DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“sheet feeding mechanism” in claim 1; and
“sheet feeding tray lifting mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (US 2023/0391567 A1) in view of Tabuchi (US 2007/0092318 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakagawa discloses a document conveying device comprising: a sheet feeding tray 44 on which a document is placed; a sheet feeding mechanism 31 which feeds the sheet placed on the sheet feeding tray in a predetermined sheet feeding direction; a sheet feeding tray lifting mechanism 33 which lifts and lowers the sheet feeding tray; a top plate 21 which is adjacent to the sheet feeding tray on a downstream side in the sheet feeding direction and is in contact with a lower surface of the document to be fed; a fixed wall part 23 which is provided extending downward from an upstream side end portion of the top plate in the sheet feeding direction and is fixed in position; and a lifting wall part 25 which is provided extending upward from a downstream side end portion of the sheet feeding tray in the sheet feeding direction, and lifted and lowered along the fixed wall part together with the sheet feeding tray. Nakagawa lacks a reflective optical sensor which detects the document placed on the sheet feeding tray, wherein the reflective optical sensor emits light in a direction inclined downstream of the sheet feeding direction from a vertically upward direction. Tabuchi teaches the use of a reflective optical sensor 47 which detects the document placed on the sheet feeding tray, in order to detect that a document has been set on the tray. Tabuchi, par. 37. Tabuchi lacks the disclosure of the reflective optical sensor emitting light in a direction inclined downstream of the sheet feeding direction from a vertically upward direction. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to flip the emitter 47a and the receiver 47b, in the sensor of Tabuchi, as an obvious reversal of parts, in order to provide for ease of manufacture, and to add this sensor to the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Tabuchi, in order to detect that a document has been set on the tray.
Regarding claim 2, the device of Nakagawa as modified by Tabuchi comprises the document conveying device according to claim 1, wherein the sheet feeding mechanism includes a pickup roller (Nakagawa, 51) which feeds the document placed on the sheet feeding tray in the sheet feeding direction. Nakagawa and Tabuchi lack the explicit disclosure of the pickup roller having: a shaft, and a roller body provided around the shaft, and the reflective sensor being provided at a position different from the roller body in a width direction crossing the sheet feeding direction and emitting the light downstream of the sheet feeding direction from the shaft. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use a shaft and a roller body provided around the shaft in the device of Nakagawa as modified by Tabuchi, as such an arrangement is very well-known in the art to feed sheets from trays. It would further have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the reflective sensor be provided at a position different from the roller body in a width direction crossing the sheet feeding direction and emit the light downstream of the sheet feeding direction from the shaft in the device of Nakagawa as modified by Tabuchi, in order to ensure the light is not blocked by the roller or shaft. See also Tabuchi, Fig. 3, where it appears the light is made to avoid the roller and shaft in this manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, neither Nakagawa nor Tabuchi discloses everything claimed, including the lifting wall part having a groove along an optical path of the reflective optical sensor, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kimura (US 2010/0225045 A1) discloses a sheet feeding device a document set sensor provided at a tray.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759