Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a means of engagement” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, there is no support on the written description for this term. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claim limitation “means of engagement” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite. The recitation of “softer material” is a relative term of degree that does not provide a clear boundary for the claimed subject matter because it is unclear what the material is being compared to or what level or softness is required. As a result, the scope of the claim cannot be determined by reasonable certainty and deemed indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4,5,7-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen et al (US 20150351882 A1) herein after Allen in the view of Filsouf et al (US 7882845 B2) herein after Filsouf.
Regarding claim 1, Allen teaches a dental flossing device for cleaning the teeth of a user, comprising: a pair of handles (Figure 9) interconnected together by a floss (78), wherein each handle of the pair of handles comprises a top body (92) and a bottom body (78) connected together to define a cavity (interior of 100), wherein the bottom body includes a tip (80) with a dispensing hole (can be seen in Figure 8, where the floss is dispensed from the tip 80) to allow dental floss to be dispensed there through;
A floss cartridge (10) inside the cavity to store and selectively release the floss through the dispensing hole, wherein the floss cartridge (10) Actuator button (94), configured at the top body.
However, Allen does not explicitly teach a floss spool and the winding and unwinding of the spool to change the tension of the floss.
Filsouf teaches a dental floss containing a floss spool (200) and a push level (166) to selectively wind, and unwind a predetermined length of floss; and a spool rest (186) positioned inside the cavity (cavity in cylinder 104) and configured for guiding the floss, supporting the floss spool (200), and allowing for winding and unwinding of floss relative to the floss spool (Column 8, lines 30-35, winding and unwinding mechanism, Figure 5,6).
The primary reference (Allen) can be modified by including the spool (200) and the winding and unwinding mechanism as taught by Filsouf in to the cavity (100) contacting the actuator button (94) and the floss cartridge (10).
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have a better tension controlling mechanism in the floss.
Regarding claim 2, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, wherein the floss is made of a flexible material selected from at least synthetic waxed nylon, Teflon, and silk (Page 1, Paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, wherein the bottom body (78) comprising: a tip (80) with a dispensing hole (Floss dispensing holes at the tip 80, Figure 1) to allow dental floss to pass through. However, does not teach the floss spool feeding channel and a guide boss.
Filsouf teaches a floss spool (200); a floss feed through channel (6); and a guide boss (156) as in Figure 6.
The floss spool (200) feeding channel (6) and the guide members can be incorporated in to the cavity (100) of the dental floss taught by Allen. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have better guiding mechanism of the floss through the cavity to have better control of tension changes.
Regarding claim 5, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, wherein the tapered end of the tip (80 tip parts, 81 and 82) is rounded to avoid damage to the floss (seen in Figure 8), and damage to the user's gingival tissue (Page 8, paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 7, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, further comprising a clip-on attachment (68) the head portion of the tip which is attached to the floss cartridge
configured to re-direct the floss as the floss leaves the tip portion to permit flossing under a wire when orthodontic brackets and wires are in place (Page 6, Paragraph [0070], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 8, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, wherein the actuator button (94) is depressible and configured at the top of the top body (96). However, does not teach selectively wind and unwind the predetermined length of floss.
Filsouf teaches a dental floss with selectively wind and unwind the predetermined length of floss (Page 8, lines 30-35, Figure 5,6).
The winding and unwinding mechanism using the gears (Figures 5,6) taught by Filsouf can be incorporated in to the cavity (100) consisting the actuator button of the dental floss taught by Allen. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have better control of tension changes to the floss.
Regarding claim 9, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, wherein the top body (96) of each of the handle comprises an ergonomically designed gripping portion (14,16, page 4 paragraph [0046]) to allow the users to grip the top body using their hands.
Regarding claim 10, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, wherein the top body and the bottom body are removably connected, however, does not explicitly stated how they are connected. Allen further teaches connection mechanisms such as magnets, hooks and clips (Page 7, column 1, Paragraph [0076], lines 17-19) in order to couple the floss handles and floss cartridge portion. The connection mechanism taught by Allen can be incorporated in to the connecting mechanism for the top and bottom body. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have better connections between the parts.
Regarding claim 11, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, however does not teach the spool and the floss guiding elements to unwind the floss.
Filsouf teaches a floss spool (200) comprises a plurality of guides (168) to enable rotation of the spool by a predetermined distance when the actuator button (166) is actuated either to wind or unwind the floss (Column 8, lines 30-35, winding and unwinding mechanism).
The spool (200) and floss guides / gears (168) taught by Filsouf can be included in the handle cavity (100) of dental floss taught by Allen. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have better floss guiding through the cavity and therefore better control of tension of the floss.
Regarding claim 12, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 10 consisting an actuator button (94), however does not teach depth and number of guides are adjustable to alter the predetermined distance of floss that's unwinded or winded up with pressing of the actuator button.
