DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s arguments and request for reconsideration of application 19/056,659 (02/18/25) filed on 07/17/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
ALICE/ MAYO: TWO-PART ANALYSIS
2A. First, a determination whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea).
Prong 1: A determination whether the claim recites a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea).
Groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Mathematical concepts- mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations.
Certain methods of organizing human activity- fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
Mental processes- concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
Prong 2: A determination whether the judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea) is integrated into a practical application.
Considerations indicative of integration into a practical application enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Improvement to the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to any other technology or technical field
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of a particular machine.
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception
Considerations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
2B. Second, a determination whether the claim provides an inventive concept (i.e., Whether the claim(s) include additional elements, or combinations of elements, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea)).
Considerations indicative of an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Improvement to the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to any other technology or technical field
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of a particular machine.
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception NOTE: The only consideration that does not overlap with the considerations indicative of integration into a practical application associated with step 2A: Prong 2.
Considerations that are not indicative of an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception. NOTE: The only consideration that does not overlap with the considerations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application associated with step 2A: Prong 2.
See also, 2010 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance; Federal Register; Vol. 84, No. 4; Monday, January 7, 2019
Claims 1 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
1: Statutory Category
Applicant’s claimed invention, as described in independent claim 1, is/are directed to a process (i.e. method).
2(A): The claim(s) are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea).
PRONG 1: The claim(s) recite a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea).
Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity
The claim as a whole recites a method of organizing human activity. The claimed invention involves receiving external data, wherein the external data comprises listings data, local costs data, property financing data for the plurality of properties, and credit profile data corresponding to a user, and wherein the local costs data comprises data relating to one or more utilities expenses; tracking location data associated with the user in real-time; determining financing costs data for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, and the property financing data, wherein the financing costs data for a respective property corresponds to a value of a periodic financing cost associated with possessing the respective property; determining a plurality of true cost (TC) values for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, the local costs data, and the financing costs data, wherein a respective TC value for the respective property corresponds to a value of a total periodic cost associated with possessing the respective property; generating visualization data based on the location data, the plurality of TC values, and the listings data, wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user; and transmitting the visualization data, which is a fundamental economic principles or practices (financial costs data for a plurality of properties; plurality of true costs (TC) values for a plurality of properties; visualization data); commercial or legal interactions (financial costs data for a plurality of properties; plurality of true costs (TC) values for a plurality of properties; visualization data); and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (receiving, tracking, determining, generating, to display, transmitting).
The mere nominal recitation of a “property marketplace platform” does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Mental Processes
The claim recites limitations directed to receiving external data, wherein the external data comprises listings data, local costs data, property financing data for the plurality of properties, and credit profile data corresponding to a user, and wherein the local costs data comprises data relating to one or more utilities expenses; tracking location data associated with the user in real-time; determining financing costs data for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, and the property financing data, wherein the financing costs data for a respective property corresponds to a value of a periodic financing cost associated with possessing the respective property; determining a plurality of true cost (TC) values for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, the local costs data, and the financing costs data, wherein a respective TC value for the respective property corresponds to a value of a total periodic cost associated with possessing the respective property; generating visualization data based on the location data, the plurality of TC values, and the listings data, wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user; and transmitting the visualization data.
