DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12-13 recites wherein a whole structure said heat exchange body is a TPMS structure… which renders claims 12-13 indefinite. Claims 12-13 are interpreted to recite the same subject matter as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (US 20180331016).
Regarding claim 1,
Referring to at least Fig. 4, Kang teaches a heat pipe 20 comprising: a pipe body that includes a tubular wall 210 surrounding a pipe interior space (comprising interior spaces 220, 230), and two end walls respectively connected two opposite ends of said tubular wall (see Fig. 1), said tubular wall and said end walls enveloping said pipe interior space; a working fluid that is filled in said pipe interior space (see par. 38); and a wick structure (e.g. structures 240a or 240b) attached to inner surfaces of said tubular wall, and said end walls inside said pipe interior space; wherein said wick structure is a triply periodic minimal surface (TPMS) structure (see par. 40), is bonded to said inner surfaces, and surrounds an innermost space within said pipe interior space (see par. 40), said wick structure allowing said working fluid to circulate through a capillary action from said innermost space to said inner surfaces of said tubular wall and vice versa (see pars. 3, 32, 35, 36, 43).
Regarding claim 15,
Kang teaches wherein said pipe body is a standard heat pipe, a loop heat pipe, or a variable conductance heat pipe (e.g. a constant-conductance heat pipe, see at least par. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang.
Regarding claim 2,
Kang does not teach wherein: said TPMS structure of said wick structure is selected from one of a gyroid, a Schwarz primitive, a diamond, a Lidinoid, and a split-P but the examiner takes official notice that the use of said structures would be well known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 3, 5
Kang does not teach wherein said pipe body and said wick structure are made from a same material wherein said pipe body and said wick structure are made from a copper material, but since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Kang and arrive at the claimed invention in order to provide known and suitable materials for the pipe body and the wick structure (e.g. a material such as copper with known and suitable high thermal conductivity)
Regarding claim 4,
Kang does not teach wherein said pipe body and said wick structure are integrally formed in one piece via 3D printing, but in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (see MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 6,
Kang teaches … a pipe body which includes a tubular wall that surrounds a pipe interior space.. within said pipe interior space but does not teach a heat exchanger comprising… first and second sides for fluid communication with an external environment.
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus (e.g. a heat pipe) is intended to be employed (e.g. within a heat exchanger system) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. The heat pipe structure taught in Kang, is furthermore inherently capable of being utilized in a heat exchanger system.
Regarding claims 7-10, 12-13,
The subject matter of claims 7-10 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claims 1-5 and has been addressed in the rejection of claims 1-5.
Regarding claim 11,
Kang teaches wherein each of said first and second exchange channels are formed in a wavy pattern from said first and second sides (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14,
Kang does not teach wherein said wick structure is a sintered powder wick structure, a grooved wick structure, or a sintered and grooved composite wick structure but since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Kang and arrive at the claimed invention in order to provide a known and suitable material for the wick.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fisher, Tholence, and Torresin teach heat pipes and heat exchangers comprising wicks formed of a TPMS structure.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763