Filsouf teaches a floss wherein the depth and number of guides (168) are adjustable to alter the predetermined distance of floss that's unwinded or winded up with pressing of the actuator button (166) (Column 6, lines 10-15).
The adjustable distances using the number of guides as taught by Filsouf can be included in the cavity (100) consisting a button (94) in Allen. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have improve floss winding and unwinding and therefore better control of tension of the floss.
Regarding claim 13, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, wherein the floss cartridge (10) is configured to engage with the floss (78) utilizing a means of engagement that connects a hole (the top cavity/hole of 93) located on a central shaft (93) of the floss spool (Figure 8). However, Allen does not explicitly teach a floss spool. Filsouf teaches a floss spool (200) that the floss can be unwinded or winded (Page 6, lines 10-15).
The floss spool (200) taught by Filsouf can be included in the cavity (100) above the actuator button (94) of the flosser taught by Allen. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have improve floss winding and unwinding and therefore better control of tension of the floss.
Regarding claim 14, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach a spring-based action in spooling. Filsouf teaches a spring (170) positioned between the spool rest (186) and the floss spool (200) inside the cavity (104), wherein the spring (130) is adapted to deliver the necessary force to counter the force exerted when the actuator button (166) is depressed, and effectively causes spooling of the floss as the floss spool (200) engages with the actuator; and a washer (160) placed on one or both ends of the spring (170) to allow for free movement and rotation of spring during the action of spooling.
The washer (160) and the spring (170) used for the unwinding of the floss taught by Filsouf can be incorporated into the cavity (100) of the dental floss of Allen. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have improve floss winding and unwinding to have better control of the floss tension by the user.
Regarding claim 15, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, wherein the floss cartridge: a central shaft (106) that centrally supports the floss cartridge (10);a circular wall (wall of 92) that acts as a base for floss, wherein the circular wall (92) comprises a floss feed through a hole (as shown in Figure 12), and a guide pocket (the top part of 93);a guiding element (the cylindrical part that makes up cavity 100) for the floss along the spool rest, wherein the guiding element comprises an opening (100);a plurality of anti-tilt support walls (walls of 104) that support the placement of the floss cartridge (10); and wherein the central shaft (93), the guiding element, and the plurality of anti-tilt support walls extend from the circular wall (as seen in Figure 12).
However, Allen does not explicitly teach a floss spool, whereas Filsouf does explicitly teach such spool (200) and spool rest (186). The spool taught by Filsouf can be included in the cartridge part (10) of the Allen in order to have better floss tension management. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have improve floss winding and unwinding to have better control of the floss tension by the user.
Regarding claim 16, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, however does not teach a spool rest against the spring and washer connection. Filsouf teaches a floss spool (200) rest against the spring (170) and/or the washer (160) on one end and engages with the actuator (166) at the other end. The spool mechanism containing a spring (170) and washer (160) can be included in floss cavity (100) of the floss cartridge part taught by Allen. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have improve floss winding and unwinding to have better control of the floss tension by the user.
Regarding claim 17, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1 consisting of an actuator button (94) and a floss cartridge (10). However, does not teach a floss spool turns following plurality of guides.
Filsouf teaches a floss wherein the actuator element when pressed, the floss spool turns following the plurality of guides (168) within the top body, and the actuator (110) when released, the floss spool returns to its original position (Column 6, lines 10-15), and the floss spool rotates by a prescribed amount as determined by the guides (168) on the floss spool and within the top body. The spool and the plurality of guides (168) taught by Filsouf can be included in the floss cartridge (10) of the dental floss taught by Allen. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have improve floss winding and unwinding therefore to have better tension controlling mechanism of the floss.
Regarding claim 18, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 15, wherein the floss feed through hole, the guide pocket (top surface of 93), the guide element (93), the opening (top of cavity 100), the floss feed through channel (cavity 100) of the bottom body together collectively define a passage for dispensing the dental floss through a dispensing hole (floss opening, the floss through passage, as in labelled Figures 11,12).
Regarding claim 19, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach how the floss is tied around the openings.
Filsouf teaches the floss is guided and threaded between and through the various parts of each of the handles using a floss threader (300, Figure 9).
The threader (300) taught by Filsouf can be included in the floss thread (90) of Allen as a way to connect the floss to the openings. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have improved way of connecting the floss to the openings of the floss cavity.
Regarding claim 20, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1, wherein the handles are configured to allow for winding the floss (Figure 1 shows how device is used) in opposite directions (Page 1, Abstract, lines 2-3).
Regrading claim 21, Allen teaches a dental flossing device for cleaning the teeth of a user, comprising: a pair of handles (Figure 9) interconnected together by a floss (78), wherein each handle of the pair of handles comprises a top body (92) and a bottom body (78) connected together to define a cavity (interior of 100), wherein the bottom body includes a tip (80) with a dispensing hole (can be seen in Figure 8, where the floss is dispensed from the tip 80) to allow dental floss to be dispensed there through;
A floss cartridge (10) inside the cavity to store and selectively release the floss through the dispensing hole, wherein the floss cartridge (10) Actuator button (94), configured at the top body.