The limitation(s), as drafted, is/are a process that, under it’s broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a “property marketplace platform”, nothing in the claim precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for a “property marketplace platform”, the claim encompasses the user manually receiving external data, wherein the external data comprises listings data, local costs data, property financing data for the plurality of properties, and credit profile data corresponding to a user, and wherein the local costs data comprises data relating to one or more utilities expenses; tracking location data associated with the user in real-time; determining financing costs data for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, and the property financing data, wherein the financing costs data for a respective property corresponds to a value of a periodic financing cost associated with possessing the respective property; determining a plurality of true cost (TC) values for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, the local costs data, and the financing costs data, wherein a respective TC value for the respective property corresponds to a value of a total periodic cost associated with possessing the respective property; generating visualization data based on the location data, the plurality of TC values, and the listings data, wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user; and transmitting the visualization data. NOTE: (a) The claim is exclusively from the perspective of a “property marketplace platform”. (b) Although “one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties” are referenced in the claim(s), the claimed invention is not from the perspective of the “one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties”; and the “one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties” do not perform any of the positively recited steps or acts required of the claimed invention. The “one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties” merely interact with the entity (i.e., “property marketplace platform”) that performs the positively recited steps or acts. (c) Although “one or more satellite navigation systems” is referenced in the claim, the claimed invention is not from the perspective of the “one or more satellite navigation systems”; and the “one or more satellite navigation systems” do not perform any of the positively recited steps or acts required of the claimed invention. The “one or more satellite navigation systems” merely interact with the entity (i.e., “property marketplace platform”) that performs the positively recited steps or acts. (d) Although a “user device” is referenced in the claim, the claimed invention is not from the perspective of the “user device”; and the “user device” does not perform any of the positively recited steps or acts required of the claimed invention. The “user device” merely interact with the entity (i.e., “property marketplace platform”) that performs the positively recited steps or acts.
The mere nominal recitation of a “property marketplace platform” does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. This/these limitation(s) recite a mental process. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
PRONG 2: The judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea). Is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim recites the combination of additional elements of a “property marketplace platform” performing the positively recited steps or acts. The claim recites the combination of additional elements of the “receiving” step being from “one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties”. The claim recites the combination of additional elements of the “tracking” step “using one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user”. The claim recites the combination of additional elements of “wherein the one or more interfaces comprise a map interface configured to be manipulated by the user to display a visualization for a subset of the plurality of properties and a subset of the plurality of TC values via the user device”. The claim recites the combination of additional elements of the “transmitting” step being to “the user device”. The additional element(s) is/ are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer performing the generic computer functions of (a) data receipt/ transmission (e.g., “receiving”, transmitting”, etc. step(s) as claimed); (b) data processing (e.g., “tracking”, “determining”, “generating”, etc. step(s) as claimed); and (c) data display (e.g., “to display”, etc. step(s) as claimed)). The additional element(s) is/ are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as general means of gathering external data), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The “property marketplace platform” that performs the step(s) is also recited at a high level of generality, and merely automates the step(s). At best the “property marketplace platform” is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, the additional element(s) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Since the claim(s) recite a judicial exception and fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the claim(s) is/are “directed to” the judicial exception. Thus, the claim(s) must be reviewed under the second step of the Alice/ Mayo analysis to determine whether the abstract idea has been applied in an eligible manner.
2(B): The claims do not provide an inventive concept (i.e., The claim(s) do not include additional elements, or combinations of elements, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea)).
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element(s) in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Furthermore, the additional element(s) under STEP 2A Prong 2 have been evaluated in STEP 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine conventional activity in the field. Applicant’s specification as filed 02/18/25 does not provide any indication that a “property marketplace platform” is anything other than a generic off-the-shelf computer components. Furthermore, the prosecution history of the instant application provides Callow, US Pub. No. 2010/0145828; Hailey, US Pub. No. 2022/0005134; Haynes, US Pub. No. 2015/0332417; Medawar, US Pub. No. 2006/0089842; and Gokhale, US Pub. No. 2016/0335695 operating in a similar environment, suggesting performing tasks such as (a) data receipt/ transmission (e.g., “receiving”, transmitting”, etc. step(s) as claimed); (b) data processing (e.g., “tracking”, “determining”, “generating”, etc. step(s) as claimed); and (c) data display (e.g., “to display”, etc. step(s) as claimed) are well understood, routine and conventional. Furthermore, the courts have recognized that computer functions or tasks analogous to those claimed by applicant such as (a) data receipt/ transmission (e.g., “receiving”, transmitting”, etc. step(s) as claimed); (b) data processing (e.g., “tracking”, “determining”, “generating”, etc. step(s) as claimed); and (c) data display (e.g., “to display”, etc. step(s) as claimed are well understood, routine and conventional. Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs and buySAFE court decisions cited in MPEP § 2106.05(D) (ii) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as here). Flook, Bancorp court decisions cited in MPEP § 2106.05(D) (ii) indicate performing repetitive calculations is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as here). SAP America Inc. v. Investpic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016 USPQ2d 1638 (Fed Cir. 2018) (displaying and disseminating financial information) and Intellectual Ventures 1 LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA) (advanced internet interface providing user display access of customized web pages) indicate displaying information is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as here). Accordingly, a conclusion that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.
