DETAILED ACTION
Product by process limitations
Product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (See MPEP § 2113)
Claim 9 recites: “… is formed…”, this limitations are subject to product by process analysis.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because “the first and second direction pressure vessels” in lines 9-10 should be --the first direction pressure vessel and the second direction pressure vessel--.
Claim 7 is objected to because “the flow of thermal fluid” in line 3 should be --a flow of thermal fluid--.
Claim 17 is objected to because “the first and second direction pressure vessels” in lines 9-10 should be --the first direction pressure vessel and the second direction pressure vessel--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“thermal fluid member” in claims 1, 6-7, and 17 -- “…the thermal fluid member 202 may be one or more of a lubrication oil system, a cooled cooling air system, an electronics cooling system, etc... Alternatively, the thermal fluid member 202 may be an intermediate heat exchanger configured to thermally connect to such a system, and may circulate an intermediate thermal fluid through the duct system 206.” (Para 67 of instant specification);
“heat exchange members” in claims 1-2, 5, 12, and 17-18 -- “…heat exchange members 210…” (see Figs. 2-3 and Para 68 of instant disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (U.S. 2019/0024989).
Re claim 1:
Wilson discloses a gas turbine engine (10, gas turbine engine…a high-bypass turbofan jet engine - Para 31) defining a reference plane (see Figs. 1 and 3 at A and R, and Para 31), the gas turbine engine (10) comprising:
a thermal management system (see Figs. 1-3, at 100, 102, 104, 106, and Para 39) having a thermal fluid member (Para 39 - “…a compressor bleed port 106. In this manner, for example, hot, compressed air may be bled off of HP compressor 24 and passed through heat exchanger assembly 100 where it is cooled by first portion of air 62 flowing through bypass airflow passage 56. The cooled air may then be recirculated into core engine 16 through return lines 104 or used for any other suitable purpose …”) having a flow of thermal fluid (Para 39 - “…compressed air…”) therethrough during operation of the gas turbine engine (10)(see Figs. 1-3 and Para 39) and a heat exchanger assembly (100, heat exchanger assembly - Para 39), the heat exchanger assembly (100) comprising:
a core section (110, heat exchanger core - Para 58) comprising a plurality of heat exchange members (112, heat exchange tubes - Para 58)(see Figs. 3-4, and 7); and
a heat exchange manifold (130, header - Para 61) comprising a first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize each of elements A and B as types of first direction pressure vessels; elements A and B correspond to the first and second flow areas referenced in Para 68)) in fluid communication with the thermal fluid member (at 106)(see Figs. 1-2 and Modified Fig. 6 and Paras 39 and 68) and a second direction pressure vessel (132, first barrel - Para 62; 136, second barrel - Para 62) extending from the first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B)(see Figs 2, 5-6, and Modified Fig. 6 above), the first (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B) and second direction pressure vessels (132, 136) each extending in the reference plane (see Figs. 1 and 3 at A and R)(see Modified Fig. 6 above), the second direction pressure vessel (132, 136) in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B) and with at least one of the plurality of heat exchange members (112)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Fig. 7 and Paras 62 and 68).
Re claim 2:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the second direction pressure vessel (132, 136) is one of a plurality of second direction pressure vessels (132, 136 (each of elements 132 and 136 is a type of second direction pressure vessel as shown in Figs. 5-7 and per description of Para 62)) of the heat exchange manifold (130)(see Figs. 5-7), wherein each of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels (132, 136) extends from the first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B) in the reference plane (see Figs. 1 and 3 at A and R)(see Modified Fig. 6 above), is in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B)( see Modified Fig. 6 above and Fig. 7 and Paras 62 and 68), and is in fluid communication with at least one of the plurality of heat exchange members (112)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Fig. 7 and Paras 62 and 68).
Re claim 3:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the plurality of second direction pressure vessels (132, 136) are further in fluid communication with one another (see Figs. 5-7 and Para 69).
Re claim 4:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the heat exchange manifold (130) comprises a plurality of ribs (144, septum - Para 69 (see Fig. 7 and Para 69)) extending between adjacent second direction pressure vessels of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels (132, 136)(see Figs. 5-7 and Para 69).
Re claim 5:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the plurality of heat exchange members (112) extend normal to the reference plane (see Figs. 1 and 3 at A and R)(see Figs. 3-4, 5, and 7).
