Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12.436.620 as shown in the chart below. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are covering essentially the same subject matter. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant application (19/056.681) claim
US Patent 12.259.750 claim
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…third optical elements are surrounding by the first transparent region…” should read “surrounded by” for purposes of clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adachi (US 2018.0012942).
Regarding claim 1, Adachi disclose:
A display device, comprising: a first optical element, a second optical element and a third optical element, wherein the second optical element has a first edge extending along a first direction and a second edge extending along a second direction different from the first direction, the first optical element is disposed adjacent to the first edge, and the third optical element is disposed adjacent to the second edge; and a first transparent region, a second transparent region, a third transparent region and a fourth transparent region, wherein the first optical element, the second optical element and the third optical element are surrounding by the first transparent region, the second transparent region, the third transparent region and the fourth transparent region; wherein areas of the first transparent region, the second transparent region, the third transparent region and the fourth transparent region are greater than areas of the first optical element, the second optical element and the third optical element (see Fig. 6; [0046, 0050-0052]; first optical element LG; second optical element LR third optical element LB; first transparent region M11; second transparent region M13; third transparent region M12; fourth transparent region M14 surrounding LG, LR and LB; where M11, M12, M13, and M14 areas are greater than the areas of LG, LR, and LB).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Adachi further disclose:
the first transparent region, the first optical element, the second optical element and the third transparent region are arranged along the second direction (see Fig. 6; [0046, 0050-0052]; M11, LG, LR, M12 arranged along second direction X)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Adachi further disclose:
the second transparent region, the second optical element, the third optical element and the fourth transparent region are arranged along the first direction (see Fig. 6; [0046, 0050-0052]; M13, LR, LB, M14 arranged along first direction Y)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Adachi further disclose:
a sum of a width of the first optical element in the second direction and a width of the second optical element in the second direction is smaller than a width of the second transparent region in the second direction (see Fig. 6; [0046, 0050-0052]; sum of width of LG and LR smaller than width of M13 in second direction X)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Adachi further disclose:
a sum of a width of the first optical element in the second direction and a width of the second optical element in the second direction is smaller than a width of the fourth transparent region in the second direction (see Fig. 6; [0046, 0050-0052]; sum of width of LG and LR smaller than width of M14 in second direction X)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Adachi further disclose:
a sum of a width of the second optical element in the first direction and a width of the third optical element in the first direction is smaller than a width of the first transparent region in the first direction (see Fig. 6; [0046, 0050-0052]; sum of width of LR and LB smaller than width of M11 in first direction Y)
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Adachi further disclose:
a sum of a width of the second optical element in the first direction and a width of the third optical element in the first direction is smaller than a width of the third transparent region in the first direction (see Fig. 6; [0046, 0050-0052]; sum of width of LR and LB smaller than width of M12 in first direction Y)
Conclusion
/kenneth bukowski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621