For these reasons, there is no invention concept in the claim(s), and thus the claim(s) are ineligible.
Dependent claims 2 - 8 are rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 based on a rationale similar to the claims from which they depend.
Alice Corp. also establishes that the same analysis should be used for all categories of claims (e.g., product and process claims). Therefore, independent property marketplace platform claim 9 and independent non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 17 is/are also rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 for substantially the same reasons as the method claims. The component(s) (e.g., “one or more processors”, “a memory”) described in independent property marketplace platform claim 9 and the component(s) (e.g., “non-transitory computer-readable medium”, “computer”) recited in independent non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 17, add nothing of substance to the underlying abstract idea. At best, the product(s) (property marketplace platform; non-transitory computer-readable medium) recited in the claim(s) are merely providing an environment to implement the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 10 - 16 and 18 - 20 are rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 based on a rationale similar to the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 3, 6 - 7, 9 - 11, 14 - 15 and 17 - 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callow, US Pub. No. 2010/0145828 in view of Hailey, US Pub. No. 2022/0005134 and Haynes, US Pub. 2015/0332417.
Re Claims 1, 9 and 17: Callow discloses a method/ property marketplace platform/ non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising:
wherein the external data comprises listings data, property financing data for the plurality of properties, and credit profile data corresponding to a user (Callow, abstract, [0004] [0006] [0007] [0013] [0036] [0037] [0044]);
determining, by the property marketplace platform, financing costs data for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, and the property financing data, wherein the financing costs data for a respective property corresponds to a value of a periodic financing cost associated with possessing the respective property (Callow, abstract, [0005] [0007] [0017] [0036] [0039] [0040] [0044] [0045]);
determining, by the property marketplace platform, a plurality of true cost (TC) values for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, the local costs data, and the financing costs data, wherein a respective TC value for the respective property corresponds to a value of a total periodic cost associated with possessing the respective property (Callow, [0015] [0036] [0037] [0040]);
generating, by the property marketplace platform, visualization data based on the location data, the plurality of TC values, and the listings data, wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user (Callow, [0015] [0036] [0037] [0040]); and
transmitting, from the property marketplace platform, the visualization data to the user device (Callow, [0015] [0036] [0037] [0040]).
