DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement filed 02/19/2025 has been considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (KR 101898575 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Park teaches an image generation apparatus, comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor (“In particular, the computing device 100 may be implemented as a computer-readable medium, such as conventional computer hardware (e.g., a computer processor, memory, storage, input and output devices, Electronic communication devices, electronic information storage systems such as network-attached storage (NAS) and storage area networks (SAN), and computer software (i.e., computing devices that enable a computing device to function in a particular manner) Commands) to achieve the desired system performance.” Page 4 paragraph 2) carrying out:
an acquiring process of acquiring a medical image of a patient (“Referring briefly to the configuration of a method and apparatus according to the present invention with reference to FIG. 2, the computing device 100 may include an image acquisition module 210 as a component thereof. The individual modules shown in FIG. 2 may be implemented, for example, by a communication unit 110 included in the computing device 100, a processor 210 included in the computing device 100, The communication unit 110 and the processor 120 may be implemented by interlocking the communication unit 110 or the communication unit 120 or the communication unit 110 and the processor 120, respectively. The medical image may be acquired from, for example, a medical imaging device or a medical image storage transmission system (PACS) linked through the communication unit 110, but is not limited thereto. For example, a medical image may be captured through a medical imaging device, transmitted to a PACS according to the DICOM standard, and then acquired by the image acquisition module 210 of the computing device 100.” Page 4 paragraph 6);
a detecting process of detecting a lesion candidate in the medical image (“Next, the medical image mapping method according to the present invention is characterized in that the neural network module 220 implemented by the computing device 100 determines the reference of the medical image with respect to at least one individual lesion identified in the obtained medical image…” page 5 paragraph 4);
a differentiating process of generating, from information indicating the lesion candidate, a result of differentiation of the lesion candidate regarding a medical condition the patient has (“The present invention relates to a method for predicting the future state of a progressive lesion ... “ page 1 technical field and “Here, selection of an individual lesion may be accomplished by, for example, providing a candidate group of lesions extracted by the computing device 100 (e.g., a list provided through a user interface) and selecting one of the lesions from the user ), Or may be performed by segmentation, such as boxing a part of the medical image through a user interface so that the lesion is surrounded.” Page 6 paragraph 6 and “It is needless to say that the input of the user is not indispensable, for example, the generation of the future image may be automatically performed for all the lesions identified in the medical image or lesions having the highest risk or confidence.” Page 6 paragraph 7, progressive lesions are chosen either by the user or by the system itself);
an image generating process of generating, based on the information indicating the lesion candidate and the result of differentiation of the lesion candidate, a prediction image which represents a state in which the lesion candidate will be after a lapse of time (“Referring to FIG. 3, a future image 320 is illustrated illustratively after at least one time interval for an individual lesion represented in the acquired medical image. In the example of FIG. 3, it can be understood that future images of three months, six months, one year, two years, and three years are displayed, but a single or a plurality of future images may be generated.” Page 6 Paragraph 3); and
an outputting process of outputting the prediction image (“Referring to FIG. 3, a future image 320 is illustrated illustratively after at least one time interval for an individual lesion represented in the acquired medical image. In the example of FIG. 3, it can be understood that future images of three months, six months, one year, two years, and three years are displayed, but a single or a plurality of future images may be generated.” Page 6 Paragraph 3).
With respect to claim 2, Park teaches the image generation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the image generating process, the at least one processor generates, based on the information indicating the lesion candidate and the result of differentiation of the lesion candidate, a plurality of prediction images which each represent a state in which the lesion candidate will be after a lapse of time (“Referring to FIG. 3, a future image 320 is illustrated illustratively after at least one time interval for an individual lesion represented in the acquired medical image. In the example of FIG. 3, it can be understood that future images of three months, six months, one year, two years, and three years are displayed, but a single or a plurality of future images may be generated.” Page 6 Paragraph 3).
With respect to claim 4, Park teaches the image generation apparatus according to claim 2, wherein in the differentiating process, the at least one processor generates results of differentiation of a plurality of lesion candidates from the information indicating the lesion candidate; (“It is needless to say that the input of the user is not indispensable, for example, the generation of the future image may be automatically performed for all the lesions identified in the medical image or lesions having the highest risk or confidence.” Page 6 paragraph 7) and
in the image generating process, the at least one processor generates respective prediction images for the results of differentiation of the plurality of lesion candidates (“It is needless to say that the input of the user is not indispensable, for example, the generation of the future image may be automatically performed for all the lesions identified in the medical image or lesions having the highest risk or confidence.” Page 6 paragraph 7).
With respect to claim 5, Park teaches the image generation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the image generating process, the at least one processor generates the prediction image based on the information indicating the lesion candidate and the result of differentiation of the lesion candidate (“It is needless to say that the input of the user is not indispensable, for example, the generation of the future image may be automatically performed for all the lesions identified in the medical image or lesions having the highest risk or confidence.” Page 6 paragraph 7), with use of a generative model trained by machine learning in which a result of a lapse of time on a lesion is used as ground truth data (“This image-to-image translation model is based on sequential CT images taken on a subject and time intervals between sequential CT and labeling data showing the same lesion on the sequential CT as training data.” Page 6 paragraph 2), so as to generate a prediction image that represents a state in which the lesion will be after a lapse of time (“Referring to FIG. 3, a future image 320 is illustrated illustratively after at least one time interval for an individual lesion represented in the acquired medical image. In the example of FIG. 3, it can be understood that future images of three months, six months, one year, two years, and three years are displayed, but a single or a plurality of future images may be generated.” Page 6 Paragraph 3).
With respect to claim 8, Park teaches the image generation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the prediction image is used in decision making carried out by a medical service worker who provides medical examination and treatment (“On the other hand, the future image of the lesion generated in this way may be used for searching similar images to facilitate the diagnosis and diagnosis of the doctor.” Page 6 paragraph 10).
