DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (figure 4), including claims 1-8 and 14-16, in the reply filed on 09/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata et al. (US 2021/01322790 in view of Cui et al. (CN 111816065).
Regarding claim 1, Numata et al. (figures 1-5 and 15) discloses a display device comprising:
a first substrate comprising a first transparent substrate and pixel electrodes disposed in each of a plurality of pixels on the first transparent substrate (SUB1 and PE);
a second substrate comprising a second transparent substrate (SUB2);
a liquid crystal layer containing strip-like polymers and liquid crystal molecules and disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (31-32; see at least paragraphs 0023-0025);
a plurality of light emitting elements arranged along a first direction (LD);
a third transparent substrate having a side surface opposing the plurality of light emitting elements (30); and
a transparent layer having a refractive index lower than that of the third transparent substrate and disposed between the second substrate and the third transparent substrate (40-41; see at least paragraph 0037),
wherein
the third transparent substrate includes, in plan view,
a straight portion located on a side of the plurality of light emitting elements and along the first direction (30), and
the transparent layer comprises a plurality of strip portions disposed along the first direction and extending along a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction, and
each of the plurality of strip portions has a first end portion on a side of the plurality of light emitting elements and a second end portion on an opposite side to the first end portion (40-41; figure 3),
the first end portion has a width larger than a width of the second end portion (40-41; figure 3), and
the plurality of strip portions each have a same width along the first direction at a location of an equal distance from the straight portion along the second direction (40-41; figure 3).
Numata et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Numata et al. is silent regarding a curved portion connected to the straight portion. Cui et al. (figures 1A-2A) teaches a curved portion connected to the straight portion (WP). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate as taught by Cui et al. in order to improve display contrast between the mask layer and the display layers.
Regarding claim 2, Cui et al. (figures 1A-2A) teaches wherein each of the first transparent substrate and the second transparent substrate has a curved portion that overlaps the curved portion of the third transparent substrate in plan view (DP and WP).
Regarding claim 3, Numata et al. (figures 1-5 and 15) discloses wherein the second transparent substrate (SUB2) has a straight portion that overlaps the straight portion of the third transparent substrate in plan view, the first transparent substrate (SUB1) has an extending portion that extends from the straight portion of the second transparent substrate along the second direction in plan view, and the light emitting element overlaps the extending portion in plan view (SUB1 and LD; figure 15).
Regarding claim 5, Numata et al. (figures 1-5 and 15) discloses wherein the first end portion of each of the plurality of strip portions is arranged on a same straight line along the first direction (40-41).
Regarding claim 6, Cui et al. (figures 1A-2A) teaches wherein a length along the second direction from a center of the straight portion to the curved portion is equal to a length from an end portion of the straight portion to the center (DP and WP).
Regarding claim 7, Cui et al. (figures 1A-2A) teaches wherein the curved portion is formed into an arc shape (DP and WP).
Regarding claim 8, Cui et al. (figures 1A-2A) teaches wherein a length along the second direction of each of the plurality of strip portions increases as a location approaches from an end portion of the straight portion towards a center of the straight portion (DP and WP).
Regarding claim 14, Numata et al. (figures 1-5 and 15) discloses wherein the first substrate further comprises a scanning line, a signal line that intersects the scanning line, and a switching element electrically connected to the scanning line and the signal line, and each of the plurality of strip portions overlaps the signal line (the third portion 423 and the fourth portion 424 of the frame portion 42 of the transparent layer 40 overlap the scanning lines G located in the non-display portion NDA. In addition, the first portion 421 overlaps the scanning lines G and the signal lines S in the non-display portion NDA; see at least paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 15, Numata et al. (figures 1-5 and 15) discloses wherein the pixel electrodes include a first pixel electrode and a second pixel electrode arranged along the second direction, the second pixel electrode is closer to the curved portion than the first pixel electrode, and an area of the first pixel electrode that overlaps the transparent layer is larger than an area of the second pixel electrode that overlaps the transparent layer (PE, PE1, PE2, 41-42; figure 4).
Regarding claim 16, Numata et al. (figures 1-5 and 15) discloses wherein the pixel electrodes include a third pixel electrode and a fourth pixel electrode arranged at a location at equal distances from the straight portion along the second direction and aligned along the first direction, the third pixel electrode is located in a center portion along the first direction, the fourth pixel electrode is closer to the curved portion than the third pixel electrode, and an area of the third pixel electrode that overlaps the transparent layer is equal to an area of the fourth pixel electrode that overlaps the transparent layer (PE, PE1, PE2, 41-42; figure 4).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata et al. (US 2021/01322790 in view of Cui et al. (CN 111816065); further in view of Wang et al. (US 2018/0011353).
Regarding claim 4, Numata et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 2 above. However, Numata et al. is silent regarding a reflective member. Wang et al. (figures 4A-4B) teaches a reflective member disposed on a side surface along each the portion of the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third transparent substrate (frame 1, 4 and 7; Examples thereof include an integrated plastic frame, an assembled frame, an adhesive reflective layer, a coating layer with reflective property, a decorative tape, or a decorative coating; see at least paragraph 0084). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the reflective layer as taught by Wang et al. in order to effectively fix the liquid crystal panel to the backlight module. Therefore, Numata et al. as modified by Cui et al. and Wang et al. teaches a reflective member disposed on a side surface along each the curved portion of the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third transparent substrate.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871