Re claim 6:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B) is one of a plurality of first direction pressure vessels (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize each of elements A and B as types of first direction pressure vessels; elements A and B correspond to the first and second flow areas referenced in Para 68)) of the heat exchange manifold (130)(see Modified Fig. 6 above), wherein each of the plurality of first direction pressure vessels (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B) is in parallel fluid communication with the thermal fluid member (at 106)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Figs. 1-3 and 5-6 and Paras 62 and 68).
Re claim 7:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the thermal fluid member (at 106) is a thermal fluid source (Para 39 - “…a compressor bleed port 106. In this manner, for example, hot, compressed air may be bled off of HP compressor 24 and passed through heat exchanger assembly 100 where it is cooled by first portion of air 62 flowing through bypass airflow passage 56. The cooled air may then be recirculated into core engine 16 through return lines 104 or used for any other suitable purpose …”), and wherein the heat exchange manifold (130) is an inlet heat exchange manifold (116/130, header assembly…supply header - Para 61) configured to receive the flow of thermal fluid (see Figs. 1-6 and Para 61 - “…header assembly 130 may be used to distribute a heat exchange fluid to a plurality of heat exchange tubes in any suitable application. For example, as described herein, header assembly 130 may be supply header 116…”), and wherein the heat exchanger assembly (100) further comprises an outlet heat exchange manifold (118/130, header assembly…return header - Para 61) positioned opposite the core section (110) from the inlet heat exchange manifold (116/130)(see Figs. 3-4).
Re claim 8:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the heat exchange manifold (130) is a monolithic component (see Fig. 2, Paras 41 and 61 (element 130 is an element of 100 and element 100 is “to be formed integrally, as a single monolithic component” per Para 41)).
Re claim 9:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 8 (as described above), wherein the heat exchange manifold (130) is formed through additive manufacturing (see Fig. 2, Paras 41 and 61 (element 130 is an element of 100 and element 100 is “formed using an additive-manufacturing process, such as a 3-D printing process” per Para 41)).
Re claim 10:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the heat exchange manifold (130) is a high pressure thermal fluid manifold (see Figs. 1-3 and Para 39 - “…compressed air may be bled off of HP compressor 24…” (elements 116/118 are elements 130 per Para 61)).
Re claim 11:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the gas turbine engine (10) defines an axial direction (A, axial direction - Para 31) and a radial direction (R, radial direction - Para 31), wherein the gas turbine engine (10) comprises an annular flowpath (56, bypass airflow passage - Para 34 (see Figs. 1, 3, and Para 39 (element 100 is shown/described in element 56 and is shown annular in Fig. 3))) having an outer circumferential reference line (Modified Fig. 1 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of outer circumferential reference line along direction R at location C along direction A)) along the radial direction (R) at an axial location (Modified Fig. 1 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of axial location along direction A)) along the axial direction (A) and an inner circumferential reference line (Modified Fig. 1 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of inner circumferential reference line along direction R at location C along direction A)) along the radial direction (R) at the axial location (Modified Fig. 1 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of axial location)), and wherein the heat exchange manifold (130) is positioned at least partially between the outer circumferential reference line (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) and the inner circumferential reference line (Modified Fig. 1 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Figs. 1-3 and Para 39).
Re claim 12:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 11 (as described above), wherein the gas turbine engine (10) defines a circumferential direction (C, circumferential direction - Para 31)(see Figs.1 and 3), and wherein the plurality of heat exchange members (112) extend through the annular flowpath (56) in the circumferential direction (see Figs. 1-4 and Para 39).
Re claim 13:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 12 (as described above), wherein the annular flowpath (56) is a third stream of the gas turbine engine (10)(see Fig. 1 at elements 58, 56, and 64 and Para 35).
Re claim 14:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 11 (as described above), wherein the gas turbine engine (10) further comprises a strut (52, outlet guide vanes - Para 34) extending through the annular flowpath (56)(see Fig. 1) and having an aerodynamic surface (Modified Fig. 1 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of aerodynamic surface)) exposed to the annular flowpath (56)(see Modified Fig. 1 above), wherein the heat exchange manifold (130) is positioned inward of the aerodynamic surface (Modified Fig. 1 above - D) of the strut (52)(see Modified Fig. 1 above).
