DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 14, 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 13: the claim recites the limitation “a controller configured to be control tightening torque”. This is idiomatic English and appears to be a translation. The claim will be interpreted as -- configured to control tightening torque--.
In regards to claim 14: the claim recites the limitation “a controller configured to be control tightening torque”. This is idiomatic English and appears to be a translation. The claim will be interpreted as configured to control tightening torque.
In regards to claim 15: the claim recites the limitation “a second sensor configured to be detect movement of the hammer”. This is idiomatic English and appears to be a translation. The claim will be interpreted as – configured to detect movement of the hammer””.
Appropriate correction is required for each claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schneider (U.S. 2022/0040829).
In regards to claim 1. Schneider discloses an impact tool, comprising:
a housing (at least elements 14, 20, 22, 30 ),
a motor (18) housed in the housing (paragraph 39),
a hammer (104) configured to be rotated by the motor (see at least paragraph 46),
an anvil (34) configured to be impacted in a direction of rotation thereof by the hammer (see at least paragraph 41),
a hammer case (30) that houses the hammer (see at least paragraph 39 and fig. 2),
a first sensor (145) configured to detect rotation of the anvil (paragraph 47),
a second sensor (paragraph 80 hammer sensor) configured to detect movement of the hammer (paragraph 80),
a controller (148) configured to control tightening torque (see at least paragraph 40, 43, 83) based on detection data output by the first and second sensors (see at least paragraph 40, 43, 83),
wherein the anvil has a bit hole (35) into which the tool accessory is insertable (see at least paragraph 40).
In regards to claim 2. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 1, wherein the housing includes: a motor housing part (14) that houses the motor, a grip part (19) that extends downward from the motor housing part (at least fig. 31 and paragraph 68), and a battery holder (31) that is connected to a lower end of the grip part (fig. 21 see at least paragraph 69).
In regards to claim 3. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 1, wherein: the first sensor is mounted on a first circuit board (element 132 see paragraph 47), the second sensor is mounted on a second circuit board (212), a first lead wire (200) electrically connects the first circuit board to the controller, and a second lead wire (200) electrically connects the second circuit board to the controller (see at least paragraph 81).
In regards to claim 4. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 3, wherein: each of the first and second circuit boards is disposed in the interior of the hammer case, and the hammer case has a hole through which the first and second lead wires pass (see at least fig. 23, and fig. 6, both boards are in the hammer case section a hold is present for the wires to pass through for at least the light located on the front of the tool as well as to the controller located in the grip).
In regards to claim 5. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 3, wherein: the anvil includes an anvil shaft portion (portion with bore 35) and anvil projections (120), the first circuit board is disposed at least partially around the anvil shaft portion (see at least fig. 15), and the first sensor is disposed at a position that faces the anvil projections (illustrated in at least fig. 4).
In regards to claim 6. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 3, wherein: the second circuit board has a plate shape (212 see at least fig. 16 and 17) that faces an outer surface of the hammer (fig. 16 and 21), and the second sensor is disposed at a position that faces the outer surface of the hammer (fig. 21).
In regards to claim 7. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 1, wherein the second sensor is configured to detect movement of the hammer relative to the anvil in a direction parallel to the rotational axis of the hammer (see at least paragraph 80).
In regards to claim 8. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 1, wherein the first sensor comprises a plurality of first sensors (see at least paragraph 73 more than 1 sensor may be used) arranged circumferentially around an anvil shaft portion of the anvil and facing anvil projections that extend radially from a rear end portion of the anvil shaft portion (paragraph 73 and 75).
In regards to claim 9. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 1, wherein the second sensor comprises a plurality of second sensors arranged linearly parallel to the rotational axis of the hammer (paragraph 80).
In regards to claim 10. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 1, wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are inductive sensors (see at least paragraphs 47 and 80).
In regards to claim 11. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 2, wherein: the first sensor is mounted on a first circuit board (132), the second sensor is mounted on a second circuit board (212), a first lead wire electrically connects the first circuit board to the controller, a second lead wire electrically connects the second circuit board to the controller (see at least paragraph 50 and 81), each of the first and second circuit boards is disposed in the interior of the hammer case (illustrated in at least fig. 16), the hammer case has a hole through which the first and second lead wires pass (see at least paragraph 50), the anvil includes an anvil shaft portion (section extending from tool) and anvil projections (120), the first circuit board is disposed at least partially around the anvil shaft portion (see at least paragraph 16), the first sensor is disposed at a position that faces the anvil projections (see at least fig. 16), the second circuit board has a plate shape (212) that faces an outer surface of the hammer (at least fig. 21), and the second sensor is disposed at a position that faces the outer surface of the hammer (at least paragraph 80 and fig. 21).
In regards to claim 12. Schneider further discloses The impact tool according to claim 11, wherein: the first sensor comprises a plurality of first sensors (see at least paragraph 73 more than 1 sensor maybe used) arranged circumferentially around an anvil shaft portion of the anvil and facing anvil projections that extend radially from a rear end portion of the anvil shaft portion (paragraph 73 and 75), the second sensor comprises a plurality of second sensors arranged linearly parallel to the rotational axis of the hammer (see at least paragraphs 80), the first sensors and the second sensors are inductive sensors (see at least paragraphs 47 and 80), and the second sensors are configured to detect movement of the hammer relative to the anvil in a direction parallel to the rotational axis of the hammer (paragraph 80).
