DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in DE on 9/14/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the DE10 2022 123 547.5 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heating device” in claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in step B) first recitation of “reactor chamber” disagrees with all subsequent recitations of “the reaction chamber” recited in the claims; for purposes of consistency the first recitation should be “reaction chamber”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-20, in claim 1 (recited twice in step A) and B) respectively), 2 (recited 3 times) and 5, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination these limitations are treated as optional.
Regarding claims 1-20, in claim 1, step C), recitation “residence time of the bulk material” lacks specificity as to where the residence time is, reciting “residence time of the bulk material in the reaction chamber” would overcome this rejection.
Regarding claims 15-16, each claim recites “carried out in a reaction chamber” however claim 1 already recites this limitation, therefore each instance should recite “the reaction chamber” to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hornung et al (WO 2018/036839, with reference made to translation provided 2/18/2025) taken in combination with Paganessi et al (US 2010/0275514).
Regarding claim 1, Hornung teaches method for producing pyrolysis oil, pyrolysis gas and pyrolysis coke (title, abstract claim 1) having the following steps: A) Providing a starting material substantially comprising biomass, in particular in the form of pieces (see claim 1, 9, and P7); B) Supplying the starting material to a pyrolysis reactor ; C) Thermally treating the starting material in the pyrolysis reactor substantially in the absence of oxygen by means of at least one heating device for the reactor chamber, wherein the pyrolysis coke, the pyrolysis gases and the pyrolysis vapors are formed from the starting material to be pyrolyzed and wherein the bulk material, the pyrolysis gases and the pyrolysis vapors are guided through the reaction chamber from top to bottom, wherein the movement of the bulk material through the reaction chamber is caused substantially by gravity and the movement of the pyrolysis gases and the pyrolysis vapors through the reaction chamber is caused substantially by gas pressure building up due to the thermal treatment of the starting material; and wherein the thermal treatment takes place at least at a first temperature level of 300 to 650 C and subsequently at a second temperature level of 450 to 900 C that is higher than the first temperature level, wherein the residence time of the bulk material is 1 to 1200 minutes (abstract, claim 1, stages C and D); D) Separating the pyrolysis gases and pyrolysis vapors via an outlet arranged in the lower region of the pyrolysis reactor and separating the pyrolysis coke via a discharge device arranged in the lower region of the pyrolysis reactor and optionally providing pyrolysis oil by proportional condensation of the separated pyrolysis gas (page 7, “condensable components”).
However, Hornung is silent to the pyrolysis unit having a substantially vertically arranged reaction chamber, wherein the reactor chamber is substantially tubular, in particular substantially cylindrical and/or substantially conical, wherein the starting material is supplied in the upper region of the pyrolysis reactor so that a bed of bulk material that comprises the starting material to be pyrolyzed and optionally the pyrolysis coke is present in the reaction chamber
Paganessi teaches a biomass gasification/pyrolysis system and method of use of the system (title, abstract), Paganessi teaches the system and use of the system comprises biomass gasify/pyrolysis unit 10, comprising reactor 12, and bulk hopper 16 with feeding screw 18 to top of reactor 12 that is gravity fed the reactor being a gravity fed tube 14, having a plurality of heating elements 22 forming heating zones 1-3 , and if multiple tubes 14 are used may be used with the elements horizontally (Fig 1, [0014-0016]), the reactor may be configured as pyrolysis with heating zone around 350, a pyrolysis zone from 800C up to 1100C and ash forming zone 3 ([0021]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reactor of Hornung with the reactor taught by Paganessi and arrive at the pyrolysis unit having a substantially vertically arranged reaction chamber, wherein the reactor chamber is substantially tubular, in particular substantially cylindrical and/or substantially conical, wherein the starting material is supplied in the upper region of the pyrolysis reactor so that a bed of bulk material that comprises the starting material to be pyrolyzed and optionally the pyrolysis coke is present in the reaction chamber as substantially taught and suggested by Paganessi because both Paganessi and Hornung substantially teach staged pyrolysis reaction methods and the expected result of increasing pyrolysis temperatures would be achieved in Paganessi with a vertical reactor therefore having a smaller footprint.
Regarding claim 2, Paganessi teaches the reactor pressure are plugged via feed and exit augers [0024].
Regarding claim 3, Hornung further teaches the residence time of vapors (claim 13).
Regarding claim 4, Hornung has taught the temperature differences between stages (claim 1).
Regarding claims 5-7, Paganessi has taught having a plurality of heating elements 22 forming heating zones 1-3 , and if multiple tubes 14 are used may be used with the elements horizontally (Fig 1, [0014-0016,0021])
Regarding claim 8 and 10-11, Paganessi further teaches biomass may be lignocellulosic [0002] which have water content that can be measured and determining shredding size would be routine optimization (further see Hornung claims 9-10).
Regarding claim 12 and 15-16, in modified Hornung, as set forth above, one having ordinary skill in the art would be expected to scale up and down the diameter system and determine optimum feed rates through routine experimentation based upon changes in size and shape, see MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 13, Paganessi teaches feed and exit augers [0018].
Regarding claim 14, Paganessi teaches reactor heating jackets 22 (Fig 1, [0016]).
Regarding claim 17, Paganessi teaches reactor heating jackets 22 may be associated with multiple tubes 14 (Fig 1, [0016]).
Regarding claims 18-19, Hornung has substantially taught overlapping temperatures ranges with those claimed as set forth above.
Regarding claims 18-19, Hornung has substantially taught residence time with those claimed as set forth above.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hornung et al (WO 2018/036839, with reference made to translation provided 2/18/2025) taken in combination with Paganessi et al (US 2010/0275514) as applied above and further in combination with Green (US 6,830,597).
Regarding claim 9, modified Hornung teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Hornung does not teach the starting material of 85% biomass and 10-15% plastics or soil materials.
Green teaches a process and system for pyrolysis of feedstock in a vertically oriented reactor tube (title, abstract, fig 1), Green teaches the system is preferable for biomass and small percentages of, fore example plastic chips may be co-processed as a secondary feed (C3:L1-34).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hornung in view of Green to co-process plastic chips with the biomass of modified Hornung and arrive at instantly claimed ranges through use of plastic chips as a secondary feed as suggested by Green to use added value functions.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Janning (US 4,203,804) teaches a pyrolysis method. Saito (US 4,584,421) teaches a pyrolysis method. Schmalfeld (US 5,584,970) teaches a pyrolysis method. Rongved (US 5,628,260) teaches a pyrolysis method. Horn (US 2011/0083953) teaches a pyrolysis method. Zhu (US 2013/0126330) teaches a pyrolysis method. Balint (US 8,475,726) teaches a pyrolysis method. Falco (US 2023/0374389) teaches a pyrolysis method.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772