Re claim 15:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B) is a plenum extension (see Modified Fig. 6 at A, B, and element 140 and Para 62), and wherein the second direction pressure vessel (132, 136) is an offtake extension (see Fig. 5-6 and Para 62).
Re claim 16:
Wilson discloses the gas turbine engine (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the gas turbine engine (10) defines a radial direction (R, radial direction - Para 31) and an axial direction (A, axial direction - Para 31), and wherein the reference plane (see Figs. 1 and 3 at A and R) extends in the radial direction (R) and in the axial direction (A)(see Figs. 1 and 3).
Re claim 17:
Wilson discloses a thermal management system (see Figs. 1-3, at 100, 102, 104, 106, and Para 39) defining a reference plane (see Figs. 1 and 3 at A and R, and Para 31), the thermal management system (100, 102, 104, 106) comprising:
a thermal fluid member (106, compressor bleed port - Para 39) having a flow of thermal fluid (Para 39 - “…hot, compressed air…”) therethrough during operation (see Figs. 1 and 3 and Para 39); and
a heat exchanger assembly (100, heat exchanger assembly - Para 39), the heat exchanger assembly (100) comprising:
a core section (110, heat exchanger core - Para 58) comprising a plurality of heat exchange members (112, heat exchange tubes - Para 58)(see Figs. 3-4, and 7); and
a heat exchange manifold (130, header - Para 61) comprising a first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize each of elements A and B as types of first direction pressure vessels; elements A and B correspond to the first and second flow areas referenced in Para 68)) in fluid communication with the thermal fluid member (at 106)(see Figs. 1-2 and Modified Fig. 6 and Paras 39 and 68) and a second direction pressure vessel (132, first barrel - Para 62; 136, second barrel - Para 62) extending from the first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B)(see Figs 2, 5-6, and Modified Fig. 6 above), the first (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B) and second direction pressure vessels (132, 136) each extending in the reference plane (see Figs. 1 and 3 at A and R)(see Modified Fig. 6 above), the second direction pressure vessel (132, 136) in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B) and with at least one of the plurality of heat exchange members (112)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Fig. 7 and Paras 62 and 68).
Re claim 18:
Wilson discloses the thermal management system (100, 102, 104, 106) of claim 17 (as described above), wherein the second direction pressure vessel (132, 136) is one of a plurality of second direction pressure vessels (132, 136 (each of elements 132 and 136 is a type of second direction pressure vessel as shown in Figs. 5-7 and per description of Para 62)) of the heat exchange manifold (130)(see Figs. 5-7), wherein each of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels (132, 136) extends from the first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B) in the reference plane (see Figs. 1 and 3 at A and R)(see Modified Fig. 6 above), is in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel (Modified Fig. 6 above - A, B)( see Modified Fig. 6 above and Fig. 7 and Paras 62 and 68), and is in fluid communication with at least one of the plurality of heat exchange members (112)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Fig. 7 and Paras 62 and 68).
Re claim 19:
Wilson discloses the thermal management system (100, 102, 104, 106) of claim 18 (as described above), wherein the plurality of second direction pressure vessels (132, 136) are further in fluid communication with one another (see Figs. 5-7 and Para 69).
Re claim 20:
Wilson discloses the thermal management system (100, 102, 104, 106) of claim 18 (as described above), wherein the heat exchange manifold (130) comprises a plurality of ribs (144, septum - Para 69 (see Fig. 7 and Para 69)) extending between adjacent second direction pressure vessels of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels (132, 136)(see Figs. 5-7 and Para 69).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,259,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the 12,259,194 Patent anticipate claims 1-20 of the instant application. Accordingly, application claims 1-20 are not patentably distinct from claims 1-20 of U.S. Pat. No. 12,259,194.
