lower control arm (lower control arm 140);
and wherein said lower control arm (lower control arm 140) comprises dual lower control mounts (148).
a hub (wheel hub 126, fig. 2) positioned at the bottom of said vertical arm,
wherein said hub mounts outside of attachment points of said upper control arm and said lower control arm in order to keep the same distance between said upper mount and said lower mount, and said steering arm to maintain a factory geometry. (Fig.2 illustrates the wheel hub mounted outside and below the lower control arm. The upper and lower control arms positioned approximately parallel to each other with the steering arm located between the control arms, in a common, factory orientation.)
Izik does not disclose upper and lower mounts comprising caster alignment adjustment members having connectors and mounted at the upper and lower mounts. However, Allman teaches;
wherein each of said upper mount and said lower mount comprises a caster alignment adjustment member (caster adjustment apparatus 20; fig. 8, paragraph 4) having a connector (stud 28), (Allman, paragraphs 4-5 describe a caster/camber adjustment feature which connects the ball joint to the control arm through a connector stud 28.)
wherein said caster alignment adjustment members adjust the alignment of said dual upper control mounts at said upper mount, and said dual lower control mounts at said lower mount, respectively. (Allman, paragraph 5 describes the insert (23) as being pressed into the opening of the upper control arm (and/or the lower control arm).)
Regarding claim 11, Izik discloses;
further comprises vertical ribs (see Fig. 1) to meet at the back of said hub (hub 126) at 45 degrees to create a point that distributes both vertical force and lateral force evenly between said upper control arm (upper control arm 160) and said lower control arm (lower control arm 140) as if said hub remained in its factory geometry. (Izik, fig. 1, demonstrates two vertical ribs along either side of the vertical arm which connect the upper and lower control arm mounts and the hub. These ribs transfer vertical and lateral forces generated at the vehicle wheel to the upper and lower control arms. Fig. 2 illustrates the vertical arm and ribs as angling inwards, from the vertical orientation of the wheel mounting hub, towards the upper control arm.
Regarding claim 14, Izik discloses;
further comprises a power train unit, wherein said power train unit transfers power from internal mechanisms of said steering knuckle into said hub. (Izik, in the Background of the Invention, describes an engine providing drive power for the vehicle wheels. Fig. 2 illustrates driveshaft 130, CV joint 116 and socket 122 for transferring engine power to the drive wheel.)
Regarding claim 16, Izik discloses;
wherein the placement of said hub (wheel hub 126, fig. 2) eliminates interference with calipers and other suspension components. (Fig. 1 and page 13, lines 5-7, describe the mounting of a brake caliper to holder portion 128. Figs. 2 and 3 illustrate the range of suspension movement such that the hub does not interfere with other suspension components.)
Regarding claim 20, Izik in view of Allman discloses;
providing dual upper control mounts (168) and dual lower control mounts (148) at said upper control arm (upper control arm 160) and said lower control arm (lower control arm 140), respectively; (Izik, fig. 2 (and page 11, line 7 to page 12 line 16), illustrate the upper and lower control arms as comprising dual control mounts to the vehicle chassis along pivot axis 168 and 148 respectively.)
providing a caster alignment adjustment member (caster adjustment apparatus 20; fig. 3, paragraph 4) at each of said upper mount and said lower mount for adjusting the alignment of said dual upper control mounts at said upper mount, and said dual lower control mounts at said lower mount, respectively. (Allman, paragraph 5 describes the insert (23) as being pressed into the opening of the upper control arm (and/or the lower control arm).)
Claims 12, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izik (WO 2018/015942 A1) in view of Allman (US 2003/0052467 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Teraoka (US 4,418,783).
Regarding Claim 12, Izik does not disclose an access panel to provide access to an interior of the steering knuckle. However, Teraoka teaches;
further comprises an access panel (housing 13) to provide access to an interior of said steering knuckle (steering case 10). (Housing 13 is secured to steering case 10 in a manner rotatable around the axis of the transmission shafts 11 (Col. 3, Line 12). There are additional access points at the top of transmission shaft 11 and wheel hub 14. (Fig. 2, Col. 3, Line 24); Teraoka)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Izik to include an access panel to provide access to an interior of the steering knuckle as taught by Teraoka, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering and drive systems. As disclosed by Teraoka, it is well known for an access panel to provide access to an interior of the steering knuckle to be used in vehicle steering and drive systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Izik to include an access panel to provide access to an interior of the steering knuckle as taught by Teraoka, as such a modification would facilitate the assembly of the internal transmission drive assembly. (Col. 3, Line 11; Teraoka).
Regarding Claim 13, Izik does not disclose a gear mechanism which transfers motion from a vehicle’s constant velocity shaft to a vehicle’s wheel. However, Teraoka teaches;
wherein said access panel comprises a gear mechanism (transmission shaft 11 and bevel gears 11a, 11b and shaft 15 and gears 15a, 15b), and wherein said gear mechanism transfers motion from a vehicle’s constant velocity shaft (axle driving shaft 8) to a vehicle’s wheel (wheel 4). (power is transmitted from shaft 8 to shaft 11 to gear 15 to gear 22 to hub 14 and wheel 4, Fig. 2).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Izik to include a gear mechanism which transfers motion from a vehicle’s constant velocity shaft to a vehicle’s wheel as taught by Teraoka, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering and drive systems. As disclosed by Teraoka, it is well known for a gear mechanism which transfers motion from a vehicle’s constant velocity shaft to a vehicle’s wheel to be used in a vehicle steering and drive system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Izik to include a gear mechanism which transfers motion from a vehicle’s constant velocity shaft to a vehicle’s wheel as taught by Teraoka, as such a modification would allow a vehicle drive system to be used on a raised height vehicle. (Col. 1, Line 36; Teraoka).
Regarding claim 15, Izik does not disclose a first splined input shaft and a second splined input shaft, wherein said first splined input shaft connects to said gear mechanism, and wherein said second splined input shaft has a shape matching with a factory hub setting and connects to said hub. However, Teraoka teaches;
wherein said power train unit houses a first splined input shaft (shaft 8; fig. 2) and a second splined input shaft (shaft 11),
wherein said first splined input shaft connects to said gear mechanism, and wherein said second splined input shaft has a shape matching with a factory hub setting and connects to said hub. (Fig. 2 illustrates the first splined shaft connected to the vehicle drivetrain at the differential and the second splined shaft connects to a spur gear assembly (15a/15b) through a bevel gear arrangement, which drives the factory hub assembly (16).)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Izik to include a first splined input shaft which connects to a gear mechanism, and a second splined input shaft which has a shape matching with a factory hub setting and which connects to said hub as taught by Teraoka, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering and drive systems. As disclosed by Teraoka, it is well known for a first splined input shaft which connects to a gear mechanism, and a second splined input shaft which has a shape matching with a factory hub setting and which connects to said hub. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Izik to include a first splined input shaft which connects to a gear mechanism, and a second splined input shaft which has a shape matching with a factory hub setting and which connects to said hub as taught by Teraoka, as such a modification would allow a vehicle drive system to be used on a raised height vehicle. (Col. 1, Line 36; Teraoka).
Conclusion
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614