DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 are pending in this application.
Claims 1 and 2 presented as currently or previously amended claims.
Claim 3 is presented as original claims.
No claims are cancelled.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants’ definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 114696290 A) in view of Sturza et al (US 20190322178 A1) in view of Tachikawa (US 20130119757 A1) (the combination of which will be referred to as 'combination Zhou hereinafter). As regards the individual claims:
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a control system for an electric vehicle equipped with a battery, the control system comprising:
a vehicle electronic control unit (ECU); (Zhou: ¶ 047; When the vehicle ignition signal is sent, the battery pack management module is powered on) an ignition power source that starts power supply to the vehicle ECU in response to a vehicle activation operation by a user; (Zhou: ¶ 058; one end of the coil L3 of the low voltage relay 500 is connected to the negative electrode of the 12V battery, and the other end is connected to the vehicle controller for receiving ignition Signal.) . . .
To the extent Zhou does not teach: . . . a battery replacement switch that receives a replacement command operation for the battery from the user; . . . or the battery unlock detection sensor is in the on state. . . ; Sturza does teach
a battery replacement switch that receives a replacement command operation for the battery from the user; (Sturza: ¶ 144; A service disconnect switch 144 may be electrically connected between the power source 148 and the inductive coils 136, such that disconnecting or otherwise electrically disengaging the switch 144 interrupts and/or prevents the flow of (low voltage power 149) current to energize the inductive coil) . . . or the battery unlock detection sensor is in the on state. (Sturza: ¶ 144; A service disconnect switch 144 may be electrically connected between the power source 148 and the inductive coils 136, such that disconnecting or otherwise electrically disengaging the switch 144 interrupts and/or prevents the flow of (low voltage power 149) current to energize the inductive coil)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sturza with the teachings of Zhou because doing so would result in the predictable advantage of “disconnecting the high voltage components can be useful when diagnosing a ground fault on the vehicle” (Sturza: ¶ 023).
To the extent Zhou does not teach: . . . a battery unlock detection sensor that detects an unlocked state of a lock mechanism for fixing the battery to the electric vehicle; and a first relay that is disposed in an electric circuit connecting between the ignition power source and the vehicle ECU, so as to be in conjunction with an on/off state of the battery replacement switch and an on/off state of the battery unlock detection sensor, and that electrically cuts off the electric circuit while the battery replacement switch is in the on state. . . ; Tachikawa does teach
. . . a battery unlock detection sensor that detects an unlocked state of a lock mechanism for fixing the battery to the electric vehicle; (Tachikawa: ¶ 007; interlock member is movable from a first position to a second position if the switching operation member has been operated by the operator to open the switch device to interrupt the electrical connection. The interlock member is configured to prohibit, at the first position, the operator from operating the separating operation device)and a first relay that is disposed in an electric circuit connecting between the ignition power source and the vehicle ECU, so as to be in conjunction with an on/off state of the battery replacement switch and an on/off state of the battery unlock detection sensor, and that electrically cuts off the electric circuit while the battery replacement switch is in the on state(Tachikawa: ¶ 034; When the interlock connector 54 is pulled out as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the battery ECU 57 detects it and stops the flow of current to the coils 56b and 56b of the relays 56 and 56. Thus, the contacts 56a and 56a open and interrupt the application of a high voltage to the high-voltage connectors 47 and 47.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Tachikawa with the teachings of Zhou because doing so would result in the predictable advantage of “prevent[ing] the occurrence of electric shock accidents” (Tachikawa: ¶ 036).
