DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 4 September 2026
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 are pending;
Claims 1-5, 8 and 9 are currently amended;
Claims 6 and 7 were previously presented;
Claims 1-9 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 4 September 2026 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive. Regarding the coupled to limitations and quick disconnect connector limitations, examiner contends that “coupled” or “coupled to” does not require direct contact connections and there may be intermediate elements present. Furthermore, a “quick disconnect connector” is a broad and relative term. A threaded connection does not prevent the connection from being interpreted as a quick disconnect connector as the term is broad and relative.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plank (U.S. Patent No. 3,791,151).
As to Claim 1, Plank discloses a rapid change vertical shore comprising:
A first shore rail (11);
A second shore rail (10) oriented parallel to the first shore rail (11);
A first hydraulic cylinder (13) coupled perpendicularly between the first shore rail (11) and the second shore rail (10), the first hydraulic cylinder (13) coupled to the first shore rail (11) via a first cylinder base (17); and
The first cylinder base (17) comprises a first hose fitting (14a) fluidly coupled to the first hydraulic cylinder, the first hose fitting comprising a male quick disconnect connector (14a).
As to Claim 2, Plank discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Plank also discloses wherein the first hose fitting (14a) is oriented perpendicular to the first cylinder base (17).
As to Claim 3, Plank discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Plank also discloses wherein the first hose fitting (14a) is positioned a distance away from the hydraulic cylinder (13) to facilitate manual connection/disconnection of a pressure hose (14) to the first hose fitting.
As to Claim 4, Plank discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Plank also discloses further comprising a second hydraulic cylinder (12) coupled perpendicularly between the first shore rail (11) and the second shore rail (10), the second hydraulic cylinder (12) coupled to the first shore rail (11) via a second cylinder base (17 of 12); the second cylinder base comprises a second hose fitting (14a of 12) fluidly coupled to the second hydraulic cylinder (12), the second hose fitting (14a of 12) comprising a second male quick disconnect connector; and a pressure hose (14) comprising a female quick disconnect connector at both ends of the pressure hose, wherein a first end of the pressure hose is coupled to the first cylinder base first hose fitting (14a of 13) and a second end of the pressure hose is coupled to the second cylinder base second hose fitting (14a of 12).
As to Claim 5, Plank discloses a rapid change cylinder base for a hydraulic vertical shore comprising:
A cylinder base comprising:
A threaded (17a) base (17) for accepting a hydraulic cylinder (16a of 12); and
A hose fitting (14a) fluidly coupled to the hydraulic cylinder (12), the hose fitting comprising a male quick disconnect connector (14a).
As to Claim 6, Plank discloses the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). Plank also discloses wherein the hose fitting (14a) is oriented perpendicular to the cylinder base (17).
As to Claim 7, Plank discloses the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). Plank also discloses wherein the hose fitting (14a) is positioned a distance away from the hydraulic cylinder (12) to facilitate manual connection/disconnection of a pressure hose (14) to the hose fitting (14a).
As to Claim 8, Plank discloses a method for converting a single cylinder vertical shore to a double cylinder vertical shore, the single cylinder vertical shore comprising:
A first shore rail (11);
A second shore rail (10) oriented parallel to the first shore rail (11);
A first hydraulic cylinder (13) coupled perpendicularly between the first shore rail (11) and the second shore rail (10), the first hydraulic cylinder coupled to the first shore rail via a first cylinder base (17); and
The first cylinder base (17) comprises a first hose fitting (14a) fluidly coupled to the first hydraulic cylinder (13), the first hose fitting comprising a first male quick disconnect connector (14a); the method comprising:
Coupling a second hydraulic cylinder (12) perpendicularly between the first shore rail (11) and the second shore rail (10) via a second cylinder base (17 of 12), wherein the second cylinder base comprises a second hose fitting (14a of 12) fluidly coupled to the second hydraulic cylinder (12), the second hose fitting comprising a second male quick disconnect connector (14a of 12); and
Coupling a pressure hose (14) comprising a female quick disconnect connector at both ends of the pressure hose to the first cylinder base first hose fitting (14a of 13) and the second cylinder base second hose fitting (14a of 12).
As to Claim 9, Plank discloses a method for converting a double cylinder vertical shore to a single cylinder vertical shore, the double cylinder vertical shore comprising:
A first shore rail (11);
A second shore rail (10) oriented parallel to the first shore rail (11);
A first hydraulic cylinder (13) coupled perpendicularly between the first shore rail (11) and the second shore rail (10), the first hydraulic cylinder (13) coupled to the first shore rail via a first cylinder base (17); and
The first cylinder base (17) comprises a first hose fitting (14a) fluidly coupled to the first hydraulic cylinder (13), the first hose fitting comprising a first male quick disconnect connector (14a);
A second hydraulic cylinder (12) coupled perpendicularly between the first shore rail (11) and the second shore rail (10), the second hydraulic cylinder (122) coupled to the first shore rail via a second cylinder base (17 of 12); and
The second cylinder base (17 of 12) comprises a second hose fitting (14a of 12) fluidly coupled to the second hydraulic cylinder (12), the second hose fitting comprising a second male quick disconnect connector (14a of 12); and
A pressure hose (14) comprising a female quick disconnect connector at both ends of the pressure hose, the pressure hose coupled to the first cylinder base first hose fitting (14a of 13) and the second cylinder base second hose fitting (14a of 12); the method comprising:
Uncoupling the pressure hose (14) from the first cylinder base first hose fitting (14a of 13) and the second cylinder base second hose fitting (14a of 12); and
Uncoupling the second cylinder base (17 of 12) and second hydraulic cylinder (12) from the first shore rail (10).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678