DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/271520, filed on 2/25/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 6/4/2025 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 2/18/2025 are accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,262,224. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applications are broader in every instance when compared to the patented claims.
Representative mapping for the claims below.
Instant Claim 19
Claim 1
A method of operating a user equipment (UE) configured for use with a communications network, the method comprising:
A method of operating a user equipment (UE) configured for use with a communications network, the method comprising:
recording measurement data relating to a network performance characteristic of the communications network over a measurement period,
recording, over a measurement period, measurement data from the UE, the measurement data relating to a network performance characteristic of the communications network associated with the measurement period,
wherein the network performance characteristic is a characteristic associated with the performance of the communication network
wherein the network performance characteristic is a characteristic associated with the performance of the communication network
determining a data usage level for the UE for the measurement period, the data usage level being an indication of the amount of data transmitted and/or received by the UE from the communications network during the measurement period
determining a data usage level for the UE for the measurement period, the data usage level being an indication of the amount of data transmitted and/or received by the UE from the communications network during the measurement period
receiving a plurality of data usage profiles, each data usage profile being associated with a different application of a plurality of applications on the UE and comprising an expected data usage from prior periods in which the application is known to have been in use either on the UE or another device
comparing the data usage level for the UE with an expected data usage for each of a plurality of data usage profiles, each data usage profile being associated with a different application on the UE, and selecting the application with an associated data usage profile that has an expected data usage that corresponds to the data usage level for the UE
comparing the data usage level for the UE for the measurement period with each of the plurality of data usage profiles, and determining which of the plurality applications on the UE has an associated data usage profile that corresponds to the determined data usage level for the UE over the measurement period
associating the determined application with the network performance characteristic, wherein associating the determined application with the network performance characteristic comprises assessing the performance of the communications network using the network performance characteristic and the associated data usage profile of the determined application
assessing the performance of the communications network using the network performance characteristic and the selected application, and determining whether the assessed performance of the communications network indicates a possible fault in the communications network
determining, based on the associated data usage profile of the determined application, whether the assessed performance of the communications network is a consequence of a possible fault in the communications network
Instant claims 20-21 are broader than patented claims 2-4.
Instant claim 22 is broader than patented claims 5 and 6.
Instant claim 23 is broader than patented claims 7 and 8.
Instant claims 24-30 are broader than patented claims 9-15.
Instant claim 31 is broader than patented claim 16.
Instant claims 32-33 are broader than patented claim 1.
Instant claim 34 is broader than patented claims 2 and 3.
Instant claim 35 is broader than patented claims 1 and 5.
Instant claim 36 is broader than patented claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Müller et al. (US-9,471,467 hereinafter, Müller).
Regarding claim 32, Müller teaches a method of operating a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1 [2]) configured for use with a communications network (Fig. 1 [8]), the method comprising:
measuring a parameter (Col. 5 lines 58-62) associated with the performance of the communication network over a measurement period; (Fig. 4 and Col. 5 lines 34-62)
determining an application on the UE that was in communication with the communications network during the measurement period; (Col. 1 lines 34-55 and Col. 15 lines 24-30 i.e. testing/evaluating a specific application) and
assessing the performance of the communications network using the measured parameter and a set of stored characteristics of the application on the UE. (Col. 15 lines 38-41)
Regarding claim 37, Müller teaches wherein determining the application on the UE that was in communication with the communications network during the measurement period comprises receiving an indication from the communications network of the application on the UE that was in communication with the communications network during the measurement period. (Fig. 2 [7] Application Development Device provides the App to the test wireless terminal Fig. 2 [2’], see Col. 4 line 56 through Col. 5 line 33)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Müller in view of Knight et al. (GB-2507300-A hereinafter, Knight).
Regarding claim 33, Müller teaches the limitations of claim 32 above, but differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting determining whether the assessed performance of the communications network indicates a possible fault in the communications network.
In an analogous art, Knight teaches a network performance monitoring and fault detection method (Abstract) that includes determining whether the assessed performance of the communications network indicates a possible fault in the communications network. (Page 3 lines 1-7 and Page 2 lines 1-5)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Müller after modifying it to incorporate the ability to determine whether there is a fault in the communications network of Knight since traditional embedded alarm systems in nodes or links in a telecommunications network can be costly to implement and limited to providing information on a specific node/link and any opportunity to increase efficiency is welcome from a network operator standpoint. (Knight Page 1 lines 6-19)
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Müller as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Zalmanovitch et al. (US-2013/0198374 hereinafter, Zalmanovitch).
Regarding claim 34, Müller teaches the limitations of claim 32 above, but differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting wherein the application on the UE is a recently active application, and wherein the recently active application closed during or after the measurement period.
In an analogous art, Zalmanovitch teaches on device attribution of network usage data (Abstract) that includes the application on the UE is a recently active application, and wherein the recently active application closed during or after the measurement period. (Page 5 [0050])
Before the effect filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Müller after modifying it to incorporate the ability to identify recently active applications from a list of recently closed applications of Zalmanovitch since recent transmissions are mostly likely generated from recently used/closed applications. (Zalmanovitch Page 5 [0050])
Claims 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Müller as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Zalmanovitch et al. (US-2013/0196616 hereinafter, Zalmanovitch2).
Regarding claim 35, Müller teaches wherein determining the application on the UE that was in communication with the communications network during the measurement period comprises:
determining a data usage level for the UE over the measurement period. (Col. 5 lines 58-62)
Müller differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting associating an application on the UE with the determined data usage level based on an expected data usage for the application corresponding to the determined usage level.
In an analogous art, Zalmanovitch2 teaches creating data usage profiles for users and applications based on network data usage (Abstract) that includes receiving a plurality of data usage profiles (Page 3 [0031]), each data usage profile being associated with a different application of a plurality of applications on the UE (Page 3 [0030]) and comprising an expected data usage from prior periods in which the application is known to have been in use either on the UE or another device (Page 3 [0030] “consumption during particular intervals, etc. associated with one or more of the applications 114”) and
determining which of the plurality of applications on the UE has an associated data usage profile that corresponds to the determined data usage level for the UE over the measurement period. (Page 4 [0050] “Comparing includes, for example, matching or correlating the calculated data usage statistics 120 associated with each of the applications 114 with the data usage statistics 120 associated with the application data usage profiles 121 to identify one of the application data usage profiles 121 corresponding to each of the applications 114.”)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Müller after modifying it to incorporate the ability to use data usage profiles to determine which application is responsible for data usage and to correlate that information with network performance characteristics of Zalmanovitch2 since it enables identifying how much data is being consumed when a specific application is used, where it is being consumed and the time of day it is typically consumed in order to be able to provide users selecting a wireless network plan with actual data usage statistics for specific applications. (Zalmanovitch2 Page 4 [0052] and Page 5 [0060])
Regarding claim 36, Müller in view of Zalmanovitch2 teaches wherein the determination of the data usage level for the UE over the measurement period is based on measurement data associated with communication between the UE and the communications network over the measurement period. (Müller Figs. 3-5 and Col. 5 lines 34-62)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-10,491,459 to Andreas et al. which discloses a UE that has the capability to perform adaptive self-executing diagnostic tests which can be reported to the network to find faults. (Abstract and Col. 8 line 47 through Col. 9 line 24)
/Matthew C Sams/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646