Pat. No. 12,25,194
Application No. 19/056,846
Claim
Claim
1
A gas turbine engine defining a reference plane, the gas turbine engine comprising:
a thermal management system having a thermal fluid member having a flow of thermal fluid therethrough during operation of the gas turbine engine and a heat exchanger assembly, the heat exchanger assembly comprising:
a core section comprising a plurality of heat exchange members; and
a heat exchange manifold comprising a first direction pressure vessel in fluid communication with the thermal fluid member and a second direction pressure vessel extending from the first direction pressure vessel, the first direction pressure vessel and the second direction pressure vessel each extending in the reference plane, the second direction pressure vessel in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel and with at least one of the plurality of heat exchange members, wherein the first direction pressure vessel includes a plurality of first direction pressure vessels wherein the heat exchange manifold defines a single housing including an inlet in direct fluid communication with the thermal fluid member and an outlet in direct fluid communication with the second direction pressure vessel, and wherein the plurality of first direction pressure vessels are between the inlet and the outlet such that each of the plurality of first direction pressure vessels are in direct fluid communication with both of the inlet and the outlet of the single housing
1
A gas turbine engine defining a reference plane, the gas turbine engine comprising:
a thermal management system having a thermal fluid member having a flow of thermal fluid therethrough during operation of the gas turbine engine and a heat exchanger assembly, the heat exchanger assembly comprising:
a core section comprising a plurality of heat exchange members; and
a heat exchange manifold comprising a first direction pressure vessel in fluid communication with the thermal fluid member and a second direction pressure vessel extending from the first direction pressure vessel, the first and second direction pressure vessels each extending in the reference plane, the second direction pressure vessel in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel and with at least one of the plurality of heat exchange members
2
wherein the second direction pressure vessel is one of a plurality of second direction pressure vessels of the heat exchange manifold, wherein each of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels extends from the first direction pressure vessel in the reference plane, is in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel, and is in fluid communication with at least the one of the plurality of heat exchange members
2
wherein the second direction pressure vessel is one of a plurality of second direction pressure vessels of the heat exchange manifold, wherein each of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels extends from the first direction pressure vessel in the reference plane, is in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel, and is in fluid communication with at least one of the plurality of heat exchange members
3
wherein the plurality of second direction pressure vessels are further in fluid communication with one another
3
wherein the plurality of second direction pressure vessels are further in fluid communication with one another
4
wherein the heat exchange manifold comprises a plurality of ribs extending between adjacent second direction pressure vessels of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels
4
wherein the heat exchange manifold comprises a plurality of ribs extending between adjacent second direction pressure vessels of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels
5
wherein the plurality of heat exchange members extend normal to the reference plane.
5
wherein the plurality of heat exchange members extend normal to the reference plane
1
6
wherein the first direction pressure vessel includes a plurality of first direction pressure vessels
wherein each of the plurality of first direction pressure vessels is in parallel fluid communication with the thermal fluid member.
6
wherein the first direction pressure vessel is one of a plurality of first direction pressure vessels of the heat exchange manifold,
wherein each of the plurality of first direction pressure vessels is in parallel fluid communication with the thermal fluid member
7
wherein the thermal fluid member is a thermal fluid source, and wherein the heat exchange manifold is an inlet heat exchange manifold configured to receive the flow of thermal fluid, and wherein the heat exchanger assembly further comprises an outlet heat exchange manifold positioned opposite the core section from the inlet heat exchange manifold.
7
wherein the thermal fluid member is a thermal fluid source, and wherein the heat exchange manifold is an inlet heat exchange manifold configured to receive the flow of thermal fluid, and wherein the heat exchanger assembly further comprises an outlet heat exchange manifold positioned opposite the core section from the inlet heat exchange manifold.
8
wherein the heat exchange manifold is a monolithic component.
8
wherein the heat exchange manifold is a monolithic component.
9
wherein the heat exchange manifold is formed through additive manufacturing.
9
wherein the heat exchange manifold is formed through additive manufacturing.
10
wherein the heat exchange manifold is a high pressure thermal fluid manifold.
10
wherein the heat exchange manifold is a high pressure thermal fluid manifold.
11
wherein the gas turbine engine defines an axial direction and a radial direction, wherein the gas turbine engine comprises an annular flowpath having an outer circumferential reference line along the radial direction at an axial location along the axial direction and an inner circumferential reference line along the radial direction at the axial location, and wherein the heat exchange manifold is positioned at least partially between the outer circumferential reference line and the inner circumferential reference line.
11
wherein the gas turbine engine defines an axial direction and a radial direction, wherein the gas turbine engine comprises an annular flowpath having an outer circumferential reference line along the radial direction at an axial location along the axial direction and an inner circumferential reference line along the radial direction at the axial location, and wherein the heat exchange manifold is positioned at least partially between the outer circumferential reference line and the inner circumferential reference line.