With respect to claim 9, Park teaches all limitations in consideration of claim 1, due to the substantial similarity of claim 1 and claim 9, with claim 9 being directed to the method performed by the apparatus of claim 1.
With respect to claim 10, Park teaches all limitations in consideration of claim 1, due to the substantial similarity of claim 1 and claim 10, with claim 10 being directed to a computer-readable non-transitory recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to function as the apparatus of claim 1. Park additionally teaches a computer-readable non-transitory recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to function (“Furthermore, the objects of the technical solution of the present invention, or portions contributing to the prior art, may be implemented in the form of program instructions that can be executed through various computer components and recorded on a machine-readable recording medium. The machine-readable recording medium may include program commands, data files, data structures, and the like, alone or in combination. The program instructions recorded on the machine-readable recording medium may be those specially designed and constructed for the present invention or may be those known to those of ordinary skill in the computer software arts. Examples of the machine-readable recording medium include magnetic media such as hard disks, floppy disks and magnetic tape, optical recording media such as CD-ROM, DVD, Blu-ray, magneto-optical media such as floptical disks magneto-optical media, and hardware devices specifically configured to store and execute program instructions such as ROM, RAM, flash memory, and the like. Examples of program instructions include, but are not limited to, any of the above devices, as well as a heterogeneous combination of processors, processor architectures or combinations of different hardware and software, Which may be constructed using a structured programming language such as C…” page 7 last paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 101898575 B1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohyu (US 20210407655 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Park teaches the image generation apparatus according to claim 2, wherein in the image generating process, but does not explicitly teach any further limitations. Ohyu teaches that at least one processor generates respective accuracies of the plurality of prediction images (see figure 4); and
in the outputting process, the at least one processor outputs the plurality of prediction images and the respective accuracies of the plurality of prediction images (see figure 4).
Ohyu is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Ohyu is directed towards predictions based on lesion images (see figure 4). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the expected filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Park and Ohyu by utilizing the accuracy display teachings of Ohyu in conjunction with the predicted image display system of Park, with the expectation that doing so would lead to more confident diagnosis (“An object of any of the embodiments is to output data on the lesion based on a probability (hereinafter referred to as “lesion probability”) that the subject of the image actually has the lesion and the confidence interval which is an interval indicating the reliability of the lesion probability. In addition to the presence or absence of the lesion, the data on the lesion includes various lesion-related information such as the type of lesion, low and high value of the prognosis, the appropriateness of treatment, and the like. Further, probability designates the probability of categories defined in the data on the lesion.” Paragraph 0053).
8. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Dong (WO 2018233520 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Park teaches the image generation apparatus according to claim 5, but does not teach the additional limitations. Dong teaches wherein in the acquiring process, the at least one processor acquires medical information regarding the patient in addition to the medical image (“After the image prediction model is established, the current patient's lesion image and the stage in the corresponding disease course can be input into the established image prediction model to generate a predicted lesion image of the patient. For example, as shown in FIG. 1f, the current patient's medical record data, age and body weight and other related vital signs parameters are input into the image prediction model to obtain a matched patient type; then, after the matched patient type is acquired, the current lesion of the patient is input.” Page 7 paragraph 2); and
in the image generating process, the at least one processor generates the prediction image by inputting the information indicating the lesion candidate, the result of differentiation of the lesion candidate, and the medical information to the generative model (“After the image prediction model is established, the current patient's lesion image and the stage in the corresponding disease course can be input into the established image prediction model to generate a predicted lesion image of the patient. For example, as shown in FIG. 1f, the current patient's medical record data, age and body weight and other related vital signs parameters are input into the image prediction model to obtain a matched patient type; then, after the matched patient type is acquired, the current lesion of the patient is input.” Page 7 paragraph 2).
Dong is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Dong is directed towards a method for generating predicted images corresponding to a future lesion image phase (“According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for generating a predicted image includes: acquiring feature information of a patient; determining a stage in a disease course corresponding to the lesion image of the patient according to the feature information of the patient; based on the lesion The image and the determined phase, a predicted lesion image for the patient is generated, wherein the predicted lesion image is a lesion image corresponding to a subsequent phase of the phase.” Page 2 summary of invention). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Park and Dong, by incorporating Dong’s patient information (already similar to Park’s similar image identification methods) into the image generation system of Park with the expectation that doing so would lead to more accurate predictions (“However, since most patients have limited knowledge of medical expertise, what the patient knows is only the results of the doctor's analysis based on the lesion image. The patient cannot accurately and visually predict the evolution of his future lesions.” Page 2 paragraph 2 background technique and “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for generating a predicted image includes: acquiring feature information of a patient; determining a stage in a disease course corresponding to the lesion image of the patient according to the feature information of the patient; based on the lesion The image and the determined phase, a predicted lesion image for the patient is generated, wherein the predicted lesion image is a lesion image corresponding to a subsequent phase of the phase.” Page 2 summary of invention ).
With respect to claim 7, Park and Dong teach the image generation apparatus according to claim 6. Dong further teaches wherein the medical information includes at least one selected from the group consisting of personal information regarding the patient, information on findings shown by a medical examination performed on the patient, and medical history information regarding the patient (“After the image prediction model is established, the current patient's lesion image and the stage in the corresponding disease course can be input into the established image prediction model to generate a predicted lesion image of the patient. For example, as shown in FIG. 1f, the current patient's medical record data, age and body weight and other related vital signs parameters are input into the image prediction model to obtain a matched patient type; then, after the matched patient type is acquired, the current lesion of the patient is input.” Page 7 paragraph 2).
Conclusion
/REBECCA COLETTE WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/ANDREW W BEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677