Although Callow discloses wherein the external data comprises listings data, property financing data for the plurality of properties, and credit profile data corresponding to a user; Callow fails to explicitly disclose receiving, at a property marketplace platform, external data from one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties, wherein the external data further comprises local costs data, and wherein the local costs data comprises data relating to one or more utilities expenses;
Callow fails to explicitly disclose:
tracking, by the property marketplace platform, location data associated with the user in real-time using one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user;
Although Callow discloses generating, by the property marketplace platform, visualization data based on the location data, the plurality of TC values, and the listings data, wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user, Callow fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more interfaces comprise a map interface configured to be manipulated by the user to display a visualization for a subset of the plurality of properties and a subset of the plurality of TC values via the user device;
Hailey discloses:
receiving, at a property marketplace platform, external data from one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties, wherein the external data further comprises local costs data, and wherein the local costs data comprises data relating to one or more utilities expenses (Hailey, abstract, Figs. 2, 8, [0006] [0007] [0008] [0009] [0010] [0011] [0044] [0048] [0069] [0087]); and
wherein the one or more interfaces comprise a map interface configured to be manipulated by the user to display a visualization for a subset of the plurality of properties and a subset of the plurality of TC values via the user device (Hailey, Figs, 1, 2, [0064] [0072]);
Haynes discloses:
tracking, by the property marketplace platform, location data associated with the user in real-time using one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user (Haynes, Fig. 5, [0029]);
Analogous Art It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Callow, Hailey and Haynes are in the field of the inventor’s endeavor as they relate to property evaluation. Furthermore, Callow pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned of determining true cost values for properties. Furthermore, Hailey is pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned of receiving external data and allowing manipulation by a user. Furthermore, Haynes is pertinent to the particular problems with which the inventor was concerned of tracking location data associated with the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify to modify the teachings of Callow by adopting the teachings of Hailey and Haynes to provide receiving, at a property marketplace platform, external data from one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties, wherein the external data comprises listings data, local costs data, property financing data for the plurality of properties, and credit profile data corresponding to a user, and wherein the local costs data comprises data relating to one or more utilities expenses; tracking, by the property marketplace platform, location data associated with the user in real-time using one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user; and generating, by the property marketplace platform, visualization data based on the location data, the plurality of TC values, and the listings data, wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user, and wherein the one or more interfaces comprise a map interface configured to be manipulated by the user to display a visualization for a subset of the plurality of properties and a subset of the plurality of TC values via the user device.
One would have been motivated to improve accuracy, precision and user convenience.
The claimed invention applies
known techniques to improve a similar device (method, or product) in the same way; applies known techniques to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and
known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, the claimed subject matter likely would have been obvious under KSR. KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1741, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Re Claims 2, 10 and 18: Callow in view of Hailey and Haynes discloses the claimed invention supra and Callow further discloses wherein determining, by the property marketplace platform, the financing costs data for the plurality of properties comprises:
receiving user financing data from the user device, wherein the user financing data corresponds to selections by the user for a credit rating, a down payment value, and a loan product (Callow, abstract, [0005] [0007] [0017] [0036] [0039] [0040] [0044] [0045]);
determining the financing costs data corresponding to the user for the plurality of properties based on the user financing data, the listings data, the property financing data, and the credit profile data (Callow, abstract, [0005] [0007] [0017] [0036] [0039] [0040] [0044] [0045]).
Re Claims 3, 11 and 19: Callow in view of Hailey and Haynes discloses the claimed invention supra and Callow further discloses further discloses wherein determining, by the property marketplace platform, the plurality of TC values comprises
determining the plurality of TC values corresponding to the user for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, the local costs data, and the financing costs data corresponding to the user (Callow, [0015] [0036] [0037] [0040]).
Re Claims 6 and 14: Callow in view of Hailey discloses the claimed invention supra and Callow further discloses wherein determining, by the property marketplace platform, the plurality of TC values comprises:
determining default selections corresponding to a credit rating, a down payment value, and a loan type based on the property financing data (Callow, [0015] [0036] [0037] [0040]); and
determining the plurality of TC values based on the external property data and the determined default selections (Callow, [0015] [0036] [0037] [0040]).
Re Claims 7 and 15: Callow in view of Hailey discloses the claimed invention supra and Callow further discloses wherein the plurality of TC values comprises a plurality of true cost of ownership (TCO) values (Callow, [0015] [0036] [0037] [0040]).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callow in view of Hailey as applied to claims 1, 9 and 19 above, and further in view of Medawar, US Pub. No. 2006/0089842.
Re Claims 4, 12 and 20: Callow in view of Hailey discloses the claimed invention supra but fails to explicitly disclose wherein generating, by the property marketplace platform, the visualization data comprises:
receiving, by the property marketplace platform, filter input data from the user device, wherein the filter input data corresponds to one or more criterion selected by the user for filtering the listings data, and wherein the one or more criterion comprise a maximum TC value for the user, a minimum TC value for the user, or combinations thereof.