However, Allen does not explicitly teach a floss spool and the winding and unwinding of the spool to change the tension of the floss and the floss threader to connect the floss to various parts of the handle.
Filsouf teaches a dental floss containing a floss spool (200) and a push level (166) to selectively wind, and unwind a predetermined length of floss; and a spool rest (186) positioned inside the cavity (cavity in cylinder 104) and configured for guiding the floss, supporting the floss spool (200), and allowing for winding and unwinding of floss relative to the floss spool (page 8, lines 30-35, winding and unwinding mechanism, Figure 5,6). Filsouf further teaches the floss is guided and threaded between and through the various parts of each of the handles using a floss threader (300, Figure 9).
The primary reference (Allen) can be modified by including the spool (200) and the winding and unwinding mechanism as taught by Filsouf in to the cavity (100) contacting the actuator button (94) and the floss cartridge (10). The threader (300) taught by Filsouf can be included in the floss thread (90) of Allen as a way to connect the floss to the openings.
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have a better tension controlling mechanism in the floss and to have better connections between the floss and the handle openings.
Regarding claim 22, Allen teaches a dental flossing system of claim 21, however does not teach a threader. Filsouf teaches a floss threader (300) is flexible and comprises a knot (304) to which the floss is tied, and an elongated portion (302) that's pulled by the user such that the dental floss is threaded through handle (figure 9). The floss threader (300) with a knot (304) taught by Filsouf can be incorporated in to the floss portion of the dental floss taught by Allen to have better connections between the floss and the handles. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have better connections between the floss and the handle openings.
Regarding claim 23, Allen teaches a dental flossing device for cleaning the teeth of a user, comprising: a pair of handles (Figure 9) interconnected together by a floss (78), wherein each handle of the pair of handles comprises a top body (92) and a bottom body (78) connected together to define a cavity (interior of 100), wherein the bottom body includes a tip (80) with a dispensing hole (can be seen in Figure 8, where the floss is dispensed from the tip 80) to allow dental floss to be dispensed there through;
A floss cartridge (10) inside the cavity to store and selectively release the floss through the dispensing hole, wherein the floss cartridge (10) Actuator button (94), configured at the top body. Allen further teaches a floss case (70, Figure 7).
However, Allen does not explicitly teach a floss spool and the winding and unwinding of the spool to change the tension of the floss and the floss threader to connect the floss to various parts of the handle.
Filsouf teaches a dental floss containing a floss spool (200) and a push level (166) to selectively wind, and unwind a predetermined length of floss; and a spool rest (186) positioned inside the cavity (cavity in cylinder 104) and configured for guiding the floss, supporting the floss spool (200), and allowing for winding and unwinding of floss relative to the floss spool (page 8, lines 30-35, winding and unwinding mechanism, Figure 5,6). Filsouf further teaches the floss is guided and threaded between and through the various parts of each of the handles using a floss threader (300, Figure 9).
The primary reference (Allen) can be modified by including the spool (200) and the winding and unwinding mechanism as taught by Filsouf in to the cavity (100) contacting the actuator button (94) and the floss cartridge (10). The threader (300) taught by Filsouf can be included in the floss thread (90) of Allen as a way to connect the floss to the openings.
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have a better tension controlling mechanism in the floss and to have better connections between the floss and the handle openings.
Regarding claim 24, Allen teaches a dental flossing system of claim 23, wherein the case (70) is at least substantially rectangular, or made narrower at tips and wider at handles to form the shape of candy corn (85, Figure 7).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen et al (US 20150351882 A1) herein after Allen in the view of Filsouf et al (US 7882845 B2) herein after Filsouf as in claim 1, in the further view of Lu et al (US20160361148A1) herein after Lu.
Regarding claim 3, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1 with a top body (92), and the bottom body (78) are removably connected, however does not explicitly teach a threaded connection. Lu teaches a threaded connection where a tail cap is attached to the housing using this method (Page 1, Paragraph [0010]). The threaded connection taught by Lu can be included between the top (92) and bottom (78) body of the flosser taught by Allen. A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have a better connection between the parts.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen et al (US 20150351882 A1) herein after Allen in the view of Filsouf et al (US 7882845 B2) herein after
Filsouf as in claim 1, in the further view of Asiri et al (US11963835B1) herein after Asiri.
Regarding claim 6, Allen teaches a dental flossing device of claim 1 containing a tip (80), however, does not teach explicitly wherein the tip made out of softer material.
Asiri teaches a cap of a dental flosser made out of a softer material (Column1, lines 65-66).
The caps made by softer material of Asiri can be incorporated into the tips (80) of the dental flosser of Allen in order to have more comfortable when flossing for gums and teeth if contacted (Column 2, line 20). A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) in order to have better comfort for gums when flossing.
Conclusion
/SARA N SAMARASEKARA/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772