12
wherein the gas turbine engine defines a circumferential direction, and wherein the plurality of heat exchange members extend through the annular flowpath in the circumferential direction.
12
wherein the gas turbine engine defines a circumferential direction, and wherein the plurality of heat exchange members extend through the annular flowpath in the circumferential direction.
13
wherein the annular flowpath is a third stream of the gas turbine engine.
13
wherein the annular flowpath is a third stream of the gas turbine engine.
14
wherein the gas turbine engine further comprises a strut extending through the annular flowpath and having an aerodynamic surface exposed to the annular flowpath, wherein the heat exchange manifold is positioned inward of the aerodynamic surface of the strut.
14
wherein the gas turbine engine further comprises a strut extending through the annular flowpath and having an aerodynamic surface exposed to the annular flowpath, wherein the heat exchange manifold is positioned inward of the aerodynamic surface of the strut.
15
wherein the first direction pressure vessel is a plenum extension, wherein the second direction pressure vessel is an offtake extension, wherein the offtake extension defines a plurality of apertures arranged lengthwise along the offtake extension, and wherein the plurality of apertures are fluidly coupled to the plurality of heat exchange members of the core section of the heat exchanger assembly.
15
wherein the first direction pressure vessel is a plenum extension, and wherein the second direction pressure vessel is an offtake extension.
16
wherein the gas turbine engine defines a radial direction and an axial direction, and wherein the reference plane extends in the radial direction and in the axial direction.
16
wherein the gas turbine engine defines a radial direction and an axial direction, and wherein the reference plane extends in the radial direction and in the axial direction.
17
A thermal management system defining a reference plane, the thermal management system comprising:
a thermal fluid member having a flow of thermal fluid therethrough during operation; and
a heat exchanger assembly, the heat exchanger assembly comprising:
a core section comprising a plurality of heat exchange members; and
a heat exchange manifold comprising a first direction pressure vessel in fluid communication with the thermal fluid member and a second direction pressure vessel extending from the first direction pressure vessel, the first direction pressure vessel and the second direction pressure vessel each extending in the reference plane, the second direction pressure vessel in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel and with at least one of the plurality of heat exchange members, wherein the first direction pressure vessel includes a plurality of first direction pressure vessels wherein the heat exchange manifold defines a single housing including an inlet in direct fluid communication with the thermal fluid member and an outlet in direct fluid communication with the second direction pressure vessel, and wherein the plurality of first direction pressure vessels are between the inlet and the outlet such that each of the plurality of first direction pressure vessels are in direct fluid communication with both of the inlet and the outlet of the single housing.
17
A thermal management system defining a reference plane, the thermal management system comprising:
a thermal fluid member having a flow of thermal fluid therethrough during operation; and
a heat exchanger assembly, the heat exchanger assembly comprising:
a core section comprising a plurality of heat exchange members; and
a heat exchange manifold comprising a first direction pressure vessel in fluid communication with the thermal fluid member and a second direction pressure vessel extending from the first direction pressure vessel, the first and second direction pressure vessels each extending in the reference plane, the second direction pressure vessel in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel and with at least one of the plurality of heat exchange members.
18
wherein the second direction pressure vessel is one of a plurality of second direction pressure vessels of the heat exchange manifold, wherein each of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels extends from the first direction pressure vessel in the reference plane, is in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel, and is in fluid communication with at least the one of the plurality of heat exchange members.
18
wherein the second direction pressure vessel is one of a plurality of second direction pressure vessels of the heat exchange manifold, wherein each of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels extends from the first direction pressure vessel in the reference plane, is in fluid communication with the first direction pressure vessel, and is in fluid communication with at least one of the plurality of heat exchange members.
19
wherein the plurality of second direction pressure vessels are further in fluid communication with one another.
19
wherein the plurality of second direction pressure vessels are further in fluid communication with one another.
20
wherein the heat exchange manifold comprises a plurality of ribs extending between adjacent second direction pressure vessels of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels.
20
wherein the heat exchange manifold comprises a plurality of ribs extending between adjacent second direction pressure vessels of the plurality of second direction pressure vessels.
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 1/16/26