DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 is rejected because it is unclear which graphical representation is being referred to in amended lines 13-14. Claims 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 16 and 19-20 are rejected because they recite “The robotic surgical system of Claim 14…”; however, Claim 14 is a method claim. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, Examiner will assume Claims 16 and 19-20 depend from Claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0337789 to Meglan in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0172673 to Yu et al. “Yu” and U.S. Publication No. 2017/0239000 to Moctezuma de la Barrera et al. “Berrera”.
As for Claim 9, Meglan discloses a surgical robot system and method comprising rendering and displaying a static image of a current robot configuration/pose and a desired or recommended pose of the robot (Paragraphs [0092]-[0095] also Fig. 4B). Examiner notes that the recommended pose/configuration is different from the current position.
However, Meglan’s robot appears to have a single arm and not a plurality of robotic arms as claimed and Meglan’s graphical representation of the current pose is not different from a camera view.
Yu teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to surgical robot systems and methods (Abstract) where the robot comprises a plurality of robotic arms mounted on a surgical table (Figs. 4A-B, 7A, 7E, 8C and 8D and corresponding descriptions; noting that the combination of structures 401A, 402A and 403A make up the surgical table in its broadest reasonable interpretation). Yu explains that Figs. 8C-F depict views of the robotic arms in a “stowed” configuration (Paragraphs [0043]-[0046]) where the arms are “rotated” in a particular manner for compact stowage (Paragraphs [0130]-[0131]). Examiner notes that robotic arms are stowed beneath the surgical table top.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the robotic system described by Meglan to include a plurality of arms as described by Yu in order to perform other types of robotic procedures that require additional arms and to provide an efficient storage configuration for the arms when not in use. Such a modification merely involves a simple substitution of one known surgical robot system for another to yield predictable results and/or combining prior art techniques according to known methods to yield predicable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding the negative limitation of the graphical representations being “different than a camera view”, Barrera teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to providing instructions for arranging objects in preparation for a surgical procedure (Abstract) where a display is configured to generate a representation of a device’s current position and desired position and where the representation of the current position dynamically moves toward or away from the representation of the desired position as the user adjusts the position of the device (Paragraphs [0062]-[0063]). Examiner notes that both “representations” are considered to be different than a camera view in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified Meglan and Yu’s display of the current positions of the robot arms with representations that dynamically change so as to align with a desired representation as described by Barrera in order to enhance the user’s ability to visualize both current and desired poses for surgical instruments and thus, improve positioning. Furthermore, such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
As for Claim 10, the modified representations are in both solid and “hidden lines” (Barrera; Paragraph [0063]). Moreover, Meglan’s desired positions may be “ghosted” (Paragraph [0107]) which is considered to read on phantom lines in its broadest reasonable interpretation. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use any combination of different representations in order to position the instruments accordingly.
Regarding Claim 11, Examiner notes that one skilled in the art would have been motivated to use the “stowed configuration” as either the current or desired pose in order to safely get the robotic system ready for use/clean up.
As for Claim 12, Meglan explains that the guidance information may also include auditory guidance (Paragraph [0075]).
Regarding Claim 13, Meglan discloses one embodiment where the display is a head-mounted display which can be positioned adjacent to the table in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
As for Claim 14, Examiner notes that the arrows depicted in Meglan’s Fig. 4B would represent general “touch points” to manipulate in order to achieve the desired pose in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim(s) 15-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meglan in view of Yu.
As for Claim 15, Meglan discloses a surgical robot system and method comprising rendering and displaying a static image of a current robot configuration/pose and a desired or recommended pose of the robot (Paragraphs [0092]-[0095] also Fig. 4B). Examiner notes that the recommended pose/configuration is different from the current position.
However, Meglan’s robot appears to have a single arm and not a plurality of robotic arms as claimed.
Yu teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to surgical robot systems and methods (Abstract) where the robot comprises a plurality of robotic arms mounted on a surgical table (Figs. 4A-B, 7A, 7E, 8C and 8D and corresponding descriptions; noting that the combination of structures 401A, 402A and 403A make up the surgical table in its broadest reasonable interpretation). Yu explains that Figs. 8C-F depict views of the robotic arms in a “stowed” configuration (Paragraphs [0043]-[0046]) where the arms are “rotated” in a particular manner for compact stowage (Paragraphs [0130]-[0131]). Examiner notes that robotic arms are stowed beneath the surgical table top.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the robotic system described by Meglan to include a plurality of arms as described by Yu in order to perform other types of robotic procedures that require additional arms and thus, additional guidance. Such a modification merely involves a simple substitution of one known surgical robot system for another to yield predictable results and/or combining prior art techniques according to known methods to yield predicable results (MPEP 2143).
As for Claims 16-17, Meglan’s desired positions may be “ghosted” (Paragraph [0107]) which is considered to read on phantom lines in its broadest reasonable interpretation. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use any combination of different representations in order to position the instruments accordingly.
As for Claim 19, Meglan explains that the guidance information may also include auditory guidance (Paragraph [0075]).
Regarding Claim 20, Meglan discloses one embodiment where the display is a head-mounted display which can be positioned adjacent to the table in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,251,185. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a robotic surgical system. Claim 1 of the presently pending application comprises a plurality of arms, a display device and processor configured to provide graphical representations of the arms based on a kinematic model of the arms and guidance information based on the kinematic model. This matches the claimed subject matter of patented Claim 1 in the ‘185 Application. However, patented claim 1 o of the ‘185 Application also includes limitations directed to displaying guidance on how to move the plurality of arms from a stowed position to a different position and wherein the stowed position is underneath a top of the surgical table. These limitations are claimed in dependent claims 3 and 11 of the presently pending application and thus, presently pending claim 1 represents an obvious broadening of the patented claim 1. Presently pending claim 2 matches the limitations of patented claim 2 with respect to a deployed position for the robotic arms. Presently pending Claim 3 matches the limitations of patented claim 1 as described above. Presently pending Claim 4 matches the limitations of patented claim 4 with respect to displaying the graphical representation of the robotic arms as a solid line and phantom line. Presently pending Claim 5 matches the limitations of patented Claim 5 with respect to providing user guidance on how to move the robotic arms to a different position. Both Claim 6’s recite audible guidance information. Presently pending Claim 7 matches the limitations of patented claim 7 with respect to the location of the display device (e.g. adjacent to the table). Both Claim 8’s recite the same subject matter with respect to displaying touchpoints. The method of presently pending Claim 9 matches the method of patented claim 11 regarding the rendering of a view that is different than a camera view. The remaining dependent claims of the method have a similar analysis to the dependent claims addressed above. Presently pending Claim 15 shares a scope with patented Claim 1 as described above. Presently pending Claim 15 is considered an obvious broadening of the patented claims and limitations missing from Patented Claim 17 are found in presently pending dependent claims 16 (display), claim 17 (graphical representation of current position). The remaining dependent claims of the method have a similar analysis to the dependent claims addressed above. Thus, the claims are not considered to be patentably distinct and minor wording or variation in sentence structure without changing the scope of the claims is considered to be obvious to a person skilled in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are considered to include allowable subject matter not taught by the art of record including processing steps to render on the display device, a graphical representation of a model module of the plurality of robotic arms in a current position, a kinematic model of the robotic arms input to the model module to render the graphical representation, wherein the graphical representation moves to reflect position of the plurality of robotic arms in real-time based on the kinematic model. Also, see parent Application 16/793886.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797