Medawar discloses wherein generating, by the property marketplace platform, the visualization data comprises:
receiving, by the property marketplace platform, filter input data from the user device, wherein the filter input data corresponds to one or more criterion selected by the user for filtering the listings data, and wherein the one or more criterion comprise a maximum TC value for the user, a minimum TC value for the user, or combinations thereof (Medawar, [0011] [0015] [0037] [0040] [0053] [0055]).
Analogous Art It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Medawar is in the field of the inventor’s endeavor as it relates to property evaluation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Callow in view of Hailey by further adopting the teachings of Medawar to provide wherein generating, by the property marketplace platform, the visualization data comprises: receiving, by the property marketplace platform, filter input data from the user device, wherein the filter input data corresponds to one or more criterion selected by the user for filtering the listings data, and wherein the one or more criterion comprise a maximum TC value for the user, a minimum TC value for the user, or combinations thereof.
One would have been motivated to improve accuracy, precision and user convenience.
The claimed invention applies
known techniques to improve a similar device (method, or product) in the same way; applies known techniques to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and
known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, the claimed subject matter likely would have been obvious under KSR. KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1741, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Re Claims 5 and 13: Callow in view of Hailey and Medawar discloses the claimed invention supra and Medawar further discloses wherein generating, by the property marketplace platform, the visualization data further comprises:
filtering, by the property marketplace platform, the listings data based on the plurality of TC values and the filter input data (Medawar, [0011] [0015] [0037] [0040] [0053] [0055]); and generating, by the property marketplace platform, the visualization data based on the location data, the filtered listings data and the plurality of TC values, wherein the filtered listings data corresponds to the subset of the plurality of properties (Medawar, [0011] [0015] [0037] [0040] [0053] [0055]).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callow in view of Hailey as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Gokhale, US Pub. No. 2016/0335695.
Re Claims 8 and 16: Callow in view of Hailey discloses the claimed invention supra but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of TC values comprises a plurality of true cost of rent (TCR) values.
Gokhale discloses:
wherein the plurality of TC values comprises a plurality of true cost of rent (TCR) values (Gokhale, [0021] [0038] [0079]).
Analogous Art It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Gokhale is in the field of the inventor’s endeavor as it relates to property evaluation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Callow in view of Hailey by further adopting the teachings of Gokhale to provide wherein the plurality of TC values comprises a plurality of true cost of rent (TCR) values.
One would have been motivated to increase flexibility and user convenience.
The claimed invention applies
known techniques to improve a similar device (method, or product) in the same way; applies known techniques to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and
known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, the claimed subject matter likely would have been obvious under KSR. KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1741, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Response to Arguments
101
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
(1)Applicant argues the claim(s) do not recite a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea).
Applicant’s claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea.
Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity
The claimed invention is directed to certain methods of organizing human activity.
Fundamental economic principles or practices relate to the economy and commerce. The claimed invention encompasses fundamental economic principles or practices as it relates to property transactions (e.g., financial costs data for a plurality of properties; plurality of true costs (TC) values for a plurality of properties; visualization data). This interpretation is consistent with the prosecution history of the instant application.
For example, para. [0003] [0035] of applicant’s specification as filed 02/18/25 states:
[0003] In various scenarios, a party may evaluate a number of financial considerations before deciding whether to conduct a property transaction, such as for a transaction to obtain possession of a property. For example, for a prospective buyer determining whether to purchase a real estate property, these financial considerations may include costs relating to a mortgage, property taxes, property insurance, and/or the like. In these various scenarios, having access to a total periodic (e.g., monthly) cost that accurately reflects such financial considerations may be helpful to the party (e.g., the prospective buyer).
[0035] One or more elements of the system 100 may be used to perform one or more operations, such as those described herein, in order to facilitate property transactions for a user 110. In one implementation, and as further described below, the property marketplace platform 120 and the computing devices described herein may be used to: receive user data from the user 110, receive external data from the one or more external data providers 130 for a plurality of properties, determine financing costs data corresponding to the user 110 for the plurality of properties based on the user data and the external data, determine a plurality of TC values for the plurality of properties based on the external data and the financing costs data, filter the plurality of properties based on the plurality of TC values, generate visualization data based on the plurality of TC values and the filtered properties, and/or transmit the visualization data to a computing device (e.g., the computing device 111). Again, while the implementations below are discussed in terms of real estate properties, those skilled in the art will understand that these implementations may also be applicable to any other type of property known in the art.