In regards to claim 13. Schneider discloses An impact tool, comprising:
a housing (at least elements 14, 19, 20, 22, 30),
a motor (18) housed in the housing (paragraph 39),
a hammer (104) configured to be rotated by the motor (at least paragraph 43, 44, 45),
an anvil (34) configured to be impacted in a direction of rotation thereof by the hammer (see at least paragraph 43, 44, 45),
a hammer case (30) that houses the hammer (see at least paragraph 43),
a first sensor (145) configured to detect rotation of the anvil (see at least paragraph 47),
a second sensor (see hammer sensor at least paragraph 80) configured to detect movement of the hammer (paragraph 80), and
a controller (148) configured to be control tightening torque based on detection data output by the first and second sensors (see at least paragraph 47, 83), wherein the housing includes:
a motor housing part (14) that houses the motor, a rear grip part (19) that extends downward from the motor housing part,
a front grip part (fig. 1) that is disposed forward of the rear grip part (fig. 1), and
a battery holding part (31) that is connected to a lower end of the rear grip part and to a lower end of the front grip part (see at least fig. 1).
In regards to claim 14. Schneider discloses An impact tool, comprising:
a grip part (the grip part in front of trigger 62 see fig. 1 the portion of the grip above the battery attachment but between the front and rear grip portions) extending in a front-rear direction (the grip part in front of trigger 62 see fig. 1 the portion of the grip above the battery attachment but between the front and rear grip portions),
a housing (at least 14, 30 and 20) connected to the grip part (fig. 1),
a motor (18) housed in the housing (paragraph 39),
a hammer (104) configured to be rotated by the motor (at least paragraph 43, 44, 45),
an anvil (34) configured to be impacted in a rotational direction thereby by the hammer (see at least paragraph 47), the anvil extending in an up-down direction that is perpendicular to the front-rear direction (illustrated in at least fig. 5 and fig. 16),
a hammer case (30) that houses the hammer (see at least paragraph 47),
a first sensor (145) configured to detect rotation of the anvil (see at least paragraph 47),
a second sensor (see hammer sensor at least paragraph 80) configured to detect movement of the hammer (paragraph 80), and
a controller (148) configured to be control tightening torque based on detection data output by the first and second sensors (see at least paragraph 47, 83).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (U.S. 2022/0040829) in view of Ebner (U.S. 2021/0308853).
In regards to claim 15. Schneider discloses An impact tool, comprising:
a housing (at least elements 14, 20, 30),
a motor (18) housed in the housing (at least paragraph 39),
a hammer (104) configured to be rotated by the motor (see at least paragraph 47),
an anvil (34) configured to be impacted in a direction of rotation thereof by the hammer (see at least paragraphs 46, 47),
a hammer case (30) that houses the hammer,
a first sensor (145) configured to detect rotation of the anvil (see at least paragraph 47),
a second sensor (paragraph 80) configured to be detect movement of the hammer (paragraph 80), and
a controller (148) configured to control tightening torque based on detection data output by the first and second sensors (see at least paragraph 47, 80, 83),
wherein the housing includes:
a motor housing part (14) that houses the motor.
Schneider does not disclose
a rear grip part that is disposed rearward of the motor housing part,
an upper grip part that connects an upper portion of the rear grip part to the motor housing part, and
a battery holding part that is connected to a lower end portion of the rear grip part.
Ebner teaches a rear grip part (272) that is disposed rearward of the motor housing part (fig. 1),
an upper grip part (connection between rear grip part 272 and housing above switch 30) that connects an upper portion of the rear grip part to the motor housing part (see at least fig. 1), and
a battery holding part (at least element 29) that is connected to a lower end portion of the rear grip part (illustrated in at least fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grip section of schneider for the grip type of Ebner. One would have been motivate the make this substitution of one known grip type for the other as the grip orientation would not change the function of the tool, additionally each grip type provides its own advantages when operating the tool depending on the tools intended purpose as such the grip type of Ebner allows a user to apply more force in the longitudinal direction of a tool which is beneficial to keep the tool in contact with the workpiece. As such it would have been obvious to substitute one known grip type for another. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
In regards to claim 16. Schneider in view of Ebner teaches The impact tool according to claim 15, Schneider further discloses wherein: the first sensor is mounted on a first circuit board (132), the second sensor is mounted on a second circuit board (212), a first lead wire () electrically connects the first circuit board to the controller, and a second lead wire (200) electrically connects the second circuit board to the controller (see at least paragraphs 50 and 81).
In regards to claim 17. Schneider in view of Ebner teaches The impact tool according to claim 16, Schneider further discloses wherein: each of the first and second circuit boards is disposed in the interior of the hammer case, and the hammer case has a hole through which the first and second lead wires pass (see at least paragraph 50 and 51).
In regards to claim 18. Schneider in view of Ebner teaches The impact tool according to claim 16, Schneider further discloses wherein: the anvil includes an anvil shaft portion (34 see at least section extending forward of the tool) and anvil projections (120), the first circuit board is disposed at least partially around the anvil shaft portion (see at least fig. 4), and the first sensor is disposed at a position that faces the anvil projections (see at least fig. 4).
In regards to claim 19. Schneider in view of Ebner teaches The impact tool according to claim 16, Schneider further discloses wherein: the second circuit board has a plate shape (212) that faces an outer surface of the hammer (ss at least fig. 16 and 21), and the second sensor is disposed at a position that faces the outer surface of the hammer (fig. 16 and paragraph 80).
In regards to claim 20. Schneider in view of Ebner teaches The impact tool according to claim 15, Schneider further discloses wherein the second sensor is configured to detect movement of the hammer relative to the anvil in a direction parallel to the rotational axis of the hammer (see at least paragraph 80).
Conclusion
/Lucas E. A. Palmer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731