Regarding claim 2, as detailed above, combination Zhou teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Sturza also teaches:
wherein the battery replacement switch, while turned on, causes the first relay to cut off the electric circuit by transmitting the corresponding signal via the signal line, and the battery unlock detection sensor, (Sturza: ¶ 029; service disconnect switch 144 may be electrically connected between the power source 148 and the inductive coils 136, such that disconnecting or otherwise electrically disengaging the switch 144 interrupts and/or prevents the flow of (low voltage power 149) current to energize the inductive coils 136)
And Tachikawa further teaches: while detecting that the lock mechanism is unlocked, (Tachikawa: ¶ 007; interlock member is movable from a first position to a second position if the switching operation member has been operated by the operator to open the switch device to interrupt the electrical connection. The interlock member is configured to prohibit, at the first position, the operator from operating the separating operation device)causes the first relay to cut off the electric circuit by transmitting the corresponding signal via the signal line. (Tachikawa: ¶ 034; When the interlock connector 54 is pulled out as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the battery ECU 57 detects it and stops the flow of current to the coils 56b and 56b of the relays 56 and 56. Thus, the contacts 56a and 56a open and interrupt the application of a high voltage to the high-voltage connectors 47 and 47.)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination Zhou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Winkler et al. (US 20190031030 A1).
Regarding claim 3, as detailed above, combination Zhou teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. To the extent Zhou is silent about or does not explicitly teach:
further comprising a second relay that is disposed in a signal path transmitting a signal related to the on/off state of the battery replacement switch to the first relay, so as to be in conjunction with an operating state of the vehicle ECU, wherein the second relay allows transmission of the signal in the signal path while the vehicle ECU is not operating, and the second relay cuts off the transmission of the signal in the signal path while the vehicle ECU is operating. Winkler does teach:
further comprising a second relay that is disposed in a signal path transmitting a signal related to the on/off state of the battery replacement switch to the first relay, so as to be in conjunction with an operating state of the vehicle ECU, (Winkler: ¶ 024; he control device 4 controls the safety switch device 15 by opening it and deactivates the direct voltage converter 7. Thus, the operator may perform his duties of maintenance or repair safely.) wherein the second relay allows transmission of the signal in the signal path while the vehicle ECU is not operating, and the second relay cuts off the transmission of the signal in the signal path while the vehicle ECU is operating. (Winkler: ¶ 023; it is also checked whether the motor vehicle 1 is standing still (thus having zero speed), whether the motor is off, whether the ignition circuit is open, and whether the maintenance mode of the vehicle 1 has been activated. It may, however, also be envisaged that among these additional conditions, one or more are considered, logically coupled, in the context of the evaluation of the decisional criteria. In particular, the additional condition that the motor vehicle 1 is standing still may be considered.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Winkler with the teachings of Zhou because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of reduces the likelihood of an unintentional short circuit. (Winkler: ¶ 024).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed July 7, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that
amended claim 1 of the present application recites "a first relay that is disposed in an electric circuit connecting between the ignition power source and the vehicle ECU, so as to be in conjunction with an on/off state of the battery replacement switch and an on/off state of the battery unlock detection sensor, and that electrically cuts off the electric circuit while the battery replacement switch is in the on state or the battery unlock detection sensor is in the on state". As recited in amended claim 1, the first relay is disposed in the power line between the ignition source and the ECU, and it cuts off this line while either the battery replacement switch is ON or the battery unlock detection sensor is ON (detecting an unlocked state). This hardware-based OR-logic ensures that the ECU remains depowered as long as the battery is being replaced or is not physically locked, regardless of any software commands. Therefore, the first relay of the present invention as claimed provides a physical/hardware cut-off of the power path to the ECU itself (Applicant’s Arguments filed July 7, 2026, pg. PP).
However, newly applied prior art Zhou (CN 114696290 A), Sturza et al (US 20190322178 A1) and Tachikawa (US 20130119757 A1) teach the claimed invention. Zhou teaches use of a relay to manage battery access via a car ignition signal. Sturza teaches using a maintenance switch in conjunction with a low voltage relay and Tachikawa teaches using a an mechanical interlock-switch in conjunction with a low voltage relay. A person of ordinary skill in the art in the art would recognize that Zhou’s use of line-level IGN signal could be used in conjunction with Sturza and Tachikawa’s mechanical switches. Consequently, Applicant's arguments with respect to obviousness of claims 1-2 have been fully considered but are moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Chen et al. (US 20240042893 A1) which discloses a battery unlocking control method, a battery locking control method and an electric vehicle battery swapping control method.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663