See also, at least claims 1, 9 and 17 as filed (07/17/26).
The claimed invention encompasses commercial or legal interactions. The claimed invention relates to property transactions (e.g., financial costs data for a plurality of properties; plurality of true costs (TC) values for a plurality of properties; visualization data). Property transactions, in the instant scenario, pertains to agreements in the form of “sales activities or behaviors” and “business relations”.
The claimed invention encompasses managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions (e.g., receiving, tracking, determining, generating, to display, transmitting, etc.).
See also, MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(II).
Mental Processes
The claimed invention is directed to mental processes. The claimed invention encompasses observations, evaluations, judgements and opinions (e.g., “tracking ….. location data associated with the user in real-time ….. ; determining ….. financing costs data for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, and the property financing data, wherein the financing costs data for a respective property corresponds to a value of a periodic financing cost associated with possessing the respective property; determining ….. a plurality of true cost (TC) values for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, the local costs data, and the financing costs data, wherein a respective TC value for the respective property corresponds to a value of a total periodic cost associated with possessing the respective property; generating ….. visualization data based on the location data, the plurality of TC values, and the listings data, wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user, ….. ;”) which are examples of mental processes.
Contrary to applicant’s arguments, the courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid. NOTE: For example, the use of separate, unclaimed devices (i.e., “one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user”) as a tool or aid (e.g., “using one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user”) in the “tracking, by the property marketplace platform, location data associated with the user in real-time using one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user;” limitation as claimed. For example, the use of a separate, unclaimed device (i.e., “user device”) as a tool or aid or aid of a human operator (e.g., “configured to be manipulated by the user”) in the “wherein the one or more interfaces comprise a map interface configured to be manipulated by the user to display a visualization for a subset of the plurality of properties and a subset of the plurality of TC values via the user device” limitation as claimed. Similarly, the courts do not distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. Although claims 1 - 20 suggest the steps or acts occur on a computer (i.e., (a) “property marketplace platform” in method claims 1 - 8; (b) “property marketplace platform” comprising “one or more processors” and “a memory” in property marketplace platform claims 9 - 16; and (c) “non-transitory computer-readable medium” and “computer” in non-transitory computer-readable medium claims 17 - 20), nothing forecloses applicant’s claimed invention from being performed by a human and thus applicant’s claimed invention is still directed to a mental process.
(2)Applicant argues the judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) is integrated into a practical application.
Property transactions are directed to the underlying abstract idea, not the functioning of the computer itself. What applicant is really arguing is the use of a computer as a tool or the benefits of automation itself (e.g., “dynamic and efficient”. See pg. 17 of applicant’s arguments/ remarks as filed 07/17/26).
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception is not
not indicative of integration into a practical application. See also, MPEP § 2106.05(f). Merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea; and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer are not indicative of integration into a practical application. See also, MPEP §2106.05(f).
Many of the features applicant relies upon are “insignificant”. For example, they amount to “necessary data gathering and outputting” (e.g., “receiving, at a property marketplace platform, external data from one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties, wherein the external data comprises listings data, local costs data, property financing data for the plurality of properties, and credit profile data corresponding to a user, and wherein the local costs data comprises data relating to one or more utilities expenses”; and “transmitting, from the property marketplace platform, the visualization data to the user device.”). For example, the limitations are not significant as to impose meaningful limitations on the claim such that it is not nominally or tangentially related to the invention (e.g., “wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user, and wherein the one or more interfaces comprise a map interface configured to be manipulated by the user to display a visualization for a subset of the plurality of properties and a subset of the plurality of TC values via the user device”.). Applicant’s claimed invention is exclusively directed to the “property marketplace platform”/ “non-transitory computer-readable medium” and the intended use of another, unclaimed device (i.e., “user device”) by a human operator (i.e., “user”) is insignificant.
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception is not indicative of integration into a practical application. See also, MPEP §2106.05 (g).
Collecting information (e.g., “receiving, at a property marketplace platform, external data from one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties, wherein the external data comprises listings data, local costs data, property financing data for the plurality of properties, and credit profile data corresponding to a user, and wherein the local costs data comprises data relating to one or more utilities expenses”; and “transmitting, from the property marketplace platform, the visualization data to the user device.”); analyzing it (e.g., “tracking, by the property marketplace platform, location data associated with the user in real-time using one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user; determining, by the property marketplace platform, financing costs data for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, and the property financing data, wherein the financing costs data for a respective property corresponds to a value of a periodic financing cost associated with possessing the respective property; determining, by the property marketplace platform, a plurality of true cost (TC) values for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, the local costs data, and the financing costs data, wherein a respective TC value for the respective property corresponds to a value of a total periodic cost associated with possessing the respective property; generating, by the property marketplace platform, visualization data based on the location data, the plurality of TC values, and the listings data, wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user, …..”); and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (e.g., “….. wherein the one or more interfaces comprise a map interface configured to be manipulated by the user to display a visualization for a subset of the plurality of properties and a subset of the plurality of TC values via the user device;”) merely indicates a field of use or technical environment in which to apply the judicial exception.
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use is not indicative of integration into a practical application. See also, MPEP §2106.05 (h).
(3)Applicant argues the claimed invention provides an inventive concept (i.e., The claim(s) include additional elements, or combinations of elements, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea)).
Applicant argues the claimed invention is not “well-understood, routine, and conventional”.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element(s) in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Furthermore, the additional element(s) under STEP 2A Prong 2 have been evaluated in STEP 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine conventional activity in the field. Applicant’s specification as filed 02/18/25 does not provide any indication that a “property marketplace platform” is anything other than a generic off-the-shelf computer components. Furthermore, the prosecution history of the instant application provides Callow, US Pub. No. 2010/0145828; Hailey, US Pub. No. 2022/0005134; Haynes, US Pub. No. 2015/0332417; Medawar, US Pub. No. 2006/0089842; and Gokhale, US Pub. No. 2016/0335695 operating in a similar environment, suggesting performing tasks such as (a) data receipt/ transmission (e.g., “receiving”, transmitting”, etc. step(s) as claimed); (b) data processing (e.g., “tracking”, “determining”, “generating”, etc. step(s) as claimed); and (c) data display (e.g., “to display”, etc. step(s) as claimed) are well understood, routine and conventional. Furthermore, the courts have recognized that computer functions or tasks analogous to those claimed by applicant (a) data receipt/ transmission (e.g., “receiving”, transmitting”, etc. step(s) as claimed); (b) data processing (e.g., “tracking”, “determining”, “generating”, etc. step(s) as claimed); and (c) data display (e.g., “to display”, etc. step(s) as claimed are well understood, routine and conventional. Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs and buySAFE court decisions cited in MPEP § 2106.05(D) (ii) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as here). Flook, Bancorp court decisions cited in MPEP § 2106.05(D) (ii) indicate performing repetitive calculations is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as here). SAP America Inc. v. Investpic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016 USPQ2d 1638 (Fed Cir. 2018) (displaying and disseminating financial information) and Intellectual Ventures 1 LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA) (advanced internet interface providing user display access of customized web pages) indicate displaying information is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as here). Accordingly, a conclusion that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.
For these reasons, there is no invention concept in the claim(s), and thus the claim(s) are ineligible.
Dependent claims 2 - 8 are rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 based on a rationale similar to the claims from which they depend.
Alice Corp. also establishes that the same analysis should be used for all categories of claims (e.g., product and process claims). Therefore, independent property marketplace platform claim 9 and independent non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 17 is/are also rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 for substantially the same reasons as the method claims. The component(s) (e.g., “one or more processors”, “a memory”) described in independent property marketplace platform claim 9 and the component(s) (e.g., “non-transitory computer-readable medium”, “computer”) recited in independent non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 17, add nothing of substance to the underlying abstract idea. At best, the product(s) (property marketplace platform; non-transitory computer-readable medium) recited in the claim(s) are merely providing an environment to implement the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 10 - 16 and 18 - 20 are rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 based on a rationale similar to the claims from which they depend.
(4)Applicant argues preemption or that there is not a monopoly on the alleged ‘judicial exception’.
With regard to preemption, the issue comes down to whether the claim is directed to an abstract idea and does it fail the Mayo/Alice step one and step two analysis.
In the instant case, the claims are directed to the concept of receiving, at a property marketplace platform, external data from one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties, wherein the external data comprises listings data, local costs data, property financing data for the plurality of properties, and credit profile data corresponding to a user, and wherein the local costs data comprises data relating to one or more utilities expenses; tracking, by the property marketplace platform, location data associated with the user in real-time using one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user; determining, by the property marketplace platform, financing costs data for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, and the property financing data, wherein the financing costs data for a respective property corresponds to a value of a periodic financing cost associated with possessing the respective property; determining, by the property marketplace platform, a plurality of true cost (TC) values for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, the local costs data, and the financing costs data, wherein a respective TC value for the respective property corresponds to a value of a total periodic cost associated with possessing the respective property; generating, by the property marketplace platform, visualization data based on the location data, the plurality of TC values, and the listings data, wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user, and wherein the one or more interfaces comprise a map interface configured to be manipulated by the user to display a visualization for a subset of the plurality of properties and a subset of the plurality of TC values via the user device; and
transmitting, from the property marketplace platform, the visualization data to the user device which is similar to other (e.g., certain methods of organizing human activity, mental processes) found to be abstract ideas.
The fact that the claims do not preempt all ways of receiving, at a property marketplace platform, external data from one or more external data systems for a plurality of properties, wherein the external data comprises listings data, local costs data, property financing data for the plurality of properties, and credit profile data corresponding to a user, and wherein the local costs data comprises data relating to one or more utilities expenses; tracking, by the property marketplace platform, location data associated with the user in real-time using one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user; determining, by the property marketplace platform, financing costs data for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, and the property financing data, wherein the financing costs data for a respective property corresponds to a value of a periodic financing cost associated with possessing the respective property; determining, by the property marketplace platform, a plurality of true cost (TC) values for the plurality of properties based on the location data, the listings data, the local costs data, and the financing costs data, wherein a respective TC value for the respective property corresponds to a value of a total periodic cost associated with possessing the respective property; generating, by the property marketplace platform, visualization data based on the location data, the plurality of TC values, and the listings data, wherein the visualization data is configured for use in generating one or more interfaces for the user device associated with the user, and wherein the one or more interfaces comprise a map interface configured to be manipulated by the user to display a visualization for a subset of the plurality of properties and a subset of the plurality of TC values via the user device; and transmitting, from the property marketplace platform, the visualization data to the user device in a particular setting does not make them any less abstract. See buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (collecting cases); Accenture, 728 F.3d at 1345.
Therefore, based on the two-part Alice Corp. analysis, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the exception (i.e., abstract idea) into a patent eligible application.
112
Withdrawn in light of applicant’s arguments and/ or amendments.
Prior Art
Applicant argues the prior art fails to explicitly disclose, “tracking, by the property marketplace platform, location data associated with the user in real-time using one or more satellite navigation systems and a user device associated with the user;”
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues the prior art fails to explicitly disclose, “wherein the one or more interfaces comprise a map interface configured to be manipulated by the user to display a visualization for a subset of the plurality of properties and a subset of the plurality of TC values via the user device”.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SARA CHANDLER HAMILTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3695
/SARA C HAMILTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3695